
 
Genetic Counseling Program 

 
 

 

  

 
HEALTH LICENSING OFFICE 

1430 Tandem Ave. NE, Suite 180 
Salem, OR 97301-2192 

Phone: (503) 378-8667 | Fax: (503) 370-9004 
Email: hlo.info@odhsoha.oregon.gov 
Website: www.oregon.gov/oha/oh/hlo 

OREGON ADMINISTRATIVE RULES 
(UNOFFICIAL COPY) 

CHAPTER 331, DIVISION 250 – 260 
PERMANENT RULES EFFECTIVE 

DECEMBER 1, 2021 

mailto:hlo.info@odhsoha.oregon.gov
https://www.oregon.gov/oha/ph/hlo/pages/index.aspx


Health Licensing Office, Genetic Counseling Program 
Oregon Administrative Rules, Chapter 331, Division 250 – 260 

Permanent Rules Effective: December 1, 2021 
Unofficial Copy 

For an official copy of the Oregon Administrative Rules, please go to the Secretary of State website: 
http://sos.oregon.gov/archives/Pages/oregon_administrative_rules.aspx or call (503) 373-0701 

Page 2 of 7 

 

Division 250 
GENETIC COUNSELING GENERAL ADMINISTRATION 

331-250-0010 
Definitions 

The following definitions apply to OAR 331-200-0010 to OAR 331-210-0010: 

(1) “ABGC” means the American Board of Genetic Counseling.  

(2) “ABMGG” means the American Board of Medical Genetics and Genomics.  

(3) “ACGC” Means the Accreditation Council for Genetic Counseling. 

(4) “Genetic counseling” has the meaning set forth in House Bill 2619 (2021). 

(5) “Good standing” means no unresolved or outstanding disciplinary actions. 

(6) “Licensed genetic counselor” means a licensed genetic counselor as defined in House Bill 
2619 (2021).  

(7) “Office” means the Health Licensing Office.  

Statutory/Other Authority: 2021 House Bill 2619 
Statutes/Other Implemented: 2021 House Bill 2619 
History: 
HLO 2-2021, adopt filed 09/29/2021, effective 12/01/2021 

 

331-250-0020 
Fees 

(1) An applicant or license holder is subject to the provisions of OAR 331-010-0010 and OAR 
331-010-0020 regarding the payment of fees, penalties, and charges. 

(2) Fees established by the Office pursuant to ORS 676.576 are: 

(a) Application:  

(A) License: $150.  

(B) Temporary license: $150 

(b) Original issuance: 

(A) License: $50 – valid for one year.  

(B) Temporary license: $50 – valid for one year. 

(c) Renewal of license: 

(A) License: $50 – valid for one year.  

http://sos.oregon.gov/archives/Pages/oregon_administrative_rules.aspx
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=281660
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewReceiptTRIM.action?ptId=8581225
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=281661
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(B) Temporary license: $50 – valid for one year. 

(d) Replacement: $25.  

(e) Late renewal of authorization fee: $40 for each year of inactive status up to three years. 

(f) Administrative fee: $25.   

(g) Affidavit of licensure, as defined in OAR 331-030-0040: $50. 

Statutory/Other Authority: 2021 House Bill 2619 
Statutes/Other Implemented: 2021 House Bill 2619 
History: 
HLO 2-2021, adopt filed 09/29/2021, effective 12/01/2021 
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Division 255 
LICENSURE OF GENETIC COUNSELORS 

331-255-0010 
Application Requirements for Initial Licensure as a Licensed Genetic Counselor 

An individual applying for initial licensure as a licensed genetic counselor must: 

(1) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 Division 30. 

(2) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the Office, which must contain the 
information listed in OAR 331-030-0000. 

(3) Be at least 18 years old. 

(4) Arrange for official documentation to be mailed to the Office from the certifying organization 
proving that the applicant has an active credential specific to genetic counseling from the ABGC 
or the ABMGG. 

(5) Pay all licensing fees. 

Statutory/Other Authority: 2021 House Bill 2619 
Statutes/Other Implemented: 2021 House Bill 2619 
History: 
HLO 2-2021, adopt filed 09/29/2021, effective 12/01/2021 

 

331-255-0020 
Temporary License - Licensed Genetic Counselor Temporary License 

(1) A licensed genetic counselor temporary license authorizes a holder to practice genetic 
counseling. 

(2) A licensed genetic counselor temporary license is valid for one year and may be renewed 
once, resulting in the temporary license being valid for a two-year maximum duration, in any of 
the following circumstances:  

(a) The temporary license holder submits to the HLO satisfactory proof that the holder has not 
yet passed the certification examination and that there is no available certification examination 
before the temporary license becomes inactive. 

(b) The temporary license holder submits to the HLO satisfactory proof of extenuating 
circumstances that impact the holder’s ability to take the certification examination, including, but 
not limited to, a medical condition, automobile accident, catastrophe, natural disaster, or 
epidemic 

Statutory/Other Authority: 2021 House Bill 2619 
Statutes/Other Implemented: 2021 House Bill 2619 

http://sos.oregon.gov/archives/Pages/oregon_administrative_rules.aspx
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=281662
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewReceiptTRIM.action?ptId=8581225
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=281663
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History: 
HLO 2-2021, adopt filed 09/29/2021, effective 12/01/2021 

 

331-255-0030 
Application Requirements for a Temporary Licensed Genetic Counselor License 

To qualify for a temporary license, the applicant must: 

(1) Meet the requirements of OAR 331 Division 30. 

(2) Submit a completed application form prescribed by the Office, which must contain the 
information listed in OAR 331-030-0000. 

(3) Submit official transcripts from an ACGC-accredited program. 

(4) Have the ABGC send verification that the applicant is in active candidate status; and 

(5) Be at least 18 years old. 

(6) Pay all licensing fees.  

Statutory/Other Authority: 2021 House Bill 2619 
Statutes/Other Implemented: 2021 House Bill 2619 
History: 
HLO 2-2021, adopt filed 09/29/2021, effective 12/01/2021 

 

331-255-0040 
Licensure Issuance and Renewal 

(1) Licensure and renewal: A license is subject to the provisions of OAR Chapter 331, Division 
30 regarding the issuance and renewal of a license, authorization to practice, identification, and 
duplicate licenses.  

(2) License renewal: To avoid late fees, a license must be renewed before the license becomes 
inactive as described in section (3) of this rule. To renew a license, the licensee must:  

(a) Submit a renewal application form. 

(b) Pay the renewal fee pursuant to OAR 331-200-0020. 

(3) Inactive license renewal: A license becomes inactive if it is not renewed before its “active 
through” date. A license may be inactive for up to three years, but an inactive license does not 
authorize its holder to practice genetic counseling or use the title or designation of “Licensed 
Genetic Counselor.” To renew an inactive license, the licensee must:  

(a) Submit a renewal application form; and 

(b) Pay the delinquency and renewal fees pursuant to 331-200-0020. 

http://sos.oregon.gov/archives/Pages/oregon_administrative_rules.aspx
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewReceiptTRIM.action?ptId=8581225
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=281664
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewReceiptTRIM.action?ptId=8581225
https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/viewSingleRule.action?ruleVrsnRsn=281665
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(4) Expired license: A license that has been inactive for more than three years is expired, and 
the licensee must reapply for licensure and meet the requirements listed in OAR 331-205-0000. 

Statutory/Other Authority: 2021 House Bill 2619 
Statutes/Other Implemented: 2021 House Bill 2619 
History: 
HLO 2-2021, adopt filed 09/29/2021, effective 12/01/2021 
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Division 260 
PRACTICE GUIDELINES 

331-260-0010 
Guidelines for Licensed Genetic Counselors 

(1) When appropriate and in the manner consistent with the practice of patient-and family-
centered care, a licensed genetic counselor shall provide to a patient, or a patient’s family, 
contact information for support programs and services related to the patient’s genetic or medical 
condition or disease, including information for hotlines, resource centers, local and national 
organizations, and other educational programs.  

(2) A licensed genetic counselor must not diagnose, test for, or treat a genetic or medical 
condition or disease. 

Statutory/Other Authority: 2021 House Bill 2619 
Statutes/Other Implemented: 2021 House Bill 2619 
History: 
HLO 2-2021, adopt filed 09/29/2021, effective 12/01/2021 
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