Date: September 30, 2014

TO: The Honorable Members of the Oregon State Legislature

FROM: Scott Ashford, Chair, Governor's Task Force on Resilience Plan Implementation

The Governor's Task Force on Resilience Plan Implementation (ORTF) is pleased to submit this report on Resilience Plan Implementation Recommendations.

In accordance with SB 33, this report presents the Governor's Task Force on Resilience Plan Implementation recommendations on priority actions for seismic resilience. The Oregon Resilience Plan (ORP), completed in February 2013, presented more than 140 recommendations aimed at reducing risk and improving recovery for the next Cascadia earthquake. The ORTF studied these and other recommendations, including those specified in SB 33, and brought forward the most critical to be implemented in the 2015-17 biennium.

As was stated in the ORP's central finding, "Very large earthquakes will occur in Oregon's future, and our state's infrastructure will remain poorly prepared to meet the threat unless we take action now to start building the necessary resilience." The ORTF strongly concurs with that assessment, and with the need to commit tangible resources toward a common goal.

The charge was to address ORP *implementation* to encourage a sustained commitment over an extended period of time. That commitment includes capital expenditures toward our built environment, changes in some of our rules and strategies in how we develop our communities, and a greater effort toward restoring a resilient culture in our state. Our highest priority, however, is sustained leadership in this process. Only with continued oversight, engagement, and stewardship can we make substantial progress toward a more resilient Oregon.

This report can be found online at <u>http://www.oregon.gov/OMD/OEM/Pages/Resilience-</u> Taskforce.aspx

Task Force Members:

Scott A. Ashford, Chair Jeff N. Rubin, Vice-Chair	Oregon State University (Scientific Community Rep.) Tualatin Valley Fire and Rescue (SDAO Rep.)
Senator Arnie Roblan	SD 5, Oregon State Legislature
Senator Alan Olsen	SD 20, Oregon State Legislature
Rep. Debbie Boone	HD 32, Oregon State Legislature
Rep. Jim Weidner	HD 24, Oregon State Legislature
Heidi Moawad	Public Safety Policy Advisor to Governor Kitzhaber
Greg Wolf/Mark Ellsworth	Regional Solutions Director for Governor Kitzhaber
Commissioner Mark Labhart	Tillamook County Commission (AOC Rep.)
Mayor George Endicott	City of Redmond (LOC Rep.)
Jeff Soulages	Intel Corporation (Private Business Rep.)
Paula Negele	American Red Cross (Private Nonprofit Rep.)
Dave Ferre	Oregon Military Department
Dave Stuckey	Office of Emergency Management

Jay Wilson Lucinda "Luci" Moore Mike Harryman

OSSPAC Chair Oregon Department of Transportation Oregon Health Authority