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To:   Pharmacy Technicians 
  
From:  Oregon Board of Pharmacy  
 
Date: February 22, 2022        

  
Re:   2022 Rule Changes – Pharmacy Technician licensure 
 
 
 
PLEASE READ – This information is applicable to all newly issued, active and lapsed 
Pharmacy Technician licenses.   See below for the options now available to you.    
 
 
On February 10, 2022, the Oregon Board of Pharmacy adopted temporary rules regarding pharmacy 
technician licensure, found in Oregon Administrative Rules Chapter 855, Divisions 025, 021 and 110.     
 

These changes include: 
 
Adds ability to renew a Pharmacy Technician (PT) license  

• Pharmacy Technician licenses will expire June 30 of each even year, beginning Feb 22, 2022 
o Upon renewal, PT licenses expiring 6/30/2022, will be issued a license expiring 

6/30/2024 
o Upon renewal, PT licenses expiring 6/30/2023 will be issued a license expiring 

6/30/2024 at a reduced fee (see below) 
 
 

• Adds ability to reinstate a lapsed PT license once license has been expired more than one 
year  

o Previous rules required a 5-year waiting period. The newly adopted rules remove the 
5-year waiting period 

 

• Removes the option to petition for an “extension” of a Pharmacy Technician license 
 

• Licensure as a Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician (COPT) – becomes optional, rather 
than required, for continued licensure 
 

o Please check with your employer regarding any employer requirements to obtain 
national certification and hold a Certified Oregon Pharmacy Technician license.  

 

• Adds requirement of Continuing Education (CE) for pharmacy technicians in OAR 855-021-
0009. CE will not be required until the 6/30/2024 renewal of the PT license.  
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If your Pharmacy Technician license expires on 6/30/2022, you must do one of the 
following by June 30, 2022 to maintain active licensure: 
 

OPTION 1 
 

Renew Pharmacy Technician (PT) license: 
 

 The fees to renew a PT license total $104.00.  For additional information regarding 
applicable fees, please see OAR 855-110-0005(8). 
 

 Once renewed, your PT license will have an expiration date of 6/30/2024. 
 

 No CE is required for the 6/30/2022 renewal of a PT license. 
 
The Pharmacy Technician renewal will be available online in early April 2022. 
 

OPTION 2 
 

Take and pass a national certification exam and apply for licensure as a Certified Oregon Pharmacy 
Technician (COPT): 

 
 To ensure timely issuance of your COPT license, be sure to submit all required documents 

at the time of application.  Submission of an incomplete application, delay in completing 
the fingerprinting requirement, and the review of any arrest or violations of the law, will 
increase the time it takes for a license to be issued. 
 
Please note: extension of a pharmacy technician license is no longer applicable. 
 

 If you apply for a COPT license before 6/30/2022 and pay the reduced application and 
national fingerprint-based background check fees of $96.25, your newly issued license 
will have an expiration date of 6/30/2022. You WILL need to renew your new COPT 
license and pay the full two-year renewal fee of $104.00 no later than 6/30/2022 to 
maintain active licensure.   

 
 The fees to renew a COPT license total $104.00.  For additional information regarding 

applicable fees, please see OAR 855-110-0005(9). 
 

 Once renewed, your COPT license will have an expiration date of 6/30/2024. 
 

 CE is required for any renewal of a COPT license. For additional information regarding 
CE requirements, please see OAR 855-021-0009. 

 
 

If your Pharmacy Technician license expires on 6/30/2023, you must do one of the 
following by June 30, 2023, to maintain active licensure: 
 

OPTION 1 
 

Renew Pharmacy Technician (PT) license no later than 6/30/2023: 
 

 In the period of April 2022 - June 30, 2023, the total fees to renew a Pharmacy Technician 
license expiring on 6/30/2023 is $54.00. For additional information regarding applicable 
fees, please see OAR 855-110-0005(8). 
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 Once renewed, a PT license will have an expiration date of 6/30/2024. 
 
 No CE is required for the 6/30/2023 renewal of a PT license. 

 
OPTION 2 

 
Take and pass a national certification exam and obtain licensure as a Certified Oregon Pharmacy 
Technician (COPT) 

 
 To ensure timely issuance of your COPT license, be sure to submit all required documents 

at the time of application.  Submission of an incomplete application, delay in completing 
the fingerprinting requirement, and the review of any arrest or violations of the law, will 
increase the time it takes for a license to be issued. 
 
Please note: extension of a pharmacy technician license is no longer applicable. 
 

 All COPT licenses issued on or after 7/1/2022 will have an expiration date of 6/30/2024 
 

 CE is required for any renewal of a COPT license. For additional information regarding 
CE requirements, please see OAR 855-021-0009. 
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