Common CE Audit Mistakes

1. Failure to Submit CE Audit Report and Materials by Deadline

OAR 858-040-0070

Audit Materials Received Past Deadline:

- Up to 30 days late: \$200 delinquent fee.
- Up to 60 days late: \$300 delinquent fee.
- 60+ days late: \$500 delinquent fee and license suspension.*

Please Note: Audit Report materials are to be **postmarked no later than the date stated on your audit notice letter.**

2. No Response/Insufficient Response to Request for Clarification *OAR* 858-040-0070

CE Audit reports are reviewed in the order in which they are received. If the review finds a licensee to be out of compliance with the CE requirements, or if further clarification is needed to determine compliance, a letter will be sent to the licensee. The letter will specify compliance issues or areas where additional information is needed. Licensees will have 30 days to provide clarifying information or missing documentation. If a complete and adequate response is not received within 30 days, the CE credits may be found insufficient and result in proposed Board sanction.

If Licensee's hours are found by the Board to be deficient or Licensee fails to submit complete documentation for CE:

- Deficiency of 1 to 10 hours: \$250 fine.
- Deficiency of 11 to 20 hours: \$500 fine.
- Deficiency of 21 to 30 hours: \$750 fine.
- Deficiency of 31 to 40 hours: \$1000 fine.

Additional fines are incurred if the deficient hours are not completed within 30 days.

3. Insufficient Credits Submitted

OAR 858-040-0015

Basic Requirements:

- At least 40 continuing education credits.
- 4 hours of professional ethics and/or Oregon State laws and regulations related to the practice of psychology.
- 4 hours of cultural competency.

One-Time Requirement (within 24 months of first renewal where CE is reported):

- 7 hours of pain management.
- 1 hour must be a course provided by the Oregon Pain Management Commission.

^{*}Licensee must provide a complete response documenting compliance with the continuing education requirements before suspension is lifted.

4. Submitting Ineligible Programs/Content for CE Credit

OAR 858-040-0035

Continuing education programs qualify for credit if:

- The subject matter deals primarily with substantive psychological issues, skills or Oregon laws, rules and ethical standards related to one's role as a psychologist or psychologist associate.
- The program is conducted by a qualified instructor or discussion leader.
- A record of attendance, such as a certificate of completion is awarded.

Samples of ineligible courses:

- CE for reading books (prior to 2/1/2016)
- Self-help courses that are not substantive psychology
- General health, nutrition, physical fitness or exercise
- Yoga, Pilates, massage courses, self-defense, martial arts
- Marketing, investments, and practice building strategies
- Word processing and other general computer skills and training
- CPR or first aid training courses
- Providing supervision to another person, or serving as a consultant to an individual or organization
- Board-sanctioned supervision
- Supervision/consultation from a psychologist who is not licensed in Oregon
- Attending public meetings
- Therapies not widely recognized as within the scope of practice of psychology
- Regular staff meetings or work place trainings not related to the practice of psychology
- Trainings on another state's laws or rules
- Facilitating group supervision sessions
- Participating in online activities or electronic materials that do not grant CE (i.e., video creation, writing web content, blogging, creating or watching YouTube videos, Ted Talks, applications, etc.)
- Internet courses without author or instructor names and qualifications.
 - o **NOTE:** The name of the author(s) is required. The name of the authoring organization, program director, training director, or other person in lieu of the content author/instructor will not meet the requirement.

5. CE Categorical Limitations

OAR 858-040-0055

CE Limits:

- Maximum 20 credits for home study, study group, and reading combined.
- Maximum 20 credits for lecturer and published material combined.
- Maximum 4 credits for reading (up to 16 peer-reviewed articles or 400 book pages).

Please Note: Category maximums are for CE reporting requirements only. There are **no minimum CE requirements for any category and no maximums for any category not listed above.** If the Audit finds submitted content in excess of the stated category limits for the reporting period, those credits in excess of the maximum will not be counted.

6. CEs Earned Outside Audited Reporting Period

OAR 858-040-0015

CE credits earned prior to, or after, Licensee's audited reporting period will not be counted. This includes during a new licensee's grace period and the days immediately before or after the audited renewal period.

7. Insufficient Evidence of Completion

OAR 858-040-0065

Evidence of Completion:

- Academic credit: a copy of the transcript.
- Seminars, trainings, online courses, home study programs, work place programs, etc.: Certificate of attendance showing qualified instructor(s)' name and degree, date, and subject matter of the program.
- Study Group: a copy of the study group meeting record.
- Published material or reading books or journal articles: a copy of pertinent pages of the material showing the article/chapter title (if applicable), book/journal name, author(s), and date of publication.
- Lecture credit: a copy of the course syllabus, conference brochure, workshop flier, program schedule or signed verification from the sponsor. Documentation must at minimum show the licensee's name as the lecturer, date, start and end time, and subject matter.

Please Note:

- Licensee must keep CE documentation for a minimum of 2 years after the reporting period.
- **Responsibility for documenting** the acceptability of the program and the validity of credit **rests with the licensee**.

8. Incomplete/ Inaccurate Documentation on CE Audit Report Table

OAR 858-040-0026

How to Fill Out the Audit Report:

- Complete all fields of the Audit Report for each activity listed.
- Separately list program titles for multi-session or multi-day activities such as conferences.
- Qualifying CE programs must be listed in chronological order.
- Documentation of programs should be organized in chronological order.

9. Hardship Exemption Requests Submitted with Audit Materials *OAR* 858-040-0015

The Board may grant exemptions to the CE completion requirements in cases of documented hardship. Current Board policy states that hardship exemption requests received *with audit materials* are not considered timely requests. Do not wait until you are audited to disclose a deficiency due to hardship.