

# Rulemaking, Action Item F 2020 Water Quality Fee Increase Update Rulemaking

#### **Table of Contents**

DEQ Recommendation to EQC	2
Introduction	3
Statement of Need	4
Rules Affected, Authorities, Supporting Documents	5
Fee Analysis	6
Statement of Fiscal and Economic Impact	8
Federal Relationship	10
Land Use	11
EQC Prior Involvement	12
Advisory Committee	13
Public Engagement	15
Implementation	17
Five-Year Review	18
Accessibility Information	19

# **DEQ Recommendation to EQC**

DEQ recommends that the Environmental Quality Commission adopt the proposed corrected rules and accompanying fee tables associated with fee implementation. This proposed action corrects 11 items on the 2020 interim fee table, as shown in Attachment A, and the language associated with fee implementation dates, as shown in Attachment B, as part of Chapter 340 of the Oregon Administrative Rules. These changes conform to what the commission approved at its July 16, 2020, meeting. However, the paperwork filed with the Oregon Secretary of State differed from that action due to a number of administrative errors.

#### **Proposed motion language:**

"I move that the Environmental Quality Commission adopt the proposed rules as seen in accompanying fee table Attachment A and rule language Attachment B of the staff report for this item as part of Chapter 340 Division 45 of the Oregon Administrative Rules."

# Introduction

The Oregon Environmental Quality Commission voted on July 16, 2020, to adopt amendments to DEQ administrative rules regarding water quality permit fees. The affected rules were OAR 340-045-0075 and 340-071-0800.

The commission approved fee increases totaling 21 percent, to be implemented in two phases.

Phase one was effective Aug. 1, 2020, and included a fee increase of 13 percent, made up of the three percent authorized by statute (ORS 468B.051), and an additional 10 percent. The purpose of this increase was to support new program positions authorized in the 2019-2021 Legislatively Adopted Budget.

The second phase becomes effective on July 1, 2021. This is for eight percent, and also supports new program positions authorized in the 2019-2021 Legislatively Adopted Budget.

After filing the paperwork for the rule change with the Secretary of State, program staff discovered two types of errors. First, there were a series of errors in the phase one (interim) fee tables, as shown below.

Table	Section	Old Fee	Filed Fee	Intended 13% Fee Amount	Deviation
70A Tier 1	Major Modification	34,033	38,357	38,457	-100
70B	B-08 Tier 1 Annual Fees	13,633	13,633	15,405	-1,772
70B	B-10Tier 1 Annual Fees	13,633	13,633	15,405	-1,772
70H	Counties, Phase I	10,300	10,069	10,609	-540
70G	1700A App Fee (NEW)	616	501	696	-195
70I	UIC 1200-U General App Fee	616	616	696	-80
70I	UIC 1200-U General Annual Fee	633	633	714	-81
70I	UIC 1900-B Geothermal App Fee	616	616	696	-80
70I	UIC 1900-B Geothermal Annual Fee	633	633	714	-81
70B	B-20 Tier 1	7,070	77,989	7,989	70,000
70B	B-20 WPCF Tier 2	3,912	4,4,22	4,422	N/A

The second error in the paperwork filed with the Secretary of State was that the fee end date should be June 30, 2021, rather than the May 31, 2021.

# Statement of Need

### What need would the proposed rule address?

DEQ is proposing to correct the administrative errors for three reasons. First, the corrected fees align with the agency's current service level 2019-21 budget, and allow DEQ to carry out implementation of the hiring authorized by the legislature. Second, the corrections provide parity across all fee payers, as originally intended for phase one of the fee increase.. And, third, with the current incorrect date, the phase one fees would revert back to the previous fee on June 1, 2021 for a one-month period before the phase two fees go into effect on July 1, 2021. This would cause both a fiscal impact to DEQ's budget and significant confusion to the permittees.

## How would the proposed rule address the need?

DEQ must apply the new fees to invoices in February 2021, to cover costs associated with implementing the permitting program and delivering services to regulated entities. This funding will address staffing needs and enable DEQ to implement improvements to the program as identified in the Recommendations and Implementation Plan report. The 2015 Oregon Legislature commissioned the report, which a third-party consultant completed in November 2016.

#### How will DEQ know the rule addressed the need?

If approved, DEQ would begin receiving the correct fee revenues in February 2021.

# Rules Affected, Authorities, Supporting Documents

### **Lead division**

Water Quality Division

# **Program or activity**

Water Quality Permitting and Program Development

Rule action: Amend

OAR 340-045-0075

Supporting authorities

Statutory Authority - ORS						
468.020	468B.020	468B.035	454.615	454.625		
468.020						

Statutes Implemented - ORS						
468B.050	468.065	468B.035	468.065	468B.015		
454.775	454.780	454.784	468.020	454.605		
454.607	454.610	454.615	454.625	454.655		
454.665	454.675	454.695	454.725	454.745		
454.755	454.780	468.035	468.045	468B.050		
468B.055	468B.080					

**Documents relied on for rulemaking** 

Document title	Document location
Fee increase calculations	DEQ Headquarters
Recommendations and Implementation Plan	DEQ web page Recommendations and Implementation Plan
DEQ 2019-2021 Legislatively Approved Budget	DEQ Headquarters
DEQ's water quality permit database	DEQ Headquarters

# Fee Analysis

These proposed rules would change existing fees and change the expiration date of the phase one fees pursuant to OAR 340-045-0075(2).

## **Brief description of proposed fees**

DEQ is proposing to amend the phase-one fees for the following fee tables and to correct the expiration date for these fees as described above:

Table	Section	Old Fee	Filed 13% Fee Increase Amount	Intended 13% Fee Amount	Deviation
70A Tier 1	Major Modification	34,033	38,357	38,457	-100
70B	B-8Tier 1 Annual Fees	13,633	13,633	15,405	-1,772
70B	B-10Tier 1 Annual Fees	13,633	13,633	15,405	-1,772
70H	Counties, Phase I	10,300	10,069	10,609	-540
70G	1700A App Fee (NEW)	616	501	696	-195
70I	UIC 1200-U General App Fee	616	616	696	-80
70I	UIC 1200-U General Annual Fee	633	633	714	-81
70I	UIC 1900-B Geothermal App Fee	616	616	696	-80
70I	UIC 1900-B Geothermal Annual Fee	633	633	714	-81
70B	B-20 Tier 1	7,070	77,989	7,989	70,000
70B	B-20 WPCF Tier 2	3,912	4,4,22	4,422	N/A

The above permit fees, will be increased by adopting:

- OAR 340-045-0075:
  - Industrial NPDES and WPCF Individual Permits Application and Modification Fees; Table 70A
  - o Industrial NPDES and WPCF Individual Permit Annual Fees; Table 70B;
  - General NPDES and WPCF Permits, Application and Annual Fees, Table 70G, excluding WPCF 2401 and 2402; and 700PM fees under authority ORS 468B.118;
  - Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System Permits: Annual fees for Counties, Phase I, Table 70H;
  - Underground Injection Control Permits Application Fees, Annual Fees, and Surcharges, Table 70I, *excluding* UIC fees authorized by rule, ORS 468B.195 and ORS 468B.196.

### Rule language change proposal

DEQ proposes to correct the following rule language to OAR 340-045-0075 to state as follows:

OAR 340-045-0075(2). Two sets of fee tables are provided. The first identifies fees effective August 1, 2020, through June 30, 2021. The second establishes the fee amounts effective starting July 1, 2021.

#### Reasons

DEQ is proposing these corrections to conform with what the commission approved in July 2020 and to fix mistakes contained in the paperwork filed with the Oregon Secretary of State.

#### The proposed fees would address:

Correcting unintended administrative mistakes for the phase-one fee increase paperwork filed with the Oregon Secretary of State.

## Fee proposal alternatives considered

#### Not changing fees

Without the fee change, DEQ will be unable to correct the disparity of the fees as outlined in this document.

### Fee payers

The proposed fee corrections would affect individuals, businesses, and government agencies that hold or apply for the following permits:

- National Pollutant Discharge Elimination System permits
- Water Pollution Control Facility permits

### Affected party involvement in fee-setting process

DEQ appointed a fiscal advisory committee specifically to address the proposed water quality permit fees in OAR 340 Divisions 45 and 71. The advisory committee included stakeholders representing domestic and industrial permit holders, state agencies, and environmental and citizen engagement organizations. The committee met twice to review the original proposed rule updates and to assess and comment on the fiscal impacts of DEQ's proposed permit fee increase; and have met once to review these proposed rule updates.

### Summary of impacts

The 11 categorical fee changes will align the fees with those that were intended to be approved in July 2020. Nine of the fees will have a small increase, one fee will have a significant decrease and one fee will remain the same but will correct a typographical error.

# Statement of Fiscal and Economic Impact

## Fiscal and economic impact

Correcting the permit fees provide parity with respect to the 13% phase one fee increase presented to the EQC in July 2020. The fee change will increase costs for some entities while decreasing them for one entity to align them with the fees that were approved by the commission in July 2020.

Statement of cost of compliance

Table	Section	Number of Permits (8/1/20- 6/30/21)	Current Fee	Proposed Fee	Deviation	Total
70A Tier 1	Major Modification	<5	38,357	38,457	-100	500
70B	B-8 Tier 1 Annual Fees	2	13,633	15,405	-1,772	3,544
70B	B-10 Tier 1 Annual Fees	1	13,633	15,405	-1,772	1,772
70H	Counties, Phase I	1	10,069	10,609	-540	540
70G	1700A App Fee (NEW)	0	501	696	-195	0
70I	UIC 1200-U General App Fee	~8	616	696	-80	640
701	UIC 1200-U General Annual Fee	20	633	714	-81	1,620
70I	UIC 1900-B Geothermal App Fee	0	616	696	-80	0
70I	UIC 1900-B Geothermal Annual Fee	1	633	714	-81	81
70B	B-20 Tier 1	8	77,989	7,989	70,000	(560,000)

## **State and federal agencies**

State and federal agencies are not expected to be impacted by this fee change.

## Local governments and public

DEQ expects one County Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System permit to be effected by this fee change for an increase of \$100.

#### Large businesses - businesses with more than 50 employees

The proposed fee correction will have a minimal effect on permit holders as indicated in the table above. The fee increase would be significant at \$70,000 per facility for eight facilities.

### Small businesses – businesses with 50 or fewer employees

The proposed fee correction will have a minimal effect on permit holders as indicated in the table above.

- a. Estimated number of small businesses and types of businesses and industries with small businesses subject to proposed rule.
  - Please see the table above.
- b. Projected reporting, recordkeeping, and other administrative activities, including costs of professional services, required for small businesses to comply with the proposed rule.
  - No additional activities are required to comply with the proposed rules.
- c. Projected equipment, supplies, labor, and increased administration required for small businesses to comply with the proposed rule.
  - No additional resources are required to comply with the proposed rules.
- d. Describe how DEQ involved small businesses in developing this proposed rule.
  - DEQ met with a fiscal advisory committee on Nov. 30, 2020. The committee was composed of a diverse group of stakeholders representing a wide cross section of DEQ's permit holders.

# Advisory committee fiscal review

DEQ appointed an advisory committee.

As ORS 183.33 requires, DEQ asked for the committee's recommendations on Nov. 30, 2020:

- Whether the proposed rules would have a fiscal impact.
- The extent of the impact.
- Whether the proposed rules would have a significant adverse impact on small businesses; if so, then how DEQ could comply with ORS 183.540 to reduce that impact.

The committee reviewed the draft fiscal and economic impact statement.

The committee determined the proposed rules would not have a significant adverse impact on small businesses in Oregon. The committee did comment that the fee increases would affect public and local governments.

# **Federal Relationship**

ORS 183.332, 468A.327 and OAR 340-011-0029 require DEQ to attempt to adopt rules that correspond with existing equivalent federal laws and rules unless there are reasons not to do so. The proposed rules are "in addition to federal requirements" because there are no applicable federal requirements.

# **Land Use**

In adopting new or amended rules, ORS 197.180 and OAR 340-018-0070 require DEQ to determine whether the proposed rules significantly affect land use. If so, DEQ must explain how the proposed rules comply with statewide land-use planning goals and local acknowledged comprehensive plans.

#### **Considerations**

Under OAR 660-030-0005 and OAR 340 Division 18, DEQ considers that rules affect land use if:

- The statewide land-use planning goals specifically refer to the rule or program, or
- The rule or program is reasonably expected to have significant effects on:
  - o Resources, objectives or areas identified in the statewide planning goals, or
  - o Present or future land uses identified in acknowledged comprehensive plans.

#### **Determination**

DEQ finds that the proposed rule corrections are minor changes in regulatory fees that are not reasonably expected to have significant effects on resources, objectives or areas identified in the statewide planning goals, and that the rule changes will not have significant effects on present or future land uses identified in comprehensive plans. As a result, the proposed rule corrections comply with ORS 197.180 and OAR 340-018-0070.

# **EQC Prior Involvement**

The commission adopted rule amendments in July 2020, to increase water quality fees.

The EQC approved Policy Option Packages for the 2019-21 Agency Request Budget in August 2018, which identified the positions (and the related fee increases necessary for their support) that were authorized by the 2019 Legislature.

DEQ discussed and informed the EQC about the 2020 Fee Increase Rulemaking during the Fee Increase Rulemaking presentation to the EQC on Sept. 27, 2019, in Madras, Oregon.

# **Advisory Committee**

## **Background**

DEQ convened the 2020 Fee Increase Rulemaking Fiscal Advisory Committee to participate in the 2020 phase one fee correction. The committee met once and included representatives from local governments, NPDES permit holders, environmental and citizen involvement organizations. Information about the committee can be found at <a href="Water Quality Permit Fees">Water Quality Permit Fees</a> <a href="2020">2020</a> web page.

The committee members were:

2020 Water Quality Fee Increase Advisory Committee				
Affiliation	Name			
Aqua Resource Design & Consulting	Brannon Lamp			
Oregon Homebuilders Association	Ellen Miller			
Oregon Environmental Council	Karen Lewotsky			
Special Districts Association of Oregon	Mark Landauer			
Northwest Environmental Defense Center	Mark Riskedahl			
Association of Oregon Counties	Mike Eliason			
League of Women Voters	Peggy Lynch			
Oregon Business and Industry	Sharla Moffett			
Oregon Association of Clean Water Agencies	Susie Smith			
League of Oregon Cities	Tracy Rutten			

### **Meeting notifications**

To notify people about the advisory committee's activities, DEQ:

- Sent GovDelivery bulletins, a free e-mail subscription service, to the following lists:
  - o Rulemaking
  - Water Quality Permits
- Added advisory committee announcements to DEQ's calendar of public meetings at DEQ Calendar.
- Additionally, DEQ submitted notification of this rulemaking through the GovDelivery system to Onsite permit holders.

# **Committee discussions**

The Nov. 30, 2020, meeting was attended by the following committee members: Ellen Miller, Mark Landauer, Peggy Lynch, and Tracy Rutten and those committee members voted unanimously to approve the proposed fee rule correction.

# **Public Engagement**

### **Public notice**

DEQ provided notice of the proposed rulemaking and rulemaking hearing by:

- On Nov. 30, 2020, filing notice with the Oregon Secretary of State for publication in the December 2020 Oregon Bulletin;
- Posting the Notice of Rulemaking and draft rules on the web page for this rulemaking, located at: Water Quality Fees 2020 Web Page
- Emailing interested parties on the following DEQ lists through GovDelivery:
  - o Rulemaking
  - o Water Quality Permits
- Emailing advisory committee members
- Posting on the DEQ event calendar: DEQ Calendar

## **Public Hearing**

DEQ held a hearing for this fee rule on Dec. 15, 2020. No one attended the hearing and no comments were submitted for the hearing.

# **Summary of Public Comments and DEQ Responses**

# **Public comment period**

DEQ accepted public comment on the proposed rulemaking from Dec. 1, 2020, until 4 p.m. on Dec. 21, 2020.

# Comments received by close of public comment period

No comments were received.

# **Implementation**

### **Notification**

If approved, the proposed rules would become effective upon filing on approximately Feb. 1, 2021. DEQ would notify affected parties by:

- Emailing interested parties on the following DEQ lists through GovDelivery:
  - o Rulemaking
  - o Water Quality Permits
  - o Onsite
- Posting notification on relevant, permit-related webpages

## **Compliance and enforcement**

Affected parties: Water Quality permit holders

DEQ staff: Water Quality staff by email

## **Systems**

Website: Water Quality staff to add notification to relevant webpages

Database: Water Quality staff by email Invoicing: Water Quality staff by email

# **Five-Year Review**

## Requirement

Oregon law requires DEQ to review new rules within five years after EQC adopts them. The law also exempts some rules from review. DEQ determined whether the rules described in this report are subject to the five-year review. DEQ based its analysis on the law in effect when EQC adopted these rules.

### **Exemption from five-year rule review**

The Administrative Procedures Act exempts all of the proposed rules from the five-year review because the proposed rule changes would amend an existing rule: ORS 183.405(4).

# **Accessibility Information**

You may review copies of all documents referenced in this announcement at: Oregon Department of Environmental Quality 700 NE Multnomah St., Ste. 600 Portland, OR, 97232

To schedule a review of all websites and documents referenced in this announcement, call Angela Rowland, 503-229-5740 or (800-452-4011, ext. 5622 toll-free in Oregon).

DEQ can provide documents in an alternate format or in a language other than English upon request. Call DEQ at 800-452-4011 or email <a href="mailto:deqinfo@deq.state.or.us">deqinfo@deq.state.or.us</a>.

#### Key to Identifying Changed Text:

Strikethrough: Deleted Text Underline: New/inserted text



[Note: This document contains two sets of tables. The first set is effective from August 1, 2020, until June 30, 2021. The second set of tables takes effect on July 1, 2021.]

# Effective August 1, 2020 – June 30, 2021

# OAR 340-045-0075 Table 70A Industrial NPDES and WPCF Individual Permits: Application and Modification Fees

Revised July 2020 February 2021
Effective August 1, 2020 - June 30, 2021

# Application fees for new industrial permits Tier 1 Industrial Facilities \$77,038 Tier 2 Industrial Facilities \$15,504 Special WPCF Permits (OAR 340-045-0061) \$733

Note: New permit applications must include the annual fee specified in Table 70B in addition to the new permit application fee listed above. The application fee is not required for renewal unless a modification is needed or requested.

#### Modification Fees<sup>1</sup>

	Ма	jor		
	At Permit Renewal	Prior to Expiration	Minor	
Tier 1 Industrial Facilities	\$19,355	\$38, <del>357</del> 457	\$1,349	
Tier 2 Industrial Facilities	\$4,921	\$7,686	\$1,349	

<sup>1.</sup> A new application, application fee and modification fee must accompany all requests for permit modification. DEQ may charge the environmental management plan review fee amount in Table 70F when only the environmental management plan required by the permit requires review.

# OAR 340-045-0075 Table 70B Industrial NPDES and WPCF Individual Permit Annual Fees

Revised July 2020 February 2021 Effective August 1, 2020 - June 30, 2021

Effective August 1, 2020 - June 30, 2021							
Туре	Description	NPDES	NPDES	WPCF	WPCF		
		Tier 1	Tier 2	Tier 1	Tier 2		
B01	Pulp, paper, or other fiber pulping industry	\$26,937	N	\$25,000	N		
Food or beverage processing - includes produce, meat, poultry, seafood or dairy for human, pet, or livestock consumption:							
B02	Washing or packing only	N	\$3,745	N	\$3,447		
B03	Processing – small. Flow $\leq 0.1$ mgd, or $0.1 <$ flow $< 1$ mgd for less than 180 days per year	N	\$5,599	N	\$5,297		
B04	Processing – medium. 0.1 mgd < Flow < 1 mgd for 180 or more days per year, or flow $\geq$ 1 mgd for less than 180 days per year	N	\$7,901	N	\$7,599		
B05	Processing – large. Flow $\geq 1$ mgd for 180 or more days per year	\$26,937	\$23,669	\$25,000	\$23,364		
	Primary Smelting	or Refining	•				
B06	Aluminum	\$26,937	\$23,669	\$25,000	\$23,364		
В07	Non-ferrous metals utilizing sand chlorination separation facilities	\$26,937	\$23,669	\$25,000	\$23,364		
B08	Ferrous and non-ferrous metals not elsewhere classified	\$ <del>13,633</del> <u>15,405</u>	\$12,135	\$13,468	\$11,836		
B09	Chemical manufacturing with discharge of process wastewater	\$26,937	\$23,669	\$25,000	\$23,364		
B10	Cooling water discharges in excess of 20,000 BTU per second	\$ <del>13,633</del> 15,405	\$12,135	\$13,468	\$11,836		
	Mining Operations – includes ag	gregate or o	ore proces	sing:			
B11	Large (over 500,000 cubic yards per year or involving chemical leaching)	\$26,937	\$23,669	\$25,000	\$23,364		
B12	Medium (100,000 to 500,000 cubic yards per year)	N	\$8,287	N	\$7,986		
B13	Small (less than 100,000 cubic yards per year)	N	\$2,522	N	\$2,222		
All facilities not elsewhere classified which dispose of process wastewater (includes remediated groundwater):							
B14	Tier 1 sources	\$26,937	N	\$25,000	N		
B15	Tier 2 sources	N	\$5,212	N	\$4,916		
Туре	Description	NPDES Tier 1	NPDES Tier 2	WP©FF Tier 1	OWPCF Tier 2		

lr	OAR 340-045-0075 Table 70B Industrial NPDES and WPCF Individual Permit Annual Fees Revised July 2020 February 2021 Effective August 1, 2020 - June 30, 2021							
B16	All facilities not elsewhere classified which dispose of non-process wastewaters (for example: small cooling water discharges, boiler blowdown, filter backwash)	N	\$3,489	N	\$3,189			
B17	Fish hatcheries and other confined feeding operations on individual permits except permits the Oregon Department of Agriculture administers.	N	\$3,054	N	\$2,755			
B18	All facilities which dispose of wastewater only by evaporation from watertight ponds or basins	N	N	N	\$2,025			
	Timber and Woo	d Products						
B19	Sawmills, log storage, instream log storage	\$7,556	\$4,286	\$5,619	\$3,984			
B20	Hardboard, veneer, plywood, particle board, pressboard manufacturing, wood products	\$77,989	\$4,721	\$6,056	\$4,4,22			
B21	Wood preserving	\$6,761	\$3,489	\$4,824	\$3,189			

# OAR 340-045-0075 Table 70C Domestic NPDES and WPCF Individual Permits: Application, Annual and Modification Fees

			NPDES			Modifications 3	
Description	Туре	Criteria <sup>1</sup>	New Permit App. Fee <sup>2</sup>	Annual Fee (5yr)	WPCF Annual Fee (10yr)	Major	Minor
	A1	≥ 50 mgd	\$49,111	\$106,35 3		\$24,617	\$1,349
	A2	$25 \text{ mgd} \leq \text{Flow} \\ < 50 \\ \text{mgd}$	\$49,111	\$62,506		\$24,617	\$1,349
	A3	10 mgd ≤ Flow < 25 mgd	\$49,111	\$29,460		\$24,617	\$1,349
Non-Lagoon Treatment Systems	Ba	5 mgd ≤ Flow < 10 mgd	\$49,111	\$18,885	\$17,649	\$24,617	\$1,349
	C1a	2 mgd ≤ Flow < 5 mgd	\$49,111	\$12,699	\$11,465	\$24,617	\$1,349
	C2a	1 mgd ≤ Flow < 2 mgd	\$49,111	\$8,619	\$7,383	\$24,617	\$1,349
	Da	Flow < 1 mgd	\$9,921	\$2,729	\$2,532	\$5,025	\$1,349

# OAR 340-045-0075 Table 70C Domestic NPDES and WPCF Individual Permits: Application, Annual and Modification Fees

		Encouveryagact	New	NPDES	WPCF	Modifications 3	
Description	Туре	Criteria <sup>1</sup>	Permit App. Fee <sup>2</sup>	Annual Fee (5yr)	Annual Fee (10yr)	Major	Minor
	Bb	5 mgd ≤ Flow < 10 mgd	\$49,111	\$9,986		\$24,617	\$1,349
Lagoons Discharging to Surface Waters	C1b	2 mgd ≤ Flow < 5 mgd	\$49,111	\$6,944		\$24,617	\$1,349
	C2b	1 mgd ≤ Flow < 2 mgd	\$49,111	\$5,069		\$24,617	\$1,349
	Db	Flow < 1 mgd	\$9,921	\$1,924		\$5,025	\$1,349
Nondischarging Lagoons	Е	No discharge flow	\$5,025		\$1,603	\$2,572	\$1,349
Alkaline- stabilization facilities	F		\$1,349		\$553		\$594
Please see Table 70D and 70E for applicable population and pretreatment fees for the permits listed above.					ermits		
Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System	MS4	See 40 C.F.R. § 122.26	\$27,274	Please see Table 70H		\$2,368	\$1,349

<sup>1.</sup> Based on Average Dry Weather Design Flow, or as defined in 40 C.F.R.

<sup>2.</sup> New permit applications must include the annual fee in addition to the new permit application fee.

<sup>3.</sup> DEQ may charge the environmental management plan review fee amount in Table 70F when only the environmental management plan required by the permit requires review.

# OAR 340-045-0075 Table 70D Domestic NPDES and WPCF Annual Population Fee

Revised July 2020 Effective August 1, 2020 - June 30, 2021

Population range	Annual fee
500,000+	\$142,886
400,000 to 499,999	\$109,307
300,000 to 399,999	\$75,731
200,000 to 299,999	\$42,150
150,000 to 199,999	\$34,090
100,000 to 149,999	\$22,452
50,000 to 99,999	\$14,081
25,000 to 49,999	\$6,329
15,000 to 24,999	\$3,604
10,000 to 14,999	\$2,348
5,000 to 9,999	\$1,427
1,000 to 4,999	\$427
100 to 999	\$81
0 to 99	\$0

# OAR 340-045-0075 Table 70E Annual Pretreatment Fees

Description	Fee
Pretreatment Fee	\$2,450
Significant Industrial User	\$817 per industry

# OAR 340-045-0075 Table 70F All NPDES and WPCF¹ Permits: Technical Activity, Plan Review, and Other Fees

Activity	Fee				
New or substantially modified sewage treatment facility	\$11,268				
Minor facility or pump station modifications	\$1,225				
Major system or pressure system expansion	\$859				
Minor system expansion or modification	\$244				
New or substantially modified septage alkaline stabilization facility	\$1,225				
Site inspection and evaluation <sup>2</sup>	\$1,919				
Disposal system plan review <sup>2</sup>	\$767				
Environmental management plan review <sup>3</sup>	\$767				
Other Fees	Other Fees				
Annual temporary or permanent electronic reporting requirement waiver	\$935				
Permit transfer, legal name change.	\$121				

- 1. Does not include Onsite septic systems. Please see Tables 9A-9F in OAR 340-071 for appropriate technical activity fees.
- 2. This fee only applies when these activities are required for DEQ's review of a General permit application.
- 3. This fee is not charged to new applicants for individual NPDES and WPCF permits. Plans updated after the permit is issued are subject to plan review as specified in the permit.

Number	Туре	Description	New Permit App. Fee <sup>1</sup>	Annual Fee
100-J	NPDES	Cooling water/heat pumps	\$314	\$714
200-J	NPDES	Filter backwash	\$314	\$714
300-J	NPDES	Fish hatcheries	\$501	\$714
400-J	NPDES	Log ponds	\$314	\$714
500-J	NPDES	Boiler blowdown	\$314	\$714
900-J	NPDES	Seafood processing	\$314	\$714
1400-A	WPCF	Wineries and seasonal fresh pack operations whose wastewater flow is $\leq 25,000$ gallons/day and is only disposed of by land irrigation.	\$314	\$419
1400-В	WPCF	Wineries and small food processors not otherwise eligible for a 1400A general permit.	\$501	\$714
1500-A	NPDES	Petroleum hydrocarbon clean-up	\$501	\$714
1500-B	WPCF	Petroleum hydrocarbon clean-up	\$501	\$714
1700-A	NPDES	Vehicle and equipment wash water	\$ <del>501</del> <u>6</u> <u>96</u>	\$714
1700-В	WPCF	Vehicle and equipment wash water	\$696	\$714
1900-J	NPDES	Non-contact geothermal heat exchange	\$696	\$714
	Residentia	al and Commercial Graywater and Industria	I Reuse Water	
2401	WPCF	Tier 1 graywater reuse and disposal system for residential systems: ≤ 300 gallons/day, or equivalent specific geographic area graywater reuse and disposal area permit	\$52	\$41
2402	WPCF	Tier 2 graywater reuse and disposal system for systems: ≤ 1,200 gallons/day, or equivalent specific geographic area graywater reuse and disposal area permit	\$550	\$52
2501	WPCF	Industrial reuse water free of human and animal waste suitable for reuse without secondary or advanced treatment and $\leq 25,000$ gallons/day	\$696	\$714
		Stormwater General Permits <sup>3</sup>		
Number	Туре	Description	New Permit App. Fee <sup>1</sup>	Amaual Fee

Effective August 1, 2020 - June 30, 2021					
1200-A	NPDES	Stormwater: Sand, gravel, and other non-metallic mining	\$1,223	\$1,257	
1200-C	NPDES	Stormwater: Construction activities – one acre or more	\$1,223	\$1,257	
1200-C	NPDES	Stormwater: Construction activities – less than one acre and part of a common plan of development disturbing one or more acres	\$358	\$0	
1200-CA	NPDES	Stormwater: Construction activities performed by public agencies – one acre or more	\$1,223	\$1,257	
1200-Z	NPDES	Stormwater: Industrial	\$1,223	\$1,257	
4000-MS4	NPDES	Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System (MS4): Conveyance system owned or operated by municipality, special district, hospital, port, school district, etc.	\$1,223	Please see Table 70H	
		Mining General Permits			
600	WPCF	Offstream small scale mining – Processing < 5 cubic yds/day, or < 1,500 cubic yds/year	\$0	\$0	
600 WPCF		Offstream small scale mining – Processing 1,500 -10,000 cubic yds/year	\$314	\$0	
700-PM	NPDES	Suction dredges (gravity and syphon)	\$0	\$25	
700-PM	NPDES	Suction dredges (motorized)	\$250	\$250	
700-PM	NPDES	Permit renewal fee every five years (in addition to the annual fee)	\$250	)	

=1100111071agast 1, =0=0					
1000	000 WPCF Gravel mining \$314				
	Other General Permits				
DOM-F	WPCF	\$1,349	\$553		
All other per	DOM-F WPCF Septage alkaline stabilization facilities  All other permits not elsewhere classified.		\$696	\$714	

<sup>1.</sup> New permit applications must include both the new permit application fee and the first year's annual fee.

<sup>2.</sup> Stormwater construction and industrial permits are also administered by public agencies and local districts under contract with DEQ.

# OAR 340-045-0075 Table 70H Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System Permits: Annual Fees

Population-based cost-per-person, except counties and other	Annual Fee
Cost-per-person	\$0.119
Counties, Phase I	\$10, <del>069</del> <u>609</u>
Counties, Phase II (non-traditional MS4s, hospitals, public universities, etc.)	\$2,652
Oregon Department of Transportation MS4*	\$42,436

<sup>\*</sup>Fee for ODOT MS4 assessed only in the absence of a separate revenue agreement.

### OAR 340-045-0075 Table 70I

# **Underground Injection Control Permits Application Fees, Annual Fees and Surcharges**

_		Application	Annual	Class of	Surcharge	
Туре	Description	Fee	Fee	Injection	Application	Annual
	Low Risk Stormwater Only	None	None	Low Risk	\$107	None
Authorized By	Non-Stormwater Injection <sup>2</sup>	None	None	Medium Risk	\$134	None
Rule <sup>1</sup>	All Other UIC's			Low Risk	\$107	None
	Draining Stormwater from	None	None	Medium Risk	\$134	None
	Any Surface			High Risk	\$321	\$107
1200 H C	Stormwater Injection	\$ <del>616</del> <u>696</u>		Low Risk	\$124	None
1200-U General Permit <sup>3</sup>			\$ <del>633</del> <u>71</u> <u>4</u>	Medium Risk	\$156	None
				High Risk	\$374	\$124
1900-B General Permit	Injection During Geothermal Exploration	\$ <del>616</del> <u>69</u> <u>6</u>	\$ <del>633</del> 7 <u>14</u>			
		Application	Annual	Individual WPCF Modification		
Туре	Description	Fee	Fee	Major	Mino	r
Individual WPCF Permit	As defined in 40 CFR parts 9, 144, 145 and 146	\$15,504	\$3,282	\$2,572	\$1,34	9

<sup>1.</sup> Includes facilities with less than 50 injection systems. All systems must be located over 500 feet from a water well and outside a 2 -year time of travel from a water source.

<sup>2.</sup> Includes aquifer storage and recovery, low temperature geothermal injection, remediation and other underground injection control systems that do not drain stormwater.

<sup>3.</sup> Includes facilities with less than 50 injection systems and for systems within 500 ft from a water well and within a 2-year time of travel from a water source.



# OAR 340-045-0075 Table 70A Industrial NPDES and WPCF Individual Permits: Application and Modification Fees

Effective July 1, 2021

Application fees for new industrial permits				
Tier 1 Industrial Facilities	\$82,492			
Tier 2 Industrial Facilities	\$16,601			
Special WPCF Permits (OAR 340-045-0061)	\$785			

Note: New permit applications must include the annual fee specified in Table 70B in addition to the new permit application fee listed above. The application fee is not required for renewal unless a modification is needed or requested.

#### Modification Fees<sup>1</sup>

	Ma			
	At Permit Renewal	Prior to Expiration	Minor	
Tier 1 Industrial Facilities	\$20,725	\$41,180	\$1,445	
Tier 2 Industrial Facilities	\$5,270	\$8,230	\$1,445	

<sup>1.</sup> A new application, application fee and modification fee must accompany all requests for permit modification. DEQ may charge the environmental management plan review fee amount in Table 70F when only the environmental management plan required by the permit requires review.

#### OAR 340-045-0075 Table 70B **Industrial NPDES and WPCF Individual Permit Annual Fees** Effective July 1, 2021 NPDES **NPDES** WPCF **WPCF Description** Type Tier 2 Tier 2 Tier 1 Tier 1 Pulp, paper, or other fiber pulping industry \$28,844 N \$26,770 B01 Food or beverage processing - includes produce, meat, poultry, seafood or dairy for human, pet, or livestock consumption: B02 Washing or packing only N \$4.010 N \$3.691 Processing – small. Flow $\leq 0.1$ mgd, or $0.1 \leq$ B03 N \$5,996 N \$5,672 flow < 1 mgd for less than 180 days per year Processing – medium. 0.1 mgd < Flow < 1 B04 mgd for 180 or more days per year, or flow $\geq 1$ N \$8,460 N \$8,137 mgd for less than 180 days per year Processing – large. Flow $\geq 1$ mgd for 180 or B05 \$28,844 \$25,345 \$26,770 \$25,018 more days per year **Primary Smelting or Refining:** B06 Aluminum \$28,844 \$25,345 \$26,770 \$25,018 Non-ferrous metals utilizing sand chlorination B07 \$28,844 \$25,345 \$26,770 \$25,018 separation facilities Ferrous and non-ferrous metals not elsewhere **B**08 \$16,496 \$12,994 \$14,422 \$12,674 classified Chemical manufacturing with discharge of B09 \$28,844 \$25,345 \$26,770 \$25.018 process wastewater Cooling water discharges in excess of 20,000 B10 \$16,496 \$12,994 \$14,422 \$12,674 BTU per second

	1						
Mining Operations – includes aggregate or ore processing:							
B11	Large (over 500,000 cubic yards per year or involving chemical leaching)	\$28,844	\$25,345	\$26,770	\$25,018		
B12	Medium (100,000 to 500,000 cubic yards per year)	N	\$8,874	N	\$8,551		
B13	Small (less than 100,000 cubic yards per year)	N	\$2,701	N	\$2,379		
All facilities not elsewhere classified which dispose of process wastewater (includes							

		remediated	groundwat	ter):	
B14	Tier 1 sources	\$28,844	N	\$26,770	N
B15	Tier 2 sources	N	\$5,581	N	\$5,264

# OAR 340-045-0075 Table 70B Industrial NPDES and WPCF Individual Permit Annual Fees

Туре	Description	NPDES Tier 1	NPDES Tier 2	WPCF Tier 1	WPCF Tier 2
B16	All facilities not elsewhere classified which dispose of non-process wastewaters (for example: small cooling water discharges, boiler blowdown, filter backwash)	N	\$3,736	N	\$3,415
B17	Fish hatcheries and other confined feeding operations on individual permits except permits the Oregon Department of Agriculture administers.	N	\$3,271	N	\$2,950
B18	All facilities which dispose of wastewater only by evaporation from watertight ponds or basins	N	N	N	\$2,168
	Timber and Woo	d Products			
B19	Sawmills, log storage, instream log storage	\$8,091	\$4,590	\$6,017	\$4,266
B20	Hardboard, veneer, plywood, particle board, pressboard manufacturing, wood products	\$8,555	\$5,055	\$6,484	\$4,735
B21	Wood preserving	\$7,239	\$3,736	\$5,165	\$3,415

# OAR 340-045-0075 Table 70C

# Domestic NPDES and WPCF Individual Permits: Application, Annual andModification Fees

			New	NPDES WPCF Modification		ations3	
Description	Туре	Criteria <sup>1</sup>	Permit App. Fee <sup>2</sup>	Annual Fee (5yr)	Annual Fee (10yr)	Major	Minor
	A1	≥ 50 mgd	\$52,588	\$113,883		\$26,36 0	\$1,44 5
	A2	;d≤Flow<50 mgd	\$52,588	\$66,931		\$26,36 0	\$1,44 5
	A3	;d≤Flow<25 mgd	\$52,588	\$31,546		\$26,36 0	\$1,44 5
Non-Lagoon Treatment Systems	Ba	d≤Flow<10 mgd	\$52,588	\$20,222	\$18,899	\$26,36 0	\$1,44 5
	Cla	2 mgd ≤ Flow < 5 mgd	\$52,588	\$13,598	\$12,277	\$26,36 0	\$1,44 5
	C2a	1 mgd ≤ Flow < 2 mgd	\$52,588	\$9,229	\$7,906	\$26,36 0	\$1,44 5
	Da	Flow < 1 mgd	\$10,624	\$2,922	\$2,712	\$5,381	\$1,44 5

# OAR 340-045-0075 Table 70C Domestic NPDES and WPCF Individual Permits: Application, Annual and Modification Fees

	Т		New	NPDES	WPCF	Modific	ations
Description	Туре	Criteria <sup>1</sup>	Permit App. Fee <sup>2</sup>	Annual Fee (5yr)	Annual Fee (10yr)	Major	Minor
	Bb	5 mgd ≤ Flow < 10 mgd	\$52,588	\$10,693		\$26,360	\$1,445
Lagoons	C1b	2 mgd ≤ Flow < 5 mgd	\$52,588	\$7,435		\$26,360	\$1,445
Discharging to Surface Waters	C2b	1 mgd ≤ Flow < 2 mgd	\$52,588	\$5,428		\$26,360	\$1,445
	Db	Flow < 1 mgd	\$10,624	\$2,061		\$5,381	\$1,445
Nondischarging Lagoons	Е	No discharge flow	\$5,381		\$1,717	\$2,754	\$1,445
Alkaline- stabilization facilities	F		\$1,445		\$592		\$636
Please see Table 70D and 70E for applicable population and pretreatment fees for the listed above.				for the p	ermits		
Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System	MS4	See 40 C.F.R. § 122.26	\$29,205	Please see Table 70H		\$2,536	\$1,445

<sup>1.</sup> Based on Average Dry Weather Design Flow, or as defined in 40 C.F.R.

<sup>2.</sup> New permit applications must include the annual fee in addition to the new permit application fee.

<sup>3.</sup> DEQ may charge the environmental management plan review fee amount in Table 70F when only the environmental management plan required by the permit requires review.

OAR 340-045-0075 Table 70D Domestic NPDES and WPCF Annual Population Fee Effective July 1, 2021					
Population range	Annual fee				
500,000+	\$153,002				
400,000 to 499,999	\$117,046				
300,000 to 399,999	\$81,093				
200,000 to 299,999	\$45,134				
150,000 to 199,999	\$36,503				
100,000 to 149,999	\$24,041				
50,000 to 99,999	\$15,078				
25,000 to 49,999	\$6,777				
15,000 to 24,999	\$3,859				
10,000 to 14,999	\$2,514				
5,000 to 9,999	\$1,528				
1,000 to 4,999	\$457				
100 to 999	\$87				
0 to 99	\$0				

OAR 340-045-007 Table 70E Annual Pretreatme Fees Effective July 1, 202	ent
Description	Fee
Pretreatment Fee	\$2,623
Significant Industrial User	\$875 per industry

## OAR 340-045-0075 Table 70F

# All NPDES and WPCF<sup>1</sup> Permits: Technical Activity, Plan Review, and Other Fees

Activity	Fee
New or substantially modified sewage treatment facility	\$12,066
Minor facility or pump station modifications	\$1,312
Major system or pressure system expansion	\$920
Minor system expansion or modification	\$261
New or substantially modified septage alkaline stabilization facility	\$1,312
Site inspection and evaluation <sup>2</sup>	\$2,055
Disposal system plan review <sup>2</sup>	\$822
Environmental management plan review <sup>3</sup>	\$822
Other Fees	
Annual temporary or permanent electronic reporting requirement waiver	\$1,001
Permit transfer, legal name change.	\$129

 $<sup>1.\</sup> Does\ not\ include\ Onsite\ septic\ systems.\ Please\ see\ Tables\ 9A-9F\ in\ OAR\ 340-071\ for\ appropriate\ technical\ activity\ fees.$ 

<sup>2.</sup> This fee only applies when these activities are required for DEQ's review of a General permit application.

<sup>3.</sup> This fee is not charged to new applicants for individual NPDES and WPCF permits. Plans updated after the permit is issued are subject to plan review as specified in the permit.

Number	Туре	Description Description	New Permit App. Fee <sup>1</sup>	Annual Fee
100-J	NPDES	Cooling water/heat pumps	\$336	\$765
200-J	NPDES	Filter backwash	\$336	\$765
300-J	NPDES	Fish hatcheries	\$536	\$765
400-J	NPDES	Log ponds	\$336	\$765
500-J	NPDES	Boiler blowdown	\$336	\$765
900-J	NPDES	Seafood processing	\$336	\$765
1400-A	WPCF	Wineries and seasonal fresh pack operations whose wastewater flow is $\leq 25,000$ gallons/day and is only disposed of by land irrigation.	\$336	\$449
		Wineries and small food processors not otherwise eligible for a 1400A general permit.	\$536	\$765
1500-A	1500-A NPDES Petroleum hydrocarbon clean-up		\$536	\$765
1500-B	WPCF	Petroleum hydrocarbon clean-up	\$536	\$765
1700-A	NPDES	Vehicle and equipment wash water	\$745	\$765
1700-B	WPCF	Vehicle and equipment wash water	\$745	\$765
1900-J	NPDES	Non-contact geothermal heat exchange	\$745	\$765
	Residentia	al and Commercial Graywater and Industria	I Reuse Water	
2401	WPCF	Tier 1 graywater reuse and disposal system for residential systems: ≤ 300 gallons/day, or equivalent specific geographic area graywater reuse and disposal area permit	\$52	\$41
2402 WPCF		Tier 2 graywater reuse and disposal system for systems: ≤ 1,200 gallons/day, or equivalent specific geographic area graywater reuse and disposal area permit	\$550	\$52
2501	WPCF	Industrial reuse water free of human and animal waste suitable for reuse without secondary or advanced treatment and ≤ 25,000 gallons/day	\$745	\$765

		Lifective July 1, 2021			
Number Type		Description	New Permit App. Fee <sup>1</sup>	Annual Fee	
1200-A	NPDES	Stormwater: Sand, gravel, and other non-metallic mining	\$1,309	\$1,346	
1200-C	NPDES	Stormwater: Construction activities – one acre or more	\$1,309	\$1,346	
1200-C	NPDES	Stormwater: Construction activities – less than one acre and part of a common plan of development disturbing one or more acres	\$384	\$0	
1200-CA	NPDES	Stormwater: Construction activities performed by public agencies – one acre or more	\$1,309	\$1,346	
1200-Z	NPDES	Stormwater: Industrial	\$1,309	\$1,346	
4000-MS4 NPDES		Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System (MS4): Conveyance system owned or operated by municipality, special district, hospital, port, school district, etc.	\$1,309	Please see Table 70H	
		Mining General Permits			
600	WPCF	Offstream small scale mining – Processing < 5 cubic yds/day, or < 1,500 cubic yds/year	\$0	\$0	
000	WPCF	Offstream small scale mining – Processing 1,500 -10,000 cubic yds/year	\$336	\$0	
700-PM	NPDES	Suction dredges (gravity and syphon)	\$0	\$25	
700-PM	NPDES	Suction dredges (motorized)	\$250	\$250	
700-PM NPDES		Permit renewal fee every five years (in addition to the annual fee)	\$250	)	
1000	WPCF	Gravel mining	\$336	\$765	
	Other General Permits				
DOM-F	WPCF	Septage alkaline stabilization facilities	\$1,445	\$592	
	All othe	er permits not elsewhere classified.	\$745	\$765	

Effective July 1, 2021

Number	Type	Description	<b>New Permit</b>	Annual	l
Number	Type	Description	App. Fee <sup>1</sup>	Fee	l

- 1. New permit applications must include both the new permit application fee and the first year's annual fee.
- 2. Stormwater construction and industrial permits are also administered by public agencies and local districts under contract with DEQ.

# OAR 340-045-0075 Table 70H Municipal Separate Storm Sewer System Permits: Annual Fees

Effective July 1, 2021

<b>,</b> , -			
Population-based cost-per-person, except counties and other	Annual Fee		
Cost-per-person	\$0.119		
Counties, Phase I	\$10,609		
Counties, Phase II (non-traditional MS4s, hospitals, public universities, etc.)	\$2,652		
Oregon Department of Transportation MS4*	\$42,436		
THE CONTRACT IN THE CONTRACT OF THE CONTRACT O	·		

\*Fee for ODOT MS4 assessed only in the absence of a separate revenue agreement.

### OAR 340-045-0075 Table 70I

# Underground Injection Control Permits Application Fees, Annual Fees and Surcharges

<b>T</b>	December 11 and	Application	Annual	Class of	Surcharge		
Туре	Description	Fee	Fee	Injection	Application	Annual	
	Low Risk Stormwater Only	None	None	Low Risk	\$107	None	
Authorized By	Non-Stormwater Injection <sup>2</sup>	None	None	Medium Risk	\$134	None	
Rule <sup>1</sup>	All Other UIC's			Low Risk	\$107	None	
	Draining Stormwater from	None	None	Medium Risk	\$134	None	
	Any Surface			High Risk	\$321		
	_	\$745	\$765	Low Risk	\$133	None	
1200-U General Permit <sup>3</sup>	Stormwater Injection			Medium Risk	\$167	None	
1 clinit	injection			High Risk	\$401	\$133	
1900-B General Permit	Injection During Geothermal Exploration	\$745	\$765				
		Application	Annual	Individual \	WPCF Modific	PCF Modifications	
Туре	Description	Fee	Fee	Major	Mino	r	
Individual WPCF Permit	As defined in 40 CFR parts 9, 144, 145 and 146	\$16,601	\$3,514	\$2,754	\$1,44	5	

<sup>1.</sup> Includes facilities with less than 50 injection systems. All systems must be located over 500 feet from a water well and outside a 2 -year time of travel from a water source.

<sup>2.</sup> Includes aquifer storage and recovery, low temperature geothermal injection, remediation and other underground injection control systems that do not drain stormwater.

<sup>3.</sup> Includes facilities with less than 50 injection systems and for systems within 500 ft from a water well and within a 2-year time of travel from a water source.

Attachment B: Narrative rules Jan. 21-22, 2021, EQC meeting Page 1 of 4



State of Oregon Department of Environmental Quality

# **Draft Rules**

Water Quality Permit Fee Correction 2020

#### Key to Identifying Changed Text:

Strikethrough: Deleted Text Underline: New/inserted text

# Division 45 REGULATIONS PERTAINING TO NPDES AND WPCF PERMITS

#### 340-045-0075 Permit Fee Schedule

- (1) OAR chapter 340, division 71 contains the fee schedule for onsite sewage disposal system permits, including WPCF permits, and graywater reuse and disposal system WPCF individual permits.
- (2) Two sets of fee tables are provided. The first identifies fees effective August 1, 2020, through June 30, 2021. The second establishes the fee amounts effective starting July 1, 2021
- (3) DEQ establishes fees for various industrial, domestic and general water quality permits:
- (a) Table 70A lists the application and modification fees that apply to industrial NPDES and WPCF individual permits.
- (b) Table 70B lists the annual fees that apply to industrial NPDES and WPCF individual permits.
- (c) Table 70C lists application, modification and annual fees for domestic NPDES and WPCF individual permits.
- (d) Table 70D lists annual population fees.
- (e) Table 70E lists annual pretreatment fees applicable to domestic wastewater systems.
- (f) Table 70I lists application, annual and surcharge fees for Underground Injection Control rule authorizations and general permits.
- (4) DEQ must consider the following criteria when classifying a facility for determining applicable fees. For industrial sources that discharge to surface waters, discharge flow rate refers to the system design capacity. For industrial sources that do not discharge to surface waters, discharge flow refers to the total annual flow divided by 365:

- (a) Tier 1 industry. A facility is classified as a Tier 1 industry if the facility:
- (A) Discharges at a flow rate that is greater than or equal to 1 mgd; or
- (B) Discharges large biochemical oxygen demand loads; or
- (C) Is a large metals facility; or
- (D) Has significant toxic discharges; or
- (E) Has a treatment system that will have a significant adverse impact on the receiving stream if not operated properly; or
- (F) Needs special regulatory control, as DEQ determines.
- (b) Tier 1 domestic facility. A facility is classified as a Tier 1 domestic facility if the facility:
- (A) Has a dry weather design flow of 1 mgd or greater; or
- (B) Serves an industry that can have a significant impact on the treatment system.
- (c) Tier 2 industry or domestic facility: A facility is classified as Tier 2 if it does not meet Tier 1 qualifying factors.
- (5) New permit application fee. Unless this rule does not require it, the applicant must submit the applicable new permit application fee listed in Table 70A, 70C, 70G, or 70I with each application. The facility category and type of permit (e.g., individual vs. general) determines the amount of the fee.
- (6) Permit modification fee. Tables 70A and 70C list the permit modification fees. Modification fees for Individual WPCF Underground Injection Control permits are contained in Table 70I. Permit modification fees vary with the type of permit, the type of modification and the timing of modification as follows:
- (a) Modification at time of permit renewal:
- (A) Major modification involves an increase in effluent limitations or any other change that involves significant analysis by DEQ;
- (B) Minor modification does not involve significant analysis by DEQ.
- (b) Modification prior to permit renewal:
- (A) Major modification involves an increase in effluent limitations or any other change that involves significant analysis by DEQ. DEQ may require a permittee requesting a

Attachment B: Narrative rules Jan. 21-22, 2021, EQC meeting Page 3 of 4

significant modification to their permit to enter into an agreement to pay for these services according to ORS 468.073. ORS 468.073 allows DEQ "... to expedite or enhance a regulatory process by contracting for services, hiring additional staff or covering costs of activities not otherwise provided during the ordinary course of department business ...."

- (B) Minor modification does not involve significant analysis by DEQ.
- (7) Annual fees. Tables 70B and 70G list applicable annual fees for general and industrial permit holders. Table 70H lists applicable annual fees for Municipal Separate Storm Sewer permits. Tables 70C, 70D, and 70E also list annual fees for domestic sources and include the following:
- (a) Annual fee. This is based on the type of treatment system, the dry weather design flow, and the duration assigned to the permit before a renewal application is required;
- (b) Population-based fee. A permit holder with treatment systems other than Type F (septage alkaline stabilization facilities) must pay an annual population-based fee. Table 70D lists the applicable fee;
- (c) Pretreatment fee. A source DEQ requires to administer a pretreatment program under federal pretreatment program regulations (40 C.F.R., Part 403; January 29, 1981, and its amendments) must pay an additional annual fee plus a fee for each significant industrial user specified in their annual report for the previous year. Table 70E lists the applicable fee.
- (8) Technical activities fee. Table 70F lists the technical activity, plan review and administrative fees. They are categorized as follows:
- (a) All permits. A permittee must pay a fee for NPDES and WPCF individual and general permit-related technical activities. DEQ will charge a fee for initial submittal of engineering plans and specifications. DEQ will not charge fees for revisions and re-submittals of engineering plans and specifications or for facilities plans, design studies, reports, change orders, or inspections.
- (b) General permits. A permittee must pay the technical activity fee shown in Table 70F when the following activities are required for application review:
- (A) Disposal system and environmental management plan review;
- (B) Site inspection and evaluation.
- (9) For permits the Oregon Department of Agriculture administers, the permit applicant or permit holder must pay the permit fees following the fee schedule the Oregon Department of Agriculture establishes.
- (10) Administrative activity fees are listed in Table 70F:

Attachment B: Narrative rules Jan. 21-22, 2021, EQC meeting Page 4 of 4

- (a) The annual electronic reporting requirement waiver fee applies to permit holders who qualify for a temporary or permanent waiver exempting them from submitting data and reports electronically.
- (b) A permittee must pay a fee for a transfer of ownership as specified under OAR 340-045-0045 and for requests to change the legal or common name on the permit issued to the facility.