
Buckle Up. The Way to Go.
Transportation Safety – ODOT

8 tips for a safely  
buckled up trip:
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Be a role model for your child. Buckle up 
every single time – even on short trips.

�Follow directions. Always read your child 
safety seat instructions and vehicle owner’s 
manual when installing a child safety seat.

Make sure it fits. Use child safety seats or 
booster seats until the adult lap and shoulder  
belt fit your child correctly.

Keep ’em in their place. Always put children 
under 13 years of age in the back seat. 

One at a time. Never place more than one  
child in the same safety belt.

Know when to let go. Never hold a child on 
your lap in a vehicle. In a crash, your child can  
be ripped from your arms and severely injured.

�Lay down the  law. Never let a child push a 
shoulder belt under their arm or behind their back.

Keep ’em inside. Never allow a child under  
18 to ride in the open bed of a pickup truck.  
It’s illegal in Oregon – and it’s often deadly.

Need more help? 
Call the experts.

A variety of nonprofit organizations and public agencies 
offer free child safety seat checks to the public across 
Oregon, supported by grants from ODOT – Transportation 
Safety. Nationally certified technicians at these 
organizations and agencies can help you choose the right 
kind of child safety seat and use it properly. The checkups 
are available at scheduled times or by appointment, and 
will vary by location. 

Some organizations or agencies may also provide 
discounted child safety seats and boosters to qualifying 
families in need of financial assistance. For more 
information on Oregon law, child safety seats and booster 
installation, or to locate a checkup event, please visit  
www.oregon.gov/odot/Safety/Pages/Belts-Seats.aspx.

Making sense 
of keeping kids 
safe in the car.
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When can my child  ride safely 
without a booster seat?

■ Never put a rear-facing seat in the front seat of a 
vehicle with dashboard-mounted air bags.

■ Secure your child into the seat  
snugly, at proper recline, positioning  
the harness retainer clip across the  
chest at armpit level.

■ Shoulder harnesses should  
come out of the seat at or below  
your child’s shoulders.

■ Make sure the forward-facing child safety 
seat is placed in an upright position and in 
the back seat every time your child rides.

■ Position the harness retainer clip at your 
child’s armpit level. The harnesses should 
come out of the harness slots at or above  
your child’s shoulders.

■ Use a tether when available.

■ A booster seat raises a child so that adult 
lap and shoulder belts fit them correctly. 
Never use a booster seat with just a lap belt.

■ When the rear seats of a vehicle have lap 
belts only, Oregon law exempts children from 
the requirement to use a booster seat but 
requires that they be secured by the lap belt. 

REAR-FACING SEAT FORWARD-FACING CHILD  SAFETY  SEAT BOOSTER SEAT

Which seat is right for my child?

Oregon Law:     Children must ride in rear-facing  
safety seats until they are at least 2 years old. 

Oregon Law:    Children older than 2 years must continue 
to use a safety seat with a harness until they weigh at 
least 40 pounds.

Children usually do not fit into an adult safety belt until  
they are at least 4’9”. Children who are moved to an adult safety 
belt too soon face an increased risk of injury because they can 
easily slide out of a belt during a crash. Even adjustable safety 
belt systems available on newer vehicles are not designed to fit a 
child and will not provide adequate protection in a crash.

If an adult safety belt does not fit them properly, a child should 
continue using a booster seat, even if they are older than age 8.

An adult safety  belt will only fit correctly when:
• �A child can sit all the way back against the seat of the vehicle 

with their knees bent comfortably over the edge of the  
vehicle’s seat.

• The child’s feet rest flat on the vehicle floor.
• �The lap belt fits low, across their thighs – never across their 

stomach.
• �The shoulder belt fits flat across the collarbone and crosses  

the child’s chest; it  should never lay across a child’s neck.
• ��The child can sit like this for the whole trip.

Kids are too small for adult 
safety belts.
Safety belts are designed to fit adults – not 
children. In a crash, a child can slip out of an 
adult safety belt or even be injured by a 
poorly fitting one. Kids who aren’t buckled  
up at all face even greater danger. Securing 
your child in the right type of safety seat or 
booster seat dramatically reduces their risk  
of injury in a crash.

Fasten lower 
attachments

to lower anchors.

Attach tether
to top anchor.

Oregon Law:    Children who weigh more than 40 
pounds must use a booster seat until the adult seatbelt 
fits them correctly AND they are at least 8 years old OR 
they are 4’9” tall.

One size doesn’t fit all.
The best seat for your child is one that fits your child’s size, is 
correctly installed and is used properly – every time you drive. 
That’s why Oregon has laws designed to protect your child in  
a crash. 

The A-B-C of child safety seats:
Always follow your vehicle and child safety seat owner’s 
manuals for installation.

Buckle your child snugly into the seat’s harness.

Correctly position the harness retainer clip at your child’s 
armpit level.

Kids take a back seat for safety.
Children should ride in the rear seat of a vehicle until they are  
at least 13 years of age.

Vehicles built after 2002 are equipped with the LATCH system, 
usually located in the right and left rear seat positions.

Using either the LATCH system OR 
the vehicle seat belt and tether  

(if applicable) to install your child 
safety seat is equally  

safe when used 
 correctly. Consult  

your vehicle and  
car seat owner’s  

manuals.   


