

Frequently Asked Questions

EASTERN OREGON ECONOMIC DEVELOPMENT PLANNING PROJECT



In 2018, the Oregon Legislature allocated \$300,000 to the Oregon Department of Land Conservation and Development (DLCD) for economic development planning assistance in HB 5201. The bill allocates funding "for the purpose of providing technical assistance grants to eastern Oregon counties for economic opportunity analyses." Eastern Oregon is defined in state law as including 17 counties - Baker, Crook, Deschutes, Gilliam, Grant, Harney, Jefferson, Klamath, Lake, Malheur, Morrow, Sherman, Umatilla, Union, Wallowa, Wasco, and Wheeler.
¹Funding from this program must be spent in its entirety by June 30, 2019.

With the funds DLCD is contracting with consultants experienced in completing Economic Opportunities Analyses (EOAs) and associated public facility inventories. The consultant will work for a city – or group of cities within a county or region – to prepare draft updates to comprehensive plans according to a defined scope of work.

What Services are Available?

Eligible cities and counties on behalf of cities were invited to request assistance developing one or both of the following products:

Economic Development Planning. The consultant will work with one or more advisory committees appointed by a city – or by a county acting on behalf of a group of cities –to prepare a hearings-ready draft EOA as described in OAR 660-009-0015. The purpose of an EOA is to ensure that cities have an available land supply to support economic growth. An EOA includes analysis of local and regional economic trends, evaluation of the community's opportunities and barriers to economic growth, and a determination of the types and amounts of land and infrastructure needed to support expected employment.

In addition to the EOA, the consultant will help the city or group of cites review comprehensive plan policies to ensure the policies implement the community's economic development objectives, and recommend amendments to the policies if needed. (*See OAR 660-009-0020*) Finally, the consultant will help the city determine whether rezoning or an urban growth boundary expansion would be needed to accommodate needed employment land. (*See OAR 660-009-0025*)

Public Facility Inventory. The consultant will prepare information and maps showing the location, capacity, and condition of water, sewage disposal, storm water management, and transportation systems inside the urban growth boundary for the purpose of assessing the community's economic development potential. Such inventories will be based on best available information from cities, other service providers, and state agencies.

_

¹ Oregon Revised Statutes 321.805.

Who is Eligible?

All cities and counties in Eastern Oregon were eligible to submit a Request for Assistance. Because EOAs are completed for a specific urban growth area, a county government is eligible only as a convener for a group of cities within its boundaries.

If the department receives more interest than available funding can accommodate, priority will be given first to cities that are: (a) in a county with a population smaller than 20,000; (b) in a distressed area; and (c) geographically isolated. "Distressed areas" are defined by Business Oregon as a city or a city in a county that has been identified as <u>distressed according to specific annual indicators</u>. "Geographically isolated" means a city that is located more than 50 miles from a city with a population greater than 75,000.

Second priority will be given to those cities that are: (a) in a county with a population smaller than 20,000; and (b) in a distressed area. The department will also consider local government readiness and give special consideration to those applications that include multiple cities within a region or county, particularly those where the county is serving as the convener.

Who has Applied?

Thirty-one communities applied for assistance – either cities or counties on behalf of cities: Baker County, City of Prairie City, Dayville, Enterprise, Gilliam County, Grant County, Harney County, Hines, John Day, Lake County, Sherman County, Lakeview, Lostine, Madras, Maupin, Metolius, Milton-Freewater, Monument, Mosier, North Powder, Paisley, Prineville, Redmond, Seneca, Sherman County, Sisters, Stanfield, The Dalles, the City of Umatilla, City of Union, Union County, Wheeler County. For a complete list of applicants and their requested services, please contact Kirstin Greene at kirstin.greene@state.or.us.

What are the Next Steps?

In July and August, DLCD staff will be working to pair selected consultants with applicant jurisdictions. Selected jurisdictions will be asked to sign a memorandum of understanding that spells out the roles and responsibilities of the consultant, DLCD, and the local government. Work is expected to begin before September 1, 2018.

Who do I Call for More Information?

Please contact your DLCD regional representative or DLCD's Economic Development Specialist with questions or for more information.

Eastern Oregon:
Phil Stenbeck
phil.stenbeck@state.or.us
541-325-6924

Central Oregon:
Scott Edelman
scott.edelman@state.or.us
541-306-8530

Economic Development Specialist: Kirstin Greene Kirstin.greene@state.or.us 503.934.0017

Created: July 10, 2018 2