

OREGON OFFICE OF EMERGENCY MANAGEMENT

2015 Pacific Storm Disaster Declaration Talking Points

- Starting Dec. 6 and continuing through Dec. 23, heavy rains, high winds, flooding, landslides and erosion in many parts of Oregon, resulted in critical transportation failures, loss of power and communications capabilities, property and infrastructure damage, and evacuations and sheltering needs.
- Local governments declared emergencies in the City of Vernonia, City of Clatskanie, City of St. Helens, City of Rainier, Columbia City, City of Gresham, Columbia County, Tillamook County, Lincoln County, Washington County, and Clackamas County.
- On Dec. 10, Governor Brown declared a state of emergency in 13 Oregon counties including Benton, Clackamas, Clatsop, Columbia, Lane, Lincoln, Linn, Marion, Multnomah, Polk, Tillamook, Washington and Yamhill.
- On Dec. 14, Governor Brown verbally added six more counties to the state emergency declaration including Coos, Curry, Douglas, Jackson, Josephine and Klamath.
- These declarations by the Governor were made, in part, to allow Oregon to request assistance from the <u>Federal Highway Administration's (FHWA) Emergency Relief</u> <u>Program</u>.
- Initial Damage Assessments were conducted in Benton, Clackamas, Clatsop, Columbia, Coos, Curry, Douglas, Lane, Lincoln, Linn, Marion, Multnomah, Polk, Tillamook, Washington and Yamhill counties.
- Preliminary Damage Assessment (PDA)s were conducted jointly by FEMA, the SBA, OEM and local jurisdictions to verify information collected in the Initial Damage Assessments to determine need for supplemental federal assistance.
- PDAs determine the impact and magnitude of damage. They also look at the unmet needs of individuals, businesses, the public sector and the community as a whole.
- After surveying damage, the teams compiled reports used by the governor in deciding to request a disaster declaration and by federal officials in determining aid is warranted.

- Public Assistance damage assessments were completed the week of Jan. 11, 2016 for Clackamas, Clatsop, Columbia, Coos, Curry, Lane, Lincoln, Linn, Multnomah, Polk, Tillamook, Washington and Yamhill counties.
- The PDA teams evaluated approximately \$25 million in damages and costs to public entities and infrastructure as a result of the Pacific Storm Event.
- On Feb. 2, Governor Kate Brown submitted a presidential disaster declaration request for public assistance to Clackamas, Clatsop, Columbia, Coos, Curry, Lane, Lincoln, Linn, Multnomah, Polk, Tillamook, Washington and Yamhill counties.
- On Feb. 17, President Barack Obama declared a major disaster for the 2015 Pacific Storm Event from Dec. 6 to Dec. 23.
- The presidential disaster declaration will provide public assistance grants to Clatsop, Columbia, Coos, Curry, Lane, Lincoln, Linn, Multnomah, Polk, Tillamook, Washington and Yamhill counties.
- The application for Individual Assistance was denied and OEM is currently working with the Governor's office to submit an appeal.