
PWC SAFETY CHECKLIST
WATERCRAFT RENTALS

Oregon law requires that anyone who plans to operate this watercraft on their own, or who will be supervising other operators, must read 
and understand the information on this form or have an Oregon Boater Education Card. Anyone operating a rental watercraft who has 
not completed this checklist or does not have proof of completing this checklist on board when operating the rental watercraft will be in 
violation of state law and may be cited.

Rental Agency’s Name ____________________________________________________________________________________________

Operator’s Name ___________________________________ Date of Birth   __________________________________________

Watercraft # _______________________________________              Date of Rental __________________________________________

LIFE JACKETS

I understand that the operator and passengers 
are required to wear their life jacket at all times. 

I understand the maximum number of persons 
on this boat will not exceed _____ people.

OPERATION OF THE PWC

I understand the location of and how to use 
the whistle or manufactured horn and fire 
extinguisher.

I understand you are required to be 16 or older 
to operate the PWC alone.

I understand that youth age 12-15 are required 
to be under direct supervision and onboard with 
an adult (18 years of age) when operating the 
PWC.

I understand that no person under age 12 may 
operate the PWC.

BOAT SAFE

I will operate within my limits; I understand 
aggressive maneuvers could cause loss of 
control, ejection, and/or collision.

I understand that it is illegal to jump waves and 
wakes.

I understand Oregon law states that you must 
not operate a PWC:
• closer than 200’ behind a water skier or 

other towed device; and
• in excess of 10 mph when approaching 

within 100’ of another powerboat or sail 
boat underway.

I will operate at a slow-no wake speed 
(operating a boat at the slowest speed 
necessary to maintain steerage and that reduces 
or eliminates waves that appear as white water 
behind the boat):
• within 200’ of a swimmer, surfer, diving 

flag, bank or wading angler; dock, swim 
float, ramp, pier, marina, floating home, or 
boathouse;

• within 100’ of any anchored or 
non-motorized boat; and

• within 200’ of shoreline on all lakes and 
reservoirs.

I understand that children 12 and younger 
must wear a properly fitted, U.S. Coast Guard 
approved life jacket whenever the boat is 
underway, and it must be approved for the 
type of use.



RENTAL AGENCYOPERATOR

ACCIDENT REPORTING

I understand as the operator I MUST report any 
incident involving: 
• Damage to a boat and other property 

totaling $2,000 or more; 
• Injuries to any person requiring treatment 

beyond first aid; 
• Complete loss of any boat; or
• Death or disappearance.

I understand any incident resulting in death 
or injury MUST be reported within 48 hours 
and incidents involving only damage must be 
reported within 10 days to the Oregon State 
Marine Board.

I understand in order to tow a water-skier, 
the watercraft must be designed to carry the 
operator, an observer (a person other than the 
operator), and person(s) being towed.

I understand that the red or orange skier-down 
flag must be raised when skier is in the water.

I understand any towed watersport is prohibited 
from sunset to sunrise.

TOWING RESPONSIBILITIES

NAVIGATION RULES

I have been instructed on and understand the rules and information provided in this watercraft rental safety checklist. I will 
follow all rental agency rules and boating laws when operating this watercraft. 

YOU MUST CARRY THIS ON BOARD WHEN OPERATING RENTED WATERCRAFT. 
PERSONS WHO OPERATE WATERCRAFT WITHOUT COMPLETING THE SAFETY CHECKLIST MAY BE CITED.

DO YOU HAVE ANY QUESTIONS ABOUT YOUR 
WATERCRAFT AND ITS OPERATION?

Operator Name _________________________________________

Operator Signature ______________________________________

Gender      Male      Female      X   DOB ____________________

Hair Color _______________    Eye Color ___________________

Name of Rental Agency ___________________________________

Name of Rental Agency Employee __________________________

Issue Date __________________   Time/Date Due _____________

OR # _________________________________________________

When there is a possibility of a collision, it is my 
responsibility to slow down, stop, or steer away.

When two boats are approaching each other, I 
understand both boats should steer to their right 
side (starboard). 

When overtaking another, I understand I should 
pass on the left (port) side if safe. Otherwise I 
will need to pass on their right (starboard) side.

When crossing a path of another boat, I 
understand I need to yield to a boat on my 
right (starboard) side.

OPERATION OF THE PWC

I understand that I am responsible for my wake 
and any damage it may cause other boats, 
docks, people, wildlife, or the environment.

I will not chase, harass, or disturb wildlife.

I will not operate while under the influence of 
alcohol or drugs. I know it is dangerous and 
illegal and punishable by a fine of up to $6,250 
and up to one year in jail.

I understand the area in which I will be 
operating and will observe all navigational 
markers and signs. 

I understand I need to scan constantly for other 
watercraft, people, or objects in the water and 
be alert for conditions that limit my visibility.

I understand how to safely start and stop the 
engine on the PWC.

I understand to make sure no person is in 
the water within the vicinity of the boat before 
starting and while running the engine.

I understand shutting off the engine will not stop 
the forward motion of the PWC and will result in 
loss of steering.

I understand how to use the throttle to control 
speed and that you need throttle to steer.
I must use the engine cut-off switch lanyard at 
all times. 

If the PWC capsizes, I need to swim to the rear 
of the PWC and turn it upright in the proper 
direction; then board from the rear.

OPERATOR RESPONSIBILITY

OPERATING THE PWC


