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How to contact us
Telephone numbers

Member Services ........... . ... 888-320-7377
PERS headquarters TTY.................... 503-603-7766
PERSSalem ............ ... ... oL, 888-320-7377
Oregon Savings Growth Plan.............. 888-320-7377
PERS Health Insurance Program ............. 503-224-7377 (Portland)
PERS Health Insurance Program toll free . ... 800-768-7377
PERS long term care insurance (UNUM) . ... 800-227-4165

Fax numbers

Tigard headquarters ....................... 503-598-0561
Oregon Savings Growth Plan................ 503-603-7655
PERSSalem .............. ... .. ... ...... 503-603-7655

Website
PERSwebsite .. ............ ... ... ... WWW.oregon.gov/pers
Oregon Savings Growth Plan................ www.oregon.gov/pers/OSGP
PERS Health Insurance Program ............. www.pershealth.com
Social Security Administration. . ............. WWW.$82.20V
Oregon Department of Revenue.............. www.oregon.gov/dor
Internal Revenue Service .. ................. WWW.IT'S.goV

Mailing addresses

PERS Headquarters Oregon Savings Growth Plan
PO Box 23700 800 Summer St. NE, Suite 200
Tigard OR 97281-3700 Salem, OR 97301-1248

PERS Health Insurance
PO Box 40187
Portland OR 97240-0187

Office addresses

PERS Headquarters PERS Salem/OSGP
11410 SW 68th Parkway 800 Summer St. NE, Suite 200
Tigard, OR 97223 Salem, OR 97301

This Preretirement Guide is for general informational purposes only
and is not intended to provide legal advice. If there is any conflict
between this publication and federal law, Oregon law, or
administrative rules, the law and administrative rules shall prevail.
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Introduction: Getting Ready to Retire

What you need to know before completing your
Oregon Public Service Retirement Plan (OPSRP) Retirement Application

Thinking about retirement? All retiring members need to answer the following questions:

* Am I eligible to retire from the OPSRP Pension Program?
(See page 6.)

* When should I retire?

* What payment option shall I choose?

* Is my beneficiary designation correct?

* Do I want my payment deposited directly to my financial
institution?

* How much federal or Oregon state tax shall I have withheld?

Preretirement resources Many informational services are available to help you plan your

retirement. We recommend you:

* Visit Online Member Services (OMS) to create a benefit estimate.

* Request a benefit estimate when you are within two years of the
date you want to retire.

» Attend an OPSRP group education session.

* Attend a Retirement Application Assistance Session.

* Visit the PERS website (www.oregon.gov/pers/) for up-to-date
information and online forms.

AND

* If you still have questions, call Member Services at 888-320-377,

TTY: 503-603-7766 or email PERS at PERS.Member.Services@pers.
oregon.gov

Important information As an OPSRP Pension Program member, you also have an
Individual Account Program (IAP) account. The retirement
application includes forms for both programs.

For retirement dates beginning January 1, 2011, when you retire from
the OPSRP Pension Program, you must also retire from the IAP, and
you must be separated from all PERS employers to do so.

Turn in your retirement application within the 90 days before your
effective retirement date.

Preretirement death If a member dies prior to retirement, a preretirement death benefit
benefits may be available to'a sprviving spouse, registered domestic partner
or a former spouse if directed by a court order.

If a member dies prior to retirement eligibility, this benefit is

the actuarial equivalent of 50% of what the member would have
received for retirement, calculated as if the member became
inactive on the date of death and retired at the member’s earliest
retirement eligibility date.

Member Services: Toll free 888-320-7377 5


mailto:PERS.Member.Services%40pers.oregon.gov?subject=
mailto:PERS.Member.Services%40pers.oregon.gov?subject=
https://www.oregon.gov/pers/Documents/Form/467-OPSRP-And-IAP-Retirement-Application.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/pers/Documents/Form/467-OPSRP-And-IAP-Retirement-Application.pdf
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Are you eligible to retire?

Vesting

Retirement age

Normal retirement age with
full benefits

Early retirement age with
reduced benefits

If a member dies on or after retirement eligibility, this benefit is
the actuarial equivalent of 100% of what the member would have
received for retirement, calculated as of the first of the month after
the date of death.

You are an OPSRP Pension Program member if you were hired by
an employer covered by the Public Employees Retirement System
(PERS) after August 28, 2003.

To be eligible to retire, you must be vested and have reached
retirement age.

Police officer or firefighter: To retire at the early or normal
retirement age for a police officer or firefighter, your last 60
months of retirement credit prior to being eligible for P&F
normal-age or earliest-age retirement must be classified as P&F.

You vest on the earliest of the following dates:

a) The date on which you have completed at least 600 hours of
service in each of five calendar years. The years do not have to

be consecutive; however, if you are not vested and you perform
service for less than 600 hours for five consecutive years, hours of
service performed before the first year of the five consecutive years
will be disregarded for purposes of vesting.

b) The date on which an active (working) member reaches normal
retirement age.

c¢) The date at which a person of normal retirement age becomes a
member.

d) If the Pension Program is terminated, the date on which the

termination becomes effective, but only to the extent the Pension
Program is funded.

If you retire at normal retirement age, you will receive full
benefits. If you retire earlier, you will receive a reduced benefit.

General service: Age 65 or age 58 with 30 years or more of
retirement credit.

Police officer or firefighter: Age 60 or age 53 with 25 or more
years of retirement credit.

General service: Age 55 or if you have 25 or more years of
retirement credit as a telecommunicator (911 Operator), you can
retire at any age; however, you are not eligible for a cost-of-living
adjustment (COLA) until you reach age 55.

Police officer or firefighter: Age 50. (See Are You Eligible to
Retire above for specific requirements.)

December 18, 2023
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Withdrawing account

Work After Retirement
Information for OPSRP Pension
Program Retirees

Member Services: Toll free 888-320-7377

If you do not meet eligibility requirements to retire from the
OPSRP Pension Program but are inactive, you can withdraw your
IAP account. However, by doing so, you will completely cancel
your OPSRP/PERS membership, including forfeiting your rights
to any future benefits, including any potential pension benefit.
You will not receive any payment of the net actuarial value of the
pension account. You will have no rights to restore your PERS
account(s) or other membership rights. For additional information
about withdrawal, visit the Withdrawal/Inactive Member page on
the PERS website.

If you return to employment with a private or
non-PERS-covered employer, your OPSRP Pension Program
retirement benefits will continue unchanged. PERS does not limit
the hours you may be employed or the amount of money you

can earn from a private employer or a nonparticipating public
employer.

If you return to employment with a PERS-participating
public employer after retirement, Oregon statutes impose
certain limitations on that employment. Compliance with the
statutory limitations is your responsibility. If you exceed the
work-hour limitations, you will be accountable. Exceeding the
limitations may lead to your retirement benefits being canceled
and you being invoiced for any overpaid benefits.

Senate Bill 1049, passed by the Oregon Legislature in 2019,
lifted most restrictions on working after retirement for calendar
years 2020 through 2024. SB 1049 simplified some previous
work-after-retirement rules as of January 1, 2020. These rules
will now continue through December 31, 2034, based on House
Bill 2296 (2023). During these years, most PERS retirees who
retire at “normal” retirement age may return to work for a PERS-
participating employer and still collect their PERS retirement
benefits with no limitations imposed by PERS. Your employer
may have other limitations on your work hours.

If you retire early, make sure you have a complete break from any
PERS-participating employment for at least six full months after
your retirement date, before returning to work, if you want to
work unlimited hours.

Refer to Working After Retirement for OPSRP Members for
additional information. You can find this on the PERS website.
You can also call Member Services to request a copy.


https://www.oregon.gov/pers/MEM/Pages/Account-Withdrawal-Refund.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/pers/MEM/Pages/Account-Withdrawal-Refund.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/pers/RET/Pages/SB1049-Changes-Work-After-Retirement.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/pers/MEM/Pages/Work-After-Retirement-for-OPSRP-Members.aspx
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Information for registered
domestic partners

A registered domestic partnership is a civil contract entered into
between two individuals who are at least 18 years of age, who

are otherwise capable and at least one of whom is a resident of
Oregon. The law requires PERS to provide benefits to a registered
domestic partner to the same extent that a spouse would be
entitled to PERS benefits under the plan unless it would conflict
with the plan’s federal tax qualification. Registered domestic
partners should complete PERS forms as “registered domestic
partner” wherever relationship is requested and are considered
“married” wherever spousal consent is required.

Registered domestic partners will be required to provide the
necessary paperwork to establish their status, just as PERS
requires of married couples. For example, in the event of a
member’s death, a registered domestic partner must submit the
Certificate of Registered Domestic Partnership to apply for PERS
benefits as that member’s spouse or, in the event a registered
domestic partnership is dissolved, a certified copy of a Judgment
of Dissolution of Domestic Partnership must be received by PERS
and approved as administrable before an alternate payee award
can be established.

There are several exceptions when tax qualification requirements
mean that PERS will provide benefits to registered domestic
partners differently than spouses:

* If you choose either the Full Survivorship or the Full Survivorship
Increase Option with your registered partner as the beneficiary
and your registered partner is more than 10 years younger than
you, the benefit paid will be adjusted.

* If you choose the Full Survivor Increase Option or the Half
Survivorship Increase Option, choose your registered partner
as the beneficiary and later legally dissolve your domestic
partnership, your benefit will not be increased. If you named
your registered partner as your beneficiary, your benefit will
only increase if your registered partner dies before you.

« If your death benefit distribution is eligible to be rolled over,
your registered domestic partner may be able to roll over only
to a particular IRA. Please see the note below about consulting a
qualified tax professional for more information.

Federal income tax law may apply differently to a registered
domestic partner who receives any PERS benefit. Please consult
with a qualified tax professional if you have questions about the
federal income tax aspects of a PERS benefit.

December 18, 2023
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Section A: OPSRP Pension Program
Part One: Retirement Options

General retirement option
information

Nonsurvivorship option

Survivorship options

Member Services: Toll free 888-320-7377

You can select from five different options. There is a Nonsurvivorship option
and four survivorship options.

Retirement options cannot be changed after your effective retirement
date.

You cannot change your beneficiary after your effective retirement
date.

You may also want to consult a qualified financial advisor or a tax
consultant.

If your monthly pension benefit is less than $200 before any reductions
for early retirement or payment option selection, you will receive a
one-time lump-sum payment that represents the actuarial equivalent of
the present value of the pension. You must still apply for benefits. PERS
will contact you with more information if this happens.

Single Life Option — This benefit is paid monthly for your lifetime. No
benefit of any kind is paid to anyone after you die.

Full-Survivorship Option* — This benefit is paid monthly for your life-
time. After you die, your surviving beneficiary will receive, for life, the
monthly benefit you were receiving at the time of your death. Payments
are actuarially reduced to provide the same monthly benefit amount to
you for life and to your beneficiary for his or her lifetime. If you outlive
your beneficiary, your benefit is not changed, and all benefits stop when

you die.

Full-Survivorship Increase Option* — This benefit is paid monthly
for your lifetime. After you die, your surviving beneficiary will receive,
for life, the monthly benefit you were receiving at the time of your
death. If your beneficiary dies before you or your beneficiary is your
spouse on your effective retirement date and you are divorced after you
retire, you will then receive the higher paying Single Life Option ben-
efit for the remainder of your lifetime. You will need to provide proof
of death or divorce and submit a signed written request for the increase.

A change to the Single Life Option benefit is effective the first of the
month following the date your beneficiary dies or your divorce
is final.

*Special rules may apply if your beneficiary is a non-spouse and is 10 or more years younger
than you.
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Survivorship options (continued) Half-Survivorship Option — This benefit is paid monthly for

Benefit options at a glance

your lifetime and is actuarially reduced to provide one-half the
same monthly benefit amount to your beneficiary. After you die,
your surviving beneficiary will receive, for life, one-half the
monthly benefit you were receiving before you died. If you outlive
your beneficiary, your benefit is not changed, and all benefits stop

when you die.

Half-Survivorship Increase Option — This benefit is paid
monthly for your lifetime. After you die, your surviving
beneficiary will receive, for life, one-half the monthly benefit you
were receiving at the time of your death. If your beneficiary dies
before you or your beneficiary is your spouse on your effective
retirement date and you are divorced after you retire, you will then
receive the higher paying Single Life Option benefit for the rest of
your lifetime. You will need to provide proof of death or divorce
and submit a signed written request for the increase. A change to
the Single Life Option benefit is effective the first of the month

following the date your beneficiary dies or your divorce is final.

NOTE: Because of their additional flexibility, the Full-
Survivorship Increase Option and the Half-Survivorship Increase
Option pay somewhat lower benefits than the Full-Survivorship

Option and the Half-Survivorship Option.

Do monthly Do monthly What k.md of Can my beneficiary
q payments payment is due to
Option . q payments . be an estate,
continue while I . . my beneficiary after I .
. continue after I die? . trustee, or charity?
am alive? die?
Single Life* Yes No None N/A
Monthly
Full-Survivorship** Yes Yes (same amount that was No
paid to you)
Monthly
Half-Survivorship ** Yes Yes (1/2 amount that was paid No
to you)
Full-Survivorship Monthly
Increase Option*** Yes Yes (same amount that was No
paid to you)
. . Monthly
Elilrlz:;rvowgfr}:ﬁ* Yes Yes (1/2 amount that was paid No
p to you)

* No benefit of any kind is paid to anyone after you die.
**  No benefit of any kind is paid to anyone after you and your beneficiary die.
**%  You can change your monthly benefit to Single Life if your beneficiary dies or your beneficiary is your spouse and you divorce after retirement.
You must notify PERS in writing to change to Single Life, and you must provide proof of death or divorce.

10

December 18, 2023
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Beneficiary information

Important tax information

Member Services: Toll free 888-320-7377

If you are married, or have a Registered Domestic Partner (RDP),
on your effective retirement date, the pension payable will be as
provided under the Half-Survivorship option with your spouse

or RDP as the beneficiary unless you have submitted a notarized
application signed by your spouse or RPD consenting to a different
option or beneficiary.

PERS benefits are subject to federal taxes, regardless of where you
live, and to Oregon state income taxes if you are an Oregon
resident. A surviving beneficiary may owe state inheritance and
federal estate taxes.

Federal and Oregon state income taxes will be withheld at the
standard rates unless you complete and submit a W-4P. The
standard federal rate is single with no adjustments, and the Oregon
state standard rate is single with zero exemptions.

Oregon nonresidents MUST complete a W-4P to elect out of
Oregon state income tax withholding. By January 31, PERS mails
retired members one or more Form 1099-R(s) for benefits paid the
previous year.

Consult your local Internal Revenue Service office, your state’s
Department of Revenue, or a professional tax advisor for help
computing tax liability and preparing tax returns. For more
information, see IRS Publication 575, Pension and Annuity Income,
which is available from the IRS.

11


https://www.irs.gov/pub/irs-pdf/p575.pdf
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Section A: OPSRP Pension Program
Part Two: Other Things to Know

First retirement payment You can expect to receive your first retirement payment within 92
days after your effective retirement date. PERS needs information
from you and your employer to process your retirement. Make sure
your employer provides PERS the necessary information to
expedite your retirement.

When you receive your first payment, you will receive payments
retroactive to your effective retirement date. If PERS cannot
calculate your benefit within 92 days, we will send you an
estimated benefit payment.

Once we calculate your actual benefit, you will receive the
difference between your estimated payment and your actual
payment. If the estimated payment is $10 or more per month under
what your actual payment turns out to be, you will receive interest
on the balance of the underpaid amount.

Time limits on certain benefit  You can change your option or beneficiary only if you submit a

decisions new retirement application before your effective retirement date.
You can change your retirement date or cancel your retirement
application by providing a written and signed request to PERS
before the issue date of your first benefit payment.

When should I turn in my retire-Turn in your retirement application to PERS within 90 days prior to
ment application? your effective retirement date.

Important retirement date infor- Your effective retirement date can be no sooner than either the
first day of the month following the last day you worked (or were
on qualifying paid leave) or the first of the month following the
month you file your application for benefits, whichever is later.

mation

Example: If your last day of work was December 5, 2014, your
retirement date could be no earlier than January 1, 2015; if your
last day worked was May 5, 2008, but PERS does not receive your
retirement application until August 6, 2014, your retirement date
could be no earlier than September 1, 2014.

The OPSRP retirement application must be received by PERS

before your effective retirement date. The effective retirement date
is always the first of the month.

12 December 18, 2023
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Section B: IAP

Part One: IAP Eligibility and Retirement Options

General IAP retirement
information

Distribution election

Member Services: Toll free 888-320-7377

There are several important factors to consider when you retire
from the [AP:

* Your IAP disbursement is based on the account balance on the
date of distribution, not the date you select to retire or withdraw
from the [AP.

* Prior to retirement IAP accounts are credited with investment
earnings or losses annually and are subject to loss exposure until
you remove the funds.

* After retirement, IAP accounts being paid as installments are
credited with investment earnings or losses monthly and are
subject to loss exposure until you remove the funds.

* [AP accounts have no guaranteed rate of return.

Also, if you retire from or withdraw your IAP account before age
59, the distribution may be subject to a 10% IRS penalty. You can
find additional information regarding this in the Federal

Tax Information Disclosure document on the PERS website or
enclosed in this packet. You may want to contact a qualified tax
professional regarding your individual situation. When you retire

as a PERS Tier One, Tier Two, or OPSRP member, you must also
apply for IAP retirement.

Please make sure you fill out all required sections as well as sections
that may apply to you based on your selections. We will return an
incomplete retirement application to you, which could delay your
payment. Additionally, any changes you want to make to your IAP
choices must be made before your effective retirement date. Contact
PERS Member Services if you have any questions.

You can receive your distribution as a one-time lump-sum payment
or installment payments over 5, 10, 15, or 20 years or as an
Anticipated Life Span Option distribution.

5, 10, 15, 20-years: All installment distributions require you to
select a distribution frequency. You may select monthly, quarterly,
or annual distributions provided your account balance at the time
of your AP retirement supports the payment minimums. Each
distribution must be at least $200. The minimum is based on the
number of payments you will receive, determined by your option
and frequency. The chart on page 16 shows the minimum account
balances required at the time of your IAP retirement for each
payment option and frequency.

13



OPSRP Pension Program and IAP Preretirement Guide

Distribution election
(continued)

Anticipated life span option

Rollover elections

14

If your account balance at the time you retire from the [AP does not
meet the minimum required for the option and frequency you select,
your frequency and option will be reduced until your account balance
meets the minimum, up to and including a one-time payment. This
new option and/or frequency cannot be changed. However, at any
time after installments have begun, you can request a one-time
lump-sum payout.

Payment of the Anticipated Life Span Option is based on the current
market value of your account and an estimate of your life expectancy
based on Internal Revenue Service (IRS) life expectancy tables. This
distribution must also meet the $200 per payment minimum standard
to qualify, and the payment will vary each year based on the current
market value of your account. (See page 17 for a table with minimum
account balance needed so each installment is at least $200 based on
anticipated life expectancy.)

If your account balance at the time of IAP retirement does not
meet the minimum required for the Anticipated Life Span Option
frequency you select, your frequency will be reduced until your
account balance meets the minimum. If your account balance does
not meet the minimum, your distribution option will default to the
option that meets the $200 per payment requirement. This new
option and/or frequency cannot be changed. However, at any time,
you can request a one-time lump-sum payout.

Only one-time lump-sum or 5-year distributions are rollover
eligible. The other options, the 10-, 15-, 20-year installments and the
Anticipated Life Span Option, are not eligible for rollover and must
be taken as a check sent directly to you or as a direct deposit.

If you are rolling to a qualified plan rather than an IRA or

Oregon Savings Growth Plan (OSGP), a representative of the plan
must complete the enclosed IAP Direct Transfer Rollover Acceptance
form (#459-388). You must establish an OSGP account before retiring
or withdrawing to be able to roll over to OSGP.

Note: All IAP rollover checks other than to OSGP will be mailed to
you with the financial institution as the payee. You will be responsible
to deposit the funds to your account with that institution.

Contributions on which you have already paid taxes (after-tax
contributions) may not be eligible to be rolled over. If not eligible to
be rolled over, these funds will be mailed directly to you.

The Tax Withholding Form for IAP Rollover-Eligible Distributions is
not necessary for the portion of your distribution that you elect to roll
over because rollover distributions are tax-exempt.

If you select a one-time lump-sum or 5-year distribution, you may
elect to receive your distribution as a combination payment, which
would split your payment in an amount specified by you. In this split/

December 18, 2023
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Rollover elections continued

One-time rollover-eligible
lump-sum distribution

Installment options

Cashing out

Member Services: Toll free 888-320-7377

roll situation, two checks would be sent directly to you, one made
out to you and the second check (the rollover portion) made out
to the financial institution you specify. Your account balance must
meet minimum requirements to qualify for combination split/roll
payments. That minimum is $500 for the rollover portion.

This option is a one-time lump-sum distribution of your entire IAP
account. A one-time lump-sum payment can either be paid directly
to you or rolled over into an IRA, eligible employer plan, or
deferred compensation plan.

It can also be split as a combination payment, including an
amount rolled over and the remainder in a payment issued directly
to you. The minimum is $500 for the rollover portion.

You can receive installment payments by direct deposit into your
bank account or by check mailed directly to you.

In the case of 5-year installment payments, you may elect to have all
or a portion of the payment rolled over. This option and/or frequency
cannot be changed. However, at any time after installments have
begun, you can request a one-time lump-sum payout.

Once your distribution has begun, the amount your payment is
based on will be equal to the current account balance divided by the
number of payments left for the balance of the distribution. Because
earnings or losses are applied monthly, each distribution will be
different based on the current market value of your account. If your
account reaches a zero balance, your distribution stops regardless of
the number of payments left for the option chosen.

If you elect an installment option, you must designate a
beneficiary by completing the IAP beneficiary designation section
of the retirement application. You can change your beneficiary at
any time as long as you have a remaining balance. If you have a
complex beneficiary situation, you may want to consult an estate-
planning attorney

If you decide that you no longer wish to receive an installment
distribution, you can make a one-time decision to “cash out” by
requesting a one-time lump-sum payout of your IAP account.
Once the account is distributed in this fashion, it is not reversible
and will close your AP account with PERS. As this is not a with-
drawal, you will retain membership with PERS and, should you
decide to return to qualifying employment, you will not need to
serve a six-month waiting time.

If you decide to cash out and your remaining account balance is
greater than $200, the distribution is rollover eligible and will be
taxed accordingly.
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Direct deposit

If you decide to cash out, are under the age of 59’4, and are not
rolling these funds, the IRS may assess a 10% early withdrawal penalty.

If you have any questions regarding tax laws, you may wish to consult
with a qualified tax professional or the IRS.

All IAP distributions that are not rolled over are eligible for direct
deposit. If you wish to receive your distribution as a direct deposit
to your domestic bank account, please complete the Authorization
Agreement for Automatic Deposits (ACH Credits) form (#459-001).
Direct deposits cannot be made to foreign banks.

Installment minimum account balances*

Your account balance at the time you retire from the IAP retirement must be the minimums shown below so
the first distribution is at least $200.

Installment Option Monthly Distribution Quarterly Distribution | Annual Distribution
5-year installments $12,000 (60 payments) $4,000 (20 payments) $1,000 (5 payments)
10-year installments $24,000 (120 payments) | $8,000 (40 payments) $2,000 (10 payments)

15-year installments

$36,000 (180 payments)

$12,000 (60 payments)

$3,000 (15 payments)

20-year installments

$48,000 (240 payments)

$16,000 (80 payments)

$4,000 (20 payments)

* The number of payments are not guaranteed. Your account could reach a zero balance before you receive the number of payments specified.
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TAP anticipated life span option
Age at Minimum account balance needed so the first installment is at least $200
Retirement Monthly Quarterly Annually

50 82,400 27,400 6,850
51 80,100 26,700 6,670
52 77,900 25,900 6,480
53 75,600 25,200 6,290
54 73,300 24,400 6,120
55 71,300 23,700 5,940
56 68,900 23,000 5,750
57 67,000 22,400 5,600
58 65,000 21,600 5,400
59 62,900 20,900 5,220
60 60,600 20,200 5,040
61 58,600 19,600 4,900
62 56,600 18,800 4,700
63 54,500 18,200 4,560
64 52,400 17,500 4,370
65 50,400 16,800 4,200
66 48,500 16,200 4,060
67 46,600 15,550 3,880
68 44,800 14,900 3,720
69 42,800 14,300 3,560
70 40,850 13,600 3,400
71 39,200 13,100 3,270
72 37,350 12,400 3,100
73 35,600 11,850 2,9

74 33,850 11,300 2,820
75 32,250 10,750 2,690

Member Services: Toll free 888-320-7377
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Section B
Part Two: IAP Tax Information

Required minimum distribution If you are age 70 (if born before July 1, 1949), 72 (if born after June
(RMD) 30, 1949), age 73 (if born after December 31, 1950), or older, Internal

Revenue Code Section 401(a)(9) requires you to begin receiving your
minimum PERS benefits (i.e., required minimum distribution) before
April 1 of the year following the calendar year in which you reach age
70% (if born before July 1, 1949), age 72 (if born after June 30, 1949),
or age 73 (if born after December 31, 1950), or when you leave PERS
employment, whichever is later.

If you are not working for a PERS-covered employer and are age 70" (if
born before July 1, 1949), age 72 (if born after June 30, 1949), age 73 (if
born after December 31, 1950), or older, you must submit a retirement
application to PERS. We will then calculate your required minimum
distribution so you can begin to receive your retirement benefits.

Tax withholding on rollover- PERS is required by federal law to withhold 20% of the taxable
eligible distributions amount of any rollover-eligible distributions that are not rolled

over. If you want additional taxes withheld, please enter a percent-
age greater than 20% on line 2 in Section B of the W-4R IAP Lump
Sum Withholding form.

The state of Oregon requires PERS to withhold 8% Oregon tax
from the taxable amount of any rollover-eligible distributions you
do not roll over unless we receive a valid W-4R TAP Lump Sum
Withholding form.

If you do not want Oregon state income taxes withheld, please
check the box in Section C. If you would like additional taxes
withheld, please enter the additional dollar amount in Section C on
the W-4R TAP Lump Sum Withholding form.

NOTE: non-Oregon nonresidents must complete the TW-4R IAP
Lump Sum Withholding form to be exempt from Oregon state
income tax withholding.

NOTE: If you are not a U.S. citizen or resident noncitizen,
please contact PERS for additional information regarding special
withholding rules.
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Tax withholding on
nonrollover-eligible
distributions

Section B: IAP

Installment distributions for the 10-, 15-, or 20-year and Anticipated
Life Span options are not rollover eligible. These installment options are
considered periodic distributions and, as such, are not taxed in the same
manner as rollover-eligible distributions.

If you elect the 10-, 15-, 20-year, or Anticipated Life Span Option, you
must complete a W-4P federal tax form. If you do not complete a W-4P,
by law, federal withholding will be based on a filing status of single with
no adjustments and Oregon withholding will be based on a filing status of
single with zero exemptions.

NOTE: Non-Oregon residents must complete a valid W-4P to be exempt
from Oregon state income tax withholding.

NOTE: If you are a U.S. citizen living outside the United States, you
cannot exempt yourself from federal tax withholding.

NOTE: If you are not a U.S. citizen or resident noncitizen, please contact
PERS for additional information regarding special withholding rules.

Part Three: Additional Forms for IAP

Supplementary forms You Depending on the choices you have made, you will have to complete

may need depending on
your personal situation

Important notice regard-
ing the W-4P for IAP
installments of 10 years or
more

additional forms for your IAP retirement.

The following forms may or may not apply to you, depending on the
choices you have made.

 [AP Direct Transfer Rollover Acceptance
You must fill this out if you are rolling over any portion of your IAP
benefit to another eligible employer plan or deferred compensation plan
other than the Oregon Savings Growth Plan.

* Authorization Agreement for Automatic Deposits
You must fill this out if you want us to deposit your benefit directly into
a bank account.

» Tax Withholding Form for IAP Rollover-Eligible Distributions

For rollover-eligible elections one-time and five-year options.

If you would like a withholding different from the one you choose for your
OPSRP account, you must fill out a separate W-4P for your IAP.

Member Services: Toll free 888-320-7377 19
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Appendix A: Age verification

PERS can accept the following documents as verification of age. Since the documents you submit cannot
be returned, please submit photocopies. Be sure to put your PERS ID on all documents so they are properly
recorded. If you cannot furnish the proof required in Group 1 or 2, send PERS a written explanation.

If you are unable to copy a document, bring it into the PERS headquarters, and PERS will verify the

birth information.

Group 1

If one item in this group is furnished showing birth dates, no
further evidence of age is needed.

Any ONE of these:

*  Copy of Oregon driver’s license or ID card if issued on or
after February 4, 2008 (current or expired)

*  Copy of REAL ID driver’s license, driver’s permit, or ID
card issued by any state®* (current or expired)

*  Birth verification issued by state, county, or country
(documents issued by foreign governments in a language
other than English need to include a translation into
English certified by a notary public, public agency, or
other public official)

*  American Indian Reservation Age Verification

+ Infant baptism certificate

*  Hospital birth certificate (if signed by attending
physician or issued by state)

+  Passport (current or expired)

*  School-age record

+  Naturalization or citizenship papers

*  Family Bible record (if this record is furnished, include the
following information certified by a notary public or other
public official: copy of all family record entries in the Bible
referring to applicant and parents, brothers, and sisters;
Bible publication date or apparent age of Bible; when birth
date was entered and by whom)

Group 2
Two items in this group from different sources are sufficient if
age or birth date is shown.

Any TWO of these:
Example: One child’s birth certificate and one driver’s license

* A notarized affidavit by an older, immediate family
member in a position to know the birth date (e.g., father,
mother, etc.)

*  Certificate of military record

*  Marriage record (record must show your age or date of
birth at time of marriage)

*  Any other state’s driver’s license or ID card. (must be
current)

*  County voter registration (must show your age or date of
birth; do not send in your precinct card)

*  Copy of child’s birth certificate if it shows age of parents

*  Social Security record (record must be displayed on
an estimate of benefits or screen print from the Social
Security office; document must be dated within
last 12 months)

+ Military ID (military record DD214)

*  Concealed weapons permit

*A compliant REAL ID will have a picture of a star, or a star cutout in the upper right-hand corner of the card. In lieu of REAL IDs, some states also have issued
“enhanced” driver’s licenses, driver’s permits, or ID cards. Enhanced cards are REAL ID compliant and will bear an American flag emblem and the word “enhanced”

on the front of the card.
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Appendix B: Order of standard beneficiaries for IAP

If you elect standard beneficiaries, they will be awarded any benefits due to them in the following order:

(a) To my spouse; and if they do not survive me, then to:

(b) my child* or children in equal shares, and the share of any child who does not survive me to their children liv-
ing at my death in equal shares; but, if none of my children survive me, then to the children of my children living
at my death in equal shares; and if neither my children nor any of their children survive me, then to:

(c) my mother and father in equal shares, or to the survivor; and if neither survives me, then to:

(d) my brothers and sisters in equal shares, and the share of any brother and sister who does not survive me to
their children living at my death in equal shares; but, if none of my brothers and sisters survive me, then to
the children of my brothers and sisters living at my death in equal shares, then to

(e) my estate.

No payment shall be made to persons included in any of the above groups should there be living at the date of
my death persons in any groups preceding it as listed. Except as designated above, no dependents of any
beneficiary who does not survive me will take any interest or benefit in property subject to this designation

*Natural born and adopted children are considered “children” even if you selected the standard designation
before or after their adoption or birth. If your children are adopted by someone else, they are not considered
your “children” under the standard designation. If you wish to name the adopted-out children as your
beneficiary, use the specific designation part of this form.

Appendix C: Examples for specific retiree designation of beneficiary

If you elect the Specific beneficiary designation for your IAP, you need to complete the beneficiary
tables in the IAP beneficiary designation section of the retirement application

In the event of a divorce, the designation of beneficiary may be subject to court order(s) filed with PERS.

Always show full given names of person(s): for example, Mary R. Doe (not Mrs. Robert Doe).

Example for naming specific beneficiares:

Specific Primary bencficiany #1 If living: otherwisc, to #1 alternate beneficiary(ics).
| Full i 0 H e TR | s L katc af Bth Plime IFersentaps
firme Smrith DDD (0-0000 1571982 a03-5255-1212 %
I Persoz & Esiole I_ gl on :|.!-||-\. oy . Bl e
QChmity O Trus | fanesmd i el com D gliter
Adbemate boneficiandies) for Primsary #1 Altemeste perecntages must qual perecitags assignad to prinsey #1
#1a | Full mame Sowcinl Security f e af Birth Fhiome Percentope
Mary Broun OOO-CH- () 825/ 1%6 AlE-555-4111
Bl oo O Estare | Cmail or sdibness Belativeship 2%
Ocharey O lrust Sisker
#1b | Tull mems: Sosciall Securily Dl ol birth Flhime Percentage
Animils Win a888-555-1111
= Persom O Estate | Euul oo sliicss ) . Relanesship -.!{} ,-l:
O Charity O Truat | OO0 Dilinadion Dr., Portland, OR
Specific Pimary bencficiary #2 If living; otherwisc, to #2 alicrate beneficiary(ics).
#3 Full p=ime Socul Seqamry £ Idsae o' bamh Flurine Pencentame
Ceorge St (NN-O0-0000 47151975 | 808-255-1612 ik
A Pe=m O Calale Fenasl or address I-!_..-I.'um'u-l':n - N
OChmty O T |0 Ocean Way, Hilo, HI Som
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Appendix D: Blank check guide

PERS Retiree
1234 NW Center Street
Anytown, OR 20000

PAY TO THE
ORDER OF

34

15-00@0/000

Date

/
sSL_/

ANYTOWN BANK

/ DOLLARS

Routing number

Anytown, OR 20000
For /

Account number

e

/
| | :250200125 ”:203030’”10” |l 1234 4— 

Do NOT include the
check number.
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