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Division 960 
TEMPORARY STAFFING AGENCY PROGRAM GENERAL ADMINISTRATION 

331-960-0000 
DEFINITIONS 

The following definitions apply to OAR 331-960-0000 to OAR 331-975-0005: 

(1) “Assistance with activities of daily living” means services related to bathing and personal 
hygiene, dressing and grooming, eating, mobility, bowel and bladder management, 
administering medication and cognition.   

(2) “Authorization holder” means a temporary staffing agency that has been issued an 
authorization to operate in Oregon.  

(3) “Client entity” means an in-home care agency as defined in 443.305; memory care 
endorsement facility as described in ORS 443.886; residential care facility as defined in ORS 
443.400; or a skilled nursing facility as defined in ORS 442.015 that engages a temporary 
staffing agency to provide personnel to the client entity to provide health care services or 
assistance with activities of daily living to clients, patients, or residents for the client entity.   

(4) “Hospital client entity” means a hospital as defined in ORS 442.015 that engages a 
temporary staffing agency to provide personnel to the hospital client entity to provide health care 
services to patients for the hospital client entity.   

(5) “Office” means the Health Licensing Office.  

(6) “Personnel” means: 

(a) An individual registered nurse, licensed practical nurse, certified medical assistant, certified 
nursing assistant or direct caregiver assigned to a client entity by a temporary staffing agency 
who provides health care services or assistance with activities of daily living to clients, patients 
or residents for a client entity; or 

(b) An individual registered nurse or certified nursing assistant assigned to a hospital client 
entity by a temporary staffing agency who provides health care services to patients for the 
hospital client entity.   

(7) “Physical location” means any physical office location of a temporary staffing agency that 
provides personnel to an Oregon client or hospital entity.  An office location is not a physical 
location when the work being performed at that office location does not involve providing 
personnel to an Oregon client or hospital entity.      

(8) “Professional authorization” means any licensure, registration, authorization, or any other 
requirement needed for personnel to practice or perform the health care services or assistance 
with activities of daily living to clients, patients, or residents on or behalf of client or hospital 
entities. 
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(9) “Temporary staffing agency” means an entity that operates in Oregon for the purpose of 
providing temporary work to personnel providing health care services or assistance with 
activities of daily living for or on behalf of client or hospital entities.  

331-960-0005 
FEES 

(1) An applicant or authorization holder is subject to the provisions of OAR 331-010-0000, OAR 
331-010-0010, and OAR 331-010-0020, regarding the payment of fees, penalties, and charges.  

(2) Fees are as stated as follows or the amount approved by the Legislative Assembly as part of 
the approval of the budget for the TSA program:  

(a) Application: $250  

(b) Authorization: $2,000  

(c) Renewal: $1,500 – valid for one licensure year 

(d) Fingerprints for each officer, director, persons with ownership, partnership, or similar interest 
in the temporary staffing agency: $50  

(e) Authorization replacement: $25  

(f) Late fee: $500 for each year of inactive status up to three years 

(g) Administrative fee: $25 

331-960-0010 
PUBLISHED LIST OF AUTHORIZED TSAs  

The Office will enter all temporary staffing agencies that hold authorizations and their status into 
its licensure database, which is available to the public.  

331-960-0015 
EXEMPTIONS  

Entities that are not considered temporary staffing agencies for the purposes of licensing by the 
Office are: 

(1) A staff arrangement established by an entity solely for use by the entity, or by any entity 
associated with the entity, and in which the only costs are salaries paid to individuals who 
perform work. 

(2) An individual who provides the individual’s services on a temporary basis. 

(3) An employment agency as defined in ORS 658.005.  

(4) Home health agencies licensed under ORS 443.015. 

(5) In-home care agencies licensed under ORS 443.315.  
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(6) Home care workers and personal support workers listed on the home care registry as 
defined in ORS 410.600. 
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Division 965 
QUALIFICATIONS, APPLICATIONS AND RENEWALS 

331-965-0000 
TEMPORARY STAFFING AGENCIES  

(1) No temporary staffing agency may operate in Oregon without an authorization.   

(2) A temporary staffing agency must: 

(a) Obtain a separate authorization for each physical location. 

(b) Register with the Oregon Secretary of State, Corporation Division, to conduct business in 
Oregon.  

(c) Ensure all personnel for which the temporary staffing agency procures or provides temporary 
employment meet any professional authorization requirements established for the practice or 
performance of the services provided by the personnel.  

(d) Assign personnel to settings for which the personnel have the appropriate work experience 
and background to provide the services required by the setting.  

(e) Comply with all the requirements of Section 4 of HB 2665 (2023). 

(f) Retain records, as provided for in OAR 331-970-0010, for at least 10 years. 

(g) Make records available to the Office immediately upon request. 

331-965-0005 
AUTHORIZATION APPLICATION REQUIREMENTS  

(1) Initial authorizations are subject to the provisions of OAR Chapter 331, Division 30 regarding 
the issuance of a license, provisions regarding identification, and requirements for issuance of a 
duplicate authorization. 

(2) A temporary staffing agency applying for an authorization must: 

(a) Meet the requirements of OAR 331, Division 30. 

(b) Submit a completed application form as prescribed by the Office, that includes:  

(A) The names and addresses of the applicant’s officers and directors and any other person that 
has ownership, partnership, or a similar interest in the applicant. 

(B) Copies of the applicant’s organization documents, including articles of incorporation and 
other relevant filings. 

(C) Proof of registration with Oregon Secretary of State, Corporation Division.   
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(D) Proof that all officers, directors, persons with ownership, partnership or similar interest in the 
temporary staffing agency pass a fingerprint-based nationwide criminal records check pursuant 
to OAR 331-030-0004. 

(3) Submit any additional information requested by the Office.    

(4) Pay all fees. 

(5) Applications not completed within 90 days of submission will be deemed incomplete and will 
be closed. Application fees are nonrefundable.   

331-965-0010 
AUTHORIZATION ISSUANCE  

(1) Authorizations become not current on the last day of the month, one year from the date of 
issuance, and are inactive. 

(2) If a temporary staffing agency’s authorization is in inactive status, the temporary staffing 
agency cannot operate in Oregon.   

(3) An authorization that has been inactive for more than three years is expired and cannot be 
renewed. If a temporary staffing agency’s authorization is expired, the temporary staffing agency 
must apply for an initial authorization and meet the current requirements.   

(4) The authorization must be kept on file and made available upon request.   

331-965-0015 
NOTIFICATION REQUIREMENTS  

(1) A temporary staffing agency with an authorization must notify the Office within 30 days of 
any change in: 

(a) The officers, directors, persons with ownership, partnership, or similar interest in the 
temporary staffing agency; or 

(b) The physical location of a temporary staffing agency. 

(2) Any changes made under (1)(a) of this section must be accompanied by a fingerprint-based 
nationwide criminal records check pursuant to OAR 331-030-0004 and the $50 fingerprint fee. 

331-965-0020 
AUTHORIZATION RENEWAL 

(1) Authorization renewals are subject to the provisions of OAR Chapter 331, Division 30 
regarding the renewal of a license.  

(2) To renew an authorization, an authorization holder must:  

(a) Submit a completed renewal application form as prescribed by the Office.   

(b) Submit any additional information or forms as requested by the Office.   
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(c) Provide changes to names or addresses of the temporary staffing agencies officers, 
directors, persons with ownership, partnership, or similar interest in the authorization. 

(d) Provide changes in organizational structure and copies of any organizational documents 
relevant to that change. 

(e) Pay all fees.   

(3) Every two years after the issuance of an authorization, as a condition of authorization 
renewal, a temporary staffing agency must have all officers, directors, persons with ownership, 
partnership or similar interest in the authorization pass a fingerprint-based nationwide criminal 
records check pursuant to OAR 331-030-0004. 

(4) Background checks related to (3) of this section must be submitted 60 days prior to 
authorization becoming not current – inactive status. 
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Division 970 
REQUIREMENTS FOR PROFESSIONAL AUTHORIZATION, RELEVANT WORK HISTORY 

AND RECORDS 

331-970-0000 

PROFESSIONAL AUTHORIZATION REQUIREMENTS 

In addition to the requirements outlined in Section 4 of House Bill 2665 (2023), when a client or 
hospital entity is seeking personnel for a position that requires professional authorization, the 
authorization holder must verify: 

(1) The personnel have the required professional authorization needed to perform the services 
the personnel are assigned to perform. 

(2) The personnel’s required professional authorization is current and in good standing.  

(3) That if the authorization holder knows or had reason to know that a personnel’s professional 
authorization is no longer in good standing, the authorization holder will terminate the personnel 
and notify the client or hospital entity of the termination.   

331-970-0005 

WORK EXPERIENCE FOR PERSONNEL 

In addition to the requirements outlined in Section 4 of House Bill 2665 (2023), every 
authorization holder must ensure that any personnel placed with a client or hospital entity has 
the appropriate work experience, training, and background needed to provide the services 
required by the client or hospital entity.  

331-970-0010 

RECORDS 

Authorization holders must maintain the following records for at least 10 years, and make them 
available to the Office upon request:  

(1) Personnel applications for employment that include the name and address of the applicant, 
the date of application, a description of the types of employment the applicant is seeking, a 
description of past work experience in the types of employment being sought, and if necessary, 
proof of professional authorizations required to perform services.     

(2) Proof that the authorization holder verified any professional authorization needed for 
personnel to perform the services to be provided by the personnel.   

(3) All requests from client or hospital entities seeking to hire personnel that include the name 
and address of the client or hospital entity, the date of the request, a description of the type of 
personnel being sought, the type of professional authorization needed for the personnel to 
perform the services being sought and the address or location at which the work is being 
performed. 
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(4) Copies of all contracts between personnel and the authorization holder. 

(5) Copies of all contracts between the authorization holder and the client or hospital entity.   

(6) A record of fees charged, collected, and refunded, and such accounting record as may be 
necessary to verify the record of fees charged, fees collected, and refunds made.  

(7) All records related to employee competency evaluations and testing. 

(8) All records related to employee performance. 

(9) All records related to the authorization holder’s policies related to personnel assignments. 
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Division 975 
DISCIPLINE AND CIVIL PENALTIES  

331-975-0000 

DISCIPLINE 
(1) In the manner prescribed in ORS Chapter 183, for contested cases, the Office may deny, 
revoke, suspend, or otherwise discipline a person for a violation of Section 2, 4, or 5 of Senate 
Bill 1549 (2022), House Bill 2665 (2023), or any administrative rule adopted thereunder.   

(2) The Office may impose discipline as provided for in Section (1) of this rule when a person: 

(a) Violates any provisions of Section 2, 4, or 5 of Senate Bill 1549 (2022), House Bill 2665 
(2023), or any administrative rule or order issued by the Office. 

(b) Provides false information or misrepresents any information on any application or form 
required by the Office. 

(c) Fails to ensure that personnel have the correct professional authorization or work experience 
needed pursuant to 331-970-0000 and 331-970-0005. 

(d) Fails to retain records as provided for in 331-970-0010. 

(e) Fails to disclose to the Office any information or records requested. 

(f) Fails to cooperate with an investigation by the Office or any other regulatory agency. 

(g) Charges a fee in violation of Section 5 (2) of Senate Bill 1549 (2022).   

(h) Has been disciplined by any other governmental agency or entity.   

(i) Has been convicted of, or pleaded guilty or no contest to, any felony or misdemeanor 
involving dishonesty or misrepresentation. 

(j) Fails to comply with any final order.   

331-975-0005 

CIVIL PENALTIES  

(1) In addition to any discipline imposed, the Office may impose a civil penalty of $500 per day 
per violation of any provision of Section 2, 4, or 5 of Senate Bill 1549 (2022), or Section 2, 9, 10 
or 11 of House Bill 2665 (2023). 

(2) Each assignment of an individual personnel member is considered a separate violation. 
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