
 
 

ARE YOU ORDERING 

 A VITAL RECORD BY MAIL? 
 

No record will be provided unless you: 

 
 Sign the form 

 
AND 

 
 Include a photocopy of your ID 

 
See form for details. 

 

Thank you! 

Oregon Vital Records 



45-13Pat (01/16)

1.  Full name on affidavit:
(First)	 (Full middle)	 (Full last)	

2.  Date of birth:	 3.  Sex:	 4.  Place of birth:	 OREGON

14.        ID Required: Person ordering must attach legible photocopy of current, valid ID 
or legal representative document. See back of form for alternative ID options.

13.  City/State/ZIP:

12.  Your address:

11.  Name of person ordering:

8.  Reason for needing affidavit:

7.  Your relationship to person named in line 1 (or enter agency name):

6.  Father’s full name:
(First)	 (Full middle)	 (Full last)

5.  Mother’s full maiden name:
(First)	 (Full middle)	 (Full maiden)

9.  Daytime telephone number: 10.  Email:

(MM/DD/YYYY)	 (M or F)	 (City)	 (County)	

  Name

  Street

  City		                                                     State			               ZIP

Number of certified copies requested ($24)

Oregon Paternity Affidavit 
ORDER FORM

Number of uncertified copies requested ($4)
QUANTITY

QUANTITY

Center for Health Statistics

Send to: 
OREGON VITAL RECORDS
PO BOX 14050
PORTLAND OR 97293-0050

Make checks/money orders payable to:  
OHA/Vital Records 
PLEASE DO NOT SEND CASH
Checks/money orders in U. S. Dollars

RECORDS ARE $24 FOR A CERTIFIED COPY;  
$4 FOR AN UNCERTIFIED COPY. 

If the requested record can not be found, the fee must be retained as a search 
fee as prescribed by OAR 333-011-0340(1).

Warning: Providing false information is a felony under Oregon law.

In accordance with OAR 333-011-0275, paternity affidavits can only be released to a Child 
Support agency administering Title IV-D of the Social Security Act, the parents of a minor 
child, or the registrant after age 18 and their legal representatives. 

Non-Sufficient Funds (NSF) check 
processing policy: In the event 
that your check is returned unpaid 
for insufficient or uncollected 
funds, we may present your check 
electronically. In the ordinary 
course of business, your check 
will not be provided to you with 
your bank statement, but a copy 
can be retrieved by other means. 
A penalty, not to exceed $35, may 
be assessed for NSF checks per 
ORS 30.701(5).

See back of form for ordering 
options and processing times. 
Information is also available on 
our Web page at:
www.healthoregon.org/chs
or by calling 971-673-1190.

15.  Required: Signature of person ordering:

ENTER YOUR MAILING ADDRESS
THIS SECTION WILL BE DETACHED AND USED AS A MAILING LABEL

NRL/ref. issued: Full issued:

Follow-up: Computer copy:

Refund:  $

Check #:

File date: Amendment fee:

Film (P)
Computer
Indexes
Index (P)
DF/CO

1 2
Film

Out/state
Uncompleted


No record

Excess fee


DO NOT WRITE IN THIS SPACE
OFFICE USE ONLY

Certificate number:



45-13Pat (01/16)

Alternative identification you can send with your mail order. 
If you don’t have a valid driver’s license, ID card or passport, send photocopies of three (3) different documents 
that include both your name and current address. Suggested documents are listed below. If you are mailing your 
order, make photocopies of the documents and include them with your order form. 
Documents must be dated within the last 30 days and show current mailing address where record will  
be mailed.

Documents such as:
•  Utility bill (for example, telephone, gas, electric, water, garbage removal) or other bill; 
•  Insurance statement, medical statement or paycheck stub,

must have current mailing address and can be no more than 30 days old.
Other documents such as:

•  Court or parole documents; 
•  Valid work ID, unemployment statement, food stamp or other benefit cards (copy both sides); 
•  Permit for firearms, fishing, hunting or other license; 
•  Vehicle registration, title or insurance statement, 

may be used. However, expired documents are unacceptable. For more information on 
acceptable documents, go to www.healthoregon.org/chs, click on “Information Needed  
to Order,” and scroll down to “Acceptable Proofs of Identity.”

If you have no ID or other documents, the other parent can provide ID and order the record. Records may also 
be released to a legal representative of the registrant or parent named on the record. 

Eligibility to order: Only the parents of a minor child, the registrant or their legal representatives may order  
a Voluntary Acknowledgment of Paternity form. Division of Child Support Offices administering Title IV-D of  
the Social Security Act also may order. Our office will not verify whether there is a form on file before an  
order is placed. 

How long does it take to receive a copy of this form when ordered by mail? Processing times can vary from 
4 – 6 weeks. Some orders can be filled more quickly if the form was filed within the last year and is still stored in 
the office. After 1 – 2 years, forms are moved to storage. Accessing storage records takes additional time to order 
and receive the correct files.

Ordering by mail is recommended. No web or phone orders through VitalCheck are available for Voluntary 
Acknowledgment of Paternity forms.

Order in person — receive the record by mail
You may place an order in person using the computer kiosks. Please talk to a staff person before placing your 
order since the computer kiosks do not list this form as an option. Staff will need to update your request after you 
enter it.

	 State Vital Records office:	 800 N.E. Oregon Street, Suite 225
		  Portland, OR 97232-2187
	 Office hours: 9:00 a.m. to 4:00 p.m., Monday through Friday

This document can be provided upon request in an alternate format for individuals with 
disabilities or in a language other than English for people with limited English skills. To 
request this publication in another format or language, contact 971-673-1190 (voice) or 
711 (TTY), or fax 971-673-1203.
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