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Return-to-Work Programs ORS 656.622

• Employer-at-Injury Program 
(EAIP) OAR 436-105

• Preferred Worker Program 
(PWP) OAR 436-110



Objective 

Encourage safe and suitable 
employment for Oregon workers whose 
on-the-job injury has resulted in work 
restrictions by offering assistance to 
eligible workers and the businesses that 
employ them.



Funding

The Workers’ Benefit Fund (WBF) 
OAR 436-105-0006

A payroll assessment calculated on the basis 
of hours worked by all paid workers, owners, 

and officers covered by workers’ 
compensation insurance in Oregon, and by all 

workers subject to Oregon’s workers’ 
compensation laws. 

2.2¢ / hour worked into the WBF

Worker
1.1¢ / hour worked

Employer
1.1¢ / hour worked

https://www.oregon.gov/dcbs/Pages/wbf-program.aspx



EAIP Goals

• Encourage early return-
to-work for injured 
workers

• Reduce employers’ early 
return-to-work costs

• Reduce claim costs



EAIP Initiation

• EAIP is initiated by the 
employer and administered by 
the insurer

• Worker receives a medical 
release stating their current or 
projected restrictions are due 
to the claim or compensable 
injury



Worker Eligibility OAR 436-105-0511

• The worker must have an 
Oregon workers’ 
compensation injury or 
occupational disease claim

• The worker must be released 
from work with restrictions 
that prevent them from 
returning to regular, full-duty 
work.



Employer Eligibility OAR 436-105-0510

• Must maintain Oregon 
workers’ compensation 
insurance coverage

• Must be the employer-at-
injury or the employer at the 
time of aggravation

• Must employ an eligible 
worker



EAIP Insurer Responsibilities OAR 436-105-0500

Assist employers with the following:
• Obtaining medical releases
• Identifying transitional work
• Processing wage subsidy 

requests
• Making EAIP purchases
• Requesting reimbursement from 

the Oregon Workers’ 
Compensation Division (WCD)



EAIP Benefits OAR 436-105-0520(4)

Clothing, up to $400Clothing, up to $400

Tools & equipment combined with 
worksite modification, up to $5,000
Tools & equipment combined with 

worksite modification, up to $5,000

Tuition, books, and fees, up to $1,000Tuition, books, and fees, up to $1,000



EAIP Worksite Modifications OAR 436-105-0520(3)

• Up to $5,000 (combined with the 
tool and equipment category) for 
altering a worksite 
• Includes rent, purchase, modify, or 

supplement

• Must be ordered during the open 
EAIP period

• Reimbursable if the employer 
purchased items in good faith



EAIP Worksite Modifications

• Purchases become the property 
of the employer

• The insurer determines 
appropriate worksite 
modifications for the worker

• Must link the modifications to 
the restrictions

• The insurer documents the 
reason for approval



EAIP End of Eligibility OAR 436-105-0512

• The worker’s claim is denied 
or closed

• The insurer ends the EAIP 
while the claim is open

• Two years after the original 
date of acceptance or a 
nondisabling claim 

• When benefits under the 
Preferred Worker Program 
(PWP) begin



PWP Goals

• Facilitate return-to-work 
for injured workers

• Reduce employers’  
return-to-work costs

• Provide benefits to 
worker and employer



PWP Eligibility OAR 436-110-0310

A person is designated a preferred 
worker because they have 
permanent work restrictions due to 
an accepted disabling Oregon 
workers’ compensation claim that 
prevents return to their job at 
injury.



Clothing
A clothing benefit is available to 
ensure that a worker will have 

the necessary work clothes. 
($500, $1,000)

Training
Funding for training and 

certifications is available to 
give the worker the skills 

to get the job done. 
($1,000, $2,000)

Tools and equipment
This benefit provides the tools 

and equipment that an 
employer requires their 

workers to have. 
($2,500, $5,000)

PWP Benefits OAR 436-110-0345

All categories can be used as often as necessary until the lifetime maximum is reached!



Other Possible Assistance OAR 436-110-0345

Occupational 
certifications 

($500, $1,000)

Moving

Miscellaneous 
($2,500)

All categories can be used as often as necessary until the lifetime maximum is reached!

Union dues 
($1000)

Transportation
($1,000) 



Employer Benefits

Premium exemption
OAR 436-110-0325

An employer does not pay workers’ 
compensation premiums or premium 
assessments on a preferred worker for 

three years.

Claims cost reimbursement
OAR 436-110-0330

Protects the employer from the costs of 
a new claim if the preferred worker has 

a new injury during the three year 
exemption period.



$40,000 lifetime maximum 
to provide up to 50% of their gross wages 

reimbursed for up to 6 months.

Wage Subsidy OAR 436-110-0335



If a worker is hired into a new 
position with an eligible employer, 
we can help create the worksite.
($5,000, $10,000) 

Worksite Creation OAR 436-110-0345(2)(i)



Worksite Modification OAR 436-110-0350

Worksite modification will enable a 
worker to perform their job within 
their permanent restrictions 
caused by a compensable injury or 
occupational disease. 
($35,000, $50,000)



PWP Success Story

Preferred Workers' Stories - YouTube



For more information

Thank you for your time

For PWP: 800-445-3948

PWP.Oregon@DCBS.Oregon.gov

www.OregonPWP.com

For EAIP: eaip.oregon@state.or.us


