
ODOT Commerce and Compliance Division (CCD) 2023 Renewal Notice 

Important Notice — HB 2007 
Effective January 1, 2023: Motor carriers located in the Clackamas, Multnomah and 
Washington counties with a medium-and/or heavy-duty vehicle powered by a 1996 or older 
diesel engine will not be able to renew their vehicle registration unless equipped with approved 
retrofit technology certified by Oregon Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) and 
approved exemption. 

Vehicles Classified as a Medium-Duty and Heavy-Duty Vehicle 
• Heavy-duty is defined as a gross vehicle weight rating greater than 26,000 pounds. 
• Medium-duty is defined as a gross vehicle weight rating of 14,001 - 26,000 pounds. 

Motor carriers can apply for a Diesel Retrofit Compliance vehicle exemption per HB 2007 
(2019) prior to the 2023 registration or renewal. The following vehicle classes are exempt 
and must file an Application for Diesel Retrofit Compliance Program Exemption form with 
CCD for each exempt vehicle: 

• Motor vehicles registered as farm vehicles under the provisions of ORS 805.300. 
• Motor vehicles used exclusively as training vehicles. 
• Heavy-duty trucks operated for 5,000 miles or fewer on Oregon highways in one 

calendar year. 
• Carriers with a fleet size of five or fewer heavy-duty trucks. 
• Motor vehicles used primarily to transport logs as defined in ORS 801.355. 

CCD Application and Information 
Visit ODOT CCD Forms and Tables web page to get an: 

• Application for Diesel Retrofit Compliance Program Exemption (form 9997). 

For questions about commercial vehicle registration renewal or exemptions of medium-duty 
and/or heavy-duty vehicles contact: 

• CCD Salem Contact Center by email or calling 503-378-6699. 

Program Information and Requirements 
Contact DEQ by email or calling 503-229-5066. 

Vehicles Registered through DMV 
Vehicles registered through DMV, such as T plate and F plate, must certify exemption through 
DMV. For questions regarding passenger vehicle registration, call: 

• DMV Customer Service Assistance at 503-945-5000. 

 

https://olis.oregonlegislature.gov/liz/2019R1/Downloads/MeasureDocument/HB2007/Enrolled
https://oregon.public.law/statutes/ors_805.300
https://oregon.public.law/statutes/ors_801.355
https://www.oregon.gov/odot/MCT/Pages/FormsandTables.aspx
http://www.oregon.gov/odot/Forms/Motcarr/9997fill.pdf
mailto:CCDHB2007Inquiries@odot.state.or.us
mailto:DieselRetrofitcompliance@deq.state.or.us%E2%80%8B
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