
LEAVE OPTIONS (FOR QUALIFYING CONDITIONS) AVAILABLE TO STATE EMPLOYEES 

If the condition qualifies under multiple leave types, the leaves run concurrently. There are different eligibility requirements for each leave type. Please refer to State HR Policy 60.000.15 Family and Medical Leave. 

Qualifying 
Condition/Reason for 

Leave 

SEPARATE LEAVE OPTIONS AVAILABLE 

FMLA OFLA Paid Leave Oregon1 
Short Term 
Disability 

TO TEND TO THE 
EMPLOYEE’S OWN SERIOUS 
HEALTH CONDITION 

Up to 12 weeks (480 
hours) in a 52-week period 

Up to 12 weeks (480 hours) in a 52-
week period 

Up to 16 weeks (640 hours) in a 52-week 
period 

(12 weeks paid, four unpaid to be used for 
any OFLA-qualifying condition) 

Up to 13 weeks for each 
event as determined by 
insurance provider 

TO TEND TO THE SERIOUS 
HEALTH CONDITION OF THE 
EMPLOYEE’S: 

• Spouse Up to 12 weeks (480 
hours) in a 52-week 
period. 
*Husband or wife as
defined under Oregon
state law and a same sex
spouse of an employee if
they are married in a state
that legally recognizes
same sex marriage.

Up to 12 weeks (480 hours) in a 52-
week period.  
*Includes individuals who have
lawfully established a civil union,
domestic partnership or similar
relationship under the laws of any
state.

Up to 16 weeks (640 hours) in a 52-week 
period 

(12 weeks paid, four unpaid to be used for 
any OFLA-qualifying condition 

N/A 

• Parent or in loco
parentis

Up to 12 weeks (480 
hours) in a 52-week period 

Up to 12 weeks (480 hours) in a 52-
week period 
*Includes biological, adoptive,
stepparent, foster parent, legal
guardian, or the parent of your
spouse/domestic partner, or your
parent’s spouse/domestic partner

Up to 16 weeks (640 hours) in a 52-week 
period 

(12 weeks paid, four unpaid to be used for 
any OFLA-qualifying condition) 
*Includes biological, adoptive, stepparent,
foster parent, legal guardian, or the parent
of your spouse/domestic partner, or your
parent’s spouse/domestic partner

N/A 

• Child Up to 12 weeks (480 
hours) in a 52-week period 

Up to 12 weeks (480 hours) in a 52-
week period 
*Includes biological, adoptive,
stepchild, foster child,

Up to 16 weeks (640 hours) in a 52-week 
period 

(12 weeks paid, four unpaid to be used for 
any OFLA-qualifying condition) 

N/A 

1 Employee must meet the OFLA eligibility requirements to receive the four unpaid weeks with Paid Leave Oregon. 



LEAVE OPTIONS (FOR QUALIFYING CONDITIONS) AVAILABLE TO STATE EMPLOYEES 

If the condition qualifies under multiple leave types, the leaves run concurrently. There are different eligibility requirements for each leave type. Please refer to State HR Policy 60.000.15 Family and Medical Leave. 

Qualifying 
Condition/Reason for 

Leave 

SEPARATE LEAVE OPTIONS AVAILABLE 

FMLA OFLA Paid Leave Oregon1 
Short Term 
Disability 

*(17 years of age or 
younger, or incapable of 
self-care) 

spouse/domestic partner’s child, of 
any age; or the child’s 
spouse/domestic partner. 

*Includes biological, adoptive, stepchild,
foster child, spouse/domestic partner’s
child, or the child’s spouse/domestic
partner

• Sibling or stepsibling, or
sibling or stepsibling’s
spouse/domestic
partner

N/A unless standing in loco 
parentis 

Up to 12 weeks (480 hours) in a 52-
week period 

Up to 16 weeks (640 hours) in a 52-week 
period 

(12 weeks paid, four unpaid to be used for 
any OFLA-qualifying condition) 

N/A 

• Grandparent or
grandparent’s
spouse/domestic
partner

N/A Up to 12 weeks (480 hours) in a 52-
week period 

Up to 16 weeks (640 hours) in a 52-week 
period 

(12 weeks paid, four unpaid to be used for 
any OFLA-qualifying condition) 

N/A 

• Grandchild or
grandchild’s
spouse/domestic
partner

N/A Up to 12 weeks (480 hours) in a 52-
week period 

Up to 16 weeks (640 hours) in a 52-week 
period 

(12 weeks paid, four unpaid to be used for 
any OFLA-qualifying condition) 

N/A 

• Any individual related by
blood or affinity whose
close association with a
covered individual is the
equivalent of a family
relationship.

N/A Up to 12 weeks (480 hours) in a 52-
week period 

Up to 16 weeks (640 hours) in a 52-week 
period 

(12 weeks paid, four unpaid to be used for 
any OFLA-qualifying condition) 

N/A 

PARENTAL LEAVE Up to 12 weeks (480 
hours) in a 52-week period 

Up to 12 weeks (480 hours) in a 52-
week period 

Up to 16 weeks (640 hours) in a 52-week 
period 

(12 weeks paid, four unpaid to be used for 
any OFLA-qualifying condition) 

N/A 

SICK CHILD LEAVE (17 years 
of age or younger, or 
incapable of self-care) 

N/A Up to 12 weeks (480 hours) in a 52-
week period 

N/A N/A 



LEAVE OPTIONS (FOR QUALIFYING CONDITIONS) AVAILABLE TO STATE EMPLOYEES 

If the condition qualifies under multiple leave types, the leaves run concurrently. There are different eligibility requirements for each leave type. Please refer to State HR Policy 60.000.15 Family and Medical Leave. 

Qualifying 
Condition/Reason for 

Leave 

SEPARATE LEAVE OPTIONS AVAILABLE 

FMLA OFLA Paid Leave Oregon1 
Short Term 
Disability 

PREGNANCY RELATED 
DISABILITY 

Up to 12 weeks (480 
hours) in a 52-week period 

Up to 12 weeks (480 hours) in a 52-
week period. An eligible employee 
taking any amount of OFLA leave for 
their own pregnancy-related disability 
may take up to 12 more weeks of 
OFLA leave in the same leave year for 
any OFLA qualifying purpose 

Up to 18 weeks (720 hours) in a 52-week 
period 
(14 weeks paid, four unpaid to be used 
for any OFLA-qualifying condition) 

Up to 13 weeks for each 
event as determined by 
insurance provider 

ADDITIONAL SICK CHILD 
LEAVE (17 years of age or 
younger, or incapable of self-
care) 

N/A An eligible employee taking a full 12 
weeks of Parental leave under OFLA 
may take up to 12 additional weeks 
of OFLA leave in the same leave year 
for Sick Child leave 

N/A N/A 

MILITARY FAMILY LEAVE N/A Up to 14 working days per 
deployment related to the 
deployment of an employee’s spouse 
or same-gender domestic partner. The 
14 days is included in the 12-week 
(480 hours) OFLA entitlement per 52-
week period 

N/A N/A 

BEREAVEMENT LEAVE N/A Up to two weeks per family member, 
in a one-year time period (to be taken 
within 60 days of notification of the 
death). Maximum of 12 weeks (480 
hours) in a 52-week period 

N/A N/A 

QUALIFYING EXIGENCY 
LEAVE 

12 weeks (480 hours) in a 
52-week period

N/A N/A N/A 

MILITARY CAREGIVER LEAVE Up to 26 weeks (1040 
hours) in a single 12-
month period 

N/A N/A N/A 


