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Commissioners Review New Approach for Oregonians to 
Get a Chance to Buy Rare, Hard-to-Find Distilled Spirits  

Commission hears updates on warehouse; appoints Klamath Falls 
liquor store agent; approves marijuana tax compliance rules 

 
PORTLAND, Ore. – At its regular scheduled meeting today, Commissioners of the Oregon 
Liquor and Cannabis Commission reviewed changes to the agency’s Chance to Purchase 
program, a randomized drawing providing Oregon residents the opportunity to purchase 
rare distilled spirts. The Commission also approved tax compliance rules for recreational 
marijuana retailers, received an update on plans for a new warehouse in Canby and 
appointed a new liquor store agent in Klamath Falls. 
 
The new Chance to Purchase policy is the result of work done by the agency to provide 
better clarity on how highly sought after distilled spirits, like Pappy Van Winkle bourbon, are 
made available to retail customers, other than licensed bars and restaurants. The Chance to 
Purchase program, in operation since 2018, was suspended earlier this year due to concerns 
arising from misappropriation of bottles of rare distilled spirits.  
 
New guidelines specify how Chance to Purchase will operate and spell out OLCC’s internal 
responsibilities with a greater emphasis on transparency and accountability. The new policy 
includes provisions for a third-party to conduct the drawing, sets out clearer eligibility 
guidelines and includes a set schedule of quarterly drawings beginning in Q1 2024.  
 
The Commission also made permanent rules it had temporarily approved earlier in 2023 to 
ensure that licensed recreational marijuana retailers have paid their business and personal 
taxes. Licensed retailers are required to provide proof from the Oregon Department of 
Revenue that they’re tax compliant, before OLCC issues a new, or renews an existing 
marijuana license. 
 
Commissioners heard an update on the progress towards the agency’s new warehouse 
slated for Canby. The design of the warehouse has been modified because a new OLCC 
headquarters building won’t be constructed along with the warehouse. The new warehouse 
design and the modified contracts with architects and builders are in the approval and legal 
review stages by other State of Oregon agencies.  
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In other action, the Commission approved a new liquor store agent for a store in Klamath 
Falls. Today the Board appointed Amrik Bagri as the permanent retail agent to operate the 
Klamath Falls East liquor store. Bagri currently operates the South Ashland and Jacksonville 
liquor stores. 
 
The Commission also welcomed Tara Wasiak as the agency’s new Deputy Director. Wasiak 
previously served as interim Director of the Portland Bureau of Transportation and has held 
several senior leadership roles at PBOT and the Washington Metropolitan Area Transit 
Authority during her 15-year career in public service.  
 
The Commission also ratified ten stipulated settlement agreements for alcohol and 
marijuana licensees and license applicants. Detailed information on the specific cases below 
can be found on the OLCC website: 
  

Alcohol Stipulated Settlement Agreements 
  

SHILOH HAMLIN (PERMITEE) will pay a $225 fine OR serve a nine-day suspension, for 
one violation. 
  
CLACKAMAS RIVER GROWLERS (L) in Estacada, will pay a $2,250 fine OR serve a 
nine-day suspension, for one violation. 
  
JAX DELI (L) in Springfield, will pay a $2,250 fine OR serve a nine-day suspension, for 
one violation. 
  
GINO’S MARKET (O) in Klamath Falls, will pay a $2,250 fine OR serve a nine-day 
suspension, for one violation. 
  
SWEETHOME THRIFTWAY (O) in Sweet Home, will pay a $2,250 fine OR serve a nine-
day suspension, for one violation. 
  
TONY’S (F-COM) in Portland, will pay a $3,795 fine OR serve a 23-day suspension, for 
one violation. 

GORGE WINE LIBRARY (L) in The Dalles, will pay a $4,950 fine OR serve a 30-day 
suspension, for one violation. 

HUB CITY BAR & GRILL (F-COM) in Redmond, will receive a Letter of Reprimand and 
either its principal will divest all interest in the business OR surrender their license for six 
violations.   

  
 
  

Marijuana Stipulated Settlement Agreements 
  

DARK HORSE DISTRIBUTION (Wholesaler) will pay a $58,250 fine and serve a 4-day 
suspension OR pay a $30,000 fine and serve a 117-day suspension, for five violations.  
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SUNDAZE CANNABIS COMPANY (Producer) will pay a $10,750 fine OR serve a 43-
day suspension, for two violations.  
  


