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April 10, 2019 
 
 
Dear PSRB Partners, 
 
On behalf of the Psychiatric Security Review Board, I would like to extend our gratitude 
to all of your, our valued partners!  As executive director, I am committed to supporting 
you in the daily challenges of this work.  You are an integral part of our agency’s ability 
to carry out our mission and ensure that individuals under the PSRB are receiving the 
services needed to live safely in the community.   
 
This handbook was originally designed and recently updated as one way to support our 
partners.  Enclosed is an abundance of resources related to our policies, procedures 
and practices. In updating this handbook for 2019, we provided updates to statutory 
changes and made concerted efforts to incorporate frequently asked questions we 
receive from you, our partners. Whether you provide direct services or supervise 
programs that serve the PSRB, I hope you find this handbook to be an informative 
guide.   
 
Please note we have several other resources to support you such as our PSRB website 
at http://www.oregon.gov/prb, where you can find updated information, sample 
templates, and references.  In addition, PSRB staff is here to help Monday through 
Friday during business hours.  If you are in need of a more in-depth or tailored training 
for your agency, I am available to travel to any Oregon county to provide technical 
assistance to meet your needs.  Please feel free to contact our office at (503) 229-5596 
for more information about training opportunities.   
 
I look forward to our future collaborations and invite feedback on ways we can further 
strengthen our partnerships and equip you with the resources you need to effectively 
manage your programs.  My door is always open, so please do not hesitate to contact 
me directly at Alison.Bort@oregon.gov.  
 
Sincerely,  

  
 
Alison Bort 
Executive Director

http://www.oregon.gov/prb
mailto:Alison.Bort@oregon.gov


Background

When someone commits a crime and is found by the Courts to be “guilty 
except for insanity,” he or she is placed under the jurisdiction of the Oregon 
Psychiatric Security Review Board (PSRB).

Individuals found guilty except for insanity are typically placed under the 
jurisdiction of the PSRB for the maximum sentence length provided by 
statute for the crime. Depending on the offense, that is 5 years, 10 years, 20 
years, or life.

Historically, PSRB authority over an individual has lasted longer than 
Department of Corrections’ system authority.

While under PSRB jurisdiction, an individual can be housed in the Oregon 
State Hospital or in a variety of residential treatment settings, ranging from 
Secure Residential Treatment Facilities to independent living. The PSRB 
determines what kind of facility is appropriate based on the level of treatment, 
care and supervision the individual requires.

Mission of the Psychiatric Review Board – Public Safety

Oregon State law is explicit that PSRB must put public safety first.  ORS 
161.336(10) states: 161.336(10) states: “In determining whether a person 
should be committed to a state hospital or secure intensive community 
inpatient facility, conditionally released or discharged, the board shall have as 
its primary concern the protection of society.”
Conditional release under PSRB authority – 
Proven Public Safety Record

The PSRB has been successful in carrying out its mission.  From January 
2011 through 2017 (the most recent year for which recidivism figures are 
currently available), only 15 people out of the 896 who were living in the 
community on conditional release have been convicted of new felonies or 
misdemeanors.

The cumulative recidivism rate for the PSRB from 2011 to 2017 is 0.46 
percent.  By comparison, the most recent recidivism rate for individuals on 
Parole or Post-Prison Supervision is 18% and on Probation is 14% (CJC, 2019) 
after being on parole or probation for three years.

Most PSRB clients begin their treatment at the Oregon State Hospital. When 
clients are conditionally released they are carefully monitored by the PSRB. They 
are subject to immediate return to the state hospital if they violate the terms of 
their conditional release order.

PSRB SNAPSHOT
(as of January 1, 2019)

575	 Number of people currently
under PSRB jurisdiction.

205	 Number of people under
PSRB jurisdiction in Oregon 
State Hospital.

364	 Number of people under
PSRB jurisdiction who are on 
conditional release from the 
state hospital.

SAFETY RECORD
(January 1, 2011 to 
December 31, 2016)

896	 Number of people on
conditional release during 
the intervening 6 years.

15	 Number of those 896 
people who committed a 
felony or misdemeanor 
while on conditional release 
and were subsequently 
convicted of that crime.

0.50%	Cumulative annual
recidivism rate for GEI 
clients since 2011.

99.4%	Percent of adult conditional
releases maintained in the 
community per month in 
2018.

Psychiatric Security 
Review Board

Address:	610 SW Alder St. 
Suite 420
Portland, OR 97205

Phone: 	 503-229-5596 
Fax: 	 503-224-0215
Email: 	 psrb@oregon.gov
Website: 	www.oregon.gov/prb



FAQs

Are people who have been found GEI ever 
sentenced to the Oregon State Hospital?
No. The GEI statute calls for individuals to be 
placed under the jurisdiction of the PSRB..The 
hospital is a secure place for psychiatric treatment, 
not for punishment.

How is the length of time at the Oregon State 
Hospital established?
The period of time PSRB clients stay at OSH 
varies by individual. The PSRB makes its decision 
to conditionally release someone based on a 
clinical assessment of the individual’s mental 
status, progress in treatment at the hospital and 
risk assessments as to dangerousness as well as 
the availability of the appropriate resources in the 
community. If it is determined that a person can 
be safely managed and treated in a community 
setting, the PSRB attempts to find an appropriate 
placement.

Are PSRB adult clients ever discharged before 
their sentence is completed?
By law, the PSRB retains jurisdiction over clients who have a qualifying mental disorder 
that renders them a substantial danger to others when the disorder is active.  In rare 
cases, a client found guilty except for insanity may be discharged early from the Board’s 
jurisdiction. The 5 year average of these types of discharges by the PSRB is 13.6 per 
year, with 6 in 2017 and 3 in 2018.  The overwhelming majority of clients complete their 
full sentence under the PSRB.

Is the state trying to move PSRB clients out of the state hospital and into the 
community, and what kind of impact will that have on public safety?
Because of additional funding from the Oregon Legislature since 2005, an increased 
number of PSRB clients have been moved into a variety of new community placements, 
including Secure Residential Treatment Facilities (SRTFs). Since more of these facilities 
have opened, there has not been any increase in the recidivism rate.

Is it safe to move people who have committed violent crimes into the community? 
State law prohibits the Board from putting anyone on conditional release who is 
determined to be presently dangerous to others. Additionally, before individuals are 
released, they go through a comprehensive screening process that includes four levels of 
review. In all cases, including person-on-person crimes, victims who want notification are 
contacted in advance, as is the District Attorney’s office that first prosecuted the case.

Conditional release is not a new policy. Most states in the US have some type of 
conditional release program. The PSRB has supervised clients in the community on 
conditional release since its inception in 1978. Over the past 20 years, more than 1960 
conditional releases have been granted to people who have transitioned into community 
placements throughout Oregon. Some of these clients remain under supervision for 
decades or even life.

Who is notified when someone is being considered for conditional release?
By law, the district attorney from the committing county is notified along with the judge 
who signed the judgment order. Also, the victim(s), if they requested such notification. 
The Attorney General’s office, the client’s attorney and the client’s case manager are also 
notified.

WHERE PSRB CLIENTS LIVE
(as of January 1, 2018)

Oregon State Hospital (35.7%)

• 205  individuals
• Locked 24/7, secure perimeter
• 24-hour supervision
• Off-site privileges based on

public safety and level of care
needed

Secured Residential Treatment 
Facility (12%)

• Locked 24/7
• Egress controlled by staff
• Off-site privileges based on

public safety and level of care
needed

• 6-16 individuals per facility

Residential Treatment 
Facility/Home (24.2%)

• Unlocked
• 24-hour awake supervision
• Up to 16 individuals per facility

Adult Foster Home (3.1%)

• Unlocked
• 24-hour staff
• Up to 5 individuals
• Some clients with state variance

allow for four hours home alone

Semi-Independent/Supported 
Housing (7%)

• Varies from individual apartments
to shared housing

• Staff part time at the site

Intensive Case  
Management (3.1%)

• Independent living
• Staff contacts at least twice per

day with at least one contact at
residence

• Case management team

Independent Living  
(self, with family) (13.4%)

• In regular apartments or houses
• Frequent home visits by case

manager

Other (Department of Corrections) 
(1.6%)

OSH Hearings Room

For more information contact Alison Bort, Executive Director of 
the Psychiatric Security Review Board at (503) 229-5596.

OSHCOMMS190026(03.19)



 

 

QUESTIONS? 
 
For General questions about PSRB 
resources in the community: 
 
• Psychiatric Security Review Board 

610 SW Alder St. Ste. 420 
Portland, OR 97205 
(503) 229-5596 
psrb@oregon.gov 

 
For General questions about community 
resources for clients diagnosed with a 
Developmental/Intellectual Disability: 
 
• Juvenile PSRB Developmental 
     Disability community placement: 

Lou McDonough 
Department of Human Services: Service 
Coordinator / SPD 
11826 NE Glisan St. 
Portland, OR 97220 
(971) 673-2986 
lou.m.mcdonough@state.or.us  
  

• Adult PSRB Developmental Disability 
community placement 
Matt Bighouse 
State of Oregon Department of Human 
Services /ODDS  
500 Summer Street NE, #E09 
Salem, OR 97301-1064 
(503) 945-6976 
Matt.L.Bighouse@dhsoha.state.or.us 
 
 

For general questions about community 
resources for clients who need referrals 
to or are eligible for Aging and People 
with Disabilities services: 
 
• Beth Lee  

APD Branch 5510 Lead 
500 Summer St NE  
Salem OR 97301 971-719-3459 
beth.lee@state.or.us 
 
 

 
 

 
 
For General questions about community 
resources for clients with a psychiatric 
diagnosis: 
 
• Juvenile PSRB community placement:  

Alex Palm 
JPSRB Coordinator 
Oregon Health Authority 
500 Summer Street NE, E86 
Salem, OR 97301 
Alex.J.Palm@state.or.us 

 
• Adult PSRB community placement: 

Anna Dyer 
Oregon Health Authority 
500 Summer Street NE, Y34 
Salem, OR 97301 
(503) 779-9814 
anna.e.dyer@state.or.us 

 
Many facilities in Central Oregon and 
Eastern Oregon are run by Greater 
Oregon Behavioral Health, Inc. (GOBHI).  

 
• Greater Oregon Behavioral Health, Inc. 

401 E 3rd Street, Suite 101 
The Dalles, OR 97058  
(541) 298-2101  
1-800-493-0040  
Fax: (541) 298-7996; info@gobhi.net  
Click here for a list of GOBHI Facilities.

mailto:Matt.L.Bighouse@dhsoha.state.or.us
mailto:beth.lee@state.or.us
mailto:Alex.J.Palm@state.or.us
mailto:anna.e.dyer@state.or.us
http://www.gobhi.org/provider-practitioner-search/
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PSRB Overview 
 

Mission 
 
The Psychiatric Security Review Board’s mission is to protect the public by working with 
partnering agencies to ensure persons under its jurisdiction receive the necessary 
services and support to reduce the risk of future dangerous behavior using recognized 
principles of risk assessment, victims’ interest, and person-centered care. 
 
History and Functioning of the Psychiatric Security Review Board 
 
On January 1, 1978 the Board assumed jurisdiction over all persons found guilty except 
for insanity (GEI) who posed a substantial danger to others. “Guilty Except for Insanity is 
Oregon’s insanity defense, and the Board has retained jurisdiction over GEI clients as its 
responsibilities have grown over the last four decades. For example, in 2007, the 
Legislature expanded the Board and its responsibilities to include a juvenile panel to 
oversee youth who were found responsible except for insanity (REI) of a crime.   
 
The 2009 Legislature again expanded the Board’s duties; adding responsibility for 
restoration hearings for individuals previously barred from purchasing or possessing a 
firearm due to a mental health determination, and who petition to have that right 
restored.  
 
In 2013, the Legislature again expanded the Board’s duties to include supervising and 
monitoring the civil commitments of those individuals considered extremely dangerous 
due to a persistent mental illness that is resistant to treatment. That same year, the 
legislature also mandated that the Board assign risk ratings to its GEI clients who are 
required to register as sex offenders, and that the Board create a procedure to allow 
those clients to apply for reclassification to a lower level, or relief from the sex offender 
registration process, depending on their circumstances. The Board completed its 
necessary sex offender designations in 2018. 
 
Board Members and Staff 
  
By statute, the Board has 10 Members, each appointed by the governor and confirmed 
by the Senate for a four-year term. The adult PSRB panel consists of a psychiatrist and 
a psychologist experienced in the criminal justice system, an experienced parole and 
probation officer, an attorney experienced in criminal trial practice, and a member of the 
general public. Similarly, the juvenile PSRB Panel is comprised of a child psychiatrist, 
child psychologist, an attorney experienced in juvenile law, a juvenile parole or 
probation officer, and a member of the general public. Each panel elects a chair, who 
serves a one-year term. 
 
 
 
 



 

 

Current Adult Panel 
 

Psychiatrist: Scott Reichlin, M.D., originally appointed 5/22/2015; current term 
expires 6/30/2021.  Dr. Reichlin is the Adult Panel’s current chair. 
 
Psychologist: Pamela Buchanan, Psy.D., originally appointed 07/01/2019; 
current term expires 06/30/2023 
 
Attorney: Anne Nichol, J.D., originally appointed 7/1/2017; current term expires 
6/30/2021 
 
Parole and Probation: Trisha Elmer P.P.O., originally appointed 9/22/2016; 
current term expires 6/30/2020 
 
Public Member: John Swetnam, originally appointed 3/9/15; current term expires 
6/30/2021 

 
Current Juvenile Panel 
 

Psychiatrist: Bennett Garner, M.D., originally appointed 3/15/2017; current term 
expires 6/30/2020 
 
Psychologist: Catherine Miller, Ph.D., originally appointed 1/2/2015; current 
term expires 6/30/2022.   
 
Attorney: Charles Kochlachs, J.D., originally appointed 2/17/2016; current term 
expires 6/30/2020 
 
Parole and Probation: Kathryn Kuenzi, J.C.C., originally appointed 1/2/2015; 
current term expires 1/1/2022 
 
Public Member: Shelly Casteel, originally appointed 3/1/2014; current term 
expires 6/30/2021.  Shelly is the Juvenile Panel’s current chair. 

 
The staff supporting the Board and agency operations consists of an executive director, 
deputy director, three paralegals, three administrative assistants, a deputy director, a 
research analyst, an administrative assistant and an executive secretary. The executive 
director oversees the overall operations of the agency, including monitoring PSRB 
clients on conditional release, preparing orders resulting from Board hearings and 
affidavits and orders for revocation of conditional release. In addition, the executive 
director prepares and presents the budget and other matters before the legislature. She 
serves as agency spokesperson, maintaining a collaborative partnership with multiple 
agencies within Oregon’s forensic mental health system and beyond.  
 
 
 



 

 

PSRB Staff 
 
Name Position Email Phone 

Alison Bort, 
J.D.,Ph.D. 

Executive 
Director alison.bort@oregon.gov 

Direct: (503) 229-
5596 
Cell: (503) 781-3602 

Sid Moore, J.D. Deputy 
Director sid.moore@oregon.gov 

Direct: (503) 229-
5032 
Cell: (503) 709-8861 

Jane Bigler Executive 
Secretary psrb@oregon.gov Direct: (503) 229-

5596 

Shelley Banfe Research 
Analyst shelley.banfe@oregon.gov Direct: (503) 229-

5596 

Laura Moeller, 
J.D. 

Hearings 
Coordinator laura.moeller@oregon.gov 

Direct: (503) 229-
5596 
Cell: (503) 568-9882 

Nola Borland Hearings  
Scheduler nola.borland@oregon.gov (503) 229-5596 

Jeanne Schaefer Hearings 
Specialist jeanne.schaefer@oregon.gov (503) 229-5596 

Matthew Berndt, 
J.D. 

Conditional 
Release 
Monitor 

matthew.berndt@oregon.gov (503) 229-5596 

Jeff Hanson 
Conditional 
Release 
Monitor 

jeff.hanson@oregon.gov (503) 229-5596 

Karen Bull Case 
Summarizer 

karen.bull@oregon.gov (503) 229-5596 

Ashley Wilsey Office 
Specialist 

ashley.wilsey@oregon.gov (503) 229-5596 

 
Cost and Performance Measures 
 
The Psychiatric Security Review Board is a State agency that is funded by the Oregon 
Legislature. The agency’s budget for the 2019-21 biennium is approximately $3.2 million 
for Board operations, hearings and 11 staff members. Please click here to access the 
2019-21 Legislatively Adopted Budget, Containing Annual Performance Measures. 
 
National Acclaim 
 
The Psychiatric Security Review Board has been the focus of international attention and 
study. An NBC white paper on "Crime and Insanity," shown on television in April 1983, 
focused on Oregon as a model system. In addition, the American Psychiatric 
Association statement on the insanity defense in December 1983 recommends the 
model system presently in operation in the State of Oregon under the aegis of the 
Psychiatric Security Review Board. The APA was impressed that: 

mailto:Alison.Bort@oregon.gov
mailto:sid.moore@oregon.gov
mailto:psrb@oregon.gov
mailto:shelley.banfe@oregon.gov
mailto:laura.moeller@oregon.gov
mailto:nola.borland@oregon.gov
mailto:jeanne.schaefer@oregon.gov
mailto:matthew.berndt@oregon.gov
mailto:jeff.hanson@oregon.gov
mailto:karen.bull@oregon.gov
mailto:ashley.wilsey@oregon.gov
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/lfo/Pages/Publications.aspx


 

 

 
Confinement and release decisions for acquittals are made by an experienced 
body that is not naive about the nature of violent behavior committed by mental 
clients and that allows a quasi-criminal approach for managing such persons. 
Psychiatrists participate in the work of the Oregon Board, but they do not have 
primary responsibility. The Association believes that this is as it should be since 
the decision to confine and release persons who have done violence to society 
involves more than psychiatric considerations. The interest of society, the interest 
of the criminal justice system and the interest of those who have been or might 
be victimized by violence must also be addressed in confinement and release 
decisions. 

 
A report of the National Commission on the Insanity Defense issued in March 1983 and 
entitled "Myths and Realities", sponsored by the National Mental Health Association, 
recommends the adoption of a special statute to address the disposition of the acquitted 
after a finding of not responsible by reason of insanity of a violent crime. In that report, 
the National Commission also discusses the Oregon code creating the Psychiatric 
Security Review Board. 
 
In 1989 the National Alliance for the Mentally Ill set goals and priorities which included 
passing statutes that provide improved systems for insanity acquittees, citing the 
Oregon Psychiatric Security Review Board as a model for such a statute. 
 
In 1994, the Psychiatric Security Review Board was named the APA's Hospital and 
Community Psychiatry's Gold Achievement Award winner. The award was given in 
recognition of the program's commitment to improved integration of mental health 
services within the criminal justice system and its responsibility to individual, community 
and societal values. 
 
Oregon remains one of the states currently in the forefront of legal process in this area. 
Connecticut and Arizona have similar agencies, with Connecticut having adopted the 
Oregon model years ago and Arizona just achieving their sunset clause in 2018. Most 
recently, in 2010, Washington State created and enacted a version of this model. Other 
states, including Florida, Kentucky, Michigan, New Hampshire, and South Carolina have 
expressed an interest in this successful approach. 
 
The insanity defense population will continue to be a part of our society. Oregon has 
chosen to create the Psychiatric Security Review Board, offering a multidisciplinary 
method of decision-making. By statute, the Board's primary concern is the protection of 
society. The system works well because of the Board’s ability to respond quickly to 
community emergencies and because the system balances the public's concern for 
safety, the treatment of persons in the community and the rights of the clients. 
 
There have been several articles and books written and research studies performed on 
the insanity acquittee population.  Please visit our website for a snapshot of publications 
on this topic. 



 

 

Adult Panel 
 

When an adult commits a felony and is found by the courts to be Guilty Except for 
Insanity (GEI), the judge is likely to place the individual under the jurisdiction of the 
Oregon Psychiatric Security Review Board (PSRB). Typically, courts place these 
individuals under the Board’s jurisdiction for the maximum period they could have 
received had they been found guilty of the offense. When an individual successfully 
pleads GEI, sentencing guidelines do not apply.  
 
The Psychiatric Security Review Board’s statutory functions are to protect the public by: 
 

1. Accepting jurisdiction over Guilty Except for Insanity clients; 
 
2. Balancing the public’s concern for safety with the client’s rights; 

 
3. Conducting hearings, making findings, and issuing orders; 

 
4. Monitoring the progress of each client under its jurisdiction; 

 
5. Revoking conditional release, when necessary, if clients violate their conditional 

release terms; 
 

6. Maintaining up-to-date histories on all clients. 
 
The Board carries out these functions by conducting hearings and monitoring clients on 
conditional release. In making decisions, the Board’s primary concern is the protection 
of the public.  
 
While under the Board’s jurisdiction, an adult can be committed to the Oregon State 
Hospital or conditionally released to a lower level of care, ranging from secure 
residential treatment facilities to independent living. The majority of clients placed under 
the PSRB under a GEI plea begin their PSRB term at Oregon State Hospital, with the 
goal of conditional release as the progress through treatment.  The Board determines 
what type of facility is appropriate based on both clinical and risk assessments, 
including the level of treatment, care and supervision required by the client. Conditional 
release is granted to a client once the Board determines that he or she can be 
adequately controlled with supervision and treatment in the community and that the 
necessary supervision and treatment are available. 
 
The Board assesses readiness for conditional release planning by: 
 

1. Reviewing the exhibit files containing reports and evaluations by the client’s 
providers of various disciplines; 

 
2. Listening to witness testimony, including cross examination when the Board 

needs additional information; and; 



 

 

 
3. Cross examining witnesses to obtain additional information; and  
 
4. Considering the risk to society that the client may pose if returned to the 

community, using: 
 

a. Clinical judgment of professional staff; 
 
b. Results of psychological testing and risk assessments 

  
c. Recommendations of the Oregon State Hospital’s Risk Review Panel; and 
 
d. The availability of resources in the community to compensate for any 

residual risk. 
 
When release is appropriate and the Board approves a verified plan, the Board orders 
the client released from the state hospital subject to the Board's specific conditions. An 
overview of these conditions includes: 

 
1.   An appropriate housing situation; 
 
2.  Mental health treatment and supervision; 

 
3.  The designation of a person who agrees to report on a monthly basis to the Board 

concerning the released person's progress and who also agrees to notify the 
Board's director immediately of any violations of the release conditions; and 

 
4.   Any other special conditions deemed appropriate and/or necessary such as 

abstaining from alcohol and drugs or submitting to random drug screen tests. 
 
The efficacy of the Board’s decision-making and the ability of those treated and 
supervised persons to succeed on conditional release are evidenced by the fact that in 
2018, more than 99% remained in the community on a monthly basis. However, in 
accordance with ORS 161.336, a change in mental health status that causes a client to 
pose a risk of substantial danger to others or a violation of the terms of conditional 
release may result in immediate revocation of the conditional release and return to 
Oregon State Hospital. Members of the treatment team typically intervene at the earliest 
stages possible to mitigate risk and create safety plans to avoid a revocation if possible. 
 
Grounds for revocation include: 

 
1. Violation of the terms of the conditional release plan 

 
2. A significant change in mental health status 

 
3. Absconding from supervision 



 

 

 
4. Loss of the availability of appropriate community resources 

 
Juvenile Panel 

 
When a juvenile is found by the courts to be Responsible Except for Insanity (REI), the 
judge places the individual under the jurisdiction of the Oregon Psychiatric Security 
Review Board (PSRB) if: 
 

1. The court finds that the juvenile has a serious mental condition (defined as major 
depression, bipolar disorder or psychotic disorder); or 
 

2. The court finds that the young person has a qualifying mental disorder other than 
a serious mental condition and represents a substantial danger to others, 
requiring conditional release or commitment to a hospital or facility. 

Individuals found REI are placed under the jurisdiction of the Board for the maximum 
sentence they could have received if found guilty of the crime. As with the adult panel, 
sentencing guidelines do not apply. 
 
With respect to juvenile clients, the Psychiatric Security Review Board’s statutory 
functions protect the public by: 
 

1. Accepting jurisdiction over REI clients; 
 
2. Balancing the public’s concern for safety with the client’s rights; 
 
3. Conducting hearings, making findings, and issuing orders; 
 
4. Monitoring the progress of each client under its jurisdiction; 
 
5. Revoking conditional release, as necessary, if the client violates his or    her 

terms;  
 
6. Maintaining up-to-date histories on all clients. 

 
While under the Board’s jurisdiction, juveniles can be committed to the Secure 
Adolescent Intensive Program (SAIP) for those with a mental illness or Secure 
Children’s In-client Treatment Program (ITP) for those with developmental disabilities. 
When juvenile clients turn 18 years old, they are transferred from SAIP/ITP to the 
Oregon State Hospital for care and treatment if the Board determines they need hospital 
level of care. Individuals can also be conditionally released and placed at a variety of 
lower levels of care, ranging from residential treatment facilities to independent living. 
The Board determines what type of facility is appropriate based on both clinical and risk 
assessments, including the level of treatment, care and supervision required by the 
client. Conditional release is conferred on a client once the Board determines that he or 



 

 

she can be adequately controlled with supervision and treatment in the community and 
that the necessary supervision and treatment are available. 
 
The Juvenile Panel assesses a juvenile’s readiness for conditional release planning 
using the same methods used by the Adult Panel. Similarly, the conditions of release for 
juveniles as well as the grounds for revocation are substantially similar to those used for 
adults.   
 

PSRB Civil Commitments 
 
All people charged with a crime have the constitutional right to assist in their own 
defense. If a court believes a mental disability may prevent someone from assisting in 
their own defense, the court puts the criminal case on hold while an evaluation is 
completed to determine the person’s competency and whether they need treatment to 
restore competency. In some cases, a court may find, in light of an evaluation 
conducted under ORS 161.370, that there is no substantial probability that, in the 
foreseeable future, the defendant will gain or regain the capacity to stand trial.   
 
In response to this finding, a court or district attorney may dismiss the charges and/or 
initiate commitment proceedings.  ORS 426.701 is known as a PSRB Civil Commitment, 
and is available when there is reason to believe that a person is extremely dangerous 
due to a qualifying mental disorder that is also resistant to treatment. This requires the 
judge to appoint a qualified examiner to evaluate the individual. Commitment under this 
statute is for two years, and the individual is under the jurisdiction of the PSRB for the 
commitment period.  The individual may be recommitted indefinitely, every two years if 
the court finds he or she continues to meet jurisdictional criteria. Conditional Release is 
permitted under the Civil Commitment program.  
 
In some limited circumstances, a district attorney may initiate a PSRB Civil Commitment 
in cases where the individual’s GEI or prison sentence is coming to an end, but there is 
evidence that supports the necessary criteria for this statute. 
 

Gun Relief Program 
 
The Gun Relief Program was established as a direct result of the investigation arising 
from the Virginia Tech tragedy. It revealed that a majority of states, including Oregon, 
were not sending the names of people barred from purchasing firearms to the federal 
National Instant Criminal Background Check System (NICS) database. All federally 
licensed firearm dealers and law enforcement agencies use NICS to conduct 
background checks when individuals apply to purchase firearms.  
 
Congress passed legislation requiring states to provide those names for inclusion in the 
federal database or risk losing some federal criminal justice grant funding. To address 
various concerns, Congress included a provision requiring states to establish "relief" 
programs whereby individuals previously barred from purchasing or possessing firearms 



 

 

could petition to have that right restored and their names removed from the NICS 
database. 
 
As a result, the 2009 Oregon Legislature enacted HB 2853 which, in part, directed the 
Oregon State Police to submit the names of firearm-disqualified individuals to the NICS 
database. HB 2853 also directed the Psychiatric Security Review Board to conduct 
relief hearings, given the mental health expertise of its Board members. The Board will 
only hear relief hearings from individuals who are barred from possessing a firearm due 
to an Oregon mental health determination, including civil commits, persons found guilty 
except for insanity (GEI) and persons who were found unable to aid and assist in a 
criminal proceeding. Persons are barred from purchasing or possessing firearms if they 
have received one of these mental health determinations. 
 
Persons who previously received judicial relief under ORS 166.274 remain barred from 
possessing a firearm under federal law. However, the PSRB’s relief program is certified 
by the Bureau of Alcohol, Tobacco, Firearms and Explosives (ATF) and is recognized 
under federal law as having the authority to lift a federal mental health prohibitor. 
 

Hearings Overview 
 
Statutory Timing of Hearings 
The PSRB conducts hearings at intervals as required by Oregon Law. Hearings 
regarding inpatients (individuals committed to the State Hospital) are held more 
frequently and the focus is primarily on release from the hospital. Individuals on 
conditional release (outpatients) have hearings less regularly and the primary focus of 
these hearings is on the conditions of the outpatient’s supervised release. 
 
Scheduling the Hearing 
Approximately 1 to 3 months prior to the statutory due date, a PSRB staff member will 
reach out to the client’s treatment team at the hospital or in the community with a 
proposed hearing date. If there are any requests regarding a specific time within a given 
hearing date, these should be discussed at this time to ensure that it is feasible given 
the docket as a whole. The week of the hearing, a PSRB staff member will provide a 
proposed schedule or hearing plan for the hearing day and note any witnesses 
expected to be available.  
 
By statute, for good cause, an attorney may seek a continuance of a hearing to be held 
before the Board. If approved, the continuance allows parties an additional 60-days 
within which to prepare before the matter comes before the Board.  
 
Full Hearings versus Administrative Hearings 
The PSRB holds two types of hearings: (1) Full Hearings and (2) Administrative 
Reviews. Both types of hearings require notice to parties, updated exhibit files, and all 
hearings are documented using a formal Board Order detailing the decision. Full 
hearings are held on the record with attorneys and clients present.  Usually there is 



 

 

testimony at these hearings, and a decision is delivered at the conclusion of the 
hearing.  
 
Findings Required at a Hearing 
At all full hearings, the Board must make a finding on whether the client is appropriate 
for ongoing PSRB jurisdiction. Specifically, the Board must determine whether (1) the 
individual suffers from a qualifying mental condition and (2) when this condition is active 
the client poses a risk of substantial danger to others. The Board must also make a 
finding regarding the appropriateness of the client’s current placement – at the hospital 
or in the community.   
 
Notice of Hearing 
Once a hearing is scheduled, notice will be sent to interested parties (typically 3 weeks 
in advance of the hearing date). The Department of Justice, defense attorney, district 
attorney, and all interested parties and victims who request it receive prior notice of all 
hearings by the Board. 
 

Types of Hearings 
 
Initial Hearings ORS 161.341(6)(a) 
Initial Hearings must occur within 90 days of commitment by court order to PSRB if in 
the hospital or a secure intensive inpatient facility. When an adult client is conditionally 
released by the court, there is no statutory requirement for that client’s initial hearing to 
occur within a specified time. However, the Board’s policy is to set those clients’ 
hearings within 90 days to mirror hospital clients’ timelines.  All initial hearings are full 
hearings. 
 
2-Year/1-Year Hearings ORS 161.341(7)(b) 
Adult clients committed to the OSH (inpatients) are required by statute have hearings at 
least once every two years. Individuals who are committed to a hospital under the 
JPSRB are required to have hearings at least once every year. The Board will conduct 
these hearings even if a client voluntarily refuses to attend. Consistent with the Board’s 
policies, immediately before the hearing, the client’s attorney confers with the client to 
confirm for the record that the client has been informed of the hearing and is knowingly 
and voluntarily refusing to attend. All 2-year (or 1-year) hearings are full hearings. 
 
Hospital Request for Conditional Release (CR) or Discharge ORS 161.341(1) 
When a person is committed to a state hospital or secure intensive community inpatient 
facility and the superintendent of the hospital or director of the facility is of the belief that 
the person no longer meets jurisdictional criteria or no longer needs hospital level of 
care, the statute indicates that the superintendent or director shall apply for an order of 
discharge or conditional release. The application must be accompanied by a report 
setting forth the facts supporting the review. The PSRB is required to hold a hearing on 
the application within 60 days (30 days if the person is a juvenile) of its receipt. Not 
fewer than 20 days (10 days in the case of a juvenile) prior to the hearing, the report is 
to be sent to the Attorney General.   



 

 

 
At conditional release hearings, it is the State’s burden to establish that jurisdictional 
criteria exist and to establish suitability for the client to the proposed placement. 
Typically, the client’s treating prescriber in the hospital testifies as well as the social 
worker.  If the hearing is for conditional release, the community evaluator, prospective 
conditional release monitor, and prospective prescriber are asked to listen to the 
hearing via conference call so they are able to ask questions of the hospital treatment 
team on their client’s behalf. If the State meets its burden, it is likely that the client will 
be conditionally released into the community with placement at the facility that 
evaluated him/her.  
 
All conditional release or discharge hearings are full hearings. 
 
5-Year/3-Year Hearings  ORS 161.336(6) 
After an individual is placed on conditional release, the Board will hold a hearing at the 
five-year mark (three years, if client is a youth) to consider the progress of the client in 
the community. All 5-year (or 3-year) hearings are full hearings. 
 
Client/Outpatient Requested Hearing ORS 161.336(4)(c) & 161.336(5)(a) 
By statute, individuals committed to the State Hospital may request a hearing every six 
months to consider the issues of discharge, conditional release, and conditional release 
evaluations. Similarly, outpatients may request a hearing every six months to consider 
the issues of discharge and/or to consider modifications to their current conditional 
release plan. Hearings where the issue of jurisdiction is contested are always full 
hearings; however, most hearings scheduled to consider modifications of a client’s 
conditional release may be reviewed administratively. 
 
Supervisor request for outpatient hearing ORS 161.336(5)(b) 
A case monitor who supports a modification to the conditional release or an early 
discharge from jurisdiction may request a hearing for either of those purposes on the 
outpatient’s behalf. Hearings where the issue of jurisdiction is contested are always full 
hearings; however, most hearings scheduled to consider modifications of a client’s 
conditional release may be reviewed administratively. 
 
Revocation Hearings ORS 161.336(4)(c) 
Revocation hearings occur within 20 days (10 days, if a youth) after a client is admitted 
to the hospital on a revocation order. Revocations are typically used when a client in the 
community violates the conditions of their release and must be returned to the State 
Hospital for the safety of the community. Revocation hearings are full hearings. 
 

Hearings FAQs 
 

What Can I expect at a PSRB Hearing? 
Hearings are run like miniature trials. Typically, three Board Members sit for any given 
hearing date. The Board sits in the front of the room with the representative from the 
Attorney General’s office and defense attorney facing them.  The client typically sits 



 

 

next to his defense attorney. Witnesses, members of the public, and in some limited 
cases, the media, may be present in the courtroom. The Board leads the proceedings, 
inviting parties to make opening statements, call witnesses, and make closing 
arguments.  The Board may also question witnesses who are called. 
 
The Board expects courtroom decorum throughout the proceedings. All hearings are 
recorded and there should be no talking among individuals in the courtroom unless they 
are speaking directly to the Board. Cell phones should be off or, at a minimum, on 
vibrate. Hats are not allowed.  
 
Who Decides the Outcomes of the Hearings? 
The PSRB is composed of ten Board members: five for the Adult Panel and five for the 
Juvenile Panel. The Board Members sitting for any particular hearing decides the 
outcome of the hearing. A quorum of three is required to decide the outcome of each 
hearing, so three members are assigned for each hearing day. In instances where 
conflicts of interest exist and one of the sitting Board members is not allowed to render 
a decision on a case, PSRB staff arrange for a fourth board member to also hear the 
case, review the exhibit file, and render a decision. 
 
How do Case monitors find out the Hearing outcome?  
Case monitors may call the PSRB office after Noon on the Thursday following the 
hearing for the verbal hearing result.  The Board order will be mailed within 30 days of 
the hearing.  
 
When does the PSRB need Prescriber Progress Notes and Case monitor 
Progress Notes for PSRB Clients who have upcoming Hearings? 
The PSRB staff needs both up-to-date Prescriber Progress Notes and Case monitor 
Progress Notes at least three weeks prior to a client’s scheduled hearing. It is 
imperative that there be at least one progress note in the client’s record that is dated 
within 30 days of their hearing.  This must be received from the treating prescriber so 
that the Board will know that the client has recently been seen and assessed. The notes 
should include information summarizing the client’s psychiatric status since the last 
hearing.  Please refer to our policy online that outlines the timelines and information to 
be included in prescriber progress notes. 
 
Will a hearing still happen if the client’s prescriber is not available to testify at the 
hearing? 
Possibly, depending on the type of hearing and whether or not there are stipulations, 
but usually, no. In some situations it is possible to have a supervisor testify on behalf of 
a doctor who is absent, however, the strong preference of the Board is that the client’s 
treating prescriber be available for testimony at the hearing. In situations where a client 
is on conditional release, it is permissible to have the client’s case monitor testify in lieu 
of the treating prescriber so long as no discharge or major modifications to the terms of 
release are being sought. 
 



 

 

How soon will a client be released from the hospital following a conditional 
release hearing? 
It depends on when the bed is available at the placement where the client will be 
residing, but typically the hospital processes these requests as quickly as possible 
following the Board’s decision.   
 
What if a Treatment Team does not believe a client meets jurisdictional criteria?  
ORS 161.341 requires OSH to submit an Early Discharge Hearing Request when OSH 
believes a client no longer meets jurisdictional criteria. Prior to requesting a hearing for 
a client’s discharge, it is the hospital’s policy to have its internal Risk Review Board 
weigh in on the matter.  The Risk Review opinion represents the official position of the 
State Hospital regarding whether a client should be discharged.  The matter will be set 
for a full hearing. 
 
Community providers may request a discharge on behalf of the client if they believe the 
client no longer meets jurisdiction. To set this hearing, the treatment team shall provide 
the PSRB with a letter including the team’s opinion as to why discharge is appropriate 
and what factors were considered in making this determination. Prior to the hearing, the 
treatment team must also submit a psychological/psychiatric evaluation assessing 
jurisdictional criteria and an opinion regarding whether or not the client should be 
discharged from the PSRB. 
 

Media at hearings 
 
Clients, victims and witnesses sometimes ask the PSRB whether or not there will be 
media present at hearings and whether or not media is allowed to be present at 
hearings held at the Oregon State Hospital. Hearings conducted by the PSRB are open 
to the public. Board deliberations are not open to the public. For details, see PSRB’s 
rules about public records including deliberations (OAR 859-040-0015) and about media 
(OAR 859-050-0105). Although there is no statutory right to keep the media from 
publishing the likeness of a client or participants in a case, preferences to remain 
anonymous or to not have one’s likeness published are usually able to be 
accommodated. So long as Board staff is aware in advance of the participant’s 
preference, it is usually possible to work out an arrangement with members of the media 
to honor the participant’s request to not have their likeness published.  

 
Evidence Required at PSRB Hearings 

 
For All Full Hearings 
 
At every full hearing, whether the client is committed to the Oregon State Hospital or on 
Conditional Release, the Board must determine whether a client is appropriately placed 
under the PSRB’s jurisdiction.  The Board requires that a Licensed Psychologist, 
Psychiatrist, or Psychiatric Mental Health Nurse Practitioner evaluate the psycho-legal 
questions associated with PSRB jurisdiction.  These questions include:  
  



 

 

1. Does the person suffer from a qualifying mental disorder? A current 
psychiatric diagnosis must be provided.  

 
2. If so affected, is the client’s qualifying mental disorder active or in remission? 
 
3. May this person’s qualifying mental disorder, with reasonable medical 

probability, occasionally become active, and when active, render the person a 
danger to others? 

 
The Board will further require that the prescriber/psychologist who performed the 
evaluation be available to testify at the hearing, either in person or by telephone, so that 
counsel and the Board members have an opportunity to cross-examine. If the client 
stipulates to jurisdiction and provides the PSRB notice in advance, the Board may waive 
this requirement.  
 

Hearings for Inpatients (i.e. Clients committed to OSH) 
 
Documentation 
The client’s treatment team shall ensure the following documents have been submitted 
to the Board a minimum of 12 days prior to the scheduled hearing: 
 

1. A Progress Note Update, authored by the treating prescriber dated within 30 
days of the scheduled hearing date. In addition to the psycho-legal questions 
related to jurisdiction, the note should also reflect a recent interview with the 
client and a detailed account of the client’s progress in treatment since the last 
note.  Significant medications changes and incidents relating to instability or 
potential dangerousness during the relevant time period must be included. 
Please refer to our “Drafting a PSRB Progress Note Update” memorandum for 
additional details. 
 

2. START dated within the past 90 days (i.e. not expired)  
 

3. Violence Risk Assessment (or an updated VRA if one was generated) 
 

4. Specialty Risk Assessments, if applicable, such as Sex Offender Risk 
Assessment, Stalking Risk Assessment or Arson Risk Assessment 

 
5. If the client is seeking a conditional release, these additional documents are 

required: 
 

• Official Request for Hearing  
 

• Signed Summary of Conditional Release Plan 
 

• Signed Agreement to Conditional Release 
 



 

 

• If victim wants contact with client, a letter from victim noting the desire for 
contact. 

 
Witnesses 
It is the Board’s expectation that the client’s treating prescriber or a prescriber 
designated by the Clinical Director be available to testify at PSRB hearings. Typically, at 
least 30 days prior to a hearing, PSRB staff send out the monthly docket to the 
designated OSH staff liaison. Since revocation hearings must be done within 20 days of 
a client’s return to the hospital, notice for those types of hearings will be shorter than the 
typical 30 days. The Board expects OSH staff to promptly inform PSRB staff if a treating 
prescriber has a schedule conflict or if a different prescriber is expected to testify than 
originally indicated.  
 
Testimony is not restricted to the treating prescriber.  If any OSH provider (e.g. social 
worker, psychologist, specialty provider) believes he/she has relevant testimony for the 
hearing, please inform PSRB staff no later than 1 week prior to the scheduled hearing 
so the witness list can be finalized.  Last minute witnesses can be a basis for a 
continuance so it is critical to identify necessary participants as early as possible. 
Topics expected to be questioned during the hearing include: 
 

1. Psycho-legal questions related to jurisdiction (see above). 
 
2.  Familiarity with the client’s psychiatric history, including prescribed medications. 

 
3. Familiarity with the client’s instant offense. 

 
4. Awareness of the progress the client has made while residing at the hospital. 

 
5. Awareness of significant risk factors and behavioral incidents that have occurred 

during the course of the client’s hospitalization. 
 

6. Recommendations for ongoing monitoring and supervision, evaluation, 
treatment, and level of care (including conditional release) 

 
7. If client requests to act as his or her own attorney, the prescriber’s opinion as to 

whether the client is competent to represent him/her self. 
 

Full Hearings for Outpatients 
 
Full hearings are typically not necessary for clients unless there jurisdictional criteria is 
being challenged. The only exception is that after a client has been on conditional 
release for five years, the Board must hold a full hearing per statute, even if there is no 
modification requested. See: ORS 161.336(6).  Board staff will support community 
providers in preparing for the 5-year hearing by sending a letter to the case monitor 90-
days before the hearing must take place.  The letter will detail what documents are 



 

 

required and provide scheduling information for the full hearing. See sample Document 
Request correspondence and sample scheduling. 
 
The Board requires personal appearance of all clients on conditional release at a 5-year 
hearing. The Board will not consider exceptions to this policy unless the client is 
physically incapacitated and cannot be transported to the hearing due to failing health or 
if the hearing would be detrimental to the client’s psychiatric stability. The Board has 
video and conference call capabilities. 

 
Documentation 
In preparation of any full hearing, the client’s treatment team shall ensure that the 
following documents have been submitted to the Board a minimum of 12 days prior to 
the scheduled hearing: 

   
1. All prescriber progress notes, with at least one that has been dated within 60 

days and includes the client’s current diagnoses and psychotropic medications.  
In addition to the psycho-legal questions related to jurisdiction, the note should 
also reflect a recent interview with the client and a detailed account of the client’s 
progress in treatment since the last note.  Significant medications changes and 
incidents relating to instability or potential dangerousness during the relevant 
time period must be included. 

 
2. All assessments and progress reports/polygraph results from specialty providers 

(i.e. sex offender or DBT). 
 

3.  START dated within the past 90 days 
 

4. All monthly conditional release progress reports detailing what the client has 
been doing for a given month and whether they have been meeting the 
conditions of their release.  
 

5. The client’s most recent Annual Assessment. 
 

6. The client’s current Treatment Service and Support Plan. 
 

7. In addition to the above documents, if the client’s Case monitor is   
recommending a modification to the client’s conditional release plan, the 
following documentation should also be submitted to the Board as early in 
advance of the hearing as possible: 

 
• A letter from the case monitor or other members of the client’s treatment 

team detailing the team’s position on Board jurisdiction and any 
modifications that will be sought at the hearing. 

 



 

 

• Signed Updated Summary of Conditional Release Plan which includes the 
changes recommended by the treatment team and supported by the case 
monitor’s letter.  
 

Witnesses 
 

It is the Board’s expectation that the client’s treating prescriber, case monitor, and any 
independent evaluators be available to testify at PSRB hearings. Telephonic testimony 
of psychiatrists or other witnesses is permissible if there is no objection by the State or 
client’s attorney. Case monitors and psychiatrists should notify Board staff immediately 
if they are not available to testify on the scheduled hearing date. Testimony is not 
restricted to the treating prescriber.  If any provider (e.g. therapist, psychologist, 
specialty provider) believes he/she has relevant testimony for the hearing, please inform 
PSRB staff no later than 1 week prior to the scheduled hearing so the witness list can 
be finalized.  Last minute witnesses can be a basis for a continuance so it is critical to 
identify necessary participants as early as possible. 
 
Topics expected to be questioned during the hearing include: 
 

1.  Psycho-legal questions related to jurisdiction (see above). 
 
2.  Familiarity with the client’s psychiatric history, including prescribed medications. 

 
3. Familiarity with the client’s instant offense. 

 
4. Awareness of the progress the client has made while in the community. 

 
5. Awareness of significant risk factors and behavioral incidents that have occurred 

during the course of the client’s conditional release. 
 

6. Recommendations for ongoing treatment, evaluation, and level of care. 
 

Hearings for Persons Already on Conditional Release1 
 
At any time a case monitor can request a modification of conditional release.  Most 
requests for modifications may be handled through an administrative hearing. Housing 
step-down, driving privileges, pass privileges (secure facility clients), a reduction in 
treatment, and reduction in home visits are all examples of conditions typically reviewed 
at an administrative hearing. However, given the nature of the instant offense or the 
client’s history, some modifications may be handled at a full hearing.  
 
When a case monitor or client wants to make a modification, the first step is to review 
the client’s current conditions of release.  Typically, providers are expected to review the 

                                            
1 Please refer to the Case Monitor Responsibilities section of this handbook for additional information regarding 
requests for modifications of conditional release orders. 



 

 

conditions once per month and determine if the conditional release requirements are 
sufficient to adequately manage the client safely in the community setting.  
 
Once the case monitor identifies all of the modifications that need to be changed, the 
next step is to draft a letter that describes the clinical benefit and associated risk with 
each request.  Letters should also address how the associated risk will be mitigated.  
Case monitors are encouraged to utilize the templates available on our website and to 
employ the principles of the Risk-Need-Responsivity model. 
 
In addition to the letter, the case monitor must also submit a Signed Updated Summary 
of Conditional Release Plan which includes the changes recommended by the 
treatment team and supported by the case monitor’s letter.  
 
More significant reductions in monitoring and/or supervision or increases in privileges 
should have more robust clinical justifications and risk assessment.  It is highly 
recommended that the treatment team utilize the START instrument or other objective 
tool to support these more significant requests. 
 
Once the Board receives the letter and Updated Summary of Conditional Release Plan, 
a hearing date will be set to review the modification request.  Verbal results of 
administrative hearings are available no earlier than Noon following the hearing date.  
Official orders will be mailed within 30 days. 
 

Community Evaluations 
 

Individuals under the jurisdiction of the Psychiatric Security Review Board (PSRB) live 
in the community at various levels of care, including licensed residential, semi-
independent, ICM (Intensive Case Management), and independent. PSRB clients are 
only conditionally released after the designated mental health agency has completed a 
Community Evaluation and accepted them for placement.   At a minimum, this 
evaluation entails a review of the exhibit file, consultation with the current providers, and 
an interview with the prospective PSRB client. Evaluators are encouraged to access 
other relevant documents and or individuals who may provide additional, collateral 
information.  In accordance with OAR 309-019-0160, the community evaluation must be 
conducted by a QMHP. 
 
The purpose of the Community Evaluation is to provide the Board with an independent, 
objective opinion that a PSRB client can be safely managed in a particular community 
setting.  This evaluation is the foundation of any subsequent conditional release plan 
and provides an attestation that the designated mental health agency is familiar with the 
court exhibit file and has considered the relevant information in developing its 
recommendations.  The Board encourages community evaluators to be familiar with the 
principles of the Risk-Need-Responsivity model and expects the evaluation to address 
the criminogenic and protective factors that will enhance or destabilize the client’s ability 
to thrive while on conditional release.  The evaluation should not be a repetition of 
information (i.e. evaluators should refrain from copy/pasting from other exhibits), but 



 

 

rather an integration of information that identifies the goodness of fit between a client’s 
risk profile and clinical needs and the resources the mental health agency’s program 
can provide to ensure good outcomes for the client and public safety. 
 
Templates of sample community evaluations can be found on our website.  In addition, 
in 2018, the Board established a community evaluation workgroup to better identify and 
target the information necessary for these evaluations to improve efficiencies and 
further enhance Board decision-making.  The Executive Director will announce any 
changes that are made to the Community Evaluation content consistent with the 
recommendations of the workgroup.  
 

Outcomes of Community Evaluations 
 
Each Community Evaluation will have one of three outcomes:  Acceptance, Contingent 
Acceptance, or Denial.   
 
Acceptance: The Community Evaluator determines that the agency has the treatment, 
monitoring, and supervision resources necessary to safely manage a client on 
conditional release.  
 
Contingent Acceptance: The Community Evaluator determines that the agency has 
the treatment, monitoring, and supervision resources necessary to safely manage a 
client on conditional release.  However, before the client can move into the placement, 
specific circumstances must be met (e.g. County Mental Health must approve, a 
Residential Screening must take place, a bed is not currently available, additional time 
must pass from a particular event (e.g. medication change, traumatic anniversary date).  
In most of these cases, some sort of addendum will be required once the contingency 
has been overcome. 
 
Denial: Community Evaluators must sometimes make a decision to deny a client into 
the program.  A denial does not usurp the Community Evaluator’s duty to complete the 
evaluation.  Rather, the focus of this evaluation is to provide the client and his/her 
treatment team with specific feedback as to why the client is being denied as well as 
recommendations about what resources or changes in circumstances would be needed 
in order to accept the client at a future date.  Further, denials are not viewed negatively 
by the PSRB, but rather, as important feedback that can communicate helpful 
recommendations to the client, current treatment providers, prospective treatment 
providers, and the PSRB about what will help the client succeed and live safely while on 
conditional release. 
  

Types of Community Evaluations 
 
Community evaluations are completed any time a client under the PSRB transitions 
from one program to another or when the client is being considered to be court 
conditionally released upon GEI adjudication.  Community evaluations are not required 



 

 

when a client changes his or her level of care within the same treatment program and 
county. 
 
Oregon State Hospital Requesting Community Evaluation 
At any time, State hospital staff can ask the Board to order that a client be evaluated for 
conditional release.  The request for evaluation should be in writing and should specify 
which county mental health or developmental disability agency is preferred.  Additional 
information regarding the recommended level of supervision and/or specific facility 
being requested assists with this process.  Prior to processing such requests, the PSRB 
will need to have previously received: 
 

• The most recent Risk Review minutes showing “conditional release ready” was 
approved; 
 

• A psychiatric update from OSH completed within 60 days of date of request 
 

• A START completed in last 90 days;  
 

• A valid Violence Risk Assessment (amended if out of date); 
 

• Specialty risk assessments if applicable (Sex Offender Risk Assessment; Arson, 
Stalking, Neuropsychological, Substance Use-specific). 

 
Once the request letter and the above-noted documents have been received, the 
PSRB’s Executive Director (ED) will review the request for approval.  The exception to 
ED review would be for clients whose underlying GEI offense was murder.  Per Board 
policy, those evaluation requests will be reviewed by the Board during an administrative 
hearing. 
 
Initially, the PSRB will refer requests only to facilities with current or anticipated 
vacancies. In accordance with OAR 309-035-0163(1)(d), the Board will not refer to 
providers with full waitlists. In addition, the PSRB will coordinate with the hospital social 
workers and community providers to prioritize requests to multiple community programs 
in terms of vacancies and timing of bed availability.  
 
Criminal Court Judge Requesting Community Evaluation for Possible Court 
Conditional Release 
Generally, the PSRB does not get involved in a GEI case until the judge has found a 
person GEI and determined whether he/she will be committed to OSH or placed on 
conditional release. However, PSRB staff can assist attorneys, judges and county 
mental health agencies in processing a court conditional release. ORS 161.327 requires 
that a mental health agency, designated by the Board, conduct a conditional release 
evaluation before a court is permitted to place a GEI defendant in the community. The 
court may order evaluations, examinations and compliance per ORS 161.327(3)(a).  
 



 

 

In accordance with ORS 161.327(3)(b), the criminal court must order a community 
evaluation, to be completed by a local mental health program designated by the 
Board, if the a defendant found GEI solely of a Class C felony.  This does not mean 
the individual must be placed on conditional release, but rather, that the individual has 
the opportunity to be evaluated. Criminal Court Judges may order community 
evaluations in any case, not just Class C felonies.  
 
If you are a community provider who receives an order from a criminal court to complete 
a Community Evaluation, please notify the PSRB office immediately. 
 
Case Manager Request for Community Evaluation:  
At any time, a case manager can request a community evaluation to assess a client’s 
goodness of fit for a different program in the community. Prior consultation with the 
Executive Director may be appropriate to determine residential availability and 
appropriate level of care for a particular client. A Request for Evaluation should be 
submitted writing and should include a justification for the request. Additionally, all 
documentation, including monthly progress reports should be up to date and received 
by the Board. 
 
Client Request for Community Evaluation:  
If a client requests a community evaluation, the Board will treat the request as a request 
for a hearing and set the hearing once the Board receives the required documents. If 
the case manager supports the client’s request for evaluation, the case manager should 
submit a Request for Evaluation as noted above as this will likely expedite the 
evaluation process and remove the need for a hearing. 
 
Community Evaluations Timelines 
OAR 309-019-0160 sets forth the timelines for completion of the community 
evaluation—even if a bed is not currently available. The expectation is that providers 
schedule the interview with the prospective client within 15 days of receiving the order 
and that the evaluation be completed no later than 30 days after the provider has 
interviewed the prospective client. Clients can be transported to the proposed residence 
or county for the in-person interview if that is expected to expedite the evaluation 
process and assist in transitioning the client from his/her current placement to the new 
placement. Community providers are expected to actively communicate with the 
prospective client’s social worker to facilitate interviews and this process.  
 

Conditional Release Planning 
 
In determining whether an order of conditional release is appropriate, the Board shall 
have as its goals the protection of the public, the best interests of justice, and the 
welfare of the individual.  Chapter 859, Division 70 of the Oregon Administrative Rules 
outlines the rules related to the conditional release of adults.  OAR 859-070-0020 
provides that the mental health or developmental disability community provider will 
prepare the conditional release plan.   
 



 

 

OAR 859-70-0015 provides the elements that all conditional release plans require.  
These elements are embedded the PSRB’s template, Proposed Conditional Release 
Plan, which can be found on our website.  That document outlines the types, dosages, 
and frequencies of monitoring, supervision and treatment as well as special conditions 
that are supported by the community evaluation.  It must be signed by the client, the 
client’s current provider, the client’s prospective community provider, and the client’s 
prospective prescriber.  A summary of these elements includes: 
 

• Name and contact information for the PSRB conditional release monitor with 
contact information. 
 

• Placement details and level of care of where the client will live. 
 
• A list of the conditions the client must follow (including, but not limited to: 

individual therapy, group therapy, psychiatric treatment, medications, groups 
required, curfew, specific treatment for sex offenders, AA/NA/DDA groups, 
passes, dietary, etc.) 

 
• Special conditions deemed appropriate given the specific risk associated with the 

client. The community evaluator and OSH treatment team are expected to 
assess clients’ risk and include special conditions in plans submitted to the 
Board. See sample special conditions at the end of this handbook and on our 
website. Sometimes, the Board will add special conditions as a result of the 
Conditional Release hearing.  

 
Pulling it All Together:  Hospital Request for Conditional Release Hearing  
 
The following guidelines provide the steps taken by OSH and Community Providers 
toward setting a conditional release hearing. 
 

1. The OSH treatment team recommends the client go before the OSH Risk Review 
for conditional release planning approval. 
 

2. The OSH treatment team works with the client to identify an appropriate 
community placement.  Available resources to assist with identifying a potential 
placement include: 

 
• OSH treatment providers may contact community providers to ask questions 

about their programs and available resources. 
 

• Arrangements can be made for clients to tour potential programs. 
 

• The PSRB Conditional Release Guide, available on our website, provides 
information about community placements across the state. 

 
• OSH Social Workers may contact community providers 



 

 

3. After identifying an appropriate placement, the OSH Social Worker requests the 
PSRB to order a community evaluation.  Occasionally, the Board will order the 
community evaluation at a full hearing and will direct OSH to identify a program 
within 30 days of the order, in which case OSH will need to notify the Board of 
the desired placement.  Under these circumstances, the actual Order for 
Evaluation will not be issued until the PSRB receives such a designation from 
OSH. 
 

4. The Community Provider completes the Community Evaluation, and if accepted, 
completes the Proposed Summary of Conditional Release Plan. 

   
5. The OSH Social workers complete an Application for Hearing and client’s signed 

Agreement to Conditional Release, which triggers the PSRB to schedule a 
Hospital Request for Conditional Release Hearing. 

 
6. The PSRB Hearings Specialist will coordinate with all parties to ensure that the 

necessary documentation and witnesses are available prior to setting a hearing 
date. 

 
7. The PSRB staff will coordinate with providers to ensure the client has legal 

representation, special accommodations, and/or interpretive services for the 
hearing. 

 
8. Once a hearing date is identified, notices will be distributed, including notice to 

any victims. 
 

Case Monitor Responsibilities 
 
A case monitor (a.k.a case manager) is the individual who has been designated in a 
Board order to provide the monitoring and supervision necessary to ensure a client is in 
compliance with a conditional release order and is able to be safely managed in the 
community setting.  The Board relies on the case monitor to speak on behalf of the 
treatment and residential staff working with a client and to represent the team’s 
recommendations for modifications to or a revocation of a client’s conditional release 
order.   
 
Community providers are encouraged to be familiar with OAR 309-019-0160, which 
prescribe the minimum service delivery standards for services and supports provided to 
adults and juveniles under the PSRB.  In addition, community providers should be 
familiar with the Monitoring, Security, and Supervision Services for Individuals Under 
the Jurisdiction of the Adult and Juvenile Panels of the Psychiatric Security Review 
Board agreement. Lastly, all case monitors should be familiar with the Board’s policy 
regarding major changes in PSRB client’s psychiatric stability, medication regimen and 
serious incidents for those on conditional release.  Please contact our office for 
questions about these documents. 
 



 

 

Agreement to Conditional Release 
 
Case monitors need to ensure that the Agreement to Conditional Release is signed by 
each of their clients.  This document is crucial in the event the client violates one of the 
standard conditions and the Board contemplates revocation. It also can be used to 
extradite a clients who have left the state and have a pending Escape 2 charge. Clients 
should sign these forms when they are placed on conditional release from OSH. If the 
client is on a court conditional release, the case monitor is responsible for ensuring that 
the client signs and returns the forms to the PSRB prior to the conditional release.  
 
Photograph of Client 
 
Case monitors are responsible for ensuring there is a current photograph of the client 
on file.  This photograph may be utilized in emergency situations where a client is 
missing or has absconded from a conditional release placement.  In some cases, the 
photograph may be used for a press release where a client who has absconded is 
deemed to be a substantial danger. 
 
Monthly Progress Reports 
 
The bare minimum communication required by the PSRB is through the submission of 
PSRB monthly progress reports.   Case monitors are responsible for submitting these 
reports for each client they supervise to the Board on the 10th of each month. A current 
form-fillable template of this report is available on the Board’s website and should not be 
modified.  Prescriber and specialty progress notes should accompany these reports. 
 
Monthly reports provide the Board with important information about how a client is 
progressing while on conditional release and can be especially helpful when the Board 
or the Board’s Executive Director are reviewing and making decisions related to 
conditional release modifications and pass requests. Case monitors are strongly 
encouraged to use the comments section to communicate both client progress as well 
as the challenges a client experiences over the course of the month.  If a client is not 
meeting a particular conditional release requirement, the case monitor should use the 
comments section to explain why it was not met and what the team plans to do to 
support the client in meeting that condition in the future. If appropriate, the case monitor 
should pursue a modification to the conditional release plan to reflect the conditions 
required to manage the client safely in the community. 
 
When completing reports, it is expected that providers are using multiple sources to 
verify that clients are meeting their conditional release requirements and not solely 
relying on a client’s self-report.  The information provided in the report should be 
consistent with other documentation submitted to the Board (e.g. prescriber progress 
notes, incident reports).  Case monitors should completely fill out the report and only 
use a “not applicable” designation when a condition is not ordered.  If there are errors 
on a progress report, case monitors should notify Board staff immediately and 
resubmitted a corrected version of the report. 



 

 

 
Serious Incidents 
 
In addition to monthly reports, case monitors are responsible for keeping the 
executive director or PSRB staff apprised of all serious incidents regarding a client. 
Immediate communication through a phone call is required in these types of 
circumstances, which include: 
 

• Absconsion 
 

• Arrest 
 

• Positive UA 
 

• Refusing medications 
 

• Psychiatric or medical hospitalization 
 

• Need for revocation due to violent or dangerous behaviors 
 

• Other circumstances deemed to be serious 
 
If serious incidents occur after business hours, program staff can reach the 
executive director at cell number is 503-781-3602. 
 
Case monitors are responsible for following up their verbal communications to the 
Board staff with written documentation such as an incident report or letter that will be 
placed in the client’s record.  The documentation should describe the serious incident or 
conditional release violation and lay out any safety plan, relapse prevention plan, 
behavior support plan, and/or other recommended changes in placement, monitoring, 
supervision, or treatment to ensure the client can continue to live safely in the 
community setting. 
 
Case monitors are strongly encouraged to communicate with the Board as frequently as 
needed when they have safety concerns related to their PSRB clients.  In less emergent 
circumstances, they may submit written documentation of incidents that are relevant to 
a client’s conditional release without the need of a phone call.   Early contact with the 
Board’s staff about changes to a client’s mental health or risk behaviors can help 
prevent an unnecessary revocation.  Our staff is available to support you! 
 
Major Medication Changes 
 
The Board has adopted a formal policy that all non-emergency major medication 
changes, including adjustments to mood stabilizers and anti-psychotic medications be 
initiated only after the case monitor communicates the potential risks of these changes 
and the safety plan, including whether a higher level of care is required, in a written 

https://www.oregon.gov/prb/Documents/Major%20change%20in%20treatment%20or%20psychiatric%20stability.pdf


 

 

document.  A sample of this letter can be found on our website and should be 
consistent with our policy regarding major changes in PSRB client’s psychiatric stability, 
medication regimen and serious incidents for those on conditional release.  The case 
monitor is responsible for ensuring that all relevant treatment professionals working with 
the client have been given a copy of this letter and are familiar with the safety plan.  
 
Conditional Release Order Modifications 
 
Case monitors are responsible for regularly reviewing their clients’ conditional release 
orders.  Case monitors are encouraged to request modifications to these orders that are 
commensurate with their clients’ progress and ability to safely manage themselves with 
increased independence and responsibilities.  Modifications can be requested by the 
case monitor at any time and most often require Board approval through an 
administrative hearing.2  However, in the interest conserving judicial resources, it is best 
practice for case monitors to request modifications no more than every three months 
and in doing so, consider the entire conditional release order to avoid piecemeal 
requests and the need for multiple hearings. 
 
When requesting a modification to a conditional release order, the case monitor must 
minimally include a letter that outlines each requested modification, the risks associated 
with that modification, the interventions that will mitigate that risk, and the clinical 
benefits of the requested change.  In addition, the case monitor must submit a 
Summary of Conditional Release Plan that reflects the modifications requested in the 
letter.  Lastly, all of the client’s monthly progress reports must be up to date, including 
prescriber or specialty service progress notes.  Case monitors are encouraged to utilize 
the templates available on our website3 and to employ the principles of the Risk-Need-
Responsivity model4. 
 
Depending on the nature of the modification request, case monitors should consider 
submitting additional, supporting documentation.  For requests that have higher inherent 
risk (e.g. stepping down to a lower level of care, driving privileges, eliminating therapy), 
case monitors should consider utilizing an actuarial risk tool to ensure that it supports 
such requests (e.g. the START).  In addition, case monitors may want to consider 
asking the prescriber to address risk factors associated with the requested modification 
in an additional progress note.   
 
Clients under the PSRB have the right to request changes to their conditional release 
plans, even if it is not supported by the case monitor and other treatment team 

                                            
2 Increases in treatment, monitoring or supervision or other special conditions can be approved immediately by the 
PSRB Executive Director to mitigate a client’s risk of dangerousness. 

3 Ctrl + Click to follow links: Sample Request for Modification - Change Multiple Conditions; Sample Request for 
Modification - Step Down; Sample Request for Modification - SRTF Pass Level 

4 Ctrl + Click to follow links: Successfully Implementing Risk-Need-Responsivity Principles in Your Treatment 
Program; GAINS Webinar- Risk-Need-Responsivity Applications across Behavioral Health and Criminal Justice 

https://www.oregon.gov/prb/Documents/SAMPLE%20Med%20change%20safety%20plan%20letter.docx
https://www.oregon.gov/prb/Documents/Sample%20CR%20Mod%20-%20CHANGE%20MULTIPLE%20CONDITIONS.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/prb/Documents/Sample%20CR%20Mod%20-%20STEP%20DOWN.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/prb/Documents/Sample%20CR%20Mod%20-%20STEP%20DOWN.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/prb/Documents/Sample%20CR%20Mod%20-%20SRTF%20PASS%20LEVEL.pdf
https://vimeo.com/214237256/e4072b1973
https://vimeo.com/214237256/e4072b1973
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GdW72QhbOG4


 

 

members.  The client should understand that it is highly unlikely that the Board would 
approve such changes in these circumstances.  Rather, the best practice/approach is to 
communicate to the client what would need to happen in order for the treatment team to 
support the client’s requested change.  If a client persists in the request without the 
team’s support, case monitors are encouraged to contact the Board’s staff for further 
consultation on additional options the client might want to consider before setting a 
hearing.   
 
Request for a Client’s Change in Placement 
 
A change in placement is a specialized type of modification.  Changes in placement 
may be requested for a variety of reasons including: 
 

• Crisis requiring an increased level of care or respite placement 
 

• Client wants to move closer to a support system or resources (e.g. treatment 
services, educational or employment opportunities, cultural activities, family) in a 
particular community 
 

• Client is ready to step down to a lower level of care 
 

• Client has reached a maximum benefit or progress has plateaued with the 
current provider 
 

When a change in placement is requested, the case monitor takes the following steps: 
 

1. Case monitor submits a request for a community evaluation.  The request should 
include the bases for the evaluation and identify the requested placement. Case 
monitors are encouraged to review the conditional release placement guide or 
consult the PSRB's conditional release monitor(s) with questions about programs 
and/or current vacancies. 

 
2. Case monitor partners with the potential incoming provider to facilitate a face-to-

face interview with the client.  
 

3. The incoming provider completes the community evaluation and, if the client is 
accepted, develops a new summary of conditional release plan and submits 
these to the Board. 

 
4. If the client agrees to and signs the new conditional release plan, the current 

case monitor requests in writing that the Board authorize the move. 
  

5. The prescriber from the current placement and the prospective placement must 
engage in a consultation specifically regarding issues related to medication.  This 
consult must be documented in writing and submitted to the Board. 

 



 

 

6. The change in placement is set for an administrative hearing or, in the case of a 
crisis situation or a lateral transfer (e.g. changing placement without any other 
changes to the conditional release plan), may be approved by the PSRB 
Executive Director.   

 
7. A client may not change residences until the Board approves the transfer. 

  
Other Case Monitor Responsibilities 
 

• Comply with all conditions in a Board order. 
 

• Inform the Board whenever there is a change in a client’s case monitor. 
 

• Complete and submit pass requests (please refer to our Pass Policy in this 
handbook). 

 
• Inform the Board whenever there is a change to a client’s residence/address.  If 

prior authorization was granted for a client to move, immediately notify Board 
staff of the new address and date of move. Unless it is an emergency, such as 
fire or flood in or substantially near the facility, changes in residence require prior 
authorization from the PSRB. 

 
• Inform the Board immediately if you are aware the client had contact with law 

enforcement. 
 
Communications with the PSRB 
 
Please include the following for all email communications from HIPAA entities to the 
PSRB: 
 

The information in this email is privileged and confidential. It is for the intended 
recipient. Any dissemination, distribution or copying of this communication 
received in error is strictly prohibited 

 
This helps the Board classify public versus confidential information when the Board 
receives Public Records Requests. If your agency does not have secure email, please 
use initials or other non-identifying information concerning clients while communicating 
via email.  
 

Residential Staff Responsibilities 
  
Each licensed residential placement housing PSRB clients is required to follow Division 
35 or Division 40 of the Oregon Administrative Rules as well as the policies and 
procedures required by their agencies and counties.   Placements must also coordinate 
with the PSRB and the Oregon Health Authority to identify and address how to 



 

 

approach any inconsistencies between Home and Community-Based Services (HCBS) 
rules and conditional release plans. 
 
The PSRB expects proactive communication between residential staff and a client’s 
case monitor and other treatment team members to ensure that all residential staff are 
familiar with the client’s risk profile, conditions of release, effective strategies to build 
rapport and support the client, and privileges (e.g. pass privileges, level system). 
 
The PSRB Executive Director and other staff members are available to conduct on-site 
training for employees anywhere in the state.  
 
Document all incidents: The Board expects to receive a copy of incident reports that 
describe significant behavioral or mental health changes, violations of conditional 
release requirements, psychotropic medication refusals or any other information that is 
relevant to a client’s ability to be safely managed in the community setting.  Residential 
staff may send these incident reports directly to the PSRB office or through the client’s 
case monitor.   
 
Procedures for client going out on a pass or escorted trip: A QMHP should consult 
with the client prior to a pass/escorted outing outside the facility and determine whether 
there are any signs of instability of mental health or noticeable risk factors. Additionally, 
staff should have an established communication protocol so that previous shift staff can 
report to subsequent shifts regarding the psychiatric stability or conditional release 
compliance of the client. 
 
Secure Facilities/Clients with any condition requiring “Supervised by Staff” 
 
“Supervision”: Unless otherwise noted in the Order of Conditional Release, 
“supervised” means arms-length, not line of sight.  
  
Client incidents occurring outside the facility should be cause for staff to 
immediately return to the facility with the client. This includes “getting away” from the 
group or refusing to comply with staff directives or the client’s conditions of release.  
 
Staff ratio on escorted outings should be appropriate so that if needed, one staff 
member can leave the group safely to follow a client who absconds or refuses to comply 
with staff directives. Staff should have cell phones on their person in the event they 
need to call for back-up assistance. 
 
It is appropriate for staff to call 911 immediately if a PSRB client leaves the group or 
fails to comply with staff’s directives to return. It is appropriate for staff to follow the 
client, reporting to police the client’s whereabouts to aid in his or her apprehension. 
 
Communications with the PSRB: For all e-mail communications from HIPAA entities 
to the PSRB, the following should be included: 
 



 

 

The information in this email is privileged and confidential.  It is for the intended 
recipient. Any dissemination, distribution or copying of this communication 
received in error is strictly prohibited 

 
This helps the Board classify information that is public versus confidential when there 
are requests from the public for information. If your agency does not have secure email, 
please use initials or other non-identifying information concerning clients while 
communicating via email.  
  

Revocation of Conditional Release 
 

A revocation is the legal action taken to terminate or suspend a client’s conditional 
release plan. Accordingly, it is considered the most severe and restrictive legal 
response to a client who can no longer be safely managed in the community setting. 
Pursuant to ORS 161.336(4), the Board has the authority to revoke a client’s conditional 
release under the following circumstances: 
 

• The person has violated conditional release3 terms; or 
 

• The person’s mental health has changed such that the person is no longer fit for 
conditional release4; or 

 
• The community supervision and treatment is inadequate or unavailable5; or 

 
• There is reasonable cause to believe the person is a substantial danger to others 

because of a mental disorder and that the person needs immediate care, custody 
or treatment6 

 
Revocations require a case-by-case analysis of the client’s historical and current risk to 
public safety. They are done after considering less restrictive alternatives. Historically, 
reasons for revocations have included: 
 

• Commission of a new person-on-person crime or other serious law violation; 
 

• Serious threatening behavior toward others, coupled with a history of violence; 
 

• Significant medication change accompanied by concerning behavior like that 
caused by increased mental health symptoms; 

 
                                            
3 See ORS 161.336(4)(a)(B)(i) 

4 See ORS 161.336(4)(a)(B)(ii) 

5 See ORS 161.327(1)(b) 

6 See ORS 161.336(4)(b) 



 

 

• Repeated medication refusal; 
 

• Absconding from supervision; 
 

• Repeated substance abuse relapses accompanied by increased mental health 
symptoms. 

 
The Board relies on case monitors to inform our staff of early warning signs, critical 
incidents, changes in mental status, changes in medications or other issues that might 
jeopardize a client’s conditional release to avoid unnecessary revocations. Prior to 
considering a revocation, the Board expects case monitors to explore less restrictive 
interventions that would similarly serve to protect the public and maintain client safety. 
Consultation with the Forensic Utilization Coordinator and Board staff is strongly 
encouraged to examine statewide vacancies, resources, and funding for interventions. 
Examples of less restrictive interventions include: 
 

• Heightened supervision (e.g. 15 minute checks) 
 

• Increased staffing 
 

• Restriction of privileges or passes 
 

• Step-up to a higher level of care 
 

• Using crisis-respite placement 
 

• Placing client on a hold at a local hospital (i.e. Director’s Custody) 
 
Paperwork Required to Initiate a Revocation 
 
In almost all circumstances, a revocation requires a written or electronic order signed by 
a Board Member or the Executive Director.7  However, there are certain situations in 
which it will be impossible to obtain such an order or doing so will take an extended 
amount of time to coordinate.8 This section explains when a written or electronic order 
for revocation is required and identifies the exceptions to that rule. Understanding these 
exceptions becomes especially important when trying to coordinate a revocation with 
your local law enforcement agency. Please note that PSRB staff are available to provide 
additional training to your local law enforcement agencies to strengthen your 
partnership with them during the revocation process. 
 
Written or Electronic Board Order Required 
 
                                            
7 See ORS 161.336(4)(a)(A)(i) and (ii) 

8 At a minimum, the PSRB Executive Director must be consulted prior to initiating a revocation.  



 

 

A written or electronic Board Order for revocation will be required when the revocation 
request takes place during business hours and is based on a violation of the person’s 
conditional release agreement or on a change in the person’s mental health that makes 
the person no longer fit for conditional release.  
 
Written or Electronic Community Order Exception 
 
Under the conditions outlined in the above paragraph and when a client has absconded 
from supervision, the community health program director may sign a written or 
electronic order to revoke that client (e.g. Director’s Hold).9 This type of revocation 
should only occur in consultation with the PSRB Executive Director or after several 
attempts to reach the Executive Director have been made without a response. The 
PSRB office is currently working to adopt a form that can be used to better facilitate this 
process (e.g. for those who are not Director Designees or when criteria for a Director’s 
Hold are not met). 
 
Peace Officer or Responsible Community Supervisor Exception 
 
Emergency mental health crises can take place at any time. Providers responsible for 
the monitoring and supervision of clients under PSRB jurisdiction are permitted to use 
the statutes for placing a person on a Director’s Hold and into the custody of a peace 
officer for transport to a designated facility, typically a local psychiatric hospital10 This 
mechanism will require the provider to be certified in that particular county and to 
complete a Director’s Written Report Regarding Peace Officer Custody of an Allegedly 
Mentally Ill Person. 
 
In some circumstances, a PSRB client may need immediate care, custody or treatment, 
but will not meet the criteria for a Director’s Hold (under ORS 426.228). In these cases, 
the law grants those professionals responsible for the monitoring and supervision of a 
PSRB client the ability to request that a peace office take that client into custody if there 
is reasonable cause to believe the person is a substantial danger to others because of a 
mental disorder and that the person is in need of immediate care, custody or 
treatment.11 Please note that the statute does not include the word “imminently,” 
providing a relatively low threshold for requesting law enforcement to take the client into 
custody. This statute serves to authorize the professionals responsible for the 
monitoring and supervision of the PSRB client to take immediate action in the absence 
of a written or verbal Board order where the client may not otherwise meet criteria for 
peace officer custody. The PSRB office is currently working to adopt a form to better 
facilitate this process. 
 
Revocation Placement Options 
                                            
9 See ORS 161.336(4)(a)(A)(iii) 

10 See ORS 426.228 

11 See ORS 161.336 (4)(b) 



 

 

 
Historically, all revocations resulted in an admission to the Oregon State Hospital. In 
April 2018, the Oregon Legislature passed legislation that modified ORS 161.336 and 
allowed for the PSRB to revoke adults under its jurisdiction to either the Oregon State 
Hospital or “other facility” designated by the Board.12  Although this provides statutory 
authority to revoke a PSRB client to a local hospital, the law is not well-known and the 
Board is taking a conservative approach to using this alternative until it is better 
established with community stakeholders. PSRB staff will explore this as an alternative 
to a revocation to the Oregon State Hospital. 
 
Revocations During Business Hours 
 
Revocations require a multi-system coordination that includes the community 
provider(s), law enforcement, secure transport, the Oregon State Hospital, PSRB staff, 
and at least one Board member. Under some circumstances, coordination might also 
include legal counsel, a local hospital, a local jail, residential staff, and other 
professionals. Therefore, it is best practice that revocations take place during business 
hours. If it puts neither the public nor the client’s safety at risk to do so, the best practice 
is to develop a short-term safety plan (Director’s Custody hold, respite bed, step-up to a 
higher level of care) and process the revocation during the next business day. In almost 
all cases, a revocation will require the client to be admitted to the Oregon State 
Hospital, Salem Campus; however, there can be exceptions. The following provides the 
steps taken toward revoking a client to OSH during business hours. 
 

1. Case monitor (or responsible party) contacts the PSRB office to report the need 
for a revocation. If no less restrictive option is identified, PSRB staff initiate our 
PSRB revocation protocol. 
 

2. Case monitor (or responsible party) provides a written and verbal summary of the 
incident(s) giving rise to the revocation. 

 
3. PSRB staff complete an Affidavit in Support of Revocation that summarizes the 

jurisdiction history and describes the bases for revocation as reported by the 
case monitor’s written and verbal communications. Persons with additional 
information may be contacted by PSRB staff to further support the affidavit. 

 
4. PSRB staff formally alerts the Oregon State Hospital of the revocation and 

provide OSH with the case monitor’s contact information to assist with the 
admission process13.  

 
5. The Oregon State Hospital admissions department contacts the case monitor (or 

responsible party) directly to request documentation and other information to 

                                            
12 See ORS161.336(4)(a)(A) 

13 PSRB staff will make every effort to notify OSH as soon as possible that a revocation may be needed. 



 

 

coordinate the client’s admission and ensure he/she/they is/are placed on the 
appropriate unit. OSH admissions can be reached at (503) 947-4247. At a 
minimum, admission documentation includes: 

 
a. Current medication orders 

 
b. Current assessment 

 
c. Current Individualized Services and Support Plan (Treatment Plan) 

 
d. Recent progress notes or incident reports that might be relevant to the 

client’s decompensation and/or need for revocation 
 

e. Any medical conditions or specialty treatment equipment considerations (e.g. 
oxygen tank, C-PAP, insulin) 

 
6. PSRB staff generates a revocation order and a member of the Board reviews it 

along with the Affidavit in Support of Revocation14. 
 
7. PSRB staff uploads the client’s exhibits for OSH to review. 

 
8. A Board member signs the revocation order, which PSRB staff uploads into 

LEDS and faxes/emails to the case monitor and OSH. 
 

9. Case monitor (or responsible party) coordinates with law enforcement and/or 
secure transport to transport the client to OSH. 

 
10. Case monitor (or responsible party) communicates with OSH about expected 

transport dates and estimated times of arrival. 
 

After-Hours Revocations 
 
If a business-hour revocation is not feasible, the Executive Director of the PSRB will 
assist the community provider with coordinating an after-hours revocation.  
 

1. Case monitor (or responsible party) calls the PSRB Executive Director 
immediately to consult at (503) 781-3602, and leaves a voicemail if there is no 
answer.  

 
2. If the PSRB Executive Director cannot be reached, the case monitor should 

consider either placing a Director's Hold and having the client transported to the 
local emergency room or implementing an appropriate safety plan (1:1 staffing, 

                                            
14 The PSRB Executive Director has authority to sign these orders; however, will only do so after making several 
attempts to reach out to Board members. 



 

 

house restriction, etc.) and waiting until the next business day at which time 
PSRB staff will complete the revocation process.  

 
3. If the case monitor cannot achieve the above, he/she/they may initiate revocation 

in the following manner: 
 

a. Call OSH Communications Center (503) 945-2800: inform OSH that you 
are initiating a revocation. If you do not communicate with them ahead of 
time, OSH staff will not provide any information to law enforcement/secure 
transport personnel and that will further delay the admission. 

 
b. Email/Fax Documentation: Provide OSH with the following documentation 

(or verbal information if documentation is not available).  
 

i. Current medication orders 
 

ii. Current assessment 
 

iii. Current Individualized Services and Support Plan (Treatment Plan) 
 

iv. Recent progress notes or incident reports that might be relevant to 
the client’s decompensation and/or need for revocation 

 
v. Any medical conditions or specialty treatment equipment 

considerations (e.g. oxygen tank, C-PAP, insulin) 
 

c. Call local law enforcement/secure transport and inform them that you are 
“placing a Director’s Custody hold” on the client and ordering a revocation 
to the Oregon State Hospital in accordance with 2018 Or. Laws, Chapter 
120, §5 (which modified ORS 161.336(4)(b)). Ask them to transport to the 
local hospital to get medical clearance (or jail). 

 
d. Get medical clearance: Oregon State Hospital is not equipped to treat 

individuals whose mental status deterioration or rule violation behaviors 
are related to alcohol or substance use intoxication and/or withdrawal or to 
an unstable medical condition. As such, prior to contacting OSH, please 
ensure that the client has been medically cleared at the closest medical 
facility and that communication between the admitting psychiatrist at OSH 
and the professional providing medical clearance has taken place. 

 
e. Law enforcement is required by law to transport to OSH without any 

paperwork or confirmation from the PSRB; however, they may require the 
agency to complete paperwork, such as a Director’s Written Report 
Regarding Peace Officer Custody of an Allegedly Mentally Ill Person, later. 

 



 

 

f. It is possible the front-line officer will be unfamiliar with the statute and 
authority to place the client into custody. If the peace officer refuses, 
request to speak to his supervisor and continue to cite the statutory 
authority (from Oregon Laws). Sometimes, law enforcement will want to 
confirm with OSH that the revocation is authorized. Ensure you have 
completed step 3a above. 

 
Post-Revocation Responsibilities 

  
Continuity of Care 
 
Often, a revocation can be traumatic not only to the PSRB client, but also to the 
treatment team and other participants of the treatment or residential program. The 
revocation itself may come with some relief from what are often extended and 
exhausting crisis situations. Although it may be challenging, we encourage community 
providers to remain as engaged as possible with the client’s OSH treatment team 
following a revocation. This ensures stronger continuity of care, provides OSH with the 
community provider’s perspective on the client and the incident(s) leading to revocation, 
and may reduce the trauma the client experiences by offering a potential path back to 
the community placement. At a minimum, we recommend that the case monitor 
coordinate a consultation between the community prescriber and the OSH prescriber 
shortly after the client’s admission. A consultation between the conditional release 
monitor and OSH social worker is also highly recommended. 
 
Revocation Hearing and Letter 
 
Each revocation requires the PSRB to set a hearing for the client within 20 days. The 
PSRB staff will send the conditional release monitor a letter within several days of the 
revocation requesting details about what led to it, the team’s opinion about clinical and 
treatment recommendations, and whether the agency/facility is willing to consider the 
client for placement again. For some clients, a relatively fast stabilization can occur and 
the client can return to the same bed at the facility at the revocation hearing. To hold the 
bed for up to 30 days, you may contact the Forensic Utilization Coordinator to request 
funding through from the Oregon Health Authority’s Health Systems Division. 
 
Community providers are not required to attend revocation hearings, but we strongly 
recommend that you call. These hearings may offer after-the-fact information that the 
client was unable or unwilling to report or an increased understanding of the client’s 
experience. In addition, it may provide opportunities to clarify things that were not clear 
from the record and ensure that the provider’s account of the incident is accurate. If you 
are interested in attending this type of hearing, please contact our staff.  
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Passes While on Conditional Release 
 
CR Handbook 
Pass Policy – Updated 3/12/19 
 
Community integration and connection are important aspects of recovery. The PSRB 
encourages case managers to approve opportunities for clients to take passes that promote 
recovery so long as those passes are consistent with the conditional release plan, the level of 
privileges within a program, and account for specific risk factors and public safety. The 
following provides a guide on the PSRB’s pass notification and/or approval process.  Please 
note, not all passes require approval, but may require notification to the PSRB office.  If you 
are unclear about whether approval is required or have a more atypical pass request, please 
call our office to consult.  Exceptions to the timeframes in this policy can be considered for 
emergency situations such as a death in the family or a medical situation. 
 
 

A) Supervised Passes (within Oregon) 
 
a. No notification or approval is needed for single-day passes within Oregon where 

the client will be supervised at all times by staff, unless the conditional release 
(CR) order or pass privilege states otherwise (see Section D) or the pass is out 
of state (see Section E). 
 

B) Single Day Trip (within Oregon, unsupervised by staff) 
 
a. The client’s case manager may approve single day passes within Oregon, 

unless the CR order or pass privilege states otherwise (see Section D). 
 

b. Pass Notification Form is not required. 
 

C) Overnight Passes (within Oregon, supervised or unsupervised by staff) 
 
a. The client’s case manager may approve overnight passes within Oregon of up to 

2 weeks in duration, unless the CR order or pass privilege states otherwise 
(see Section D). 
 

b. Pass Notification Form must be submitted to the Board at a minimum of 48 
hours prior to the requested departure date/time. 

 
c. Overnight passes should not be used to circumvent the Board-approved level of 

care for the client.  
 

D) If a client’s CR condition or pass privilege level requires the PSRB to approve the pass 
in any of the above situations, a Pass Request Form must be submitted: 
 
a. ED approval:  

 
i. Pass Request Form submitted a minimum of 7 days prior to the 

requested departure date. 

https://www.oregon.gov/prb/Documents/Pass%20Notification%20Form%208-30-19.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/prb/Documents/Pass%20Notification%20Form%208-30-19.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/prb/Documents/Pass%20Request%20Form%208-30-19.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/prb/Documents/Pass%20Request%20Form%208-30-19.pdf
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b. Board approval:  
 

i. Pass Request Form submitted a minimum of 30 days prior to the 
requested departure date. 
 

ii. Letter of Support (see below) to be submitted with the form.  
 

E) Out of State  
 
a. Unless the client’s conditional release order states otherwise, all out of state 

passes must be approved in advance by the ED or the Board. 
 

b. Documents required for an out of state pass include: 
 

i. Pass Request Form;  
 

ii. Signed Waiver of Extradition (for all states s/he will be entering) prior to 
the client’s departure;  

 
iii. Letter of support (see below) 

 
c. Timelines: 
 

i. If CR states case manager may approve out of state passes, the case 
manager must submit documentation a minimum of 48 hours prior to 
the requested departure date/time. 
 

ii. If ED approval is required, the case manager must submit 
documentation at a minimum of 14 days prior to the requested 
departure date/time. 

 
iii. If Board approval is required it will be considered at either an 

administrative or full hearing. The case manager must submit the 
following at a minimum of 30 days prior to the requested departure 
date. 
 

F) Out of Country 
 

a. Out of Country passes MUST be approved by the Board and the matter will 
be set for an administrative or full hearing. The following must be submitted at 
least 30 days prior to the requested departure date: 
 

i. Pass Request Form;  
 

ii. Signed Waiver of Extradition (for all states s/he will be entering) prior to 
the client’s departure; and  

 
iii. Letter of support (see below) 

 

https://www.oregon.gov/prb/Documents/Pass%20Request%20Form%208-30-19.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/prb/Documents/Pass%20Request%20Form%208-30-19.pdf
https://www.oregon.gov/prb/Documents/Pass%20Request%20-%20Needs%20Approval%20FORM%20(Modified%2011-2-16).pdf
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G) Letter of Support1 
 

a. Some passes require a letter of support. The goal of this letter is to provide 
the Board with additional information to assist with the pass approval process.  
The following information should be addressed when a letter is required: 
 

i. Mental status 
 

ii. Risks associated with the travel 
 

iii. Clinical benefits of the travel 
 

iv. Detailed itinerary  
 

v. Plan for meeting CR plan and taking medications as prescribed 
 

vi. Information about travel companions, host, authorized others2 
 

vii. Recent incidents or violations of conditions of release 
 

viii. Victim concerns 
 

ix. Safety plan, plan for checking in with client while on pass 
 

x. Payment and financial obligations  
 

xi. Any requirements or concerns of the state/country being visited 

                                                           
1 The depth of the letter of support should reflect the extensiveness of the pass as well as the client’s risk (i.e. the more 
extensive and the higher the risk, the more detailed the letter of support). 

2 The treatment team must verify the details of the pass with these individuals and have a Release of Information on file 



 

 

Alcohol and Drug Screening 
 

All clients under the jurisdiction of the Psychiatric Security Review Board and on 
conditional release agree not to use or possess substances, including non-prescribed 
and other substances that might otherwise be legal (e.g. alcohol, cannabis, Kratom, 
Tylenol).  Alcohol and drug screening tools are frequently used to monitor compliance 
with this condition, to detect and deter substance use, and to improve the safety and 
recovery of the clients we serve.  In addition, this tool may also ensure proper use of 
prescribed and over-the-counter medications. 
 
Frequency of Alcohol and Drug Screens 
The recommended frequency of alcohol and drug screens should be individually tailored 
to mitigate factors associated with the individual’s risk of substance use and danger to 
others.  These factors include, but are not limited to the presence of a substance use 
diagnosis, history of substance use, the extent substances were related to past 
dangerous behaviors and the instant offense, past criminal charges, and current level of 
care.   
 
At a minimum, case monitors are authorized to direct clients on conditional release to 
provide a specimen (e.g. saliva, urine) for a drug screen at any time.  Case monitors or 
other staff for supervising a client should immediately direct a drug screen when they 
observe significant changes in behavior (e.g. erratic behavior; incoherent, staggering or 
disoriented demeanor, slurred speech, glassy eyes, dilated pupils) or other evidence of 
substance use.  
 
Since the frequency of drug screens is based on both risk and clinical factors, it is 
possible that not all of the recommended drug screens will be covered by a client’s 
insurance (e.g. the recommended frequency is not deemed medically necessary).  A 
denied authorization should not be a basis for requesting a reduction in drug screens 
where the treatment team otherwise believes they are necessary for the client to live 
safely in the community.  Rather, the case monitor should consult with the Forensic 
Utilization Coordinator and seek alternative funding for those additional drug screens.  
 
Random, Observed 
To be an effective monitoring tool, alcohol and drug screens are expected to be random 
and observed.   
 
Specimen Collection Procedures 
Providers responsible for collecting specimen samples should be familiar with the best 
practices related to urine collection and testing procedures.17  Providers are encouraged 
                                            
17 Center for Substance Abuse Treatment. Substance Abuse: Clinical Issues in Intensive Outpatient Treatment. 
Rockville (MD): Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (US); 2006. (Treatment Improvement 
Protocol (TIP) Series, No. 47.) Appendix B. Urine Collection and Testing Procedures and Alternative Methods for 
Monitoring Drug Use. Available from: https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK64092/ 

 

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/books/NBK64092/


 

 

to establish a drug screening policy and procedure consistent with those practices to 
ensure consistency, accuracy and integrity with this monitoring tool. 
 
Providers should be familiar with the chosen drug screen panel and add additional 
substances to the panel as necessary (e.g. when a substance of concern is not included 
in the general panel).  In addition, providers should be familiar with the sensitivity, 
detection times, benefits, and risks of various collection methods (e.g. urine vs. saliva) 
and the common reasons associated with false positives.  Providers should have 
access to and make use of the analyst/toxicologist at the laboratory testing the 
specimen to discuss concerning test results. Some basic differences between urinalysis 
and saliva testing include:18   
 

Urinalysis Oral fluid/Saliva Testing 
 

• Typically detects use that has 
occurred up to 3 days prior to the 
test 

• The exception is cannabis use, 
where occasional use can be 
detected for up to 6 days and more 
regular use can be detected for up 
to several weeks 

• The main disadvantages of 
urinalysis are that it may not detect 
very recent use (past 2-6 hours) 
and urine specimens can be 
adulterated or substituted relatively 
easily. 

 
• Has a much shorter window of 

detection compared to urinalysis  
• For most drug types it detects use 

that has occurred in the previous 
1-3 days  

• Compared to urinalysis, oral 
fluid/saliva specimens are less 
easily adulterated or substituted 

• The main disadvantage of oral fluid 
is that pH levels can affect drug 
concentrations in oral fluid/saliva. 

 

 
A Word About Poppy seeds 
Research shows that morphine and codeine can sometimes be detected in urine up to 
48 hours after an individual ingests poppy seeds from some pastries such as bagels, 
muffins, and cakes.19  When a client’s drug screen returns a positive result for morphine 
and codeine, the case monitor should not suggest that the result could have been 
poppy seeds; however, case monitors are encouraged to consult with the laboratory 
toxicologist and rule this out when there is no other evidence of heroin or opiate use.  
Clients with a history of opiate abuse should be encouraged to refrain from ingesting 
poppy seeds, especially where there are repeated positive results and concerns of 
substance use. 
                                            
18 http://nceta.flinders.edu.au/files/7915/1209/0979/Drug_Testing_Rationale_Utility_and_effectiveness_9_Nov_17.pdf 

19 Thevis M,  Opfermann G, Schänzer W. Urinary Concentrations of Morphine and Codeine After Consumption of 
Poppy Seeds. J Anal Toxicol (January-February 2003) 27(1): 53-56. 
URL: http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed?term=morphine%20and%20codeine%20on%20poppy%20seeds%20thevi
s 

http://nceta.flinders.edu.au/files/7915/1209/0979/Drug_Testing_Rationale_Utility_and_effectiveness_9_Nov_17.pdf
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed?term=morphine%20and%20codeine%20on%20poppy%20seeds%20thevis
http://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pubmed?term=morphine%20and%20codeine%20on%20poppy%20seeds%20thevis


Substance Use and Relapse 
Client substance use, as evidenced by a client’s self-report, observations of others, or a 
positive drug screen, must be reported to the Board as soon as possible.  Substance 
use or relapse will not necessarily result in an immediate revocation of a conditional 
release. Case monitors, in consultation with other treatment team members, including 
the prescriber, should recommend to the Board staff, in light of the use and other risk 
factors, what treatment, monitoring and supervision interventions should be 
implemented to enable the client to continue living safely in the community.   

Dilute and Missed Drug Screenings 
Dilute results from a urinalysis are uncommon when following best practice procedures 
and may indicate that a client has altered the specimen and/or has been using 
substances.  When results are consistently dilute, a client should be provided feedback 
to limit their fluid intake and eat something the hour before providing the urine 
specimen.  If results continue to be dilute, the case monitor may want take additional 
measures such as increasing the frequency of the drug screens, adding an oral test, 
directing a room search for substances or paraphernalia, and consulting with the lab 
toxicologist.  Consulting with a medical provider to rule out a medical condition for the 
dilute results is also advised.  Ongoing, unexplained dilute results may result in placing 
that client at a higher level of care. 

As mentioned, drug screens are expected to be random.  Missed drug screens are 
considered positive, unless excused by a case monitor for good cause.  When drug 
screens are regularly missed by the client, the case monitor should take additional 
measures to investigate whether this is due to substance use or better explained by 
other situational factors. 

Medical Cannabis 

Pursuant to Oregon Ballot Measure 91 (codified at Oregon Revised Statutes 475B.005-
548), on July 1, 2015, cannabis possession, consumption, and manufacturing became 
legal in the State of Oregon under certain circumstances. These circumstances are 
defined as the "recreational use" of cannabis. The PSRB would like to make it explicit 
that this law does not affect the Board's policy on cannabis use, recreational or 
otherwise. 

Consistent with the Agreement of Conditional Release that all PSRB clients sign and 
the conditional release order, consuming/possessing cannabis or products containing 
cannabis in any form is prohibited. A violation of this condition is serious and 
jeopardizes a client’s conditional release placement. 

The Board will find a violation of conditional release for any possession or use of 
cannabis even if the client has a medical cannabis card or if it has been prescribed by a 
licensed professional. The Board will not sanction a client for having a medical cannabis 

https://www.oregon.gov/olcc/marijuana/Documents/Measure91.pdf
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors475B.html
https://www.oregonlegislature.gov/bills_laws/ors/ors475B.html


card. Rather, the Board’s focus will be on possession and consumption (i.e. ingestion, 
sublingual, topical and inhalation) of cannabis-related products. 

Research has confirmed a positive association between cannabis use and the risk for 
mental health symptoms.  The DSM-V outlines these risks: 

• Cannabis may increase the risk of developing psychotic disorders like
schizophrenia and can worsen symptoms in individuals who already experience
psychosis.

• Following immediate use, cannabis can cause mental health symptoms like
psychosis, anxiety, depression, and sleep disturbances.

• Adults who have been diagnosed with cannabis use disorder have high rates of
mental health disorders including anxiety, depression, PTSD, and ADHD.

The Federal Drug Administration has not approved cannabis as a safe and effective 
drug for any indication with three exceptions.  Two synthetic forms to treat nausea and 
vomiting from chemotherapy and a specific cannabidiol to treat seizures associated with 
rare forms of epilepsy (https://www.fda.gov/news-events/public-health-focus/fda-and-
marijuana).  

CBD, which is short for cannabidiol, is considered a non-psychoactive compound found 
in a cannabis plant.  The FDA has issued several warning letters to firms that market 
unapproved new drugs that allegedly contain CBD (https://www.fda.gov/news-
events/public-health-focus/warning-letters-and-test-results-cannabidiol-related-
products).  Consuming (i.e. ingestion, sublingual, topical and inhalation) and/or 
possessing products containing CBD is also prohibited by the Board. 

Questions related to a client’s request to use cannabis should be directed to the Board. 

Victims 

Victim Information 

Under Oregon law, when a person is found guilty except for insanity (GEI) or 
responsible except for insanity (REI), the judge is required to ask the victim whether he 
or she wishes to be notified of future hearings or releases relating to the defendant and 
if so, include victim contact information in the court order that places a defendant under 
PSRB jurisdiction. The Board then is required to provide notice in advance of any 
hearing regarding that individual. Generally, this notice is done via U.S. Mail when a 
hearing is scheduled. 

In 2009, the Oregon Legislature expanded victims’ rights to include post-conviction 
proceedings. This legislation explicitly put into law the right for victims or representatives 
to have the opportunity to be heard and to make a victim impact statement at the end of 

https://www.fda.gov/news-events/public-health-focus/fda-and-marijuana
https://www.fda.gov/news-events/public-health-focus/fda-and-marijuana
https://www.fda.gov/news-events/public-health-focus/warning-letters-and-test-results-cannabidiol-related-products
https://www.fda.gov/news-events/public-health-focus/warning-letters-and-test-results-cannabidiol-related-products
https://www.fda.gov/news-events/public-health-focus/warning-letters-and-test-results-cannabidiol-related-products


a PSRB hearing. It is helpful for anyone wishing to make a statement to coordinate this 
with the Oregon Department of Justice Victim Advocate.  

Additionally, a victim can assert or decline victim rights at any time. 

Patients Contacting Victims 

While under the Board’s jurisdiction, patients should not attempt to contact directly or 
indirectly victims of the GEI/REI offense. This includes asking family members or case 
managers to talk to victims on a patient’s behalf (even if it would benefit patient or is 
part of his/her therapeutic work). If a victim directly or through the DOJ Victim Advocate 
contacts OSH or a provider to initiate contact, contact will require approval by the 
PSRB. If you have reason to believe that a patient has contacted a victim or intends to 
contact a victim, inform PSRB staff immediately and inform the patient he/she may not 
do so until the Board has approved contact after a hearing.  

Victims’ Participation in the PSRB Process 

Victims will be allowed to be heard at all full hearings. Victims may elect to listen to the 
hearing via teleconference without making a verbal statement and/or to submit a written 
victim impact statement. Victims may also give a verbal, unsworn statement to the 
Board. Victims of patients’ non-PSRB crimes will not be permitted to give victim impact 
statements. However, either party may call such victims as witnesses, if the testimony is 
determined by the Board Chairperson to be relevant. If victims provide advance notice, 
the Board will attempt to accommodate special requests such as seating arrangements, 
additional security, etc.  

The PSRB will consider requests from victims who wish to request restorative justice 
services. Participation is contingent upon the patient’s ability to participate and other 
requirements as adopted by the PSRB by administrative rule. 

Providers should communicate with PSRB hearing staff to determine if victims 
will be participating. Victim impact statements can be highly emotional and 
graphic. This can often increase anxiety and staff may need to provide additional 
support prior to, during, and after the hearing.  

Additional resources: 

Oregon Department of Justice – Appellate Advocacy Program:  

Kamaile Luke 
Appellate Victim Advocate 
Crime Victim and Survivor Services Division 
Oregon Department of Justice 
Appellate Advocacy Line: 503.378.4284 (messages can be left 24/7) 
Email: CrimeVictimsServices@doj.state.or.us 

http://www.doj.state.or.us/victims/pages/advocacy.aspx
mailto:CrimeVictimsServices@doj.state.or.us
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