
Federal and state laws 
protect an eligible employee’s 

absence from work under 
certain conditions.

• State HR Policy 60.000.15, Family and 
Medical Leave
(https://oregon.gov/das/
Policies/60-000-15.pdf)

• Your Collective Bargaining 
Agreement

• DAS CHRO Family Medical Leave 
Toolkit 
(https://www.oregon.gov/das/HR/Pages/
FMLA.aspx)

An employee must follow agency 
procedures to request leave.

Thirty days advance notice is generally 
required for a planned absence under 
FMLA and OFLA. In the event of 
an emergency, an employee should 
contact their supervisor or the 
agency’s human resource office as 
soon as possible. 

Depending on the leave type, an 
agency may require an employee to 
provide appropriate certification 
verifying the need for leave.
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• Oregon Family Leave Act, Notice to
Employers and Employees

• U.S. DOL Employee Rights Under the
Family and Medical Leave Act

Your supervisor,
Your agency director 

or your
human resource office

For more information,  
contact:



An eligible employee who takes any amount of OFLA 
leave for pregnancy disability may take up to 12 
weeks of additional OFLA leave for any OFLA 
purpose. 

An eligible employee using 12 weeks 
of OFLA Parental leave may take up to another 12 
weeks of leave under OFLA 
to care for a sick child with a non-serious health 
condition.

OFLA also allows an employee to use their 12 week 
entitlement for OMFLA Military Family leave (up to 
14 days per deployment) which is leave an employee 
may take when their spouse or domestic partner is 
notified of an impending call; ordered to active 
military duty or on active duty; before deployment, or 
during respite from active duty during deployment.

Also under OFLA

OFLA also allows an employee to use their 12-week 
entitlement to tend to the serious health condition of 
their child of any age (or their child's spouse/domestic 
partner), parent (or parent's spouse/domestic 
partner, or parent-in-law), grandparent (or 
grandparent's spouse/domestic partner), grandchild 
(or grandchild's spouse/domestic partner), sibling (or 
step sibling, or sibling/step sibling's spouse/domestic 
partner), or any individual related by blood or affinity 
whose close association with a covered individual is 
the equivalent of a family relationship, or to tend to 
their child under 18 with a non-serious health 
condition requiring home care. 

ENTITLEMENT AND PURPOSE

Under both FMLA and OFLA

Under most circumstances, an eligible 
employee is allowed up to 12 weeks of 
FMLA and OFLA leave for Parental leave, 
or to tend to the employee’s own serious 
health condition or the serious health 
condition of the employee’s spouse, parent 
or child under 18 years of age.

Also under FMLA

An employee may use the 12-week 
entitlement for FMLA Qualifying Exigency 
leave resulting from an employee’s spouse, 
parent or child’s (no age limit) call to active 
duty in the military. 

 An employee is allowed up to 26 weeks of 
FMLA Military Caregiver leave to care for 
the employee’s spouse, parent, child or next 
of kin who is a covered service member who 
has a serious illness or injury incurred in the 
line of duty on active duty.

ELIGIBILITY

Federal Family and Medical 
Leave Act (FMLA)
An employee must work for Oregon 
state government 12 months (with no 
more than a seven-year break in service) 
and work 1250 hours during the 12-
month period immediately preceding the 
leave.

Oregon Family Leave Act 
(OFLA)
Parental leave:   
Employee must work for Oregon state 
government at least 180 calendar days 
immediately preceding the date the 
leave begins.

Serious health condition, Sick 
Child leave, or Bereavement:   
Employee must work 180 calendar days 
(described above) and have worked an 
average of 25 hours per week.

OMFLA Military Family leave: Must 
work an average of 20 hours per week 
(no 180-day requirement).

During a public health emergency: 
Employees employed 30 or more days 
and have worked at least an average of 
25 hours a week during the 30 days are 
eligible for any OFLA qualifying 
condition.




