Rent Guarantee Program (RGP)

Program Fact Sheet	
Program Summary	The Rent Guarantee Program provide incentives and financial assistance to landlords that rent or lease to low-income households by guaranteeing payments to landlords for unpaid rent and for eviction and property damage costs.
	CONTACT: Find a Provider In your area at: https://www.oregon.gov/ohcs/for-providers/Documents/rent-guarantee/RGP-Providers.pdf

Services Provided

Landlords who have had a tenant vacate or has been evicted due to non-compliance of a lease/rental agreement within the first 12 months of occupancy may submit a request for reimbursement for unpaid rent and damages that exceed the tenant's security deposit and up to the limit of the Rent Guarantee Amount.

The maximum Rent Guarantee amount available for financial assistance paid under the program to a landlord is limited to a maximum of \$5,000 per eligible tenancy.

Payment of financial assistance is contingent on the landlord's submission of a complete and accurate reimbursement request within 30 days of the date the tenant vacates the dwelling or is evicted, and upon verification of damages by the Program Provider and available funding.

Damages may include:

- Unpaid rent;
- Damages beyond the normal wear and tear of tenant occupancy cause by tenant;
- Expenses related to removal of excessive debris left by tenant, including disposal fees;
- Eviction costs include court filing fees, attorney fees, and serving of notice;
- Damages by pets or service animals included on the tenant's rental agreement.

Tenant Eligibility Requirements

Participating tenants, must have a total household annual income no greater than 60% of the area's median income for their size of household, must experience specific barriers to obtaining housing (e.g.; have been a ward of the state, poor credit history, criminal history or eviction history), must successfully complete a Tenant Readiness Education course, be a resident of Oregon, and may be homeless or unstably housed and at-risk of homelessness.

Tenant Readiness Education

Participating tenants successfully complete a Tenant Readiness Education (https://rentwell.org)© course that extends over multiple weeks and covers the following areas:

- Landlord/Tenant Law
- The Application and Screening Process



OREGON HOUSING AND COMMUNITY SERVICES

- Understanding a Rental or Lease Agreement
- Personal Finance, Budgeting, How Credit Reports are Used
- Energy Conservation
- Fair Housing Rights and Responsibilities
- What Makes a Good Tenant and Communicating With Your Landlord
- Barriers to Obtaining Housing
- Tips for Moving In and Moving Out
- Care and Maintenance of Your Unit and Maintenance Responsibilities
- Termination Notices
- Recovering your Deposit

Landlord Eligibility Requirements

Participating landlords must be an owner of a dwelling unit that has entered into a 12-month rental or lease agreement with a tenant and has entered into a Rent Guarantee Program agreement with a participating Program Provider

Program Providers

Oregon Housing and Community Services (OHCS) makes funds available to Program Providers who successfully complete a Request for Application from an available and <u>posted opportunity</u> and who:

- Have experience providing tenant readiness education sufficient to provide tenant training and certification or current partnership with organization to provide such training and certification;
- Have experience placing persons in low income households into permanent housing;
- Have experience working collaboratively with local landlords and service providers; and
- Demonstrate the organizational capacity to administer the program, including the ability to track data and performance measure outcomes and to timely process requests for payments of financial assistance.

Program Funding

RGP is funded through the legislatively approved state general funds.

