
 
  

 

  

 

Memorandum 

To:    Oregon APRNs 

From:  Sarah K. Wickenhagen, DNP, FNP-C, APRN 

  Policy Analyst Advanced Practice Nursing 
 

Date:   October 24, 2022 

Re:   Interstate or Cross Jurisdictional Practice of Nursing  

Health care licensing boards in individual states make decisions about their unique licensing requirements and 

scope of practice restrictions for nursing in order to provide public protection for their citizens. Oregon Regulatory 

Statute 678. 021, requires those who provide nursing care to Oregonians to be licensed by the Oregon State Board 

of Nursing. All other states have comparable requirements for nurses providing care to clients in those states. The 

intent of these requirements is to prevent nurses not licensed in a state from practicing on a patient located in that 

state. Employers may be held liable to civil penalty for compelling an employee to violate state requirements 

regarding licensure. Where the patient begins care is not the legal parameter, it is where the patient is located 

that determines who has jurisdiction over the practice of nursing. 

To provide nursing care including case management and telehealth visits to clients across our state borders, the 

Oregon-licensed nurse would need to hold additional RN or APRN licenses (as appropriate) that cover practice for 

all states where those clients are located.  

 

A limited number of exceptions to this requirement are found in Oregon law, such as for nurses on a disaster team, 

nurses on a transport team, school nurses here with student groups, and nurses hired to fill an appropriately 

documented shortage in limited types of units in hospitals and nursing facilities.  

 

Civil penalties can by levied to nurses who practice on citizens of our state without a license. Further discipline may 

occur to include forfeiture of their nursing license. Discipline actions are shared with other states via the NURSYS 

database and the National Practitioner Data Bank (NPDB) and may impact their future nursing practice. 

 

Additional Resources on this issue:  

Oregon DOJ opinion on Interstate Practice of Nursing- Issued 2014 

For any questions or concerns please call 971-413-0162 or email sarah.wickenhagen@osbn.oregon.gov 

 

 

 

Sarah Wickenhagen, DNP, FNP-C, APRN 

Policy Analyst, Advanced Practice Nursing 

Oregon State Board of Nursing 

https://oregon.public.law/statutes/ors_678.021
https://oregon.public.law/statutes/ors_678.021
https://www.nursys.com/
https://www.npdb.hrsa.gov/
https://www.oregon.gov/osbn/Documents/Resource_DOJ_Memo_InterstatePractice.pdf
mailto:sarah.wickenhagen@osbn.oregon.gov


APRN Cross Walk

State License Types Geographic Boundary
/Compact State

Practice Authority RN Fees
Initial/Renewal

APRN Fees
Initial/Renewal

CE Requirement vs Practice Hours
RN/APRN

Oregon CNS, NP, CRNA
• APRN is not a license type

• RN is required
• CNMs are considered NPs in Oregon

Oregon
• Up to a $5000 fine  or 

civil penalty for 
practicing without a 
license

• Reported to NURSYS 
database

Full Practice $195/145
Every other year 

on/before your 
birthdate

$150/105
+75 prescriptive authority 

(1 time fee)

0/0 CE with national certification
For NPs licensed prior to January 2011, national certification is not required for renewal.

Instead, a minimum of 45 hours of continuing education in the population foci is required
400 practice hours/2 years

NEW* Every renewal 2-hour cultural competence continuing education

One-time requirement
7 hours on pain management
1 hour must be the Oregon Pain Management Commission module

Washington CNS, CNP, CRNA, CNM
• ARNP is a license type

• RN is required

Washington
• Fine or civil penalty for 

practicing without a 
license

• Reported to NURSYS 
database

Full Practice $125 +5 on 12/1/22
+ $50 fingerprints

Annually

$125+ 5 on 12/1/22

Every 2 years

8/30 CE
+15 hours in APRN  pharmacology

*One time 6 hr. requirement for suicide training
192 hrs. of active practice/2 years

Idaho CNS, CNP, CRNA, CNM
• APRN is a license type

• RN is required

Idaho
*RN Compact License

• Fine or civil penalty for 
practicing without a 
license

• Reported to NURSYS 
database

Full Practice $138/90
August 31st

Odd Years

$118/90 15/30 CE
+10  hours in APRN pharmacology

200 practice hours/2 years

California • Nurse Anesthetist (NA)
• Nurse-Midwife/Furnishing 

(NMW/NMF)
• Clinical Nurse Specialist (CNS)
• Nurse Practitioner/Furnishing (NP/NPF)

California
• Fine or civil penalty for 

practicing without a 
license

• Reported to NURSYS 
database

Restricted $300/190
2 Birthdays, expires 

last day of the month 
of licensee's birth

$500
$500

$500
$500
• No Fee for PMHNP 
Renewal $150
$+22 Furnishing =

Prescriptive Authority

30/30 CE
No practice requirement

Montana CNS, CNP, CRNA, CNM
• APRN is a license type

• RN is required

Montana 
*RN Compact License

• Fine or civil penalty for 
practicing without a 
license

• Reported to NURSYS 
database

Full Practice $200/100
Dec 31st

Every other year

$50
$75 Additional 

certifications
$100 Prescriptive Authority

24/24 CE
+12 in APRN pharmacology

No practice requirement
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