Outline for Firearms Background Checks in Oregon —What Can | Expect?

Knowing what to expect and how that information will apply to your specific situation can be very useful
when going through a background check for a firearms purchase. A firearms background check involves
accessing criminal records from all 50 states and the federal government. There is no limitation on how
old an event is when conducting a background check — if the vent could be disqualifying, it will need to be
looked into. It is important to note that records reported by criminal justice agencies often do not have
specific details about a crime as it pertains to firearms laws, and because both federal and state
disqualifications can include crimes that may not be obvious within the categories listed below, it is a
good practice to become aware of the details of your own criminal history that could prevent an
immediate approved background check response.

THINGS TO KNOW OR CONSIDER BEFORE PURCHASING A FIREARM
e Private party selling/transferring a firearm at a gun show? A background check is required. ORS
166.433, 166.438, and 166.441
e Private part selling/transferring a firearm and NOT at a gun show? Effective August 9, 2015
private-party to private-party background checks are required under the Oregon Firearms Safety
Act (SB941). Exemptions to this requirement and other details can be located on the Oregon
Firearms Safety Act Highlights document on the OSP webpage at:
http://www.oregon.gov/osp/Pages/index.aspx ORS 166.435
o Federally Licensed Gun Dealers selling/transferring to a non-dealer? You are required to do a
background check. ORS 166.412 and 18 U.S.C. § 922(d)
¢ Identification required: ORS 166.412 and 166.436
e The identification presented by the recipient must meet the requirements of ORS
166.412(4)(a). Identification of the transferee shall include one piece of current
identification bearing a photograph and the date of birth of the transferee that:

v' Is issued under the authority of the United States Government, a state, a political
subdivision of a state, a foreign government, a political subdivision of a foreign
government, an international governmental organization, or an international
guasi-governmental organization, and:

v Is intended to be used for identification of an individual or is commonly accepted
for the purpose of identification of an individual.

v If the identification presented by the transferee does not include the current
address of the transferee, the transferee shall present a second piece of current
identification that contains the current address of the transferee. The
Superintendent of State Police may specify by rule the type of identification that
may be presented under this paragraph.

v' OSP may require that the dealer verify the identification of the transferee if that
identity is in question by sending the thumbprints of the transferee to the
department.

e Age requirement:
e Federal — must be 18 years old to purchase long gun, 21 years old to purchase hand gun
18 U.S.C. § 922(b)(1)
e Oregon — must be 18 years old to purchase a firearm ORS 166.470; however, federal law
imposes stricter requirements for handgun purchases.
e Handgun: Transferee must be an Oregon resident or original pawn ticket holder. 18 U.S.C. §
922(b)(3)
e Long Gun: The laws of the transferee’s state-of-residence regarding eligibility outside of their
state and federal laws apply ORS 166.490, U.S.C. § 922(b)(3)



http://www.oregon.gov/osp/Pages/index.aspx

e For private-party transfers, the transferee must be present at the time the check is requested.
ORS 166.435, 166.436
e The fee for a firearms background check is $10. ORS 166.414
e Payment for private-party background checks are currently only accepted by credit/debit
card. Information for payment will be taken over the phone.
e FFLs can pay by credit/debit card or request a monthly billing

THE ACTUAL BACKGROUND CHECK PROCESS STARTS HERE

The person selling/transferring a firearm must provide the following information to initiate the background
check: ORS 166.412, 166.436, 18 U.S.C. § 922(t)(1)(c) and 27 CFR 178.124(c)

e The name, address, and telephone number for the transferor;
e The address of the place where the transfer is occurring;
e The make, model, caliber, and manufacturer's number of the firearm being transferred;
e This information is necessary to conduct the required stolen gun check
e The name, date of birth, race, sex, and address of the recipient;
e The Social Security Number of the recipient if the recipient voluntarily provides that number;
e The type, issuer, and identification number of a current piece of identification bearing a recent
photograph of the recipient provided by the recipient/

The FICS Unit will determine from criminal records and other information available to it whether the
purchaser/transferee is disqualified under state and federal law from completing the transfer or is
otherwise prohibited by state or federal law from possessing a firearm. ORS 166.412, 166.250,
137.540(1)(L), 166.470, and 18 U.S.C. § 922(g)&(n)

FEDERAL AND STATE PROHIBITORS/DISQUALIFIERS

FEDERAL CATEGORIES OF PERSON PROHIBITED FROM RECEIVING A FIREARM
The federal disqualification criteria are as follows:

e CONVICTION (FELONY OR MISDEMEANOR). A person who has been convicted in any court
of a crime where the crime has a maximum imprisonment term exceeding 1 year (even if you did
not receive an actual imprisonment exceeding 1 year). 18 U.S.C. 8 922(g)(1)

o WARRANT. A person with a felony warrant or is fugitive from justice, having any out-of-state
misdemeanor warrant for your arrest. 18 U.S.C. § 922(g)(2)

e FELONY PRE-TRIAL RELEASE. A person who is under indictment or information for a crime
punishable by imprisonment for a term exceeding one year. 18 U.S.C. § 922(n)

e MISDEMEANOR CRIME OF DOMESTIC VIOLENCE. A person convicted in any court of a
misdemeanor crime which includes the use or attempted use of physical force or threatened use
of a deadly weapon and the defendant was the spouse, former spouse, parent, guardian of the
victim, by a person with whom the victim shares a child in common, by a person who is
cohabitating with or has cohabitated in the past with the victim as a spouse, parent, guardian, or
similar situation to a spouse, parent, or guardian of the victim 18 U.S.C. § 922(g)(9)

e RESTRAINING/STALKING/PROTECTION ORDER. The subject of a protective order issued
after a hearing in which the respondent had notice that restrains them from harassing, stalking, or




threatening an intimate partner or child of such partner. This does not include ex parte orders.
18 U.S.C. § 922(g)(8)(A-C)
e MENTAL HEALTH ADJUDICATION. A person adjudicated mental defective or committed to a
mental institution 18 U.S.C. § 922(g)(4)
e CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE. An unlawful user and/or an addict of any controlled substance
(drug); 18 U.S.C. § 922(g)(3)
e For example, a person convicted for the use or possession of a controlled substance
within the past year; or a person with multiple arrests for the use or possession of a
controlled substance within the past five years with the most recent arrest occurring
within the past year; or a person found through a drug test to use a controlled substance
unlawfully, provided the test was administered within the past year.
¢ DISHONORABLE DISCHARGE. A person dishonorably discharged from the United States
Armed Forces. 18 U.S.C. § 922(g)(6)
¢ RENOUNCED US CITIZENSHIP. A person who has renounced his/her United States citizenship
18 U.S.C. § 922(g)(7)
e ILLEGAL ALIEN. A person who, being an alien, is illegally or unlawfully in the United States. 18
U.S.C. 8 922(g)(5)
e A person who, being an alien except as provided in subsection 18 U.S.C. § 922(y)(2),
has been admitted to the United States under a non-immigrant visa.

OREGON SPECIFIC DISQUALIFIERS (in addition to the above federal disqualifiers)

e CONVICTION of a violent misdemeanor within the previous 4 years (see ORS 166.470(1)(g)
below)
o PROBATION with conditions limiting possession of a firearm (see ORS 137.540(1)(L) below

166.470 Limitations and conditions for sales of firearms. (1) Unless relief has been granted under
ORS 166.274, 18 U.S.C. § 925(c) or the expunction laws of this state or an equivalent law of another
jurisdiction, a person may not intentionally sell, deliver, or otherwise transfer any firearms when the
transferor knows or reasonably should know that the recipient:

(a) Is under 18 years of age;

(b) Has been convicted of a felony;

(c) Has any outstanding felony warrants for arrest;

(d) Is free on any form of pretrial release for a felony;

(e) Was committed to the Oregon Health Authority under ORS 426.130;

(f) After January 1, 1990, was found to be mentally ill and subject to an order under ORS 426.130
that the person be prohibited from purchasing or possessing a firearm as a result of that mental iliness;

(g) Has been convicted of a misdemeanor involving violence or found guilty except for insanity
under ORS 161.295 of a misdemeanor involving violence within the previous four years. As used in this
paragraph, “misdemeanor involving violence” means a misdemeanor described in ORS 163.160,
163.187, 163.190, 163.195, or 166.155(1)(b); or

(h) Has been found guilty except for insanity under ORS 161.265 of a felony.

(2) A person may not sell, deliver, or otherwise transfer any firearm that the person knows or
reasonably should know is stolen.

(3) Subsection (1)(a) of this section does not prohibit:

(a) The parent or guardian, or another person with the consent of the parent or guardian, of a
minor from transferring to the minor a firearms, other than a handgun; or



(b) the temporary transfer of any firearm to a minor for hunting, target practice, or any other lawful

purpose.

(4) Violation of this section is a Class A misdemeanor

137.540 Conditions of probation; evaluation and treatment; fees; effect of failure to abide by
conditions; modification. (1) The court may sentence the defendant to probation subject to the following
general conditions unless specifically deleted by the court. The probationer shall:

(L) No possess weapons, firearms, or dangerous animals.

POSSIBLE BACKGROUND CHECK RESULTS

Unless a background check is cancelled by the requestor or stopped due to required information not
being provided (such as identification does not meet the requirements) one of the following 3
determinations will be provided within 30 minutes or less to the transferor by OSp at the time the
background check is initiated:

1.

2.

APPROVED: If approved, OSP will provide the transferor with a unique approval number
indicating that the purchaser is qualified to complete the transfer. ORS 166.412 (approx. 96% of
backgrounds are approved within minutes of initiation)
e Private-Party only: The unique approval number is a permit valid for 24 hours for the requested
transfer. If the firearm is not transferred from the seller to the purchaser within 24 hours after
receipt of the unique approval number, a new request must be made by the seller. ORS 166.436
DENIED: If the transferee is disqualified, the transferor will be notified that the transferee is
denied. No further information is provided to the transferor. ORS 166.412 (approximately 1% of
backgrounds are denied within minutes of initiation)
PEND/DELAY: If the department is unable to determine whether the transferee is qualified or
disqualified from completing the transfer within 30 minutes of receiving the request, the
department shall notify the transferor and provide an estimate of time when the department will
provide the requested information. ORS 166.412 (approximately 3% are placed in pend/delay
status at the time the check is initiated due to missing information about a potential
disqualification)

OSP provides each FFL with information regarding how the transferee may contact OSP for further
information about a denied or delayed result, and the information is available on our website.

While the decision to transfer a firearm after the statutorily allowable period is solely up to the transferor
(should OSP fail to provide a unique approval number or notify the transferor that the transferee is
disqualified), OSP will continue work to complete the requested background check until resolved or
cancelled by the transferor.

For further information or questions about Oregon’s program, please contact the Firearms Unit by email at
osp.firearms@state.or.us, or call the FICS Unit Challenge Line at (503) 373-1808.
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