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  FAMILY AND MEDICAL LEAVE  

EMPLOYEE PACKET A  
 

 

    

Leave for:  

  

1. Serious health condition of employee or family member  

2. Parental leave  

3. Sick Child leave  

4. Bereavement leave  

  

DISCLOSURE: Please read this statement before proceeding.  

  

This packet is a summary of Family and Medical leave policy and procedures. In all cases 

applicable state and federal laws, rules, policies, and collective bargaining agreements 

govern the employee’s and the agency’s rights and obligations, not this document.   

  

The law requires the agency to provide these entitlements.   

  

Federal and state law prohibit retaliation against an employee with respect to hiring or any 

other term or condition of employment because the employee asked about, requested, or 

used Family and Medical Leave.  

   

Family and Medical Leave follow:  

  

The Federal Family and Medical Leave Act, as amended, 29 USC §§ 2601 et seq; section 

585 of the National Defense Authorization Act for FY 2008 and federal regulations 29 CFR 

Part 825   

  

The Oregon Family Leave Act as amended, Oregon Revised Statutes (ORS) 659A.150 

through 659A.186 and  

ORS 659A.306 and Oregon Administrative Rules (OAR) 839-009-0200 through 839-009-

0320, OAR 166-3000010 through 166-300-0045, and OAR 101-030-0005 through 101-030-

0027 and OAR 839-009-0370 through 839-009-0460   

  

State HR Policy 60.000.15 Family and Medical Leave   

  

Any applicable collective bargaining agreement   

  

For more information refer to agency policy and your agency Human Resource and 

Payroll offices.  
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What is family and medical leave?  

The Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA) and the Oregon Family and Medical Leave Act 

(OFLA) protect an eligible employee’s absence from work under certain conditions. Federal 

and state laws determine eligibility, if your absence qualifies as FMLA or OFLA and how much 

leave time you may take.   

 

What is Paid Leave Oregon?  

Paid Leave Oregon is an insurance fund that employees and employers pay into. It provides 

up to 12 weeks of paid leave during a 52-week period for a qualifying life event. It also 

protects your job by law while you’re on paid leave if you have worked for at least 90 

consecutive days for your employer (the state is one employer). When eligible, Paid Leave 

Oregon runs concurrently with FMLA and OFLA. 

 

For eligibility and qualifying purposes please refer to the Paid Leave Oregon website. 

  

Am I eligible for FMLA and OFLA leave?  

 

To be eligible for FMLA or OFLA leave you must meet the following requirements:  

  

Eligibility for FMLA  Eligibility for OFLA  

Employee must have been employed by 

Oregon state government for a total of at 

least 12 months (if months are non-

consecutive there can be no more than a 

seven-year break in service); and  

To qualify for Parental leave (leave to care 
for a newborn child or newly placed adopted 
or foster child) employee must have been 
employed by Oregon state  
government for a period of 180 calendar 

days immediately preceding the date leave 

begins.  

Employee must have worked for at least 

1250 hours during the 12-month period 

immediately preceding the leave.  

To qualify for leave for a serious health 

condition, Bereavement leave or Sick 

Child leave (to care for the employee’s 

child with a non-serious health condition 

requiring home care), in addition to the 180-

day requirement above, the employee must 

have worked an average of 25 hours per 

week.  

Both of the above requirements apply to all 

types of FMLA leave.  

To qualify for OFLA Military Family leave, the 
employee must have worked an average of 
20 hours per week (there is no 180-day 
requirement).  
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When counting the number of hours worked to determine eligibility, the agency counts all 

hours the employee was actually at work, employment as a temporary worker, and 

qualifying absences for military leave.  Paid or unpaid leave time does not count as hours 

worked for eligibility purposes. Exception: Hours paid to an employee by workers 

compensation count towards their eligibility for OFLA leave.  

  

This packet specifically addresses FMLA and OFLA leave for:  

• Leave for your serious health condition  

• Leave for the serious health condition of your family member  

• Parental leave  

• Bereavement leave  

• OFLA Sick Child Leave  

  

Qualifying purposes for the above leave types are outlined in the chart that follows.  

  

Other FMLA and OFLA leave types can be found in the State HR Policy 60.000.15 Family 

and Medical Leave.  Information packets describing FMLA Military Caregiver Leave, FMLA 

Qualifying Exigency and OMFLA Military Leave are in the policy toolkit.  

    

What are qualifying purposes to take FMLA or OFLA?  

 

Qualifying purposes under FMLA  Qualifying purposes under OFLA  

To recover from or seek treatment for your 

own serious health condition that renders 

you incapacitated. This includes pregnancy 

related disability and absence for prenatal 

care.  

To recover from or seek treatment for your 

own serious health condition that renders 

you incapacitated. This includes pregnancy 

related disability and absence for prenatal 

care.  

To tend to the serious health condition of 

your:  

• Spouse: husband or wife as defined 
under Oregon state law and a same 
sex spouse of an employee if they are 
married in a state that legally 
recognizes same sex marriage  

• Parent: your biological or adoptive 
mother or father, or an individual who 

stood in loco parentis (in place of a 
parent) when you were a child  

• Son or daughter (child): your 
biological, adopted, foster or stepchild, 
a legal ward, or a child of whom you 
stand in loco parentis who is 17 years 
of age or younger. The age limit does 
not apply if the child is incapable of 

To tend to the serious health condition of 

your:  

• Spouse or domestic partner as defined 

under Oregon state law  

• Parent: your biological, adoptive, 
stepparent, foster parent, or legal 
guardian, or the parent of your 
spouse/domestic partner, or your 
parent’s spouse/domestic partner, or 
someone who stood in loco parentis)   

• Child: your biological, adopted, 
stepchild, or foster child; 
spouse/domestic partner’s child, or the 
child’s spouse/domestic partner 

• Grandparent or grandparent’s spouse 

or domestic partner 
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selfcare because of a mental or 
physical disability  

  

• Grandchild or grandchild’s spouse or 

domestic partner 

• Affinity relationship: someone with 

whom you have a significant personal 

bond that, when examined under the 

totality of the circumstances, is like a 

family relationship 

• Blood relation 

Parental leave: to care for your newborn, 

newly adopted child, or newly placed foster 

child  

Parental leave: to care for your newborn, 

newly adopted child, or newly placed foster 

child    

  

Bereavement Leave: to deal with the death 

of your:  

• Spouse or domestic partner as defined 

under Oregon state law  

• Parent: your biological, adoptive, 
stepparent, foster parent, or legal 
guardian, or the parent of your 
spouse/domestic partner, or your 
parent’s spouse/domestic partner, or 
someone who stood in loco parentis)   

• Child: your biological, adopted, 
stepchild, or foster child; 
spouse/domestic partner’s child, or the 
child’s spouse/domestic partner 

• Grandparent or grandparent’s spouse 

or domestic partner 

• Grandchild or grandchild’s spouse or 

domestic partner 

• Affinity relationship: someone with 

whom you have a significant personal 

bond that, when examined under the 

totality of the circumstances, is like a 

family relationship 

• Blood relation    
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What is a serious health condition?  

 

 Serious Health Condition: An illness, injury, impairment, or physical or mental condition that 

involves one or more of the following:  

  

• Hospital care: Inpatient care (i.e., an overnight stay) in a hospital, hospice, or 

residential medical care facility, including any period of incapacity or subsequent 

treatment in connection with or as a consequence of inpatient care.  

  

• Absence plus treatment. A period of incapacity of more than three consecutive 

calendar days (including any period of incapacity or subsequent treatment relating to 

the same condition), that also involves:  

  

(a) Treatments two or more times by a licensed healthcare provider, nurse, or physician's 

assistant under direct supervision of a healthcare provider, or by a provider of 

healthcare services (e.g., physical therapist) under orders of, or on referral by, a 

healthcare provider or  

  

(b) Treatment by a healthcare provider on at least one occasion which results in a 

regimen of continuing treatment under supervision of the healthcare provider.  

(1) Treatment includes examinations to determine if a serious health 

condition exists and evaluations of the condition.  Treatment DOES NOT 

include routine physical, dental, or eye examinations.  

(2) A regimen of continuing treatment includes, for example, a course of 

prescription medication (e.g., an antibiotic) or therapy requiring special 

equipment to resolve or alleviate the health condition.  A regimen of treatment 

DOES NOT include the taking of over-the-counter medications such as aspirin, 

antihistamines, or salves; or bed rest, drinking fluids, exercise, or any other 

similar activities that can be initiated without a visit to a healthcare provider.  

  

• Any period of incapacity for pregnancy, pregnancy-related illness, or for prenatal 

care (pregnancy disability). The following absences related to pregnancy disability 

qualify:  

  

o Part-day or full-day absences for severe morning sickness.  

o Periods of bed rest ordered by the physician of the pregnant employee.  

o A reduced work schedule because of pregnancy complications.  

o Routine prenatal visits to the doctor.  

o Leave following childbirth if the employee is incapacitated since the definition of 

pregnancy disability includes incapacity due to pregnancy or childbirth. Pregnancy 

is a temporary condition and not a covered disability that requires reasonable 

accommodation under the Americans with Disabilities Act Amendments Act 

(ADAAA).    
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• Chronic conditions: A chronic condition is one which:  

  

o Requires periodic in-person treatments by a health care provider, or by a nurse or 

physician’s assistant under direct supervision of a health care provider.   

o Continues over an extended period of time, including, recurring episodes of a 

single underlying condition.  

o May cause episodic rather than a continuing period of incapacity; for example, 

asthma, diabetes, epilepsy.  

  

• Permanent or long-term conditions requiring supervision: A period of incapacity 

that is permanent or long-term due to a condition for which treatment is potentially 

ineffective. The employee or family member is under supervision of a health care 

provider, not necessarily receiving active treatment. Examples are Alzheimer’s 

disease, a severe stroke, the terminal stages of a disease.  

  

• Multiple treatments (non-chronic conditions): Any period of absence to receive 

multiple treatments (including any period of recovery) by a health care provider or by a 

provider of health care services under orders of, or on referral by a health care 

provider for one or both of the following reasons:  

o Restorative surgery after an accident or other injury. 

o For a condition that in the absence of treatment or medical intervention, will likely 

result in a period of incapacity of more than three consecutive calendar days. For 

example: chemotherapy or radiation for cancer, physical therapy for severe 

arthritis, dialysis for kidney disease.  

  

Some other definitions that are important for understanding what qualifies as a serious health 

condition include:  

  

• Incapacity: The inability to work, attend school or perform other regular daily activities 

due to a serious health condition or treatment for or recovery from a serious health 

condition.  

  

• Treatment: Includes examinations to determine if a serious health condition exists and 

for evaluations of the condition.  The definition does not include routine physical 

examinations, eye examinations or dental examinations.  

  

  

How much FMLA and OFLA leave do I get?  

  

Under both FMLA and OFLA you are entitled to:  

  

Up to 12 weeks of leave in a leave year (the Sunday immediately preceding your first day of 

leave, running forward 52 weeks) if you meet the eligibility and purpose requirements. Some 
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reasons for leave qualify under both leaves and some qualify only as one leave type. Leave 

qualifying under both FMLA and OFLA are designated at the same time (they run 

concurrently).   

  

OFLA may entitle you to additional leave under the following circumstances:  

  

1. An employee who takes any amount of leave for their own pregnancy-related disability, 

may take up to an additional 12 weeks of OFLA leave for any OFLA-qualifying purpose.  

2. An employee who uses a full 12 weeks of Parental leave under OFLA, may take up to 12 

additional weeks of OFLA leave in the same leave year for Sick Child leave.  

 

Leave entitlement for part-time employees and using FMLA and OFLA leave 

intermittently:  

  

If you are a part-time employee your leave entitlement is pro-rated. For example, if you 

normally work 30 hours per week, you are entitled to up to 12 weeks of leave at 30 hours per 

week. Leave taken on an intermittent basis is calculated by the hour. If you are a full-time 

employee working 40 hours per week, you are entitled to up to 480 hours of leave. A part-time 

employee’s hourly entitlement is prorated. For example, if you normally work 30 hours per 

week, your hourly entitlement is 360 hours.  

  

More than one qualifying condition:  

  

You may need FMLA or OFLA leave for more than one qualifying condition or purpose at the 

same time or in the same leave year. Having more than one qualifying condition does not 

extend the amount of your entitlement.   

  

Spouses and family members working for Oregon state government:  

  

Oregon state government is one employer for purposes of FMLA and OFLA.  

  

If you and your spouse both work for Oregon state government you must share the 12-week 

FMLA entitlement for Parental leave (for the birth, adoption, or foster child placement) or to 

care for a parent with a serious health condition. Under special circumstances, the agency (or 

agencies) may lift the requirement that spouses share the entitlement.   

  

If you and a family member both work for Oregon state government you may not take OFLA 

leave at the same time except under one of the following circumstances: 1) one of you needs 

to care for the other who has a serious health condition; 2) one of you needs to care for a 

child with a serious health condition while the other is suffering from a serious health 

condition; 3) you both have a serious health condition or; 4) an agency grants an exception 

under special circumstances.  
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What if I am on time loss due to workers’ compensation?  

  

Only FMLA leave is applied when you are absent from work for a disabling compensable 

injury, or you have a pending determination of a workers’ compensation claim if you meet 

eligibility and purpose requirements.   

  

If your pending workers’ compensation claim is denied, OFLA leave will immediately begin if 

you meet eligibility and purpose requirements.   

  

If you have a disabling compensable injury and refuse an offer of transitional work, OFLA 

leave will immediately begin if you meet eligibility and purpose requirements.  

  

  

Do I have to take all my FMLA and OFLA at once?  

  

There are three types of FMLA and OFLA leave schedules:  

  

1. Continuous leave: leave taken in a block of time. For example, you take six weeks of 

leave due to a serious health condition.  

  

2. Intermittent leave: Leave taken sporadically. For example, you miss five days of work a 

month due to a serious health condition.  

  

3. Reduced schedule leave: Leave taken where you are scheduled to work less than your 

normal work hours in a day or week. For example, you are normally scheduled to work 

eight hours a day, instead work six hours and take the remaining two hours as FMLA and 

OFLA due to a serious health condition.  

  

  

How do I request FMLA or OFLA leave for a serious health condition or parental 

leave?  

  

Generally, you must give a 30-calendar day notice for planned absences (paid or unpaid) 

related to Family and Medical leave. Follow agency procedures for submitting a request for 

leave. If you are unable to request leave in advance due to an emergency or unforeseeable 

event, let the agency know as soon as possible. You are not required to specifically state the 

leave is for FMLA or OFLA, but you must provide enough information so the agency can 

determine if the leave qualifies. The agency may ask for more information, if necessary.  
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What happens after I request FMLA or OFLA leave?  

  

Notice of eligibility  

  

After you make a request for Family and Medical leave, the agency will generally let you 

know within five business days if you are eligible for the leave entitlement and if the agency 

needs more information, such as a medical certification.   

  

Medical certification  

  

If you are required to provide a medical certification for your own or your family member’s 

serious health condition, the agency will give you a Medical Certification form to take to your 

medical provider. The agency uses this information to determine if your reason for leave 

qualifies under FMLA or OFLA. The medical certification must be returned within 15 days or 

your leave can be denied. Denied leave means you do not have job protection under FMLA 

and OFLA. You may be asked to provide an updated medical certification under certain 

circumstances. In some circumstances, the agency may have enough information to 

designate FMLA or OFLA leave without requesting medical certification.  

 

Affinity Attestation 

  

When an employee uses OFLA to care for a family member who is related by affinity, the 

employer may require the employee to attest in writing that the employee and the person 

cared for have a significant personal bond that, when examined under the totality of the 

circumstances, is like a family relationship. The agency will give you an attestation form for 

you to complete. 

  

Final determination  

  

The agency will inform you once it has enough information to determine whether your 

absence qualifies as FMLA or OFLA leave. The agency will tell you how much FMLA and 

OFLA leave time you have available, requirements to use your paid leave, information about 

insurance, your reinstatement rights, and if the agency will require you to provide a Fitness 

for Duty Certification before returning to work if your absence is for your own serious health 

condition.   

  

What else do I need to know about Parental Leave?  

  

Parental leave is time for you to bond with your child after the child’s birth, adoption, or foster 

placement in your home. Parental leave must be completed within one year of the birth, 

adoption, or placement. The birth, adoption, or foster placement of multiple children at one 

time entitles the employee to take only one 12-week period of parental leave. You may take 

intermittent Parental leave prior to the adoption or placement of a foster child if your presence 

is required to affect the adoption or placement. In other situations, Parental leave must be 

taken in a continuous block unless the agency allows you to take it on an intermittent or 

reduced schedule that is agreed to by the agency and you. If you are taking OFLA and 
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receiving Paid Leave Oregon benefits for parental leave, you are not required to take the 

OFLA leave in a continuous block of time. If you are taking OFLA and receiving Paid Leave 

Oregon benefits you are eligible for up to 16 weeks of OFLA protected leave but are not 

eligible for the additional 12 weeks of sick child leave or any additional OFLA leave.  

  

  

What if I need to absent for OFLA Sick Child Leave?  

  

OFLA Sick Child leave is part of your 12-week OFLA entitlement. It is used intermittently. 

Follow normal call-in procedures each time you are absent for OFLA Sick Child leave to care 

for your child 17 years of age or younger (or incapable of self-care due to a mental or 

physical disability), who has a non-serious health condition (i.e. head cold, earache, flu), 

requiring home care. The agency will inform you whether you qualify for OFLA Sick Child 

leave. The agency may require you to provide a medical certification after the third time you 

take OFLA Sick Child leave in the leave year.   

  

  

What is OFLA Bereavement Leave?  

  

OFLA Bereavement leave is time for you to deal with the death of a family member by 

attending the funeral or alternative to a funeral, making arrangements necessitated by the 

death, or grieving.  An eligible employee may take up to two weeks of leave in a block of time 

or intermittently.  The leave must be completed within 60 days of the date on which the 

eligible employee receives notice of the death of a family member.  Employees are entitled to 

take multiple periods of bereavement leave if more than one family member of the employee 

dies. OFLA Bereavement leave is deducted from the employee’s overall (up to 12 weeks) 

OFLA entitlement and cannot exceed the yearly entitlement.  Two or more eligible family 

members who are employees are allowed to take bereavement leave at the same time for the 

same family member.  

  

  

Am I paid during FMLA and OFLA Leave?  

  

FMLA and OFLA are unpaid leaves. Except for the reasons below, while on FMLA or OFLA 

leave, you must use your all paid leave (except compensatory time) before going into leave 

without pay.  You may choose whether to use your compensatory time. All paid and unpaid 

leave used for FMLA and OFLA purposes counts against your FMLA and OFLA entitlement. 

Exceptions to the requirement to use your paid leave during absences taken in a block of 

time are: (1) If you are represented, your collective bargaining agreement may allow you to 

reserve a certain amount and type of leave while you are on FMLA and OFLA; (2) If you are 

unrepresented or management service you may reserve 60 hours of sick or vacation leave; or 

(3) If you are receiving Paid Leave Oregon benefits you may use any amount of leave, up to 

your scheduled hours for the day, or may use Leave Without Pay. For any FMLA or OFLA 

absence you do not have to use your accrued paid leave if you are also receiving worker’s 

compensation time loss benefits. For any FMLA or OFLA absence if you are receiving 
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payments from your disability insurance provider, you are not required to use your paid leave 

except as required by the disability insurance contract.   

 

    

Will my insurance continue?  

  

If you use any amount of FMLA or OFLA leave in a month, the agency pays its share of 

premiums for your medical, dental, and employee-only basic life insurance for that month. If 

you normally pay a portion of the premiums for your health insurance, you may 1) continue 

timely payments during the leave period to avoid cancellation or 2) opt to have the agency 

pay these premiums on your behalf. You may self-pay premium payments through payroll. 

Payments made by the agency are recoverable upon the first available paycheck(s) after the 

employee returns to work, not to exceed 10% of their gross pay of each pay period.  

  

If you exhaust your Family and Medical Leave entitlements, are in leave without pay and not 

in a current  

Affordable Care Act (ACA) stability period, you have the option of continuing coverage under 

COBRA. You will be notified by a third-party administrator, regarding how to continue your 

health and dental insurances while on leave without pay.  

  

Your insurance resumes normally if you return from FMLA or OFLA leave immediately 

following your FMLA or OFLA absence. If you return beyond that timeframe, you must work a 

minimum 80 hours in the month to receive the employer contribution for the following month, 

unless you are in a current ACA stability period.  

  

If you do not return to work following FMLA or OFLA, you may be required to reimburse the 

agency for the full premium cost of health care coverage paid on your behalf, unless a 

recurrence, continuation, or onset of a serious health condition or a serious illness or injury of 

a covered service member occurs or the reason for not returning is beyond your control.  

  

  

How do I show my absence as FMLA and OFLA leave?  

  

Your FMLA and OFLA leave is documented and tracked in the Workday system. To show your 

absence as family and medical leave, enter an absence request which corresponds with the 

date you took paid or unpaid leave due to the qualifying condition. This absence request is 

separate from your request for paid or unpaid leave. Choose the type of leave you are using 

(this may be listed on a letter from your absence partner and will be FMLA, OFLA, Paid 

Leave Oregon, or a combination of the leaves). If you are unable to enter your own absence 

request, your supervisor will do it for you. Stop entering family and medical leave absence 

requests when your FMLA or OFLA entitlements end. Seek approval from your supervisor to 

use other leave or leave without pay as necessary. Refer questions about entering protected 

leave absence requests to your supervisor, human resources, or agency payroll.   
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What happens to my job when I take FMLA and OFLA leave?  

  

Before returning from FMLA or OFLA leave for your own serious health condition, the agency 

may require you to provide a statement from your medical provider verifying you are able to 

return to work, and if you have any limitations.   

  

If returning from OFLA leave, or leave that qualifies for both FMLA and OFLA, you have a 

right to be restored to the position you held prior to your leave.  If you are returning from 

FMLA-only leave, you have a right to be restored to the position you held prior to your leave 

or a position with equivalent pay and benefits.  The following exceptions apply to both FMLA 

and OFLA:  

  

▪ If your position was eliminated through an agency layoff process, you must be treated 

as if you were not on FMLA or OFLA leave and will be treated the same as similarly 

situated employees according to agency policy or an applicable collective bargaining 

agreement.  

▪ If you are a temporary or limited duration employee, the agency will return you to your 

position to the extent the placement or position still exists.   

▪ If you are unable to perform an essential function of your position and reasonable 

accommodations are not appropriate, FMLA and OFLA job protection ends. You may be 

subject to termination under an applicable law, rule, policy, or collective bargaining 

agreement.   

  

 

What if I need to extend my leave beyond my FMLA and OFLA entitlement?  

 

If you are unable to return to work following your FMLA or OFLA leave or cannot perform all 

essential functions of your job, you may request an extension of your absence. The agency 

may grant an extension when continuing your leave does not impose an undue hardship for 

the agency and complies with law, policy, an applicable collective bargaining agreement, and 

reasonable accommodation provisions of the Americans with Disabilities Act Amendments Act 

(ADAAA).  

  


