
             
 

 
OREGON SAFETY BELT OVERTIME BLITZ & RECENT OREGON CARSEAT LAW  
FACT SHEET & TALKING POINTS 
January 29 – February 11, 2024 

 
• Beginning Monday, January 29 and extending through Sunday, February 11, law enforcement 

agencies throughout Oregon will use federally funded overtime to educate the public about 
safety belt and child seat laws including a law passed in 2017 increasing safety for children 
under age two. 

 

• ODOT crash data for 2021 shows lack of safety belt or child restraint use was a factor in 32% 
or 119 of a total 377 motor vehicle occupant fatalities. 

 

• Motor vehicle crashes are the leading nationwide cause of death for children ages one through 
twelve years old. In 2021, 1,475 children under twelve were injured in Oregon traffic crashes, 
16 percent were reported not using a child restraint system.  It is estimated that car seats may 
increase crash survival by 71% for infants under one year old and by up to 59% for toddlers 
aged one to four. Booster seats may reduce the chance of nonfatal injury among four to eight 
year olds by 45% compared to safety belts used alone. 

 

• Of the 26,325 passenger vehicle occupants killed in the United States in 2021, 50% were not 
wearing seat belts. 

 

• In 2017 safety belts saved an estimated 14,955 lives nationally. For drivers and front-seat 
passengers, using a lap and shoulder belt reduces the risk of fatal injury by 60 percent in an 
SUV, van or pickup and by 45 percent in a car. (IIHS) 

 

• In 2017 an Oregon law was passed requiring children to ride in a rear-facing safety seat until 
they are at least two years old. A child over age two must continue to ride in a car seat with 
harness or in a booster until they reach age eight or 4’ 9” in height and the adult belt fits them 
correctly. 
 

• The 2017 law, which extends the rear-facing requirement from the previous age one to age two, 
will better protect the child’s head, neck, and spine from potential crash injuries. This is 
because a rear-facing seat spreads crash forces evenly across the seat and child’s body while 
also limiting forward or sideways motion of the head. 

 

• For help selecting or installing child car seats, consult the seat manufacturer’s instructions, 
your vehicle owner’s manual, or visit a local child seat fitting station listed at:   
https://www.nhtsa.gov/equipment/car-seats-and-booster-seats#inspection-inspection.  

 

http://www.nhtsa.gov/apps/cps/index.htm
https://www.nhtsa.gov/equipment/car-seats-and-booster-seats#inspection-inspection

