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Highlights 
 

A total of $73 million in marijuana state tax liability was reported on marijuana tax returns in 
Oregon for the first year of state marijuana taxation—calendar year 2016. Reported taxable 
sales were approximately $287 million. The state retail tax rate in effect during 2016 was 25 
percent for temporary recreational sales by medical marijuana dispensaries and 17 percent for 
retail sales made by licensed retail facilities. During the transition to the current retail licensing 
structure, the majority of sales during 2016 took place in medical marijuana dispensaries that 
were given temporary permission to sell to adults who didn’t have medical marijuana cards. 
 
 

About this Report 

 

Calendar year 2016 was the first year in Oregon that recreational marijuana sales were taxed by 
the state. The year was a unique one in the marketplace, most notably because of the use of 
medical marijuana dispensaries as temporary recreational retail outlets. Overall, both the 
industry and the regulatory environment were evolving rapidly during the year. 
 
This report uses information from tax returns and tax account registrations to describe 
recreational marijuana sales and businesses in Oregon during 2016. A forthcoming report 
describes 2017 separately. This 2016 report includes a summary of the policy history of 
marijuana legalization, sales, and taxation in Oregon before and during 2016, which is essential 
information for accurately understanding the statistical tabulations that are presented.  
 
 

Introduction to Oregon’s Marijuana Tax 
 
The origin of state taxed marijuana sales in Oregon was when Oregon’s voters approved 
Measure 91 in November 2014. That measure legalized the possession of limited quantities of 
marijuana by adults in Oregon starting in July 2015, as well as the sale, production, delivery, 
and processing of marijuana. Measure 91 outlined that the Oregon Liquor Control Commission 
(OLCC) would license and regulate marijuana businesses in the state. The license types include 
producers, processors, wholesalers, laboratories, and retailers. 
 
Under the regulations, the producer license type means that producers may sell directly to the 
retail license holders, who in turn sell directly to consumers. Producers are also known as 
growers. Producers may also sell to processors or wholesalers. The processor license type is for 
transforming marijuana into a product such as an extract, edible, concentrate, or topical 
product. Wholesaler licensees can buy and sell within the licensed system provided they are not 
selling directly to consumers. Licensed laboratories test marijuana and marijuana products for 
contaminants and potency.  
 
OLCC began accepting applications in January 2016 for all license types. The first priority was to 
issue licenses to producers, so that marijuana would be available for transfer to the other 
license types. OLCC announced that it would issue the first retail licenses in October 2016. The 
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implication was that for the period July 2015 through October 2016, no retail outlets would be 
available where adult-use consumers could legally purchase the marijuana that they were 
newly allowed to possess.  
 
To provide a regulated method for consumers to buy marijuana during that time, the Oregon 
Legislature approved a temporary solution of using the existing system of medical marijuana 
dispensaries as retail outlets. Starting on October 1, 2015, existing and new medical marijuana 
dispensaries regulated by the Oregon Health Authority (OHA) were permitted to opt-in to sell 
limited types and quantities of marijuana products to adults age 21 or older, provided that the 
city or county where they were located had not restricted such recreational sales. Customers 
did not have to hold a medical marijuana card to make these purchases, on a temporary basis.  
 
Only dried flowers and leaves, seeds, and immature plants were allowed to be sold as 
recreational products during the first eight months of this arrangement. Later, starting June 2, 
2016, additional product types, namely selected edibles, extracts, and topical products, were 
permitted as recreational products sold by dispensaries. Taxation of recreational sales under 
the temporary program began on January 4, 2016, at a rate of 25 percent of the retail sales 
price. Table 1 summarizes the rules in place during 2016.  

 

Table 1: Key Dates for Oregon Recreational Marijuana Sales   

Who Can Sell When 
State Tax 
Rate 

Products Allowed 

Medical dispensaries 
registered with 
Oregon Health 
Authority, if locally 
allowed 

Oct. 1, 2015 through 
Dec. 31, 2016 or until 
obtaining OLCC license, 
whichever comes first  

25% of retail 
price (tax 
begins Jan. 4, 
2016) 

Before June: flower, 
leaves, immature plants, & 
seeds; Starting June 2: also 
certain edibles, extracts, & 
topicals  

Recreational retailers 
licensed by OLCC 

As of OLCC license date 
(no earlier than Oct. 1, 
2016) 

17% of retail 
price 

Tax categories are: flowers, 
leaves, immature plants, 
edibles, extracts, 
concentrates, topical 
products, and other 
cannabinoid products 

 
 
In terms of taxation, the last three months of 2016 were particularly complex. OLCC indeed 
issued the first retail licenses in October 2016. Two different tax rates were consequently in 
effect across the state during that last quarter of 2016. Once any specific retail business had 
received a retail license from OLCC, the tax rate applicable to that business was 17 percent of 
the retail price. As long as the business was still operating as a medical dispensary under OHA, 
the tax rate remained 25 percent for recreational consumers. Sales to medical patient 
cardholders have never been taxed in Oregon. Local-level marijuana taxes generally did not 
apply until 2017. The next section describes key dates in the history of recreational marijuana 
taxation in Oregon. 
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Oregon’s Marijuana Tax Timeline 

 
November 2014: Oregon voters approve Measure 91 in a statewide general election, for the 
purpose of legalizing the production, processing, delivery, possession, and sale of recreational 
marijuana among adults. Legalized medical marijuana in Oregon already existed because of the 
approval of Measure 67 in 1998. Measure 91 outlined taxation, regulation, and the distribution 
of tax revenue. The Oregon Legislative Assembly made several changes to law after that time.  
 
July 2015: Because of Measure 91, adults may now possess limited quantities of usable 
recreational marijuana (up to one ounce outside their homes and eight ounces at home) but 
may not buy or sell it until approved retail outlets are available.  
 
October 2015: As a result of legislative action in 2015 (Senate Bill 460 and House Bill 2041), 
medical marijuana dispensaries registered with the Oregon Health Authority (OHA) may sell 
recreational marijuana (only flower, leaves, seeds, and immature plants) for a limited period, 
between October 1, 2015 and December 31, 2016. This temporary arrangement, sometimes 
called Early Start, gives recreational customers a way to purchase the newly legal products in 
the interim, before the Oregon Liquor Control Commission (OLCC) is able to issue retail licenses. 
No state retail tax is imposed between October 1, 2015 and January 3, 2016. 
 
January 2016: State marijuana taxation begins on recreational sales from medical dispensaries 
to adults under Early Start, at a temporary rate of 25 percent of the retail sales price. As a result 
of House Bill 2041 (2015), this tax structure differs from that approved in Measure 91, which 
was a tax on production rather than retail sales. House Bill 2041 requires the tax to be collected 
by the retailer from the consumer at the time of the retail sale and remitted to the Oregon 
Department of Revenue (DOR). The permanent state tax rate of 17 percent applies effective 
January 1, 2017 or sooner if the retailer has been licensed and is operating under the authority 
of OLCC. Regardless of the licensing of the seller, the state marijuana tax does not apply to 
medical marijuana sales made to patients or designated primary caregivers who show their 
Oregon medical marijuana card. 
 
June 2016: Based on Senate Bill 1511 (2016) and administrative rule, additional recreational 
product types (selected edibles, pre-filled receptacles of extracts, and non-psychoactive 
topicals) may be sold by medical marijuana dispensaries in the temporary program. 
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October 2016: OLCC issues the first licenses to retailers of recreational marijuana. The 
permanent phase of recreational retail sales has begun. For retailers with licenses from OLCC, 
sales to adults are taxable at a state tax rate of 17 percent of the retail sales price. Medical 
cardholders may purchase tax-free from OLCC-licensed retailers, as well as from medical 
dispensaries registered with OHA. Recreational sales made to adults at medical marijuana 
dispensaries registered with OHA are still taxed at the state rate of 25 percent, but that 
temporary program is ending at the close of the calendar year.  
 
November 2016: Voters in many counties and cities vote on the establishment of local-level 
marijuana taxes, generally to take effect in 2017. Cities and counties are prohibited from 
imposing their own recreational marijuana taxes except as outlined in House Bill 3400 (2015). 
House Bill 3400 authorizes a local option tax of three percent or less on the sale of recreational 
marijuana items, subject to local approval in a statewide general election. Local areas may not 
tax medical marijuana sales, according to Senate Bill 1601 (2016).  
 
January 2017: The temporary sales program ends. As prior to the temporary program, medical 
marijuana dispensaries registered with the Oregon Health Authority that have not converted to 
OLCC licensed retailers may only sell to medical cardholders. Sales made at OLCC licensed 
retailers are taxed at 17 percent (state tax), plus a possible local tax of up to three percent if 
approved by local voters. 
 
 

Requirements for Registering, Paying, and Filing 
 
The Oregon Department of Revenue requires marijuana sellers to register with DOR for the 
marijuana tax program prior to making deposits of tax held in trust and prior to filing tax 
returns. This DOR registration process is distinct from the OLCC license process or the OHA 
medical dispensary registration process. In the DOR tax account registration process, businesses 
report their retail license number issued by OLCC (if applicable, such as if the business was not 
exclusively an OHA-registered dispensary temporarily selling to recreational customers during 
2016), their type of business structure, and address and owner information. Businesses 
registered with DOR are expected to provide notification to DOR of a change in status, such as a 
closure, move, or change of ownership. Each store’s geographic location is considered a 
separate tax account and must register separately, regardless of whether a common owner 
exists for multiple locations. 
 
Recreational marijuana sellers in the state are required to file marijuana tax returns with the 
Oregon Department of Revenue each quarter. Tax returns are due at the end of the month that 
comes after each quarter, or the next business day if the last day of the month is not a business 
day. Sellers are required to make monthly deposits of the amount of tax collected from 
consumers the previous month, minus two percent of the tax collected, which is retained to 
cover the cost of collecting, reporting, and remitting the tax. Payments are accepted by check, 
money order, or cash. Payments in cash are only accepted at the Department of Revenue’s 
headquarters building, by appointment only. 
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Characteristics of Businesses Registered to Remit Marijuana Tax 
 
This section provides statistical information about the businesses registered to remit marijuana 
taxes, counted as distinct geographic outlets, using tax account registration data. The physical 
address of each business location is compared with regional boundaries to categorize the 
businesses by region (see the section called Important Notes about City and County-Level 
Reporting for an explanation of this regional rather than city or county categorization).  
 
Overall, the number of business locations selling recreational marijuana and registered with 
DOR grew during the course of 2016. During the first three quarters of 2016, these entities 
were medical marijuana dispensaries registered with the Oregon Health Authority that had 
elected to sell limited products to recreational customers on a temporary basis. During the last 
quarter of 2016, the marijuana retailers included those with an OLCC retail license as well as 
medical marijuana dispensaries registered with OHA. The term retailer may be used generically 
in the remainder of this report to include both OHA-registered medical dispensaries and OLCC-
licensed retailers. 
 
Table 2 shows the number of retail outlets present during each calendar quarter as well as the 
number present during at least one quarter. The table reveals the large number of locations 
within the city limits of Portland and the surrounding metropolitan area. The Willamette Valley 
also had a large number of locations. A map of these regions is included at the end of this 
report. The number of outlets that were present during at least some point during the year 
exceeds the number during any specific quarter because dispensaries could close or open at 
any point in the year. Quarter 1 is January through March 2016, Quarter 2 is April through June 
2016, and so on. 
 
 

Table 2: Number of Business Locations Registered to Remit Marijuana Tax in 2016 by Region 

  Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 
At least one 

quarter 

Central/Gorge/Eastern 28 30 32 35 40 

Oregon Coast 39 41 44 50 57 

Portland City Limits 133 140 142 143 150 

Portland Surrounding Areas 29 31 34 37 42 

Southern Oregon 30 30 30 30 34 

Willamette Valley 71 83 86 92 101 

Total (statewide) 330 355 368 387 424 

 
 
Table 3 shows the number of locations in 2016 registered with DOR to remit marijuana taxes, 
according to the type of business legal structure. Some of these locations may have a common 
owner of a specific organizational type, for example a C corporation that has multiple retail 
locations. This count includes each location separately rather than counting each overall owner 
only once. In this count, approximately half of locations are operated as C corporations, either 
directly or as limited liability companies (LLCs) structured as C corporations.    
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Table 3: Number of Business Locations Registered to Remit Marijuana Tax in 2016 

by Business Organization Structure     

  Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 

C Corporation 116 123 123 127 

LLC Organized as Corporation 43 47 49 53 

LLC Organized as Partnership 67 74 81 85 

LLC Organized as Sole Proprietorship 44 49 48 51 

Non-profit Entity 7 8 8 8 

Partnership (General or Limited) 14 14 15 15 

Sole Proprietorship 16 16 17 18 

Sub-chapter S Corporation 9 10 11 13 

Not Reported 14 14 16 17 

Total 330 355 368 387 

Note: These numbers count distinct locations rather than parent businesses.  
 
 

Sales Amounts and Tax Liability on Tax Returns 
 
Most of the information used in this report to measure marijuana sales and taxes comes from 
tax return forms. Each business location selling recreational marijuana is required to file a 
return with the state every quarter. Tax return forms contain information reported by each 
retailer about the dollar amounts of sales made in each of the allowed product categories and 
the quantity sold in each product category. Quantities are measured in grams for dried flowers 
and leaves, in units for edibles, extracts, concentrates, topical products and other cannabinoid 
products, and in number of seeds and plants.  
 
Quarterly tax returns for the permanent tax (17 percent rate) collect information on sales by 
month by product category, both taxed and tax exempt. Tax returns for the temporary tax (25 
percent rate) only collected total sales by quarter by product category and did not collect 
information about tax exempt sales. The tax rate is applied to the taxable sales amount to 
calculate the tax liability. Then two percent of the resulting tax is subtracted from tax liability as 
a reimbursement for administrative expenses of collecting, reporting, and remitting the tax.  
 
If a registered taxpayer fails to file a return as legally required, the Department of Revenue may 
estimate the tax owed and issue what is known as an estimated return. DOR considers either 
the presence of an estimated return or the lack of a filed return that is due to be 
noncompliance with the marijuana tax. Noncompliance with Department of Revenue rules 
related to retail marijuana taxation is a violation of OLCC license rules. Taxpayers can come into 
compliance by filing their own return to replace an estimated return. Estimated returns 
included in this analysis may have been replaced since the date of the analysis.  
 
This report does not include information on tax payments actually remitted to DOR, which may 
differ from the liability amounts if any filers pay more or less than their liability. A tabulation of 
monthly total marijuana tax payments received by DOR is available on the DOR website.   
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Statistics from Oregon Marijuana Tax Returns 
 
The following are descriptions of the tables that are included in the Detailed Tables section. 
 
Table 4 includes the marijuana tax liability amounts for each quarter and tax rate during 2016, 
as shown on filed and estimated returns. Many businesses were required to file two returns for 
the last quarter of 2016. If a business was already operating as a medical marijuana dispensary 
registered with OHA and it received an OLCC retail license during the quarter (other than on the 
first day of the quarter), then the business owed a paper return for the sales taxed at 25 
percent as well as an online return for the sales taxed at 17 percent. The only cases where 
exactly one return was required were if the business was operating as an OHA-registered 
dispensary for the entire quarter or if the business was operating as an OLCC licensee for the 
entire quarter. 
 
Total marijuana tax liability during calendar year 2016 was approximately $73 million. That 
includes more than $69 million in liability as reported on filed returns and nearly $4 million in 
liability assigned to taxpayers by estimated returns. 
 
Table 5 shows the distribution of marijuana tax liability across regions for 2016. The largest 
share of the total tax liability was associated with Portland and the surrounding areas. 
 
Table 6 shows quarterly total taxed recreational sales amounts in 2016 reported by both 
medical dispensaries participating in the temporary recreational sales option and OLCC licensed 
retailers. Total reported taxable marijuana sales in 2016 in Oregon were approximately $287 
million. Table 7 breaks down quarterly taxable sales by region.  
 
Further details in the form of reported sales by product category by quarter for the temporary 
tax rate are shown in Table 8, in descending order by total dollar amount. Sales in the flower 
category were substantially larger than sales in any other product category. Just within the 25 
percent tax rate program, sales of flower alone totaled more than $217 million during 2016. 
The next largest sales category was pre-filled receptacles of cannabinoid extracts, in the 
amount of nearly $33 million. Similarly for the permanent tax, Table 10 shows sales by product 
type during the last quarter of 2016, which was the first quarter that OLCC retail licenses were 
available.    
 
Flower-only sales by region by quarter are depicted in Tables 9 and 11. Table 9 describes sales 
at the 25 percent tax rate made by OHA-registered dispensaries participating in the temporary 
program. Table 11 describes sales at the 17 percent tax rate made by OLCC licensed retailers. 
Both the dollar amounts and number of grams sold were greatest in the Portland area, and also 
large in the Willamette Valley. The average price per gram of flower by region was generally 
lowest within the Portland city limits compared to other regions.   
 
There appeared to be a seasonal pattern of sales, although that should not be overstated 
during the first year of legalization when many other factors were changing at the same time. 
For example, the number of locations where adults could purchase marijuana was increasing 
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during this time period. That said, reported sales of flower were greatest during the period July 
through September, relative to other quarters.  
 
Table 12 provides the first look at tax exempt sales amounts using tax return data. These sales 
are made by OLCC retail licensees to medical patient or caregiver cardholders. That information 
was not collected on tax returns until OLCC retail licensing had begun, so the first available 
statistics are for October 2016. Given that only a small number of retailers were licensed by 
OLCC at that time, the resulting statistics can fluctuate excessively because of not having a large 
number of retailers to balance out any unusual experiences from one or two retailers. 
 
 

Distribution of Revenue 
 
As outlined in ORS 475B.759, the basic formula for the distribution of state marijuana tax 
revenue, after covering state administrative costs and required transfers is: 40 percent to the 
same purposes as the State School Fund, 20 percent toward mental health or alcohol and drug 
abuse treatment, 15 percent to the same purposes as the State Police Account, 5 percent for 
purposes related to alcohol and drug abuse prevention, early intervention and treatment 
services, and 10 percent each to cities and to counties in Oregon. While the marijuana 
regulatory infrastructure was still being developed and implemented in Oregon, and especially 
until a start-up loan within OLCC could be repaid using marijuana tax revenue, distributions of 
state marijuana tax revenue were not made to those ultimate statutory recipients until 
September 2017.   
 
 

Important Notes about City and County-Level Reporting 
 
State law (ORS 314.835 and ORS 475B.755) requires the Department of Revenue to protect any 
information that can be traced to particular marijuana tax returns. This principle extends to 
small groups of returns, because it may be possible to calculate information sourced from one 
return if other outside information is also available, such as in a newspaper article or 
knowledge held by one of the included taxpayers.     
 
The Department of Revenue can only report marijuana tax statistics at the regional level rather 
than for specific cities or counties. The City of Portland is the only exception, because of its very 
large number of marijuana retail businesses.   
 
Both state marijuana tax law and the geographic pattern of marijuana businesses are reasons 
the department cannot release information for both a city and the county that contains that 
city. Often, only a few businesses are located outside of city limits within a given county. The 
department cannot release two pieces of information that a reader could compare or subtract 
to learn something confidential that was itself not directly released. The department also 
cannot release information about whether a specific taxpayer did or did not file a tax return. A 
map of the reporting regions used in this analysis is included at the end of this report.
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Detailed Tables 
 

Table 4: Tax Liability on Filed and Estimated Returns for 2016     

  Filed Returns Estimated Returns Still Outstanding Totals Across All Types of Returns 

 Number 
of Filers 

State Tax 
Liability 

Number of 
Filers 

State Tax Liability Number of 
Filers 

State Tax Liability 

Q1: 25% Rate 316 $12,641,258 12 $489,824 328 $13,131,081 

Q2: 25% Rate 327 $15,986,298 27 $1,345,331 354 $17,331,629 

Q3: 25% Rate 343 $22,167,547 21 $916,210 364 $23,083,757 

Q4: Overall 
  

17 $1,174,963 380 $19,526,259 

Q4: 25% Rate 323 $15,934,590     
Q4: 17% Rate 123 $2,417,409     

Totals for Calendar Year 2016   $69,147,101   $3,926,327   $73,072,727 

Notes: If a business location filed multiple (amended) versions of a return, only the final return is counted here. 

Filed liabilities may not exactly sum to final liabilities because of small tax adjustments by DOR after return filing.  
Statistics are as of February 22, 2018.     

 

 

Table 5: Tax Liability by Region from Filed Returns for 2016        

  Q1 Q2 Q3 Q4 (25% Rate) Q4 (17% Rate) 

  
Number 
of Filers 

State Tax 
Liability 

Number 
of Filers 

State Tax 
Liability 

Number 
of Filers 

State Tax 
Liability 

Number 
of Filers 

State Tax 
Liability 

Number 
of Filers 

State Tax 
Liability 

Central/Gorge/Eastern 28 $942,163  27 $1,247,347  31 $2,222,676  29 $1,475,261  15 $384,599  

Oregon Coast 38 $1,048,374  39 $1,313,176  43 $2,086,000  41 $1,187,029  17 $223,605  

Portland City Limits 127 $5,170,598  128 $6,147,690  129 $7,924,218  125 $5,985,358  39 $765,422  

Portland Surrounding Areas 28 $2,105,425  28 $2,582,370  31 $3,206,403  31 $2,791,623  13 $427,553  

Southern Oregon 29 $761,383  28 $1,084,241  29 $1,718,930  23 $872,272  9 $163,200  

Willamette Valley 66 $2,613,314  77 $3,611,473  80 $5,009,320  74 $3,623,047  30 $453,031  

Total 316 $12,641,258  327 $15,986,298  343 $22,167,547  323 $15,934,590  123 $2,417,409  
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Table 6: Total Taxable Sales Reported by Quarter for 2016 

  Number 
of Returns 

Reported 
Taxable Sales 

Q1: 25% Rate 315 $51,578,421  

Q2: 25% Rate 327 $65,235,132  

Q3: 25% Rate 343 $90,490,964  

Q4: 25% Rate 323 $65,086,047  

Q4: 17% Rate 123 $14,510,256  

Total  $286,900,820 

 
 

 



 

Oregon Department of Revenue, Research Section          11                                                                                     

Table 7: Total Taxable Sales by Region by Quarter for 2016 

 

Number 
of Filers 

Reported 
Taxable Sales 

Q1    
Central/Gorge/Eastern 28 $3,985,070  

Oregon Coast 38 $4,187,554  

Portland City Limits 127 $21,103,260  

Portland Surrounding Areas 28 $8,593,399  

Southern Oregon 29 $3,106,248  

Willamette Valley 65 $10,602,891  

Total 315 $51,578,421  

   
Q2    
Central/Gorge/Eastern 27 $5,091,210  

Oregon Coast 39 $5,350,101  

Portland City Limits 128 $25,088,419  

Portland Surrounding Areas 28 $10,540,301  

Southern Oregon 28 $4,423,412  

Willamette Valley 77 $14,741,689  

Total 327 $65,235,132  

   
Q3   
Central/Gorge/Eastern 31 $9,072,153  

Oregon Coast 43 $8,512,577  

Portland City Limits 129 $32,356,015  

Portland Surrounding Areas 31 $13,087,475  

Southern Oregon 29 $7,016,171  

Willamette Valley 80 $20,446,573  

Total 343 $90,490,964  

   
Q4: 25% Rate    
Central/Gorge/Eastern 29 $6,021,474  

Oregon Coast 41 $4,842,730  

Portland City Limits 125 $24,430,030  

Portland Surrounding Areas 31 $11,394,770  

Southern Oregon 23 $3,610,293  

Willamette Valley 74 $14,786,751  

Total 323 $65,086,047  

   
Q4: 17% Rate    
Central/Gorge/Eastern 15 $2,308,520  

Oregon Coast 17 $1,342,165  

Portland City Limits 39 $4,594,367  

Portland Surrounding Areas 13 $2,566,342  

Southern Oregon 9 $979,589  

Willamette Valley 30 $2,719,272  

Total 123 $14,510,256  
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Table 8: Recreational Sales by Product Category, Just for Sales Taxed at 25% Rate 
(Not Including Sales Taxed at 17% Rate, Which are Shown in Table 10) 

 

Number of 
Returns 

Sales Units Reported Average 
Price 

Flowers 
  

Q1  308 $50,047,677  5,751,747 $8.70  
Q2  317 $55,460,965  6,502,016 $8.53  

Q3  336 $66,847,203  7,455,919 $8.97  

Q4  309 $45,251,597  5,347,586 $8.46  

Total in 2016   $217,607,442  25,057,268 $8.68  

Extracts   
Q2 284 $4,296,137  158,737 $27.06 

Q3  320 $16,220,274  531,989 $30.49 

Q4  300 $12,091,399  392,564 $30.80 

Total in 2016   $32,866,688  1,091,704 $30.11 

Edibles   
Q2  283 $1,562,390  222,617 $7.02 

Q3 324 $4,501,644  651,384 $6.91 

Q4  298 $2,871,809  419,462 $6.85 

Total in 2016   $9,071,712  1,308,740 $6.93 

Topicals   
Q2  226 $304,176  15,137 $20.09 

Q3  294 $974,198  54,243 $17.96 

Q4 264 $691,306  29,730 $23.25 

Total in 2016   $2,011,865  100,544 $20.01 

Leaves 
 

 
Q1 16 $161,935  21,616 $7.49 

Q2  38 $483,776  64,733 $7.47 

Q3  41 $478,605  71,127 $6.73 

Q4  30 $537,733  86,980 $6.18 

Total in 2016   $1,662,049  244,455 $6.80 

Immature Plants     
Q1  106 $227,696  13,227 $17.21 

Q2 144 $683,608  36,456 $18.75 

Q3  147 $238,879  52,678 $4.53 

Q4  80 $134,471  10,185 $13.20 

Total in 2016   $1,284,654  112,546 $11.41 

Seeds       
Q1 107 $78,106  5,627 $13.88 

Q2  123 $98,135  14,931 $6.57 

Q3  140 $108,917  7,784 $13.99 

Q4  98 $79,919  5,985 $13.35 

Total in 2016   $365,077  34,327 $10.64 

Notes: Extracts, edibles, and topicals were not allowed until June 2016. Units are in 
grams for flowers and leaves, in number of seeds or plants, and in "units" for all 
others. 
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Table 9: Flower Sales Only by Region by Quarter, Just for Sales Taxed at 25% Rate in 2016 (Not Including 
Sales Taxed at 17% Rate, Which are Shown in Table 11) 

 

Number 
of Filers Flower Sales Grams 

Average 
Per Gram 

Average 
Sales 

Average 
Grams 

Q1        

Central/Gorge/Eastern 27 $3,807,921  462,532 $8.23  $141,034  17,131 

Oregon Coast 37 $4,050,807  453,443 $8.93  $109,481  12,255 

Portland City Limits 125 $20,580,841  2,467,346 $8.34  $164,647  19,739 

Portland Surrounding Areas 28 $8,525,349  909,732 $9.37  $304,477  32,490 

Southern Oregon 29 $2,992,222  345,926 $8.65  $103,180  11,928 

Willamette Valley 62 $10,090,537  1,112,767 $9.07  $162,751  17,948 

Total 308 $50,047,677  5,751,747 $8.70  $162,492  18,675 

       
Q2        

Central/Gorge/Eastern 27 $4,314,007  462,195 $9.33  $159,778  17,118 

Oregon Coast 38 $4,577,796  518,973 $8.82  $120,468  13,657 

Portland City Limits 122 $21,742,793  2,774,118 $7.84  $178,220  22,739 

Portland Surrounding Areas 26 $8,303,036  909,427 $9.13  $319,348  34,978 

Southern Oregon 28 $3,674,585  430,230 $8.54  $131,235  15,365 

Willamette Valley 76 $12,848,747  1,407,074 $9.13  $169,062  18,514 

Total 317 $55,460,965  6,502,016 $8.53  $174,956  20,511 

       

Q3       

Central/Gorge/Eastern 29 $5,878,668  611,571 $9.61  $202,713  21,089 

Oregon Coast 42 $6,148,535  688,147 $8.93  $146,394  16,384 

Portland City Limits 126 $24,211,243  2,912,706 $8.31  $192,153  23,117 

Portland Surrounding Areas 31 $10,541,411  1,043,689 $10.10  $340,046  33,667 

Southern Oregon 29 $4,965,973  531,474 $9.34  $171,240  18,327 

Willamette Valley 79 $15,101,374  1,668,332 $9.05  $191,157  21,118 

Total 336 $66,847,203  7,455,919 $8.97  $198,950  22,190 

       

Q4        

Central/Gorge/Eastern 29 $3,730,199  405,178 $9.21  $128,628  13,972 

Oregon Coast 39 $3,289,105  387,733 $8.48  $84,336  9,942 

Portland City Limits 119 $17,607,775  2,247,521 $7.83  $147,964  18,887 

Portland Surrounding Areas 30 $8,025,008  851,949 $9.42  $267,500  28,398 

Southern Oregon 21 $2,190,414  259,678 $8.44  $104,305  12,366 

Willamette Valley 71 $10,409,095  1,195,527 $8.71  $146,607  16,838 

Total 309 $45,251,597  5,347,586 $8.46  $146,445  17,306 

Note: Some returns may have been excluded from this analysis if they reported implausible data, or if they 
did not report a quantity sold. Returns reporting sales of $0 are not included. 
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Table 10: Recreational Sales by Product Category, Just for Sales Taxed at 17% State Tax Rate, October through December 2016 (Not Including 
Sales Taxed at 25% Rate, Which are Shown in Table 8) 

  
Number 
of Filers 

Taxable 
Sales 

Taxable Sales by Month* Taxable Quantity Sold* Average Per Unit Price* 

      Oct Nov Dec Oct Nov Dec Oct Nov Dec 

Leaves 22 $1,030,459 $296,694 $317,174 $416,592 13,597 22,316 31,623 $21.82 $14.21 $13.17 

Flowers 115 $9,682,494 $2,028,658 $3,011,246 $4,642,590 294,347 338,075 542,320 $6.89 $8.91 $8.56 

Plants 29 $14,578 $2,475 $5,170 $6,933 130 213 293 $19.04 $24.27 $23.66 

Edibles 109 $920,832 $207,635 $245,611 $467,586 23,794 24,278 39,216 $8.73 $10.12 $11.92 

Concentrates 61 $680,653 $181,541 $236,956 $262,156 5,242 7,069 7,731 $34.63 $33.52 $33.91 

Extracts 100 $1,973,894 $467,324 $533,866 $972,704 14,260 15,763 23,866 $32.77 $33.87 $40.76 

Topicals 88 $127,437 $29,554 $36,567 $61,316 1,080 1,360 2,769 $27.36 $26.89 $22.14 

Other Products 38 $79,908 $28,817 $23,383 $27,708 2,047 1,736 2,028 $14.08 $13.47 $13.66 

Notes: * Some values are likely misleading due to small number of retailers, especially during October and November when only a small number 
of retailers had been OLCC licensed. Numbers for December are likely more sensible. Units are in grams for flowers and leaves, in number of 
seeds or plants, and in "units" for all others. 
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Table 11: Flower Sales Only by Region, Just Those Taxed at 17% State Tax Rate, 
October through December 2016 (Not Including Sales Taxed at 25% Rate, Which 
are Shown in Table 9)  

  Number 
of Filers Flower Sales Grams 

Average 
Per Gram 

Central/Gorge/Eastern 14 $1,344,812  132,855 $10.12  

Oregon Coast 15 $818,505  97,249 $8.42  

Portland City Limits 37 $3,077,980  342,622 $8.98  

Portland Surrounding Areas 12 $1,784,150  280,588 $6.36  

Southern Oregon 8 $652,721  70,199 $9.30  

Willamette Valley 29 $2,004,327  251,229 $7.98  

Total 115 $9,682,494  1,174,742 $8.24  

Note: Some returns may have been excluded from this analysis if they reported 
implausible data, or if they did not report a quantity sold. Returns reporting sales of 
$0 are not included. 
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Table 12: Tax Exempt Medical Sales, October through December 2016 (Reported on Tax Returns by OLCC Licensees Only, Not 
Including OHA Dispensaries, Which Could Also Sell Medical Marijuana) 

  
Number 
of Filers 

Medical 
Sales 

Medical Sales by Month Medical Quantity Sold Average Per Unit Price* 

      Oct Nov Dec Oct Nov Dec Oct Nov Dec 

Leaves 10 $184,772 $62,219 $39,729 $82,824 1,382 1,201 9,089 $45.02 $33.08 $9.11 

Flowers 72 $1,155,464 $294,718 $335,568 $525,178 45,065 57,174 81,226 $6.54 $5.87 $6.47 

Plants 14 $8,705 $2,342 $3,047 $3,316 174 146 180 $13.46 $20.87 $18.42 

Edibles 66 $171,414 $45,692 $47,928 $77,794 3,776 3,728 7,763 $12.10 $12.86 $10.02 

Concentrates 39 $226,803 $52,849 $82,576 $91,378 2,285 2,670 3,072 $23.13 $30.93 $29.75 

Extracts 62 $289,881 $90,978 $76,412 $122,490 3,270 2,725 3,432 $27.82 $28.04 $35.69 

Topicals 49 $21,010 $5,418 $6,628 $8,964 205 268 369 $26.43 $24.73 $24.29 

Other Products 19 $12,093 $4,430 $4,020 $3,643 819 270 492 $5.41 $14.89 $7.40 

Note: * Some values are likely misleading due to small numbers of retailers, especially during October and November when only a 
small number of retailers had been OLCC licensed. Numbers for December are likely more sensible. 
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