OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY OF STATE LAVONNE GRIFFIN-VALADE SECRETARY OF STATE

CHERYL MYERS DEPUTY SECRETARY OF STATE AND TRIBAL LIAISON



ARCHIVES DIVISION STEPHANIE CLARK DIRECTOR

800 SUMMER STREET NE SALEM, OR 97310 503-373-0701

PERMANENT ADMINISTRATIVE ORDER

BLPCT 5-2023

CHAPTER 833 MENTAL HEALTH REGULATORY AGENCY OREGON BOARD OF LICENSED PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS AND THERAPISTS

FILING CAPTION: Limited permit, renewal processes and requirements, client records, fee reductions, alternative name, and cleanup.

EFFECTIVE DATE: 01/01/2024

AGENCY APPROVED DATE: 10/06/2023

CONTACT: LaReé Stashek 503-373-1196 laree.stashek@mhra.oregon.gov 3218 Pringle Road SE, Ste. 120 Salem, OR 97302 Filed By: LaRee Stashek Rules Coordinator

RULES:

833-020-0102, 833-020-0200, 833-050-0031, 833-050-0071, 833-050-0091, 833-050-0111, 833-050-0131, 833-050-0161, 833-070-0011, 833-075-0020, 833-075-0060, 833-075-0070, 833-080-0011, 833-080-0051, 833-100-0011, 833-100-0012, 833-100-0021, 833-110-0031

ADOPT: 833-020-0102

RULE TITLE: Limited Permit

NOTICE FILED DATE: 08/09/2023

RULE SUMMARY: Implements new limited permit as authorized by House Bill 3300 (2023).

RULE TEXT:

(1) The Board may grant a non-renewable limited permit to practice professional counseling or marriage and family therapy in the State of Oregon as follows:

(a) A professional counselor limited permit may be issued to applicants that possess a current, active license to practice professional counseling in good standing in another state based on a graduate degree.

(b) A marriage and family therapist limited permit may be issued to applicants that possess a current, active license practice marriage and family therapy in good standing in another state based on a graduate degree.

(2) A limited permit is for individuals to provide professional counseling or marriage and family therapy services only for a limited specific purpose and time-specific period. It is not intended to be a substitute for or to allow unlimited, general provision of services in Oregon.

(3) To qualify for a limited permit, an applicant must submit to the Board:

(a) An application for a limited permit in a form and manner prescribed by the Board;

(b) Verification of licensure in good standing in another state;

(c) A statement certifying that the applicant has read and understands Oregon law and administrative rule pertaining to the practice of professional counseling or marriage and family therapy and the Board's adopted code of professional conduct;

FILED

ARCHIVES DIVISION

SECRETARY OF STATE & LEGISLATIVE COUNSEL (d) A statement of work that includes the limited purpose, location, and specific dates of service to be rendered;

(e) Other clarifying information requested by the Board; and

(f) The limited permit fee. This fee is not refundable, regardless of an applicant's inability to qualify for a permit.

(4) A limited permit issued by the Board:

(a) Is effective for no more than 30 days in a 12-month period. The 30 days may be nonconsecutive.

(b) Expires if the person is no longer actively licensed to practice professional counseling or marriage and family therapy in another state.

STATUTORY/OTHER AUTHORITY: ORS 675.785 - 675.835

STATUTES/OTHER IMPLEMENTED: House Bill 3300 (2023)

RULE TITLE: Temporary Practice Authorization

NOTICE FILED DATE: 08/09/2023

RULE SUMMARY: Adds requirement for temporary practitioners to provide nickname or alternative personal name to the Board. Allows domestic partners of military Armed Forces members to qualify for authorization. Makes amendments to provide information consistent with new online licensing system.

RULE TEXT:

(1) The Board may grant a temporary practice authorization to the spouse or domestic partner of a member of the Armed Forces of the United States who is stationed in Oregon as follows:

(a) Temporary Professional Counselor Authorization may be issued to applicants that possess a current, active license to practice professional counseling in good standing in another state based on a graduate degree.

(b) Temporary Marriage and Family Therapist Authorization may be issued to applicants that possess a current, active license practice marriage and family therapy in good standing in another state based on a graduate degree.

(c) To qualify for Temporary Practice Authorization, an applicant must be in good standing, with no restrictions or limitations upon, actions taken against, or investigation or disciplinary action pending against his or her license in any jurisdiction where the applicant is or has been licensed.

(2) A Temporary Practice Authorization issued by the Board is not renewable, and is only valid until the earliest of the following:

(a) Two years after the date of issuance;

(b) The date the spouse or domestic partner of the person to whom the temporary practice authorization was issued completes the spouse's or domestic partner's term of service in Oregon; or

(c) The date the person's authorization issued by another state expires.

(3) To apply for a Temporary Practice Authorization, an applicant must submit the following in a form and manner prescribed by the Board:

(a) A complete Temporary Authorization Application;

(b) A copy of the evidence of marriage or domestic partnership (such as marriage certificate or domestic partnership registration) showing the name of the applicant and the name of the active duty member of the Armed Forces of the United States;

(c) A copy of the assignment to a duty station located in Oregon by official active duty military order for the spouse or domestic partner named in the document described provided under (b), above; and

(d) The temporary practice authorization fee. This fee is not refundable, regardless of an applicant's inability to qualify for temporary practice authorization.

(4) All applicants must pass an Oregon law and rules examination pursuant to OAR 833-020-0081 before the authorization will be issued.

(5) Current Information to the Board. An applicant or person who has been granted a temporary practice authorization must provide current contact information to the Board, and must notify the Board within 30 days in a form and manner prescribed by the Board if any information submitted on the application changes, including but not limited to:

(a) Public and mailing address;

(b) Telephone number;

(c) Electronic mail address

(d) Any nickname or alternative personal name used by the individual;

(e) Change of name, which must be accompanied by acceptable identification and a copy of the legal document showing the name change;

(f) Character and fitness information, including complaints, disciplinary actions, employment investigations that lead to termination or resignation, and civil, criminal, or ethical charges;

(g) The status of the license to practice professional counseling or marriage and family therapy in another state; and

(h) The status of the spouse's or domestic partner's term of service in Oregon.
 STATUTORY/OTHER AUTHORITY: ORS 670.400, ORS 676.308, ORS 675.785
 STATUTES/OTHER IMPLEMENTED: ORS 670.400, ORS 676.308, ORS 675.785

RULE TITLE: Registered Associate Professional Disclosure Statement

NOTICE FILED DATE: 08/09/2023

RULE SUMMARY: Corrects registrant title.

RULE TEXT:

(1) Registered associates must furnish clients with a copy of a Board-approved professional disclosure statement (PDS) before providing counseling or therapy. When providing disclosure statements via electronic communication, registered associates must ensure a means of documenting confirmation of receipt and acknowledgement of the PDS.

(2) A professional disclosure statement must include the following information about the registered associate:

(a) Name, business address and telephone number;

(b) Name of the registered associate's supervisor(s);

(c) Philosophy and approach to counseling or marriage and family therapy, including reference to any codes of standards or ethics to which the registered associate subscribes;

(d) Formal education and training, title of highest relevant degree, the school that granted the degree, and major coursework;

(e) Supervision requirements;

(f) A statement indicating adherence to the Oregon Licensing Board's Code of Ethics set forth in OAR Chapter 833, Division 100;

(g) The standard fee for service, including discounted rates or sliding scale and a statement that no fees will be charged and no additional fee will be added to another set fee such as a hospital room daily charge;

(h) A bill of rights of clients, including a statement that consumers of counseling or therapy services offered by Oregon registered associates have the right:

(A) To expect that an registered associate has met the minimum qualifications of training and experience required by state law;

(B) To examine public records maintained by the Board and to have the Board confirm credentials of a registered associate;

(C) To obtain a copy of the Code of Ethics;

(D) To report complaints to the Board;

(E) To be informed of the cost of professional services before receiving the services;

(F) To be assured of privacy and confidentiality while receiving services as defined by rule or law. Registered associates must include an explanation of each exception to confidentiality;

(G) To be free from being the object of discrimination on any basis listed in the Code of Ethics while receiving services.(i) The name, address, telephone number, and email address of the Oregon Board of Licensed Professional Counselors and Therapists; and

(j) A statement indicating the following: "Additional information about this registered associate is available on the Board's website: www.oregon.gov/oblpct."

(3) The professional disclosure statement must be accessible to people with disabilities.

(4) Registered associates will assist their clients to understand the information in the professional disclosure statement.

(5) Whenever a registered associate changes the professional disclosure statement, the new statement must be provided to the Board for approval.

STATUTORY/OTHER AUTHORITY: ORS 675.785 - 675.835, 676.160 - 676.180

RULE TITLE: Direct Client Contact

NOTICE FILED DATE: 08/09/2023

RULE SUMMARY: Removes obsolete reference to a repealed rule division.

RULE TEXT:

(1) Registered associates must complete at least three years, defined as 36 months, of supervised clinical experience which must include no less than 1,900 hours of supervised direct client contact to qualify for licensure.

(2) Registered associates may count direct client contact hours acquired outside an associate registration plan only as follows:

(a) Up to one year of full-time supervised clinical experience and 400 direct client contact hours accrued as part of a graduate degree internship;

(b) Post-graduate degree supervised direct client contact hours completed in Oregon prior to June 30, 2002; and (c) Post-graduate degree supervised direct client contact hours completed in another jurisdiction pursuant to the jurisdiction's laws and rules that meet the direct application method experience requirements.

(3) Applicants for LMFT must accrue 1,900 hours of supervised direct client contact with at least 750 of those hours working with couples and families to qualify for licensure.

(4) Applications for dual licensure as professional counselor and marriage and family therapist must meet the requirements for both licenses.

(5) Direct client contact must be face to face with a client or clients and/or contact via electronic communication.

(6) Registered associates must receive and document supervision for and report all direct client contact hours at places of practice listed as part of their Board-approved plan.

STATUTORY/OTHER AUTHORITY: ORS 675.785 - 675.835, 676.160 - 676.180

RULE TITLE: Supervisor's Responsibilities

NOTICE FILED DATE: 08/09/2023

RULE SUMMARY: Changes registered associate supervisor reporting obligation from six-month to annual period. Updates language to reflect the Board's recent implementation of an online licensing system.

RULE TEXT:

(1) The supervisor must:

(a) Review and evaluate appropriateness of client population and caseload, individual charts, case records and management, diagnostic evaluation and treatment planning, and methodologies for keeping client confidentiality.(b) Recommend that the registered associate refer clients to other therapists when client needs are outside the registered associate's scope of practice.

(c) Ensure that letterhead, business cards, advertisements and directory listings, brochures, and any other representation includes the appropriate title as described in OAR 833-050-0111(1)(a) and the supervisor's name and designation as "supervisor."

(d) Assist the registered associate in developing a plan to prepare for and complete the competency exam in a timely manner.

(e) Notify the Board within 14 days and explain any significant interruption to supervision or expected termination of the supervisory relationship.

(f) Create and maintain for at least three years a record of hours of supervision and notes for each supervision session contemporaneously as supervision occurs, and provide it to the Board within fourteen days of request.

(g) Be someone other than a spouse or relative by blood or marriage or a person with whom the registered associate has or had a personal relationship.

(h) Meet registered associate supervisor qualifications as required in OAR chapter 833, division 130.

(i) Provide a written evaluation of the registered associate's skills and progress every annually and at the conclusion of the plan in a form and manner prescribed by the Board. The report must include progress toward completion of the registered associate's plan. Supervisors may report to the Board at any time deemed necessary.

(2) If a supervisor has professional or ethical concerns about a supervisee, the supervisor must promptly notify the Board and provide the following information:

(a) Specific concerns regarding conduct or performance;

(b) Steps taken to address the concerns;

(c) A remedial action plan with measurable outcomes to address the concerns; and

(d) The registered associate's progress to address the concerns expressed by the supervisor.

(3) The Board may take any or all of the following actions to address concerns about registered associates:

(a) Identify a new supervisor to work with the registered associate;

(b) Require an assessment of the registered associate's mental and/or physical health;

(c) Require the registered associate to seek personal therapy;

(d) Extend the associate registration;

(e) Require additional training for the registered associate;

(f) Place associate registration on hold; or

(g) Deny the registered associate a license.

(4) A supervisor provides supervision only when the supervisor's professional competence is sufficient to meet the needs of the trainee or registered associate. A supervisor does not permit a trainee or registered associate under the supervisor's supervision to perform, nor purport to be competent to perform, professional services beyond the trainee's or registered associate's level of training and accepts responsibility for the effects of the actions of the trainee or registered associate of which they should be aware.

STATUTORY/OTHER AUTHORITY: ORS 675.785 - 675.835, 676.160 - 676.180

RULE TITLE: Registered Associate's Responsibilities

NOTICE FILED DATE: 08/09/2023

RULE SUMMARY: Changes registered associate reporting obligation from six-month to annual period and at conclusion of supervision. Removes the requirement for the Board to deny all clinical hours when the report is submitted past the due date. Updates language to reflect the Board's recent implementation of an online licensing system.

RULE TEXT:

(1) The registered associate must:

(a) Indicate registration and use the title "Registered Associate", "Professional Counselor Associate", or "Marriage and Family Therapist Associate" in connection with a practice that is covered by an approved plan. All signed materials, letterhead, business cards, advertisements and directory listings, brochures, and any other representation must include the registered associate's appropriate title and the supervisor's name and designation as "supervisor".

(b) Take steps to ensure consistency in supervision throughout the associate registration.

(c) Provide the supervisor with a periodic evaluation of all cases and counseling or therapy activities in which the registered associate is engaged.

(d) Request approval from the Board to change supervisors more than three times during the associate registration plan period, and provide steps taken to ensure consistency when changing supervisors.

(e) Submit supervision reports annually and at the conclusion of supervision that include the supervisor's evaluation and the hours of direct client contact accrued by month in a form and manner prescribed by the Board.

(f) Notify the Board within 14 days and explain any interruptions or proposed termination of supervision or employment.

(2) The registered associate must submit a written request on a board approved form to the Board in order to change the associate registration plan. Approval of the following changes to the plan are required:

- (a) Supervision;
- (b) Employment;
- (c) Practice locations; and
- (d) Supervisor(s).

(3) A registered associate who files a request to change the associate registration plan must meet Board requirements in place at the time of the change request.

STATUTORY/OTHER AUTHORITY: ORS 675.785 - 675.835, 676.160 - 676.180

RULE TITLE: Associate Registration Renewal

NOTICE FILED DATE: 08/09/2023

RULE SUMMARY: Updates language to reflect the Board's recent implementation of an online application system. Makes changes to the information applicants must provide at renewal, including the annual supervision report. Clarifies renewal procedures, including registration lapse and consequence.

RULE TEXT:

(1) A registered associate must renew registration annually each year following initial registration. Annual renewal is due by the registration expiration date, which occurs on the first day of the month of initial registration, to be considered timely.

(2) Registration renewal requires the registered associate to submit an application for registration renewal in a form and manner prescribed by the Board, which must include the renewal fee as established in OAR 833-070-0011, complete and truthful responses to all of the questions regarding character and fitness, registrant's current information and status, annual supervision report, and an updated Professional Disclosure Statement if there have been changes.
(3) Late Renewal. A registered associate may renew a registration after the first day of the month but within the renewal month by, in addition to completing the requirement in section (2) above, submitting to the Board the required delinquent fee. If these are not timely submitted, then the associate registration will lapse. An individual whose registration has lapsed must reapply pursuant to OAR 833-020-0071 in order to practice as a registered associate or be considered for licensure.

(4) Renewal may be denied if any of the conditions of the plan are not being met.

(5) Registered associates must renew registration annually until being granted a license or the expiration or denial of associate registration.

(6) A former registered associate who allows their registration to lapse, and continues to practice professional counseling or marriage and family therapy unregistered in violation of ORS 675.825(1)(d), is subject to disciplinary action.

STATUTORY/OTHER AUTHORITY: ORS 675.785 - 675.835, 676.160 - 676.180 STATUTES/OTHER IMPLEMENTED: ORS 675.785 - 675.835

RULE TITLE: Current Information to Board

NOTICE FILED DATE: 08/09/2023

RULE SUMMARY: Adds requirement for registered associates to provide nickname or alternative personal name to the Board. Makes amendments to provide information consistent with new online licensing system.

RULE TEXT:

(1) All registered associates must provide current contact information to the Board, including:

(a) Physical residence address and post office box, if applicable;

(b) Electronic mail address;

(c) Home and work telephone numbers;

(d) Any nickname or alternative personal name used by the individual; and

(e) An updated, current Professional Disclosure Statement being provided to clients as required above.

(2) Registered associates must inform the Board office of any changes to information within 30 days of the change in a form and manner prescribed by the Board.

(3) Registered associates must submit a change of name in a form and manner prescribed by the Board, accompanied by a copy of the legal document showing the name change, within 30 days of the change.

STATUTORY/OTHER AUTHORITY: ORS 675.785 - 675.835, 676.160 - 676.180

RULE TITLE: Fees

NOTICE FILED DATE: 08/09/2023

RULE SUMMARY: Implements licensure fee reductions and new limited permit fee as approved in the Agency 2023-25 budget (House Bill 5024) and House Bill 3300. Changes license renewal fees from annual to biennial, and allows proration to facilitate the transition. Removes reference to license reprinting, as the Board's licensing system issues digital licenses.

RULE TEXT:

Fees established by the Board of Licensed Professional Counselors and Therapists are as follows:

(1) Application for licensure — \$175; applicants are also required to pay the actual cost to the Board to conduct a

criminal background check.

- (2) Initial license \$115.
- (3) Biennial renewal of license (the Boad will prorate this fee during the transition to biennial renewals):
- (a) Active status license \$290; or
- (b) Inactive status license \$180.
- (4) Restoration fees:
- (a) Delinquent fee for late renewals \$50;
- (b) Reactivation of inactive status license \$125.
- (5) Examination Candidates will pay exam and exam administration fees to the prescribed examination providers.
- (6) Duplicate certificate of licensure \$5.

(7) Verification of licensure or examination scores for applicant or licensee to other licensing or certifying agencies — \$10.

(8) Annual renewal of associate registration in accordance with OAR 833-050-0131 - \$105.

(9) Temporary Practice Authorization — \$405.

(10) Limited Permit — \$100.

STATUTORY/OTHER AUTHORITY: ORS 675.785 - 675.835, 676.160 - 676.180

RULE TITLE: License Renewal/Late Renewal

NOTICE FILED DATE: 08/09/2023

RULE SUMMARY: Updates language to reflect the Board's recent implementation of an online licensing system. Changes license renewal frequency from annual to biennial. Makes clarifications to renewal procedures, including renewal deadline, delinquent fee hardship waiver, and consequence of license lapse.

RULE TEXT:

(1) Before the Board will renew a license, a licensee must, no more than 45 days before or during the renewal month:
(a) Submit an application for license renewal in a form and manner prescribed by the Board, which must include complete and truthful responses to all of the questions regarding continuing education, character and fitness, licensee's current information and status, and any other questions;

(b) Pay the appropriate renewal fee;

(c) Pay the delinquent fee (if any);

(d) Submit an updated professional disclosure statement, if there have been changes or if renewal information indicates that the one on file with the Board contains false, incomplete, outdated or misleading information; and
(e) Complete the required healthcare workforce data survey and pay the fee established by the Oregon Health Authority pursuant to ORS 676.410.

(2) Renewal Deadline. A license renewal is due by the license expiration date, which occurs biennially on the last day of the licensee's birth month. To be considered timely, a Licensee must submit their complete renewal application and correct fees no later than the license expiration date. Licensee holds the burden of proof of timely submission.

(3) Late Renewal. A licensee may renew a license in the month following the renewal month by, in addition to completing the requirements of section (1) above, submitting to the Board the required delinquent fee. If these are not timely submitted, then the license shall lapse. An individual whose license has lapsed shall not practice professional counseling or marriage and family therapy in Oregon unless the person applies for and is granted a new license by the Board or is otherwise exempted from licensure requirements.

(4) The licensee holds the burden of proof of submission of the items required for renewal. Failure to receive a courtesy reminder from the Board shall not relieve a licensee of the renewal requirements and consequences.

(5) The Board shall have discretion to waive the delinquent fee in cases of documented hardship. The written request for hardship waiver should be made as soon as practicable after the hardship has occurred, and must include:

(a) A detailed description of the hardship that caused the Licensee to submit their renewal late; and

(b) Any relevant supporting documentation of the hardship that occurred.

(6) A former licensee who allows their license to lapse, and continues to practice professional counseling or marriage and family therapy unlicensed in violation of ORS 675.825(1)(d), is subject to disciplinary action.

STATUTORY/OTHER AUTHORITY: ORS 675.785 - 675.835, ORS 676.410

STATUTES/OTHER IMPLEMENTED: ORS 675.785 - 675.835, ORS 676.410

RULE TITLE: Current Information to Board

NOTICE FILED DATE: 08/09/2023

RULE SUMMARY: Adds requirement for licensees to provide nickname or alternative personal name to the Board. Makes amendments to provide information consistent with new online licensing system.

RULE TEXT:

(1) All licensees must provide current contact information to the Board, including:

(a) Physical residence address and post office box, if applicable;

(b) Electronic mail address;

(c) Home and work telephone numbers;

(d) Any nickname or alternative personal name used by the individual; and

(e) An updated, current Professional Disclosure Statement being provided to clients.

(2) Licensees must inform the Board of any changes to information within 30 days of the change in a form and manner prescribed by the Board.

(3) Licensees must submit a change of name in a form and manner prescribed by the Board, accompanied by a copy of the legal document showing the name change, within 30 days of the change.

STATUTORY/OTHER AUTHORITY: ORS 675.785

RULE TITLE: Client Records

NOTICE FILED DATE: 08/09/2023

RULE SUMMARY: Adds persons granted a limited permit as subject to client records requirements. Clarifies applicability of the seven-year retention period.

RULE TEXT:

(1) A licensed professional counselor, licensed marriage family therapist, registered associate, or person granted a limited permit or temporary practice authorization must:

- (a) Maintain client records for each client for a minimum of seven years from the date of last service;
- (b) Ensure that client records are legible;
- (c) Keep records in a secure, safe, and retrievable condition; and
- (d) Notify the Board if client records have been destroyed or lost.
- (2) At a minimum, client records should be recorded concurrently with the services provided and must include:
- (a) A formal or informal assessment of the client;
- (b) Counseling goals or objectives; and
- (c) Progress notes of therapy or counseling sessions.

(3) Licensees, registered associates, and temporary practitioners must disclose to the Board and its agents any client records that the Board and its agents consider germane to a disciplinary proceeding.

(4) Licensees, registered associates, and temporary practitioners do not withhold records under their control that are requested by the client solely because payment has not been received for services.

(5) The seven-year retention period described in section (1)(a) is calculated from the last date of service rendered by the treatment provider, regardless of whether the record holder is the provider or the custodian of record who is maintaining the record pursuant to OAR 833-75-0080.

STATUTORY/OTHER AUTHORITY: ORS 675.705 - 675.835

RULE TITLE: Continuing Education

NOTICE FILED DATE: 08/09/2023

RULE SUMMARY: Updates language to reflect biennial license renewal, including proration of continuing education requirements to facilitate the transition. Removes temporary postponement in continuing education reporting that was adopted in response to the COVID-19 pandemic that is now expired.

RULE TEXT:

Licensees must complete approved continuing education and report the hours to the Board biennially as a condition of license renewal. The Board will prorate continuing education requirements of licensees during the transition to biennial renewals conducted pursuant to ORS 675.725.

(1) "Reporting period" means the 24-month period between license renewals

(2) A "clock hour" for continuing education means one hour spent in a program meeting the requirements for continuing education. Clock hours exclude refreshment breaks, receptions and other social gatherings, and meals that do not include an approved program.

(3) Licensees must complete at least 40 continuing education clock hours within each reporting period.

(4) New licensees. There is no continuing education reporting required for individuals licensed less than 12 months or less on their first renewal date.

(5) There is no continuing education reporting required for licensees on or changing to inactive status.

(6) Licensees must complete the following minimum continuing education requirements in each reporting period:

(a) Six clock hours of training in professional ethics and/or Oregon State laws and regulations pertaining to the practice of professional counseling or marriage and family therapy;

(b) For licensees who supervise registered associates, including all licensees on the Supervisor Registry: three clock hours of supervision-related training

(c) Four clock hours of training in cultural competency; and

(d) Two clock hours of training dedicated to the topic of suicide risk assessment, treatment, and management.

STATUTORY/OTHER AUTHORITY: ORS 675.785 - 675.835, 676.160 - 676.180

RULE TITLE: Documentation and Submission of Continuing Education

NOTICE FILED DATE: 08/09/2023

RULE SUMMARY: Updates language to reflect license biennial renewals and the Board's recent implementation of an online licensing system.

RULE TEXT:

(1) Licensees must certify to the Board, at the time of renewal, that the continuing education requirements were met in a form and manner prescribed by the Board.

(2) Licensees must maintain documentation as proof that the licensee has satisfied the continuing professional education requirements for a minimum of two years after the reporting period. If requested by the Board, licensees will make continuing education records available for inspection.

(3) Responsibility for documenting the acceptability of the program and the validity of credit rests with the licensee. Documentation must include proof of actual attendance, participation, certification, or completion as well as content, duration, and if relevant, provider as follows:

(a) For college or university courses: A copy of a transcript showing satisfactory completion of the course;

(b) For seminars, workshops, conferences, trainings, or home study: Dated certificates (originals or copies) of completion of training;

(c) Program/activity descriptions, including (but not limited to) written verification of professional services, copies of published works or other proof of publication, letter from president/director of organization in which professional activity was conducted; and

(d) Signed statement of professional supervision by the individual providing the supervision.

STATUTORY/OTHER AUTHORITY: ORS 675.785 - 675.835, 676.160 - 676.180

RULE TITLE: General Purpose and Scope

NOTICE FILED DATE: 08/09/2023

RULE SUMMARY: Adds persons granted a limited permit as subject to the Board's adopted code of ethics.

RULE TEXT:

(1) The Board adopts the 2014 American Counseling Association (ACA) Code of Ethics as the code of professional conduct.

(2) The ACA code constitutes the standards against which the required professional conduct of professional counselors and marriage and family therapists is measured. It has as its goal the welfare and protection of the individuals and groups with whom counselors and therapists work. This Code applies to the conduct of all licensees, registered associates, persons granted a limited permit or temporary practice authorization, and applicants, including the applicant's conduct during the period of education, training, and employment which is required for licensure. Violation of the provisions of this Code of Ethics will be considered unprofessional or unethical conduct and is sufficient reason for disciplinary action, including, but not limited to, denial of licensure or authorization.

STATUTORY/OTHER AUTHORITY: ORS 675.785 - 675.835, ORS 676.160 - 676.180

RULE TITLE: Preamble

NOTICE FILED DATE: 08/09/2023

RULE SUMMARY: Adds persons granted a limited permit as subject to the Board's adopted code of ethics, and language cleanup.

RULE TEXT:

Licensees, registered associates, persons granted a limited permit or temporary practice authorization, and applicants must:

(1) Accept the obligation to conform to higher standards of conduct in the capacity of a counseling professional. The private conduct of a practitioner is a personal matter to the degree that it does not compromise the fulfillment of professional responsibilities.

(2) Respect the traditions of the profession, and refrain from any conduct that would bring discredit to the profession.

(3) Correct, wherever possible, false, misleading, or inaccurate information and representations made by others concerning the person's qualifications, services, or products. Advertisements must not be false, fraudulent, or misleading to the public. Testimonials from current clients are not solicited for advertising or other purposes due to the client's vulnerability to undue influence.

(4) Not engage in any conduct likely to deceive or defraud the public or the Board, or participate in, condone, or become associated with dishonesty, fraud, deceit, or misrepresentation.

STATUTORY/OTHER AUTHORITY: ORS 675.785 - 675.835, ORS 676.160 - 676.180

RULE TITLE: Responsibility

NOTICE FILED DATE: 08/09/2023

RULE SUMMARY: Adds persons granted a limited permit as subject to the Board's adopted code of ethics and mandatory reporting obligations, and language cleanup.

RULE TEXT:

Licensees, registered associates, persons granted a limited permit or temporary practice authorization, and applicants must:

(1) Abide by the Code of Ethics and all applicable statutes and administrative rules regulating the practice of counseling or therapy or any other applicable laws, including, but not limited to, the reporting of abuse of children or vulnerable adults.

(2) Report to the Board within 30 days any civil lawsuit brought against the person that relates in any way to the licensee, registered associate, temporary practitioner, or applicant's professional conduct and notifies the Board of any disciplinary action or loss of a mental health professional or state license, certification, or registration.

(3) File a complaint with the Board within 10 days when the person has reason to believe that another licensee, registered associate, permitted or temporary practitioner, or applicant is or has been engaged in conduct that violates law or rules adopted by the Board. This requirement to file a complaint does not apply when the belief is based on information obtained in the course of a professional relationship with a client who is the other counselor or therapist. In that case, the client-therapist confidentiality supersedes the person's requirement to report the other therapist. However, this does not relieve a person from the duty to file any reports required by law concerning abuse of children or vulnerable adults.

(4) Not initiate, participate in, or encourage the filing of ethics complaints that are unwarranted or intended to harm a counselor/therapist rather than to protect clients or the public.

STATUTORY/OTHER AUTHORITY: ORS 675.785 - 675.835, ORS 676.160 - 676.180

AMEND: 833-110-0031

RULE TITLE: Statements to the Board

NOTICE FILED DATE: 08/09/2023

RULE SUMMARY: Adds persons granted a limited permit to requirement to be truthful to the Board.

RULE TEXT:

(1) Licensees, registered associates, temporary practitioners, and applicants must not make omissions or false, misleading or deceptive statements on any correspondence or form submitted to the Board.

(2) Licensure, limited permit, or temporary practice authorization applicants and renewing licensees and registered associates must respond completely and truthfully to all of the Board's character and fitness questions. Failure to disclose an arrest or conviction is a violation of ORS 675.825(1)(a) and may result in disciplinary action by the Board.

STATUTORY/OTHER AUTHORITY: ORS 675.705 - 675.835

STATUTES/OTHER IMPLEMENTED: ORS 675.745, ORS 675.785, ORS 675.825