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ATTENTION: OREGON OUTFITTER GUIDES

In 2013, Oregon legislators enacted statutes requiring the Oregon State Marine Board to develop rules and
procedures for all Oregon Outfitter Guides and their employees who operate motorized boats in Oregon to
pass a knowledge test, health screen and drug test. They required these rules to be in place by January 1,
2018. Since 2014, the Outfitter Guide Program at the Marine Board has drafted language, held workshops
and public hearings, and enlisted input from sub-committees, the Guide Advisory Committee, and the pub-
lic to develop these rules implementing the Motorized Passenger Boat Operator’s Certification (MPBOC).

If ALL of the following statements are true, you are required to obtain the MPBOC:
«You are a registered Oregon Outfitter Guide or their employee.
« You operate a motorized boat while guiding.
« You carry paying passengers on waters deemed non-navigable by the USCG.
«You do not have a US Coast Guard Merchant Mariner Credential (OUPV or 6-pack license).

This certification consists of three separate units — a Knowledge test, Health Screening, and Drug Screening.
Documentation of successful completion of each unit is required before the Motorized Passenger Boat Op-
erator’s Certification will be granted and processing of your Outfitter Guide registration can be completed.
This manual has been designed to answer your questions, provide the study material, and provide sample
forms to help you through the process.

Knowledge Test —
« Successful completion of the test is required every 5 years.
« Testing material is contained in this manual and the Boat Oregon — Classroom Course manual.
« Testing is online or at the OSMB offices in Salem. Call to request a online link or testing date/time.
« The Marine Board will record and keep on file proof of successful completion of the test.

Health Screening -
« A physical exam with a registered medical professional is required every 5 years, or sooner dependent
upon your physician’s determination.
« The exam must be performed according to DOT standards.
« A passing certificate must be issued.

Drug Screening -
« A pre-employment screening from an approved facility is required initially.
« Proof of participation in a drug consortium’s random testing is required.

You may be exempted from this requirement if you:
+ No longer operate a motorized boat in your guide business,
« Are issued a current US Coast Guard Merchant Mariner Credential (federal requirements will then apply),
or
« Do not renew your Outfitter Guide registration.

Please let us know if you have questions regarding this process. The Guide desk hopes to make the
process as straight-forward as possible.
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SECTION 1: KNOWLEDGE EXAMINATION

KNOWLEDGE EXAMINATION

The Motorized Passenger Boat Operator’s Certification (MPBOC) is
now required for all Qutfitters and Guides in Oregon who operate a
motorized vessel carrying passengers for hire on non-navigable
waterways, and who do not possess a valid US Coast Guard
Merchant Mariner Credential. In order to apply for the MPBOC, you
are required to pass a Knowledge Examination provided by the
Marine Board (OSMB).

Step One - Study the Material

The Knowledge Examination is based on the following information:

« Current Oregon Outfitter and Guide Statutes (ORS 704) and Rules (OAR 250-016).
« Current Oregon Boating Rules and Regulations

The information regarding Outfitters and Guides can be found in this manual. The information regarding
current Oregon boating rules and regulations can be found in “Boat Oregon - Classroom Course Manual”
(Revised 2017) where test material will be limited to general boating safety rules and regulations, and
inland motorized boat operation. Both manuals can be viewed on the Guides & Charters page at https://
www.oregon.gov/osmb/Pages/Guides-Charters.aspx.

Step Two - Take the Test

Testing is done online through a SurveyMonkey link. The test can also be taken at the OSMB offices in Salem.
The test will:

« Consist of 50 multiple choice questions.
« Require a passing score of 75 percent.

- Require a waiting period of at least 30 days after a failing grade before retaking the exam.

You will be notified of your score upon completion of the test. OSMB will record and keep on file proof of a
successful completion, valid for 5 years.

Step Three - Submit the Application

Upon receipt of a passing score, you may apply for your MPBOC designation and/or Outfitter Guide registra-
tion or renewal. Note: You are responsible for retaking your knowledge examination before its expiration.

For complete versions of Oregon boating and guide statutes and rules, go to https://www.oregonlegislature.

gov/bills_laws/ors/ for Chapter 704 and 830 and https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/displayChapterRules.
action?selectedChapter=154
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GENERAL DEFINITIONS

FOR FULL DEFINITIONS, PLEASE REFERENCE OREGON REVISED STATUTES AND
OREGON ADMINISTRATIVE RULES

Board means the Oregon State Marine Board. Employee means an individual who, in exchange

for compensation or monetary gain, provides
Boat means every description of watercraft, outfitting and guiding services under the direction,
including a seaplane on the water and not in supervision and control of an Outfitter and Guide.
flight, used or capable of being used as a means
of transportation on the water, but does not in- Inland charter boat means a motorized vessel in the
clude boathouses, floating homes, air mattresses, business of carrying 7 or more passengers for hire for
beach and water toys or single inner tubes. angling, sightseeing or other recreational purposes

solely on state or non-navigable waters.
Boating offense means violation of any provision
of law that is made a crime or violation under the Motorboat means any boat propelled in whole or
provisions of this chapter. in part by machinery, including boats temporarily
equipped with detachable motors.
Boat Livery or Boat Rental Business means a person,

persons, or a business establishment engaged in Navigable waters of the United States means
renting or chartering out boats to another person for  those waters of the United States, including the
profit. adjacent ocean, that the US Coast Guard has de-

termined to be navigable. See the Marine Board’s
Charter boat means a motorized inspected boat Guides and Charters web page at

used to carry seven or more passengers for hire for http://www.oregon.gov/OSMB/Pages/Guides-
angling, sightseeing or other recreational purposes.  Charters.aspx for a list.

Decal is an identifying registration sticker or fabric Operate means to navigate or otherwise use a
tag visibly displayed on a vessel, vehicle, pack or boat.
other equipment.

77 N\_|

Apply one decal to each side of the vessel on the backward half of the boat. Do not
apply decals to transom. Remove old decals. Do not apply new decals over old decals.
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Outdoor recreational activities include, but are not
limited to, boating, angling, hunting, jeep touring,
backpacking, alpine mountain climbing, camping,
trips utilizing pack animals, dog sled trips, whitewa-
ter float trips, rafting trips, drift boat trips, kayak trips,
inflatable canoe trips and canoe trips, the duration
of which may be for a few hours or for several days
or weeks.

Outfitter and guide means any person:

A) Who, for compensation or monetary
gain, provides, offers to provide or advertises the
provision of:

(i) Outfitting and guiding services in this state; or

(ii) Outfitting and guiding services and either
equipment, supplies, livestock or materials for
use in this state; or

(B) Who holds one or more federal special use
permits for commercial outfitting and guiding ser-
vices for use in any forest or wilderness or on any
waterway in this state.

Outfitter and guide does not include:

(A) An individual who, for compensation or mon-
etary gain, provides outfitting and guiding services
for the conduct of outdoor recreational activities
exclusively upon property owned or controlled by
the individual; or

(B) An employee of an Outfitter and Guide, unless
the employee conducts, leads or assists in an-
gling activities or operates or assists in the opera-
tion of watercraft used for angling.

Outfitting and guiding services include, but are not
limited to, leading, protecting, instructing, training,
cooking, packing, guiding, transporting, supervising,
interpreting or otherwise assisting any person in the
conduct of outdoor recreational activities. Outfitting
and guiding services do not include the rental of
equipment alone.

Passenger means every person on board a boat who
is not the master, operator, crew member or other
person engaged in any capacity in the

business of the boat.
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Slow-No Wake means operating a boat at the
slowest speed necessary to maintain steerage
and that reduces or eliminates waves that appear
as white water behind the boat.

Sole or state waters means those waters entirely
within the confines of this state that have not been
declared navigable waters of the United States by
the USCG.

Underway means when a boat is not at anchor,
or moored, or made fast to the shore, or aground.
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REGISTRATION REQUIREMENTS

ORS 704.020 Registration Requirement

Any person who acts or offers to act as an Outfitter
and Guide must first register with the State Marine
Board annually and submit an application including
the following:
- Name, contact information, and all business
names under which the guiding services will be
provided,

« Proof the business names have been regis-
tered with the Secretary of State

« Proof of valid first aid/CPR certification

« List of all employees, agents and parties of
interest along with an affidavit stating they are
certified to provide first aid

« A US Coast Guard license if carrying passengers
on federally navigable waterways, OR the MPBOC
designation if operating only on non-navigable
waterways.

« A description of the services they will provide
and the area in which it is provided

« Proof of $500,000 combined single limit per
occurrence liability insurance coverage to be
maintained in full force for the entire term of the
registration

« An affidavit stating they and those that assist
them have not been cited or convicted of cer-
tain violations, misdemeanors or felonies within
the last 24 months.

« An affidavit stating they and those that assist
them have not ever been convicted of a crime
which prohibits the carrying of a firearm or re-
quires registration as a sex offender

« A surety bond in the amount of $5000 if deposits
in excess of $100 per person are accepted from

clients in anticipation of services to be received.

« An annual non-refundable fee of $150 for Or-
egon residents. Non-residents will be charged
not less than $150 or the same fee that an Oregon
resident would be charged to register as a guide
in their state.

Upon submission of all required documents and
fees, the board will issue a certificate of registra-
tion which includes proof of compliance with these
requirements. The board will also issue an identi-
fying decal.

OAR 250-016-0035 Registration Requirement

The completed and signed application, with all re-
quired attachments and the fee required by ORS
704.020 must be submitted to the Marine Board.
The required fee is nonrefundable. The required
attachments are:

« A copy of the certificate of first aid and CPR
training (American Red Cross or equivalent); or

« A copy of training and certification as an
Emergency Medical Technician |, Il or Ill; or

« A copy of licensure as a registered nurse or
medical doctor.

. Certificate of insurance;

« Proof of surety bond or letter of credit, if appli-
cable; and

« Copy of US Coast Guard Operator’s license, if
applicable.

« The first aid and CPR training certificate or
medical license as defined above in this rule
shall remain current. If the first aid and CPR
training certificate or medical license expires,
the Outfitter and Guide’s registration is automat-
ically suspended.
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« Reflect all insured business names; and

« Reflect the lawfully required insurance
minimum amounts.

« Remain current. If the certificate of insurance
expires, the Outfitter and Guide’s registration is
automatically suspended.

An incomplete application will not be processed.
An incomplete application will be deemed inactive
following twelve (12) months from date of receipt
and lacking any action on the applicant’s part to
complete.

OAR 250-016-0045 Registration Requirements
Registration Renewal:

« The Marine Board will notify a registered Out-
fitter and Guide, in writing, no later than thirty

(30) days in advance of the impending registra-
tion expiration.

« The notification will include instructions for
registration renewal and identify the required
forms.

Registration Cancellation:

« An Outfitter and Guide registration will be can-
celled upon notification from an insurance com-
pany that such Outfitter and Guide’s required
insurance has been suspended or cancelled.

« The affected Outfitter and Guide shall, within
ten working days of receipt of such registration
suspension or cancellation notice, return the
previously issued Outfitter and Guide identifica-
tion card to the Marine Board.

Registration Reinstatement:

« A previously cancelled Outfitter and Guide regis-
tration will be reinstated upon receipt of notifica-
tion (certificate of insurance) from an insurance
company.

ORS 704.030 False statements in registration applica-
tion; special requirements for use of boat

No person shall make any false statement of material
fact submitted pursuant to ORS 704.020 (Registra-
tion requirement).

No Outfitter Guide using a boat to carry passen-
gers on waters of the state shall carry passengers in
excess of the passenger capacity for which they are
insured.

No Outfitter Guide shall use a boat to carry passen-
gers on waterways determined to be navigable by
the United States Coast Guard without a license, reg-
istration or decal required by ORS 704.020 (Registra-
tion requirement) and 704.065 (Decal to be affixed to
boat).

ORS 704.065 Decal to be affixed to boat

An Outfitter and Guide using boats to carry pas-
sengers on the waters of this state shall affix to each
boat used in providing Outfitter and Guide services
an identifying decal issued by the State Marine
Board showing the year of issuance, and the passen-
ger-carrying capacity of the boat. The boat decals
expire on December 31 of each calendar year.
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EMPLOYEES & PROOF OF COMPLIANCE

ORS 704.021 Proof of compliance with
registration requirements

OAR 250-016-0025 Employees, Agents or
Parties in Interest

INCIDENTS & ACCIDENTS

OAR 250-010-0110 Investigation of Accidents OAR 250-016-0031 Incident Report
Requirements

The operator of any boat involved in an accident

resulting in an injury or death to any person shall Notwithstanding OAR 250-010-0110, Outfitters

within 48 hours forward a complete written report and Guides shall notify the Marine Board within

of such accident to the Board on a State Marine 48 hours for each incident resulting in:

Board Accident Report form. « Death or disappearance of any person;

Accidents involving only property or equipment «Injury or illness of any person requiring medi-

damage must be reported within ten days if the cal treatment beyond minor first aid;

damage is in excess of $2000. Forms may be

obtained from the State Marine Board or the local « Damage exceeding $500 to public, private, or

sheriff. guide property, excluding loss of or damage to
personal-use items, or

Upon receipt of an accident report indicating the

death of any person as the result of the accident, - Emergency response from a local, state or
the Director, or a person designated by him, may federal agency.

investigate the accident and prepare an accident

report which will be for the confidential use of ad- The Marine Board will provide notification to the
ministrative and enforcement agencies only. Guide if additional reporting is required.

\V
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REVOCATIONS, REPRIMANDS, & PENALTIES

ORS 704.040 Revocation of registration;
restriction on registration application after
revocation; reprimands; rules.

Except as provided below, the board may revoke,

deny, or suspend for up to 60 months the registra-

tion of an OQutfitter Guide for any of the following:
« Conviction of a felony or misdemeanor

« Any serious or repeated violation of ORS 477
(fire prevention laws), 496, 497, 498, 501, 506,
508, 509, 511 (fish and wildlife laws), 704 (Out-
fitter and Guide laws), and 830 (boating laws)
and their pursuant rules.

« Any serious or repeated violation of fish &
wildlife laws of the federal government or other
state that would be a violation of this state’s
ethical standards.

« The suspension, revocation or denial of a
guide license by the federal government or
other state.

« The suspension, revocation or cancelation of
a US Coast Guard operator’s license.

« Engaging in fraudulent, untruthful or mislead-
ing advertising outfitting and guiding services.

« Conviction of a crime involving delivery,
manufacture or possession of a controlled sub-
stance, except marijuana.

« Conviction of assault in any degree, criminal
homicide or kidnapping.

The board shall revoke the registration of an Out-
fitter and Guide for the following:

« Conviction of a crime which prohibits posses-
sion of a firearm.

« Conviction of a crime which requires the per-
son to be registered as a sex offender.

The board may deny, for any period, the registra-
tion of an Outfitter and Guide if the Outfitter and
Guide or anyone assisting them has had their
registration revoked by the court for conviction of
fish & wildlife laws which involved unlawful taking
or killing of wildlife with intent.

OAR 250-016-0050 Process to Reprimand an
Outfitter and Guide or Suspend, Revoke, or
Deny a Registration

The Marine Board, with input from the Guide Advi-
sory Committee, will monitor application of statute
and rule and modify, as recommended, to encour-
age high standards of ethical conduct, customer
service, safety, and natural resource protection.

The Marine Board Director will notify the Outfit-
ter and Guide by registered letter of the agency’s
decision to reprimand, suspend, revoke or deny
for a period of up to 60 months the registration of
an Outfitter and Guide for conduct noted in ORS
704.040.

The Marine Board may issue conditional registra-
tions contingent on the Outfitter and Guide not hav-
ing any violations or convictions as defined in this
section for a period of 24 months from issue.

ORS 704.900 Civil penalties; procedure; rules.

In addition to any other penalty provided by law,
the State Marine Board may impose a civil penalty
for failure to comply with ORS 704.020, 704.021,
704.065 or 704.070 or for violation of ORS
704.030.

OAR 250-016-0100 Schedule of Civil Penalties

Penalties for first violations of ORS 704.020,
704.021, 704.030, or 704.065 are $200 per viola-
tion. The penalty for the first violation of 704.070
is $250. Subsequent penalties are $400 and $500
per violation.



As used in this section:

« Aquatic invasive species means any aquatic life
or marine life determined by the State Fish and
Wildlife Commission by rule to be invasive or any
aquatic noxious weed determined by the State
Department of Agriculture to be invasive.

« Launch means any act that places a boatinto a
waterway for recreational boating, for flushing or
testing an engine or for any other purpose.

Except as provided in the following line, a person
may not launch a boat into the waters of this state
if:

« The boat has any visible aquatic species on its
exterior hull or attached to any motor, propulsion

system or component, anchor or other attached
apparatus outside of the hull, or on the trailer or
other device used to transport the boat; or

» The boat has any aquatic invasive species
within its bilge, livewell, motorwell or other interior
location.

After leaving the waters of this state with a boat, a
person shall remove or open all drain plugs, bailers,
valves or other devices used to control the draining
of water from ballast tanks, bilges, livewells and mo-
torwells before transporting a boat within this state.

A person 14 years of age or older shall carry a water-
way access permit while operating a nonmotorized
boat that is at least 10 feet in length or a sailboat
that is at least 10 feet but less than 12 feet in length.

Waterway Access Permits are not required on desig-
nated free boating days, or when operating exclu-
sively on a federally designated wild and scenic river
for which a separate fee system is in place.
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SAFETY REQUIREMENTS

ORS 704.070 Requirements for safety
equipment, experience, and training

A person who acts or offers to act as an Outfitter
and Guide using boats to carry passengers on the
waters of this state shall:

Equip each non-motorized boat that is under the
direct operation of an Outfitter and Guide or an
employee of an Outfitter and Guide to carry pas-
sengers on waters rated as class lll or higher on a
commonly accepted scale of river difficulty with a
rescue throw bag, complete with a length of artifi-
cial fiber rope and a buoyant bag;

1910.151, American National Standard (ANSI)
Z308.1-2015, as established on 01/01/2016, or
the National Outdoor Leadership (NOLS) Med
Kit 2.0 as listed on 03/21/2017.

« First aid kits shall be based on the guide’s
training and shall be appropriate for the activity
and environment.

« Kits must be stored in a waterproof contained
and clearly marked as “First Aid Kit”".

« Non-motorized boats traveling in a group, the
above requirement may be met by possessing
one first aid kit.

On any section of waters rated as class Il or higher
on a commonly accepted scale of river difficulty, re-
quire that all persons physically providing outfitting

Each boat must possess and have readily available
one life jacket of the appropriate type and size for
each passenger and crew.

and guiding services and all passengers wear a prop-
erly secured United States Coast Guard approved life
jacket of a type prescribed by rules adopted by the
State Marine Board;

On any section of water rated as Class lll or higher,
rent, sell or otherwise make available to all passen-
gers helmets that meet the standards established by
the board by rule.

250-016-0075 & 0077 Safety and Equipment Require-
ments for Inland Outfitter and Guide Boats

Boats operating on sole state waters shall not
exceed designed seating capacity unless certi-
fied by a United States Coast Guard Certificate
of Inspection, the National Association of Marine
Surveyors (NAMS) or the Society of Marine Sur-
veyors (SAMS. The seating capacity will include
the total number of passengers and crew.

Each boat shall carry on board an approved first
aid kit.

« First aid kits shall be in accordance with
Title 29 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR)

« Each boat carrying five or more passengers shall
have one spare life jacket. Boats less than 17 feet
in length are exempted from this requirement.

+ On river sections rated as Class Il or higher on

a commonly accepted scale of river difficulty all
employees and passengers are required to wear a
properly secured life jacket. The life jackets used
on those sections of river must:

- Be approved by the U.S. Coast Guard as a Type
I, Il or V life jacket that is suitable for use on
whitewater rivers.

- Not have a limitation or restriction on its
approval that would prevent its use on white-
water rivers.

- Not be an inflatable life jacket, regardless of
rating type.

« Each boat must possess a readily accessible Type
IV flotation device, life ring or throw bag with 40
feet of line.
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- To meet required standards, helmets must meet - For non-motorized boats

CE EN 1385. Helmets are considered to be avail- traveling in a group, the above requirement
able when the Outfitter Guide sells or rents, or may be met by possessing one communication
causes them to be availabe at the rental location device.

or provides notice to the customer and allows the
customer to decline the offer verbally or in writing.  Each motorized boat shall be equipped with a
suitable magnetic compass designed for marine

Each boat shall have an effective means of dewa- use.
tering.
All boats are required to have one spare oar
+ Motorized boats shall have on board an ad- or paddle capable of maneuvering the boat on
equate fixed power bilge pump, a bilge alarm, board.
and a bailing bucket or manual bilge pump
per Title 46 CFR 182.520 as established on « Non-motorized boats less than 17 feet in
01/01/2016. length are exempt from this requirement.
« Motorized boats of open construction where « For non-motorized boats 17 feet or longer
the bilge is readily visible, a fixed power bilge traveling in a group, the above requirement may
pump and bilge alarm are not required. be met by the group possessing one spare oar
or paddle per group.
« Non-motorized boats not of self-bailing design
shall have on board an adequate bailing bucket All closed compartments containing life jackets, first
or manual bilge pump. aid kits and fire extinguishers shall be clearly labeled

with their content, as follows:
« Non-motorized boats of self-bailing design

and boats with watertight closures are exempt + One inch high block letters indicating what the
from this requirement. compartment contains;
Each motorized boat shall have on board no less « Be of a color that will contrast with the color of
than one fire extinguisher in each operating sta- the background, and
tion, machinery space, accommodation space and
galley, pantry or concession per the table on Title + Be clearly visible and legible.

46 CFR 25.30-20 as established on 01/01/2016.
Each motorized boat shall be equipped with a sound

Each boat shall carry a communication device signaling appliance. The appliance shall be a horn,
capable of sending an emergency distress signal bell or whistle capable of making an
and shall be appropriate for the area of operation. efficient sound.

Acceptable devices include but are not limited to:
« Personal Locator Beacon;
- Satellite Telephone;

« Marine VHF Radio or equivalent; or
« Cellular Telephone.
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ETHICS

250-016-0060 Outfitter and Guide Ethical and
Professional Standards

All Outfitter and Guides shall:

- Make every effort to operate with respect for the
rights of others, private and public property, and
provide for the health, safety, and well-being of
their clients, employees, and the general public;

« Provide services on public land in a manner
such that they do not interfere with the general
public access to public land or waterways or ac-
cess to wildlife on public land;

« Leave clean camps, striving to maintain the envi-
ronment in as good or better condition than before
and dispose of all garbage, debris, and human
waste in a proper, approved manner;

« Cooperate with Federal, State, and local fish and
wildlife officials; advise clients of all applicable
conservation standards, fish and game laws, li-
cense requirements, statutes and regulations and
not condone their violation;

+ Not use any illegal drug, or excessively use
alcohol, or any other drug or substance, to the
extent that the use impairs the user physically or
mentally while engaged by a client;

« Not violate any law, rule, or policy of the Oregon
Department of Fish and Wildlife concerning the
certification of residents and nonresidents for pro-
curing hunting and fishing licenses;

- Not engage in fraud, deceit, misrepresentation,
or concealment of any material fact in advertis-
ing, soliciting, or providing professional services
to members of the public;

« Provide any animal used in the conduct of busi-
ness with proper food, water, and shelter and not

subject any animal to needless abuse or cruel
and inhuman treatment;

« Not solicit clients of another Outfitter and Guide
while client is engaging in an outfitting activity;

« Promptly refund deposits paid by participants
upon request if such deposits are due to the
participant in accordance with the Outfitter and
Guide’s written deposit refund policy;

+ Not substantially breach a contract with any
person using guiding services of the Outfitter and
Guide;

- Treat clients, employees, and the general public
in a fair and professional manner.

« It is unprofessional and unethical to have an
Outfitter and Guide registration, license, permit,
or certificate suspended, revoked, canceled, or
denied by another state or by an agency of the
United States.
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BOATING UNDER THE INFLUENCE

ORS 830.510 Chemical evidence of use of
intoxicants

At the trial of any civil or criminal action, suit or
proceeding arising out of the acts committed by

a person operating a boat while under the influ-
ence of any intoxicants, if the amount of alcohol in
the persons blood at the time alleged is less than
0.08 percent by weight of alcohol and shown by
chemical analysis of the persons breath or blood,
it is indirect evidence that may be used with other
evidence, if any, to determine whether or not the
person was then under the influence of intoxi-
cants.

Not less than 0.08 percent by weight of alcohol in
a persons blood constitutes being under the influ-
ence of intoxicating liquor.

Percent by weight of alcohol in the blood shall be
based on grams of alcohol per 100 milliliters of
blood or based on grams of alcohol per 210 liters
of breath.

For purposes of ORS 830.505 (Implied consent to
chemical tests for intoxicants) to 830.545 (Infor-
mation about rights and consequences), boat
means a motorboat or sailboat.

ORS 830.515 Evidence of refusal to submit to
test in legal proceeding

If a person refuses or fails to submit to chemi-

cal tests of the breath, blood or urine as required
by ORS 830.505 (Implied consent to chemical
tests for intoxicants) and 830.520 (Circumstances
under which chemical tests may be administered),
evidence of the persons refusal or failure to sub-
mit is admissible in any criminal or civil action or
proceeding arising out of acts alleged to have
been committed while the person was operating
a boat while under the influence of intoxicating
liquor or controlled substances.
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HEALTH SCREENING REQUIREMENTS

In order to apply for the MPBOC, you are required to provide the Marine
Board with proof of a satisfactory Health Screening or Medical
Examination.

Step One — Medical Examination Report
The Medical Exam MUST be the following:

« Conducted within the past 18 months

(from the date of application).

« Be conducted by an examiner listed on

the National Registry of Certified Medical
Examiners.

« Be of such a scope to ensure that there

are no conditions that pose a significant risk of
sudden incapacitation or debilitating complication.

« Must consider any condition requiring medication that

impairs cognitive ability, judgment, or reaction time.

« Be performed according to DOT form MCSA-5875 (see appendix) or its equivalent.
« Meet the standards in 49 CFR 391.41, and be valid for up to 5 years.

« Be accompanied by a Skill Performance Certificate, if applicable.

Step Two - Medical Certificate

Upon completion of your medical examination, your examiner must document proof of compliance. This is
done by:

« The examiner filling out and signing the OSMB Medical Examiner’s Certificate. (See copy of
certificate in appendix.

- The examiner giving you a copy of the certificate.

« Filling out the Operator section of the form and signing your copy of the certificate.

Step Three - Submit the Certificate

Upon receipt of the Medical Examiner’s Certificate, you must submit a copy of the certificate to the Marine
Board with your application for Outfitter Guide registration.

Note: You are responsible for keeping a copy of the completed certificate, renewing your medical
certification before its expiration, and maintaining a valid copy with the Marine Board.

A sample copy of the Medical Examination Report Form (US DOT Form MCSA-5875) and the OSMB Medical
Examiner’s Certificate can be found in the appendix and on the Marine Board’s Guides and Charters web
page at https://www.oregon.gov/osmb/Pages/Guides-Charters.aspx.




In order to apply for the MPBOC, you are required to provide the Marine
Board proof of a clean drug test and participation in a drug consortium.

This test MUST:
« Conducted within the past 60 days (from the date of application)
- Sent to a laboratory certified by the US Department of Health and Human Services (DHHS)
« Show a panel which includes Cocaine, Opioids, Phencyclidine, and Amphetamines

A Negative Dilute result is not acceptable.

There are two types of tests that are acceptable.
«If you are not covered by the US Coast Guard drug testing regulations, a“non-DOT" or “non-Federa
test as described above meets the requirements
« If you are covered by the US Coast Guard drug testing regulations, a Federal/USCG drug test report
from a qualified Medical Review Officer OR a USCG Periodic Drug Testing Form CG-719P (https://
www.dco.uscg.mil/Portals/9/NMC/pdfs/forms/CG_719p.pdf) meets the requirements

See Pre-Employment Drug Screening Information page for more info.

|Il

A consortium is an organization that coordinates one or more drug and alcohol testing services. This may
include a group of employers who join together to administer the drug and alcohol testing programs of its
members, for instance, by maintaining a combined random testing pool.

This step requires you to provide a letter attesting to participation in a random drug testing program.
« If you are not covered by the US Coast Guard drug testing regulations, the letter must be on
consortium letterhead and signed by the appropriate personnel.
« If you are covered by the US Coast Guard drug testing regulations’, the letter can be from your em
ployer (on company letterhead) or a US Coast Guard-compliant drug testing consortium (on
consortium letterhead) and include the following language:
“NAME / DOB has been subject to a random testing program meeting the criteria of Title 46 CFR
16.230 for at least 60 days during the previous 185 days and has not failed nor refused to participate
in a chemical test for dangerous drugs.”

Note: We will NOT accept drug testing letters from a Union attesting to participation in a random
drug testing program.

Upon successful completion of the pre-employment drug screening and receipt of the letter of participation
from the consortium, you must submit documentation of these to the Marine Board with your application
for your Outfitter Guide registration.

'Engaged or employed on board a vessel owned in the United States that is required by law or regulation to engage,
employ, or be operated by an individual holding a license, certificate of registry, or merchant mariner’s document



SECTION 3: DRUG TESTING REQUIREMENTS

PRE-EMPLOYMENT DRUG SCREENING

Finding a Test Site

If you participate in a drug testing consortium, the
consortium manager will provide information re-
garding urine specimen collection sites, the DHHS-
certified laboratory or laboratories and the Medical
Review Officer(s) used by the consortium.

If your employer manages a US Coast Guard-compli-
ant random testing program, your employer will be
able to tell you the names of its service agents (col-
lection sites, lab, MRO).

For “standalone” pre-employment tests before you
have joined a consortium, you may look for occupa-
tional medicine providers in your geographic area.
Verify the following information with the facility in
order to ensure that it will meet OSMB requirements:

« Can perform a Federal (for US Coast Guard
tests) or a non-DOT/non-Federal test that includes
Cocaine, Opioids, Phencyclidine, and Amphetamines

« Ensure the laboratory to which the speci-
men will be sent is certified by the US Department of
Health & Human Services (DHHS)

« For Federal tests, will be signed by a quali-
fied Medical Review Officer (MRO). You can obtain
the Medical Review Officer’s name from the facility
and visit https://www.aamro.com/ or http://www.
mrocc.org to ensure the MRO is qualified.

NOTE: The occupational medicine facility should be
able to provide a one-stop service to include arrang-
ing for the collection of the specimen, laboratory
analysis of the specimen at a DHHS-certified labora-
tory, and MRO services for possible review of the test
results. When arranging for the drug test services,
ensure that you will be able to get the results (origi-
nal or copy) sent back to you.

After Taking the Test or Having the Specimen
Collected:

1.You should be given the “Donor’s” copy of the drug
testing custody & control form to take with you. That
is your receipt that you have taken the drug test.
NOTE: This copy does not have the test results on it.

2.The test results should be available approximately
1-4 business days after you had your specimen
collected.

3. Documentation of these drug test results needs to
be submitted with your completed application pack-
age to the Oregon State Marine Board.

4. Acceptable proof of a negative drug test result can
be one of the following:
- If you are not covered by US Coast Guard regula-
tions:
a. Copy of test result from DHHS-certified lab
showing 4 classes of drugs OR
b. Documentation of negative test on consortium
letterhead (for instance, a letter stating that
you are enrolled in the consortium and have
passed a qualifying drug test)
- If you are covered by US Coast Guard regulations:
a. A clear copy of the DOT/USCG Periodic Drug
Testing Form (CG-719P) (https://www.dco.
uscg.mil/Portals/9/NMC/pdfs/forms/
CG_719p.pdf) which the Medical Review
Officer has completed OR
b. A Federal/USCG drug test report produced and
signed by a qualified Medical Review Officer
OR
c. A copy of the Federal Drug Testing Custody and
Control Form signed by the Medical Review Officer.
Make sure that the test result can be seen clearly.

Note: You are responsible for keeping a copy of these
documents, submitting to new screenings when required,
and maintaining participation in a consortium during the
entire period of your Outfitter Guide registration.



Amphetamines, Cocaine, Opioids and
Phencyclidine.

Marijuana or “THC” testing is not required except
when there is reasonable suspicion of impairment
by THC or after an accident.

« Within the 60 days prior to the initial application
for the Motorized Passenger Boat Operator’s
Certification

+ Upon renewal of your Outfitter Guide license if it
has lapsed for a period longer than one year, or

+ Any time you are selected in the random drug test-
ing program.

Medical Review Officers (MROs) are licensed phy-
sicians (MDs or DOs) who receive and review
laboratory drug test results and evaluate medical
explanations for the results. Qualified MROs have
undertaken a formal course and passed a national
exam. If you take prescription medications that
cause a “laboratory-positive” test result, the MRO will
contact you and confirm that you have a valid pre-
scription for the substance. MROs have the authority
to call a laboratory-positive test a NEGATIVE test if
you have a current prescription and take the medica-
tion according to your doctor’s instructions.

It is a violation of Federal law to take prescription
drugs which were not prescribed for you. The MRO
will report a POSITIVE test when this happens.



The DOT/USCG Periodic Drug Testing Form CG-719P
can be found at https://www.dco.uscg.mil/Portals/9/
NMC/pdfs/forms/CG_719p.pdf. The Federal Chain
of Custody form is stored by the facility approved

to perform a DOT 5 Panel Screening. Some facilities
can generate these forms electronically.

No. The OSMB is not an approved drug testing facil-
ity.

The OSMB does not accept Negative Dilute results.
You will need to refrain from drinking excessive flu-
ids and take another test.

Per OAR 250-016-0038 following a positive drug test
result, you must take the following steps:

a) Stop providing all guiding services immediately.

b) Notify the Marine Board of the results within 48
hours.

¢) Successfully complete the return-to-duty process
described in OAR 250-016-0038.

d) Provide proof of compliance with the required
return-to-duty process from a consortium.

Based on the results of the steps above, the Marine
Board will determine if any further actions need to
be taken. A positive drug test can result in an assess-
ment period that may result in the Marine Board not
issuing your renewal.

The US Coast Guard follows the Procedures of the US
Department of Transportation (49 CFR Part 40) for
drug testing. These procedures only allow 5-panel
drug tests. A non-DOT test can have a panel with 4
or more classes of drugs (including a 7- or 10-panel)
as long as these classes include Cocaine, Opioids,
Phencyclidine, and Amphetamines and as long as
the testing is conducted at a DHHS-certified labora-
tory.

The OSMB will accept documentation of the test re-
sults from you, your consortium, or the facility where
the testing took place, but you are ultimately respon-
sible for ensuring that documentation of your drug
test results is received by the OSMB. If the results are
being submitted as part of an application, the drug
test documentation should be sent with all other
documentation.

Yes, positive results for marijuana will not be con-
sidered when issuing a Motorized Passenger Boat
Operator Certification. However, boat operators in
Oregon are not allowed to operate while impaired
and recreational use of marijuana is not permissible
in public, including on any watercraft.



=
Oregon State Marine Board/ Outfitter Guide Program #5507

Medical Examiner’s Certificate

| certify that | have examined Last Name First Name
in accordance with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations (43 CFR 391.41-391.49) and OAR 250-016-0038,
| find this person is qualified, and, if applicable, only when (check olf that appiv):

wearing corrective lenses

wearing a hearing aid

accompanied by a waiver/exemption

accompanied by a Skill Performance Evaluation Certificate {SPE).

oooo

Certification may be valid for up to five years.
The information | have provided regarding this physical examination is true and complete. A complete examination
form with any attachmeant embodies my findings completely and correctly, and is on file in my office.

Signature of Medical Examiner

Medical Examiner’s Mame {please print)

O MD O Physician Assistant O #Advanced Practice Nurse
O DO O Cchiropractor O Other
Date: Telephone: Mat’l Registry #:

Operator's Medical Certification Expiration
Date (max 5 years from exam):

Section below to be filled out by Motorized Passenger Boat Operator

Signature of Operator

Operator's Name (Print)

Operator's Address:

Operator's Driver's License #

or State ID #: Issuing State:

A signed copy of this form must be on file with the Oregon State Marine Board before any
Motorized Passenger Boat Operator’s Certification can be issued.

503-378-2633 PO Box 14145 435 Commercial 5t NE #3400 Salem, OR 97309 putfitter.cuide @ boat.oregon.gov
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Knowledge Examination, Health Screen and Drug Testing

e 3

(1) Guide Boat Operator’s Knowledge Examination:

(a) An examination must be completed every five years.

(b) The passing score is 75 percent.

(c) If the applicant fails the examination, they may retake it after a thirty (30) day waiting period.

(2} Health Screenings shall:

(a} Be of such scope to ensure that there are no conditions that pose significant risk of a sudden incapacitation or
debilitating complication. This screening must also consider any condition requiring medication that impairs cognitive
ahility, judgment, or reaction time,

(b) Be based on Title 49 Code of Federal Regulations (CFR} part 391.41-391.49 as stated on 01/01/2016 {US Department of
Transportation (DOT) requirements}) as the recommended guideline for health screening requirements and limitations,
and

(¢} Include documented proof of compliance from a medical practitioner certifying that the applicant’s health poses no
significant risk as described in the Health Screening.

(3} If at any time there is any medical condition that could impair one’s ability to operate a boat, the individual must:

(a} Stop providing all Outfitter and Guide motorboat operations;

(b} Notify the Marine Board within 48 hours; and

(c) Submit documentation from a medical practitioner certifying that the applicant’s health poses no significant risk as
described in the Health Screening prior to providing Outfitter and Guide boat operations.

(4) Drug testing program shall include:

(a) Pre-employment drug testing. Drug testing must be completed within 60 days prior to initial application for a Motorized
Passenger Boat Operator’s Certification or prior to a renewal as an Outfitter and Guide or employee after a lapse in
registration of one year or greater.

(b) Participation in a drug consortium. The consortium is defined as a service agent that provides or coordinates a variety of
drug and alcohol testing programs including random testing.

(c) Testing for drug presence including cocaine, amphetamines, phencyclidine (PCP), and opiates. Title 49 CFR part 40 as
established 01/01/2016 sets the predetermined levels which determine a test to be positive or negative for the presence of
dangerous drugs.

(d) Testing procedures in accordance with Title 49 CFR part 40 as established on 01/01/2016. The analysis will be performed at
laboratories certified and monitored by the Department of Health and Human Services {DHHS).

(5) Individuals receiving a verified positive, adulterated, or substituted drug test result must:

(a) Stop providing all Outfitter and Guide services.

(b) Notify the Marine Board within 48 hours.

(c) Successfully complete the following return-to-duty process:

(A) Submit to evaluation and treatment from a Substance Abuse Professional (SAP). SAP professional shall be as defined in
Title 49 CFR part 40 as established on 01/01/2016.
(B) Provide documentation of compliance with the SAP recommendations to the Marine Board.
(C) Upon successful completion, submit proof of drug testing once a month for the next 12 months. The results of this
screening shall be submitted to the Marine Board by the 15th day of each month.
(D) Desist from providing any Outfitter and Guide services until return to work approval is obtained from the Marine
Board.
(d)} Pravide proof of compliance in the form of a letter from the service provider attesting to participation in a drug consortium.
(6) A violation of any of the provisions of this section shall result in a suspension, revocation or denial of an Qutfitter and Guide
registration and Motorized Passenger Boat Operator Certification.

(a) Aviolation of drug testing provisions shall include civil penalties not to exceed $500.

(b} Refusal to take a drug test, refusing to comply with SAP recommendations, or tampering with or attempting to alter a test
shall result in an immediate revocation of an Outfitter and Guide registration and motorized passenger boat operator
certification for up to 24 months.

(7) All associated costs of health and drug screening relating to the provisions of this section shall be the responsibility of the

Outfitter and Guide or the Outfitter and Guide employee.

Stat. Auth.: ORS 704.500
Stats. Implemented: ORS 704.020

| 503-378-2633 | PO Box 14145 435 Commercial St NE #400 Salem, OR 97309 W outfitter.guide@oregon.gov ’



DEPARTMENT OF HOMELAMD SECURITY OMB Wo. 1625-0040
U.5. Coast Guard Exp. Date: 03/31/2021
DOTUSCG PERIODIC DRUG TESTING FORM (OPTIOHAL CG-T159F)
Who must submit this form?

INSTRUCTIONS: This form MAY be used [0 satlsly the reguiremeants for “Perodic Tesing Requirements” in accomdance with Tide 46 CFR 16220 Hyou
parfcipaie In a USCE “random or pre-smpioyment drug test program,” this form may not be necsssary. (See page 2 for defalls )
NOTE: The cost of the drug tes! is the sole responsiiity of the applicant. not the Coast Guard
Section |: Applicant Consent

| criify thal | am the gescrioed applicamt and that | have prowided ithe specimen|s) Sescrined Dedw In acoordancs with Depariment of Transparation prosedures
given in 49 CFR &0 | ais0 understand that making in any way, a faise or Traudulent statement, entry, or evidence is a viciation of e U5 Criminal Code at Thie
18 WL5.C. 1001 which sudjecis e violator to federad prossacution and posslbie Incarceraton, fine, or both.

MHame Last First MidEe Reference Number (¥ appiicabie) Social Secumty Numbsr

Date (MMDDY YY)

Signature of Appicant (Regquired]

X |
Section Il: Name of SAMHSA Accredited Laboratory

Mame Sirest Andress City
| |

SECTION I Medical Review Officer

State ZIp Code
|

Cate Speckmen Colecied [MMIDON YY) The |aDoraiory repart has been reviewed In accordance with procedurss given In 49 CFR Pant
| 4], Sunpan G, and fhe verfied =5t resuliE are: (CHECK ONE)
NEGATIVNE

Epecimen Analyz=d For [Drigs 1aerimed by 45 CFR S0.65), [
neiding: [ ] cancELLED or

+ Mariuana metabolie

+ Cocalne medEbolies Posstive, andior refusal to test because of adulteration or

« AMpheEmMInes Subestirtion.

+ Dpiate metabodizs (Please completes the next HIOCK for 3N non-neganve resurs

« Phencyclidine (PCP)

FOR POSITIWVEADMLTERATEDNCANCELLED DRUG TESTS ONLY: (To be eporfed to the nearest USCGE Secior ar Unit). (Please pring)
This specmen & verified POSITIVE far

This specmen was Identified as belrgg SUBSTITUTED or containing an ADULTERANT

The test was CAMNCELLED Decause [inse reason)

| ciffy thal | meel quaicaions for 3 Medical Review Offcer as cutlineg In Tite 43 OFR 400121, | have reviewed the resulis and detemmined that e appiicanis
warified test resut i In accordance with Tile £49 CPR 40 Subpart G.

MEDICAL REVIEW OFFICER CONTACT INFORMATION MEDECAL REVIEW OFFICER AUTHORITY
Wame Las! First Middle Mame Last First Widdie
| | | Il | |
Sirest Address Signare (RO signature sfamp 5 awthorized o negatve resulis anly)
| |
City Slate Zp Code Hame of MRC Cuailying Organization
| | | Il |
| e e |

CG-T1BP (D417 | Fasst | Page 1 of 2



DOT/USCG PERIODIC DRUG TESTING FORM (OPTIONAL CG-719P)

= A drugtest is required for all transactions EXCEFT endorsements, documsnts of
REQUNIREMENTS contnuity, duplicates, and STCW certificates.

= UOnly a chemical test meeting the reguirements of 48 CFR Part 40 will be accepiad.

« A DOT Chemical test conductad within the past 185 days by a laboratory accredited
by Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration [ SAMHEA),
Department of Health and Human Sendces.

« COLLECTION of 3 sample may be conducied by an independent medical faclity,

OPTION | private physician or at an employer-designated site as long as the collaction agent
me=ets the qualification requirements to be a collection agent given in Titke 48 CFR
PERIODIC TESTING PROGRAM Part 40 Subpart C. It is CRITICAL that the sample is sent to an accredited SAMHSA

laboratony for AMALYSES or the drug test is invalid.

# The ORIGIMAL resulis are required. A FACSIMILE is acceptable, if it is onginated
from the Medical Review Officer (MRO) or the Service Agent assisting the marniner,
and sent directly from the office. The drug test result must be signed and dated by the
MRO.

EXAMPLE {From Mariner Employers): AFFLICANTS NAWESEN has been subjectto a
random testing program meeting the criteria of Tile 48 CFR 16,230 for at l=ast 80 days
OPTION Nl during the previous 185 days and has ot failed nor refused to participate in a chemical
test for dangercus drugs.

RANDOM TESTING ! . :
EXAMPLE (Acfive Duty Military/Military Sealift Command/™M.O_A A {Amy Corps of

Engineers): APFLICANTS NAME S SN has been subject to & random testing program
with nio subsequent positive drug test results during the remainder of the six month peniod.

« An ORIGIMNAL DATED letter on mariner employer stationary signed by a company
afficial, stating that they hold evidence that manner either passed 3 chemical test for

OPTION I dangarous drugs within the past 185 days or has been subject to a random testing
program.

EXAMPLE: APFLICANTS NAME'SSN passed a chemical test for dangerous drugs,

required under Title 48 CFR 16.210 within the previous. six months of the date of this leter
with no subsequent positive drug test results during the remainder of the six month penod.

PRE-EMPLOYMENT TESTING

PRIVACY MOTICE

Authority: 14 US.C.632; 46 US.C. 2103, 7101, 7302, 7502, 46 C.F.R- 10,301

Purpose: The information s cofiected by the Coast Guard 1o getermine wheiher an applicant meets the requiatory siandands for Issuance of a U.5. Merchant
Marmner Credential (MMC). The Cpast Guard evaluates an appiicant’s quaifications to determing compllance with the national and inlematicnal requirements for
issuanca of he MMC, any endorsement within the MMC, and medical cerificate

Routtne Wreas: The Infornation & wsed by authorized Coast Guard persoane! who have a need for the recond to determine whether an applicant Is a safe and
sullabie person and quaifies for the MMC, any endorsement within the MMC, and madical cenificale. in addiion, the Coast Guand usas this mformation 1o
maintain and update reconds of merchant manner documantation fransactions. The Information will not be shaned outside of DHS excegpt In accordance wim the
provisions of DHEUSC G030 Merchant Seamen's Records Sysiem of Recornds, 74 FR 30308 (June 235, 200%).

Disclosura: Fumishing this Infoemation (including your SZN| I voluntary; howawer, faiure bo fumish e reguasted information may reswt In the non-esuance
of the MMC, any endarsemend within the MMC, and medical cedtificate.

An agency may nof conduct or sponsor, and a person s not required io Fespond bo a coffection of information unkess I displays 3 waild OB conirdd number.
The Unfied 513tes Coasl Guand eslimales that the average burden for this repart is 5 minutes. You may sulkmi any commenis concaming ihe accuracy of Mis
burden estimaie or any suggesiions for reducing the burden to: Chief, OfMca of Merchant Mariner Cradentialing, 2703 Martn Luther King, Jr. Ave, 5.E., STOP
7505, Washingion, D.C., 20553-7505 or Cfice of Management and Budgel, Papersork Reduciion Profect {1625-0040), Washington, OC 20503,

CG-T10P (D4/17) [ Reset | Page 2 of 2
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Form MCSA-5875 OMB No. 2126-0006  Expiration Date: 8/21/2018

Last Name: First Name: DOB: Exam Date:
DRIVER HEALTH HISTORY (continued)
Not Not
Do you have or have you ever had: Yes No Sure Yes No Sure
1. Head/brain injuries orillnesses (e.g, concussion) O O (O 16.Dizziness, headaches, numbness, tingling, or memory OO O
2. Seizures, epilepsy OO O loss
3. Eye problems (except glasses or contacts) O O O 17. Unexplained weight loss & O O
4. Ear and/or hearing problems eRe R 18. Stroke, mini-stroke (TIA), paralysis, or weakness ) ¥ O
5. Heart disease, heart attack, bypass, or other heart & 5 6 19. Missing or limited use of arm, hand, finger, leg, foot, toe O O O
problems 20. Neck or back problems O O O
6. Pacemaker, stents, implantable devices, or other heart & (O O 21.Bone muscle, joint, or nerve problems TR S
procedures 22.Blood clots or bleeding problems OO O
7. High blood pressure 0 O % 33. Cancer S HeR
8. High cholesterol SRS 24. Chronic (long-term) infection or other chronic diseases & O O
2. Ehror;]l'c (Iong-l;c:la-rm) cough, shortness of breath, orother O O O 25. Sleep disorders, pauses in breathing while asleep, O O O
heatiig pramlems daytime sleepiness, loud snoring
10. Lung disease (eg, asthma) O O O 2%Hae you ever had a sleep test (g, sleep apneq)? o O O
11. 5|r<izlnna?i/oaroblems, kidney stones, or pain/problems with e by o) 27. Have you ever spent a night in the hospital? SR E®
?
12. Stomach, liver, or digestive problems OO0 O ;2 :ave yamest hadda brcc;ken bone: b 4 000
4 t !
13. Diabetes or blood sugar problems OO O aveyoll everLised orda you nowlise tobacco 000
I —— OO0 O 30. Do you currently drink alcohol? OO O
31.H d an illegal subst ithin th tt
14. Anxiety, depression, nervousness, other mental health O O O eaavresg/ou used an illegal substance withinthe pasttwo & O O
problems Aebas
e y 32.Have you ever failed a drug test or been dependenton O O O
15. Fainting or passing out O O O anille)éalsubstance? 9 P
Other health condition(s) not described above; {OYes ONo (O Not Sure
Did you answer "yes" to any of questions 1-32? If so, please comment further on these health conditions below. O Yes ONo O Not Sure

{Attach additional sheets if necessary)

CMV DRIVER'S SIGNATURE

| certify that the above information is accurate and complete. | understand that inaccurate, false or missing information may invalidate the examination
and my Medical Examiner's Certificate, that submission of fraudulent or intentionally false information is a violation of 49 CFR 390.35, and that submission
of fraudulent or intentionally false information may subject me to civil or criminal penalties under 49 CFR 390.37 and 49 CFR 386 Appendices A and B.

Driver's Signature: Date:

SECTION 2, Examination Report (i0 be filled out by the medical examiner)
DRIVER HEALTH HISTORY REVIEW

Review and discuss pertinent driver answers and any available medical records. Comrment on the driver's responses to the "health history" questions that may affect the
driver's safe operation of a commercial motor vehicle (CMV),

{Attach additional sheets if necessary)
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Form MCSA-5875 OMB No. 2126-0006  Expiration Date: 8/21/2018

Last Name: First Name: DOB: Exam Date:

TESTING

Pulse rate: Pulse rhythm regular: O Yes O No Height:  feet  inches Weight: pounds
Blood Pressure Systolic Diastolic Urinalysis Sp.Gr. Protein Bleod Sugar
Sitting Urinalysis is required.

Numerical readings

Second readin
g must be recorded.

(optional)
Other testing if indicated Protein, blood, or sugar in the urine may be an indication for further testing to
e out any underlying medical problem,
Vision Hearing

Standard is at least 20/40 acuity (Snelen) in each eve with or without correction. At - Standard: Must first perceive whispered voice at not less than 5 feet OR average
least 707 field of vision in horizontal meridian measured in each eye. The use of cor-  hearing loss of less than or equal fo 40 dB, in better ear (with or without hearing aid).
rective lenses should be noted on the Medical Examiners Certificate.

Acuity Uncorrected  Corrected  Horizontal Field of Vision Check if hearing aid used for test: [ ]Right Ear [ ]Left Ear [ |Neither

) ) Whisper Test Results Right Ear Left Ear
Right Eye: 20/ 20/ Right Eye: degrees ) . ) i

. I — Record distance (in feet) from driver at which a forced

Left Eye: 20/ 20/ Left Eye: degrees  whispered voice can first be heard
Both Eyes: 20/ 20/ Yes No OR
Applicant can recognize and distinguish among traffic control () O Audiometric Test Results
signals and devices showing red, green, and amber colors Right Ear Left Ear

Monecular vision 500 Hz 1000Hz 2000 Hz 500 Hz 1000Hz 2000 Hz

OO
Referred to ophthalmologist or optometrist? O O
OO

Received documentation from ophthalmologist or optometrist? )
Average (right): Average (left):

PHYSICAL EXAMINATION

The presence of a certain condition may not necessarily disqualify a driver, particularly if the condition is controlled adequately, is not likely to worsen, or
is readily amenable to treatment. Even if a condition does not disqualify a driver, the Medical Examiner may consider deferring the driver temporarily.
Also, the driver should be advised to take the necessary steps to correct the condition as soon as possible, particularly if neglecting the condition could
result in a more serious illness that might affect driving.

Check the body systems for abnormalities.

Body System Normal Abnormal Body System Normal Abnormal
1. General 8. Abdomen

2. 5kin 9. Genito-urinary system including hernias

3. Eyes 10. Back/Spine

4. Ears 11. Extremities/joints

5. Mouth/throat

6, Cardiovascular

12. Neurological system including reflexes
13, Gait

14. Vascular system

OO0OCOO0O0
OCOQCO0OOOC
OO0OCOO0O0
ORCRCAGRCRORE:

7. Lungs/chest

Discuss any abnormal answers in detailin the space below and indicate whether it would affect the driver's ability to operate a CMV.
Enter applicable itern number before each comment.

(Attach additional sheets if necessary)
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Form MCSA-5875 OMB No. 2126-0006  Expiration Date: 8/31/2018

Last Name: First Name: DOB: Exam Date:

Please complete only one of the following (Federal or State) Medical Examiner Determination sections:

MEDICAL EXAMINER DETERMINATION (Federal)

Use this section for examinations performed in accordance with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations (49 CFR391.41-391.49):

(O Does not meet standards (specify reason):

(O Meets standards in 49 CFR 391.41; qualifies for 2-year certificate

(O Meets standards, but pericdic monitoring required (specify reason):

Driver qualified for: O 3 months O 6 months O 1 year O other (specify):
[ ] Wearing corrective lenses [ ] Wearing hearing aid [ ] Accompanied by a waiver/fexemption {specify type):
] Accompanied by a Skill Performance Evaluation (SPE) Certificate [ Qualified by operation of 49 CFR 391.64 (Federal)
[ ] Driving within an exempt intracity zone (see 40 CFR 391 62) fFederal)

[ | Determination pending (specify reason):

[ ] Return to medical exam office for follow-up on {must be 45 days or fess):

[ ] Medical Examination Report amended (specify reason):

(if amended) Medical Examiner's Signature: Date:

[ ]Incomplete examination (specify reason):

‘ If the driver meats the standards outlined in 49 (FR 391.41, then complete a Medical Examiner's Certificate as stated in 49 CFR 391.43(h), as appropriate.

| have performed this evaluation for certification. | have personally reviewed all available records and recerded information pertaining to this evaluation,
and attest that to the best of my knowledge, | believe it to be true and correct.

Medical Examiner's Signature:

Medical Examiner's Name (please print or type):

Medical Examiner's Address: City: State: Zip Code:
Medical Examiner's Telephone Number: Date Certificate Signed:
Medical Examiner's State License, Certificate, or Registration Number: Issuing State:

[IMD [JDO [] Physician Assistant [ | Chiropractor [ ] Advanced Practice Nurse
[] Other Practitioner (specify):

National Registry Number: Medical Examiner's Certificate Expiration Date:
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Form MCSA-5875 OMB No. 2126-0006  Expiration Date: 8/21/2018

Last Name: First Name: DOB: Exam Date:

MEDICAL EXAMINER DETERVINATION (State)

Use this section for examinations performed in accordance with the Federal Motor Carrier Safety Regulations (49 CFR391.41-391.49) with any applicable State
variances (which will only be valid for intrastate operations):

(O Does not meet standards in 49 CFR 391.41 with any applicable State variances (specify reason):

(O Meets standards in 49 CFR 391.41 with any applicable State variances
(O Meets standards, but periodic monitering required (specify reason):

Driver qualifiedfor. () 3months () 6 months () 1year () other (specify:
[ ] Wearing corrective lenses [ ] Wearing hearing aid [ ] Accompanied by a waiver/exemption (specify type):
[ ] Accompanied by a Skill Performance Evaluation (SPE) Certificate [ | Grandfathered from State requirements (State)

‘ If the driver meets the standards outlined in 49 (FR 391.41, with applicable State variances, then complete a Medical Examiner's Certificate, as appropriate.

| have performed this evaluation for certification. | have personally reviewed all available records and recorded information pertaining to this evaluation,
and attest that to the best of my knowledge, | believe it to be true and correct.

Medical Examiner's Signature:

Medical Examiner's Name (please print or type):

Medical Examiner's Address: City: State: Zip Code:
Medical Examiner's Telephone Number: Date Certificate Signed:
Medical Examiner's State License, Certificate, or Registration Number: Issuing State:

[IMD []DO [] Physician Assistant [ | Chiropractor [ ] Advanced Practice Nurse
[ ] Other Practitioner (specify):

Medical Examiner's Certificate Expiration Date:

National Registry Number:
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Instructions MCSA-5875

Instructions for Completing the Medical Examination Report Form (MCSA-5875)

I. Step-By-Step Instructions
Driver:

Privacy Act Statement - Please read, sign and date the Statement acknowledging that you understand the
provisions of the Privacy Act of 1974 as written.

Section 1: Driver information

Personal Information: Please complete this section using your name as written on your driver's license, your
current address and phone number, your date of birth, age, gender, driver's license number and issuing state.

o CLP/CDL Applicant/Holder: Check "yes" if you are a commercial learner's permit (CLP) or com-
mercial driver's license (CDL) holder, or are applying for a CLP or CDL. CDL means a license
issued by a State or the District of Columbia which authorizes the individual to operate a class of a
com-mercial motor vehicle (CMV). A CMYV that requires a CDL. is one that: (1) has a gross
combina-tion weight rating or gross combination weight of 26,001 pounds or more inclusive of a
towed unit with a gross vehicle weight rating (GVWR) or gross vehicle weight (GVW) of more than
10,000 pounds; or (2) has a GVWR or GVW of 26,001 pounds or more; or (3) is designed to trans-
port 16 or more passengers, including the driver; or (4) is used to transport either hazardous materi-
als requiring hazardous materials placards on the vehicle or any quantity of a select agent or toxin.

o Driver ID Verified By: The Medical Examiner/staff completes this item and notes the type of photo ID
used to verify the driver's identity such as, commercial driver's license, driver's license, or passport, etc.

o Question: Has your USDOT/FMCSA medical certificate ever been denied or issued for less than
two years? Please check the correct box “yes” or “no” and if you aren't sure check the “not sure” box.

Driver Health History:

o Have you ever had surgery: Please check “yes” if you have ever had surgery and provide a written
explanation of the details (type of surgery, date of surgery, etc.)

o Are you currently taking medications (prescription, over-the-counter, herbal remedies, diet
supplements): Please check “yes” if you are taking any diet supplements, herbal remedies, or
prescrip-tion or over the counter medications. In the box below the question, indicate the name of the
medication and the dosage.

o #1-32: Please complete this section by checking the “yes™ box to indicate that you have, or have ever had,
the health condition listed or the “No” box if you have not. Check the “not sure” box if you are unsure.

o Other Health Conditions not described above: If you have, or have had, any other health condi-
tions not listed in the section above, check “Yes™ and in the box provided and list those condition(s).

o Any yes answers to questions #1-32 above: If you have answered “yes” to any of the questions in
the Driver Health History section above, please explain your answers further in the box below the
ques-tion. For example, if you answered “yes” to question #5 regarding heart disease, heart attack,
bypass, or other heart problem, indicate which type of heart condition. If you checked “yes™ to ques-
tion #23 regarding cancer, indicate the type of cancer. Please add any information that will be helpful
to the Medical Examiner.

CMYV Driver Signature and Date: Please read the certification statement, sign and date it, indicating
that the information you provided in Section 1 is accurate and complete.
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Instructions MCSA-5875

Medical Examiner:
Section 2: Examination Report

Driver Health History Review: Review answers provided by the driver in the driver health history section
and discuss any “yes” and “not sure” responses. In addition, be sure to compare the medication list to the
health history responses ensuring that the medication list matches the medical conditions noted. Explore
with the driver any answers that seem unclear. Record any information that the driver omitted. As the Medi-
cal Examiner conducting the driver's physical examination you are required to complete the entire medical
examination even if you detect a medical condition that you consider disqualifying, such as deafness. Medi-
cal Examiners are expected to determine the driver's physical qualification for operating a commercial
vehicle safely. Thus, if vou find a disqualifying condition for which a driver may receive a Federal Motor
Car-rier Safety Administration medical exemption, please record that on the driver's Medical Examiner's
Cer-tificate, Form MCSA-3876, as well as on the Medical Examination Report Form, MCSA-5875.

Testing:
o Pulse rate and rhythm, height, and weight: record these as indicated on the form.

o Blood Pressure: record the blood pressure (systolic and diastolic) of the driver being examined. A
second reading is optional and should be recorded if found to be necessary.

o Urinalysis: record the numerical readings for the specific gravity, protein, blood and sugar.

o Vision: The current vision standard is provided on the form. When other than the Snellen chart is used,
give test results in Snellen-comparable values. When recording distance vision, use 20 feet as normal.
Record the vision acuity results and indicate if the driver can recognize and distinguish among traffic
control signals and devices showing red, green, and amber colors; has monocular vision; has been
referred to an ophthalmologist or optometrist; and if documentation has been received from an
ophthalmologist or optometrist.

o Hearing: The current hearing standard is provided on the form. Hearing can be tested using either a
whisper test or audiometric test. Record the test results in the corresponding section for the test used.

Physical Examination: Check the body systems for abnormalities and indicate normal or abnormal for
cach body system listed. Discuss any abnormal answers in detail in the space provided and indicate whether
it would affect the driver's ability to safely operate a commercial motor vehicle.

In this next section, you will be completing either the Federal or State determination, not both.

Medical Examiner Determination (Federal): Use this section for examinations performed in accordance
with the FMCSRs (49 CFR 391.41-391.49). Complete the medical examiner determination section
completely. When determining a driver's physical qualification, please note that English language proficiency
(49 CFR part 391.11: General qualifications of drivers) is not factored into that determination.

o Does not meet standards: Select this option when a driver is determined to be not qualified and pro-
vide an explanation of why the driver does not meet the standards in 49 CFR 391.41.

o Meets standards in 49 CFR 391.41; qualifies for 2-year certification: Select this option when a
driver is determined to be qualified and will be issued a 2-year Medical Examiner's Certificate.
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Instructions MCSA-5875

o Meets standards, but periodic monitoring is required: Select this option when a driver is deter-
mined to be qualified but needs periodic monitoring and provide an explanation of why periodic
moni-toring is required. Select the corresponding time frame that the driver is qualified and if select-
ing other, specify the time frame.

Determination that driver meets standards: Select all categories that apply to the driver's
certification (e.g., wearing corrective lenses, accompanied by a waiver/exemption, driving
within an exempt intracity zone, etc.).

o Determination pending: Select this option when more information is needed to make a qualification
decision and specify a date, on or before the 45 day expiration date, for the driver to return to the medi-
cal exam office for follow-up. This will allow for a delay of the qualification decision for as many as
45 days. If the disposition of the pending examination is not updated via the National Registry on or
before the 45 day expiration date, FMCSA will notify the examining medical examiner and the driver
in writing that the examination is no longer valid and that the driver is required to be re-examined.

- MER amended: A Medical Examination Report Form (MER), MCSA-5875, may only be amended
while in determination pending status for situations where new information (e.g., test results, etc.) has
been received or there has been a change in the driver's medical status since the initial examination, but
prior to a final qualification determination. Select this option when a Medical Examination Report Form,
MCSA-5875, is being amended; provide the reason for the amendment, sign and date. In addition, initial
and date any changes made on the Medical Examination Report Form, MCSA-5875. A Medical
Examina-tion Report Form, MCSA-5875, cannot be amended after an examination has been in
determina-tion pending status for more than 45 days or after a final qualification determination has been
made. The driver is required to obtain a new physical examination and a new Medical Examination
Report Form, MCSA-5875, should be completed.

o Incomplete examination: Sclect this when the physical examination is not completed for any
reason (e.g., driver decides they do not want to continue with the examination and leaves) other than
situations outlined under determination pending.

o Medical Examiner information, signature and date: Provide your name, address, phone number,
occupation, license, certificate, or registration number and issuing state, national registry number,
Medi-cal Examiner's Certificate expiration date, signature and date.

Medical Examiner Determination (State): Use this section for examinations performed in accordance
with the FMCSRs (49 CFR 391.41-391.49) with any applicable State variances (which will only be valid
for intrastate operations). Complete the medical examiner determination section completely.

o Does not meet standards in 49 CFR 391.41 with any applicable State variances: Select this
option when a driver is determined to be not qualified and provide an explanation of why the driver
does not meet the standards in 49 CFR 391.41 with any applicable State variances.

o Meets standards in 49 CFR 391.41 with any applicable State variances: Select this option when
a driver 1s determined to be qualified and will be 1ssued a 2-year Medical Examiner's Certificate.

o Meets standards, but periodic monitoring is required: Select this option when a driver is deter-
mined to be qualified but needs periodic monitoring and provide an explanation of why periodic
moni-toring is required. Select the corresponding time frame that the driver is qualified and if select-
ing other, specify the time frame.

Determination that driver meets standards: Select all categories that apply to the driver's
certification (e.g., wearing corrective lenses, accompanied by a waiver/exemption, etc.).
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Instructions MCSA-5875

o Medical Examiner information, signature and date: Provide vour name, address, phone number,
occupation, license, certificate, or registration number and issuing state, national registry number,
Medi-cal Examiner's Certificate expiration date, signature and date.

II. If updating an existing exam, you must resubmit the new exam results, via the Medical Examination
Results Form, MCSA-S830, to the National Registry, and the most recent dated exam will take
precedence.

II1. To obtain additional information regarding this form go to the Medical Program's page on the Federal
Motor Carrier Safety Administration's website at http://www.fmcsa.dot.gov/regulations/medical.
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